WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Franco in Danny Boyle's "127 Hours"

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Franco in Danny BoyleSubmit Comment
Oscar-winning director Danny Boyle (28 Days Later, Slumdog Millionaire) will re-team with his "Slumdog" writer Simon Beaufoy for "127 Hours," a story of mountaineer Aron Ralson.

It was rumored that Boyle was considering Cillian Murphy (28 Days Later, Sunshine) to star in his film, but now comes word via Production Weekly that James Franco (Spider-Man, Pineapple Express) has already been cast. Filming will begin early March in Utah.

Plot: After his right forearm got pinned for nearly five days under a boulder during a climb in Utah in May, 2003, Ralston used a dull knife to amputate the limb. He then scaled a 65-foot sheer wall and hiked out before running into a family that gave him water and food. He was finally rescued by helicopter.

Source: ProductionWeekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:21:29 AM

Franco can definitely do this
chrisc20002003 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:35:05 AM

Can he?
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:37:50 AM

I think so.

Franco has been stellar in anything of his I've seen.
vwkombi writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:09:37 AM

Yep, 2hrs of a guy trapped under a boulder. Sounds great.

In all seriousness, this might be pretty good. I have faith in Boyle.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:23:47 AM

Franco is good, but Cillian is kick-ass
Bob82 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:02:47 AM

I also preferred Cillian Murphy but James Franco ain't a bad actor, so I'm still interested. I like Danny Boyle, but "Slumdog Millionaire" was totally over-rated.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:38:47 AM

@Ranger: "stellar"???

I'm sorry, we are talking about James franco right?

Reasons to cast Franco:
- Pineapple Express
- SNL
- Milk
Reasons not to cast Franco:
- General Hospital
- Spider Man 1-3
- Flyboys
- Good Time Max
- Annapolis
and so on....

Bottom line outside of playing a stoner or a fag this guy has almost zero talent. Picking him over Cillian Murphy (28 Days Later, Batman Begins, Red Eye, Cold Mountain, etc.) would be like picking a Chevy Nova over a Lexus.
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:39:53 AM

I was all ready to give Franco some cred. He did an ok job in the Spidey flicks, he was good in Pineapple Express. But then this whole soap opera sh*t and then his stint on Saturday Night Live??? My wife watches the soap he's on so I saw him a few times and the dude is horrible to watch. Granted, I really didn't account for the soap opera suck variable but he was worse than the regulars there. Then watching him on SNL was just torture. His facial expressions made me sick and the guy thinks yelling is funnier. Too many lessons from the Will Ferrel school of comedy.
I've come to realize that Franco needs a lot of time to do a good job. So shows like SNL and soap operas really play against that.
And apparently he shares this gene with his brother because that dude is hot steaming sh*t on the sidewalk on Scrubs. And it takes a lot to stand out as bad on that show.
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:44:56 AM

Damn Sac I just read your comment after I posted mine. Slide that SNL down into the reason not to list. The show itself was funny (by SNL standards only) but he was definitely not the reason.
SNL needs to stop pushing their people out or letting them go and actually retain some (sniker) talent. I'll bet they'll be saying goodbye to Kristen Wiig soon and she's even funnier than Poehler or Fey ever were.
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:55:13 AM

I thought that his 'General Hospital' bit was part of another movie he was working on. As in, he's that bad on purpose.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:18:38 AM

The headline was misspelled. It should be:

"James Franco inside Danny Boyle for 127 Hours".
tcu21 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:25:06 AM

James Franco has done well in dramatic roles. Golden Globe for his portrayal of James Dean, was pretty good as an abusive boyfriend in the Emmy nominated made-for-tv movie "An American Crime", and of course his underrated role in "Milk".

And he was funny in this most recent stint on SNL, it takes a great actor to full on kiss half the male members of the cast without breaking character...and of course to do the the Jammie Shuffle.
BigUnit writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:31:29 AM

interesting.. personally i dont think they should make a movie about this at all.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:45:03 AM

@theDot: SNL is pretty funny again! This season has arguably had some of the worst hosts I've ever seen (Franco, Taylor Swift, Megan Fox) and has still managed to be hilarious. Franco acted stoned in most of the skits so I didn't have much of a problem with his performance. As for the "Will Ferrel school of comedy", I guess you can count me as one of those people that thinks Ferrel's a genius. I still randomly laugh out loud thinking of him rubbing his balls on John C. Reilly's drum set.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:51:37 AM

This is the movie that there will not be any spoken lines for the first hour right?....if so then f*ck this.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:52:04 AM

The shot of him Franco standing in front of of his Annapolis display is funny as sh*t WP. Get blazed and go promote your role as a naval officer (in training). Nice work stoner.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:10:33 AM

@the dot: Good to see someone giving some cred to Kristen Wiig.
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:07:33 PM

@Freud, SNL is stepping up but all credit has to be given to Kristen Wiig for that. The opening Lawrence Welk skit had me in tears and nearly everything she's in is damn funny. She's single handedly keeping that show alive and watchable.

@SAC I do have a prob with Franco acting stoned in every skit because it would have been funny if he just acted. And you're right, they've had some of the worst hosts in recent history but are doing better in spite of it. And they look to continue this streak of bad hosts with Charles Barkley this Saturday...... Here's hoping they sign Justin Timberlake as a recurring host cause he's just about the only one that steps it up.
But I will give credit to Will, I saw his one man show doing Bush and it was stellar. A whole lot funnier than rubbing his balls on a drum set or pissing his pants in front of an audience.

@TCU As far as Franco on that show, you sub anyone else in that week's ep and you'd get the same, if not better results.
And full on kissing half the male cast and not breaking scene isn't the sign of a great actor. It's the sign of a fag enjoying a skit written specifically for him.
AshTrey writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:20:16 PM

Do it Franco!! He chooses interesting roles, that HE wants to do (except for Spiderman, that was probably all his agent). He switches it up and i respect that. Now smoke weed under that bolder to dull the pain!!
rocketman writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:47:49 PM

Can't see this the guy is wodden as it gets.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:30:07 PM

holy sh*t what a crazy story
Goober3000 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:32:41 PM

I wonder if they ever went back to get the arm lol.....don't judge me
Goober3000 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:39:17 PM

maybe some little kid found it like HOLY sh*t look what I just found (waving it around)
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:21:38 PM

The only way I'll watch this is if Franco actually cuts off his arm for real on film. I don't hate the kid, I just think he needs some amateur surgery to be interesting.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:44:28 PM

@SAC - read my friend. I said he was stellar in what I SAW him in.

Didn't see Annapolis and only a bit of Flyboys.

He had the balls, and has the strength of career and thus can afford to do General Hospital because he wanted to... and it won't hurt his career.

Don't confuse lame Spidey movies because of Franco. HE was GOOD in them. Just based on his sole performance... not as an ensemble piece. Lose the story, effects, Kiki Drunkst's teeth, and just watch Franco.

When he plays a stoner and a 'fag guy'... he's exceptional (could YOU kiss Penn without flinching?!).

Did you see him play James Dean? Amazin!

The Great Raid... fine performance.

I've seen fantastic actors be in sh*t movies... but they were still great in them.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:08:46 PM

in danny boyle i trust
japaninmotion writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:40:32 PM

well theres the plot and the story in a ut shell now i dont have to see it
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 9:12:16 PM

@ranger
i.e. sam w in t4

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved