WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" to Become Second Highest Grossing Film, After "Titanic"

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" to Become Second Highest Grossing Film, After "Titanic"Submit Comment
"Avatar" is still knocking films off the biggest worldwide earners list. It is now in third place with $1.1 billion (through Tuesday), surpassing "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," which took in $1.07 billion in 2006.

The James Cameron-directed sci-fi epic is also quickly gaining on the second top grosser "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King," which is currently sitting with $1.12 billion worldwide total.

If "Avatar" overtakes "Lord of the Rings," that means that the only film that will stand in its way is Cameron's other monster hit "Titanic." But it's very unlikely that "Avatar" would be able to break $1.84 billion.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
whoever writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:13:10 AM

Wait for the re-release directors cut so they can squeeze a couple more dollars out of it!
Bonzaitri writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:42:02 AM

special effects 1, story telling 0
nzfilmmaker writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:41:08 AM

It doesn't seem to show any rate of slowing down. I've had to book 5 days in advance for the 3d screening...
blinkbomber writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:12:35 AM

hey i don't know if you guys know this... but Avatar's storyline???

it's pretty weak.

:-p
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:21:33 AM

Yeah... we all know that already.

Clearly no one cares.
Metafact writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:42:29 AM

We're all aware that these huge numbers are due to the increased prices for IMAX and 3D screenings, right? It's not as if more people are watching this film than The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King when it released.

It's nevertheless a pretty impressive achievement, but still, not that difficult to make huge amounts of money when many of the tickets sold cost $14-$17 and its rabid, foaming-at-the-mouth fans tell you HAVE TO see it in IMAX 3D.
shayhiri writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:33:35 AM

"But it's very unlikely that "Avatar" would be able to break $1.84 billion."

REALLY, WP? Well, you're some b.o. geniuses, ain't ya?

Take some advice and shut up. Avatar is 1000% making more than Titanic.

You can also stop writing moronic reviews, no one reads them. Once you see the score, it's horrifyingly obvious the review itself is crap.

Sorry, but I can take this no longer. I only browsed this site for the news headlines, I'll have to stick to that.


TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:36:51 AM

This film is not making more than Titanic, it's got competition in January and that's going to stop its reign in the United States. It probably won't even beat Dark Knight's domestic gross. Probably slowing off at around 480 to 500.
Derp88 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:43:57 AM

Yes this film will make more then Titanic
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:31:30 AM

The average ticket price in 1997 was $4.59.

Adjust for inflation, and Titanic made the equivalent of about $2.7 billion (worldwide), using $9.50 as the standard ticket price. (don't forget, IMAX and 3D tickets cost more, and that's what most people are seeing it in)

Titanic sold about 218 million tickets. So far, Avatar has sold barely 105 million. Again, that's using $9.50 as the standard rate, when we all know the majority payed/is paying higher.


Shay, I figured you of all people would catch that.


Also, just for anyone interested : Star Wars Episode IV sold a total of about 358 million tickets total (from its release, till now). It also made the equivalent of $1.4 billion DOMESTIC ONLY from its release in 1977 to 1982. (Ticket Prices were about $2.20) When it re-released in 1997, it made the equivalent of about $286mil DOMESTIC ONLY, alongside making the equivalent of $697mil Internationally. All inflation adjusted and going by ticket sales, Star Wars made close to $3 billion using today's ticket prices.

No film will ever beat Star Wars in number of tickets sold, which is what the Box Office Records SHOULD be based off of, because they are really all that matters.

(sources = www.the-numbers.com & www.natoonline.org)
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:31:54 AM

Yes, this is what I do when I'm tired. ^
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:46:05 AM

Also for the record -

A New Hope's production budget was $11mil with a $4mil print & production budget.

Now THAT is what you call profit.
MattC903 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:22:18 AM

whats so bad about the storyline?
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:27:23 AM

The thing about the story line (for me) is that the man wrote it 15 years ago. If he had released it back then, would it be as generic or overused? Probably not. So, even though I like hating on 'Avatar', you can't just discard the fact that it's (basically) a 15 year old film.

Having said that, Cameron obviously had plenty of time to tweak and re-write some of the script to keep up with the times, but he was focused on the tech, which definitely paid off in that area.

In my opinion, if he would have just waited a little bit longer, and updated the writing more, 'Avatar' would be a far better film.
prowler writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:19:21 AM

I just hope that avatar surpass dark knight. :)
tcu21 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:26:22 AM

I think that WorstPreviews should disable the comment section on Avatar related articles so people stop talking about effects vs. plot. It's done, let it go.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:32:20 AM

Never say never. When is this list closed off though? After a week, month or initial theatrical run?
jdDiedforyou writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:58:08 AM

who gives a f*ck about avatar!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:14:56 AM

Are they taking into account inflations rates?....ah what the f*ck am I saying, I really don't give a sh*t.
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:20:18 AM

@jeff - You might, if you were hyped up on Mountain Dew, couldn't go to sleep, and needed something to......dew?

Maybe not.
VDODSON writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:29:43 AM

Happy Dew Year
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:31:54 AM

@tcu: Right you are. Why should people get the opportunity to share each others opinions?
triggax writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:03:08 PM

Well considering that even this coming weekend Avatar has no real challengers coming to the plate, most prognosticators are calling for another 50-60 million dollar haul, based on Imax ticket sales, most of the weekend shows are sold out STILL...

Darkknight, it took batman almost 3 months to get to 530 million.. avatar should cross the 400 million mark this weekend, after only its 4th week of release, so to say that this wont make as much domestically is just plain ignorrant. Avatar this weekend could very easily pull in another 200 million worldwide... very easily. People are still talking about how crazy it is.. and there are a lot of repeat viewings, based mostly on the fact that it looks insane and feels like a ride.. Its the perfect money maker man... you dont need to be a genius to get the plot and because of the immersive atmosphere you constantly feel like you're a part of the film... i think thats really bringing people back and will continue to bring people back... no film to this date has had staying power like this, and people can say that its sad that the reason its drawing in such crowds is because it looks nuts.. but whats the difference if a movie draws in crowds for its story vs its visuals, its 2 ends of the spectrum... who f*cking cares..

I wouldn't doubt it if Avatar beat out titanic.. but then we'd have to adjust for inflation and I don't think it can muster those kind of numbers... Either way, Cameron proved 90% of you f*ckers wrong, and now officially has rights to the 2 highest grossing movies of all time.
za316653 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:29:20 PM

I hope avatar beats The Dark Knight. Why, Avatar is good - but nowhere close to The Dark Knight. Money doesn't mean sh*t in my book.
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:12:02 PM

Wow, so crafty marketing and oversaturation gave it it's initial push and the fact that people want to be part of this experience is giving its legs.
I still say this is the biggest marketing coup in decades.....hell ever.
funny thing is, I know a lot of people who haven't seen it and from how they talk, they know a lot of people who haven't seen it. I'm not saying my circle of friends count for the whole populace but it's just weird that not a lot of them have even seen it. Quite the opposite when it came to Lord of The Rings, The Dark Knight, hell even Titanic.
I may go check it out on MLK day but I'm not breaking my neck to go see it. Nor will I do IMAX, don't want to get all queasy
coldplayesence writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:20:41 PM

@jdDiedforyou: Did you read the article? A f*cking lot of people. And I agree, the plot isn't good the effects are, and that's it. It's over, let it go.
tcu21 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:48:31 PM

@FreudianNightmare:

You and I both know that's not the point I was trying to make. The argument over whether this movie deserves to be labeled one of the best of the year or not due it's story has been exhausted to the full extent on this site and it's just getting a little old.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:07:06 PM

@tcu: Yeah, I understand what you mean and, to a certain point, do agree with you. However, as long as the debate engage people, it's still worth debating. I'm for one doesn't care that much about Avatar, but it's fun to watch both sides convince each other who's right.
vaodsi writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:28:01 PM

i believe it... me and my girlfriend have seen it 3 times
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:55:11 PM

I represent the population that will certainly see this movie.

In IMAX 3D.

But haven't gone yet because I want the crowds to thin out a bit.

This movie has legs. Then... THEN there's the merchandising $'s, DVD sales... people going to it MULTIPLE times.

We ALL know that the plot isn't original (Pocahontas, Star Trek's 'Insurrection', and DOZENS of others) . We ALL know it's a visual spectacle.

Cameron has done it again. Love him or hate him... this man knows his stuff, the business, and what the crowd wants. And I'm grateful for his abilities every time I watch the first Terminator and Aliens!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:33:46 PM

This isn't staying power, Titanic is staying power, this has only been out three weeks. Dark Knight was number one for 5 weeks straight and it had stiff competition during that summer with Pineapple Express and Tropic Thunder. This film is up against...*crickets* like let's be serious now. Titanic had legs, soft as f*ck opening, in the top spot for like 19 weeks or some madness like that. Dark Knight had hit 300 quicker than Avatar did and due to competition it slowed down heavily. Avatar's got competition in January stuff like Book of Eli, youth in revolt, and not to mention folks going back to school and getting back into the swing of work. This thing isn't going to make 60 million every weekend.

And Takai isn't Gone with the Wind the king after inflation. It's like 1.48 or something like that. I thought Star Wars was like 1.3
Rich k writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:34:57 PM

i just want to say I TOLD YOU SO SPOOKY FAG BOY
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:50:18 PM

^^^LOL
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:24:34 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - good post.

I defined 'legs' mainly as I represent the population that will certainly see Avatar, but haven't yet. No arguing the competition of 'crickets' (lol) hasn't hurt Avatar, but flicks in Jan. will put a dent into it's run. Depending on how Avatar will look on DVD will be a HUGE consideration as to it's final bottom line. It (honestly) may only be an 'IMAX Movie' and suck dead cow's farts on DVD... but word of mouth when it's released will make or break that.

And I too thought Gone with the Wind was still up there in inflation-equalized calculations.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:47:44 PM

Thanks Ranger, my post was really directed at Triggax not you btw. I think the film will do quite well on DVD especially Blu-Ray. People are going to want to see how it looks in HD and blah blah blah.

The transfer will be great I'm sure. Cameron is too much of a techie to let the transfer go to sh*t like The Dark Knight's 35mm sequences did on Blu-Ray.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:33:45 PM

No prob. I didn't think it was directed my way (ok if it was). Just clarifying my definition of 'legs' for this flick. They still haven't made money from me... yet, but will (crowded theaters and all that).

And agreed... Cameron with his name stamped all over this is far too picky to put out a crappy quality DVD.

Still anxious to see this in IMAX 3D!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:06:28 PM

Next time I'll see it in regular theaters if I do go see it again. No light loss and I don't need to see the 3D again. Film was shot in HD anyway not 2K,4K or even IMAX so I'm not gonna toss out the money for the huge screen again. One time was enough.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:24:00 PM

Why does everyone care so much about how much it makes or if it beats other movies or not?
It's already a box office and critical hit. Why does it matter if it beats Titanic or not? We're already assured of a sequel being made.

Honestly, I loved Avatar; it was a damn good movie. The Dark Knight is a better movie, and both of them are better than Titanic. The Lord of the Rings movies are better than Titanic as well. Still, it doesn't bother me that Titanic has a bigger worldwide box office than those films. It doesn't affect my opinion of the films in question, so I don't really understand all the obsession with being the "top of the box office". Eventually, something will sink Titanic, and it may be a better film or it may be a worse film. In the end, it's not about the box office, it's about how you as a viewer appreciate the film.
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:23:29 PM

Yeah, I thought 'Gone WIth The Wind' was on top too, but when I looked for it, I could only find the domestic numbers. I mean, I didn't expect to see international numbers, considering the movie came out in 1939. I'm pretty sure it was the highest grossing domestic film, but I think 'Star Wars' is on top worldwide. Still pretty ridiculous.
telur writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:32:47 PM

i remember when most WP user said avatar gonna bomb, but the reality is a huge success

YOU ALL WRONG GUYS!!!!!!

unbelieveable
makingcircles writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:45:20 PM

Damn...Cameron has the Midas touch.
Mudders writes:
on January 11th, 2010 at 12:08:51 AM

here in new zealand its all anyone is talkin about...just went to see it fo the first time on friday in 3-D...which i might add was better than i thought even though im not a fan of 3-D...its still packing out cinemas here...sometimes 3-4 screenings at once

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved