WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Netflix to Delay New WB Titles for 28 Days

Posted: January 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Netflix to Delay New WB Titles for 28 DaysSubmit Comment
Warner Bros Home Entertainment has announced that it will continue its relationship with Netflix, but will not make available the new releases for twenty eight days after they hit stores.

This will give Warners an opportunity to maximize the sales potential of those titles, since 75% of DVD/Blu-ray sales occurs in the first four weeks of release. At this point, this delay only applies to Netflix, not Blockbuster.

For Netflix's patience, Warners will offer the company its titles at reduced costs and significantly more units. Plus, Netflix will now be able to offer its members more Warners movies that can be watched instantly through streaming.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
StrongR3tard writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:54:58 AM

or you could just download it for free
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:19:48 AM

this is bullsh*t
chrisc20002003 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:40:10 AM

Soooo, WB wants to frustrate the consumer even more. Fantastic idea, this won't hurt sales at all.
chrisc20002003 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:41:57 AM

Im going to go out on a limb and say that renting instead of buying is not what's hurting DVD sales.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:45:05 AM

Wow. Thank god the Harry potter in my queque came when it did.
blinkbomber writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:11:07 AM

I mainly use Netflix streaming for older harder to find titles... because the new ones i wanna see i'll just buy. Netflix also stated that the money they are saving from lowered costs of WB titles will go towards the funding of many more instant streaming media... NOT just more WB titles.

so i'm cool with that.
Ranger writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:12:07 AM

For Netflix's patience, Warners will offer the company its titles at reduced costs and significantly more units.

So in an effort of 'fair business' WB CLEARLY favors trying to save sinking Blockbuster from an early(ier), timely death. 28 day hold for Netflix but NOT Blockbuster.

WB... you suck sh*t! Netflix works hard to build a business, with a better business model than Blockbuster and you f*ckers punish them for it?!

And WB holds their own sales window open longer AND is trying to come off as being magnanimous by offering Netflix MORE units (not for FREE folks... they'll have to pay for them).

Talk about getting screwed with you pants on.

They're quoted to say that NOW Netflix will be able to offer your more Warner's movies. Why... were there ever ANY titles from Warner that Netflix didn't offer?

What a sh*t, Big Brother deal by WB.

RIP Blockbuster!
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:41:36 AM

"Did you order that new horror movie from Netflix?"

"Yeah. Odd thing is, when I ordered it, I didn't get it till.......28 Days Later!!!! OMG!!!"
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:31:18 AM

What a d*ck move. Agreed, glad I got my potter when I did. Stupid move.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:09:59 AM

Douche Bags, I have netflix and don't mind waiting 28 days for the movie to be available since, I won't go out and buy the sh*t anyway...I mean for f*cks sake I haven't bought an actual movie in like 3 years.
thedotsays writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:22:04 PM

I love NetFlix, and so does my wife. I had a DVD collection going well over 2000 titles and she hated it. Since I got a BD player and NetFlix, my purchased BD library currently sits at 8 titles.
This is a sh*t idea but I see why they are doing it. Hell I could be viewed as a reason why. Still it's a sh*t move. As technology improves by leaps and bounds to bad the media outlet can't keep up with the pace. Same thing happened in the music biz once the internet and file sharing jumped off. No more are folks going to pay $15 for a CD when they can burn it for free. And so the music biz saw a huge drop in sales and made just about the only move they could by scaring the public with dumb ass lawsuits and aligning themselves with the likes of ITunes, Rhapsody, etc.
Well movie biz, it's your turn. As the quality of the content of movies go down and the prices to buy go up with BD in the mix, there's technology saying "hey f*ck buying, stream it!"
I guess WB is going along the lines of On Demand since most of those titles show up days after they're released on DVD.
but still, f*ck em.
Ex_CavScout19D30 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:51:33 PM

Guess I will have to ONLY DOWNLOAD WB Movies. I hope they get ass-raped by albino Pygmies.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on January 9th, 2010 at 2:36:40 PM

@ Ranger..just curious, not that I'm defending Blockbuster because even though I work for them doesn't mean I enjoy my job, but what do you mean that the netflix business model is better than BB? Just curious what you mean by that? Blockbuster is trying their best to salvage themselves and inking an exclusivity contract may help like this one with many other production companies. I highly doubt it'll delay the death of Blockbuster though, Ranger.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved