WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seven Films Still in the Running for Visual Effects Oscar

Posted: January 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seven Films Still in the Running for Visual Effects OscarSubmit Comment
Back in December, we showed you a list of fifteen films that have been selected for Achievement in Visual Effects for the 82nd Academy Awards. That list was supposed to be narrowed down to seven, before the final three are selected to compete for the VFX Oscar.

Today, we have the seven movies still in the running, and they are: "Avatar," "District 9," "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince," "Star Trek," "Terminator Salvation," "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," and "2012."

The following films did not make the cut: "Angels and Demons," "Coraline," "A Christmas Carol," "G-Force," "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra," "Sherlock Holmes," Watchmen" and "Where the Wild Things Are."

The final nominations for the Academy Awards will be announced on Tuesday, February 2nd, 2010 at 5:30am PT. The actual awards for outstanding film achievements of 2009 will be presented on Sunday, March 7th, 2010 and will be televised live by ABC.

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RedSmile writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:40:59 PM

Avatar is most likely to win,
gimple writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:42:03 PM

Watchmen should still be in, why did they get rid of it?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:03:00 PM

It will probably go down to Avatar, D9 and Star Trek. Avatar will win, but I'm holding my thumbs for D9
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:03:56 PM

they have something against blue penis thats why there is no watchmen
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:13:04 PM

if avatar doesn't win, that's ridiculous. whether or not you actually liked the movie, there is no denying the special fx were superior to anything else that came out this year (or rather, last year)
ironhide-autobot writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:14:18 PM

i love trek and D9 to death,bu ti like avatar more then both(close thoe), but most likely avatar will win
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:35:06 PM

D9 or Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen


f*ck avatar's blue *sshole!
Nemonian writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:35:54 PM

What Hollywood1086 said, and I'm adding a few exclamation marks after the word ridiculous.
GIST writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:55:41 PM

Just caught Avatar last night. Story is predictable, but the visual effects gave my eyes a blowjob. Stunning.
barley_cat writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:08:22 PM

That's pretty much the gist of it, GIST. See what i done?! Aren't i clever. Ha
SoftimusPrime writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:29:18 PM

Why are people saying District 9..? Look, it is a terrific film, but in all honesty, the clear contenders should be Star Trek and Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen. And why? Because the effects in those two films are 100% photo real! Avatar has great new technology, but ultimately it's NOT complitely photo real, whereas D9 has great effects, but it looses in volume. That's my two cents. Avatar will surely win.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:37:00 PM

Star Trek and Transformers 2 are not photo real at all far from it. Avatar on the other hand is when it comes down to the faces of the Na'vi people. Zoe Saldana looks like Zoe Saldana even though shes 14 feet tall, blue instead of black, with a nose like a Tiger.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:50:28 PM

Star Trek definitely utilized the special effects with the story really well. Star Trek should get it. Harry Potter wasn't bad, but the effects were pretty basic. I might give credit to Terminator Salvation for it's excellent set of tone with the effects, but the giant robot was really overkill in my opinion. Transformers, however, had some of the most unique special effects and the robot transforming stuff, which I heard utilized actually mathematics to work, is incredible. Say what you want about it as lacking story and acting, but the effects were insane. Plus, the first one got screwed out an Oscar two years ago from the frikkin' Golden Compass film, which had sucky special effects (No idea how that happened although politics is a strong bet). Transformers seems due for payment after that crap. So, and I realize I drew this out longer then I needed to, either Star Trek or Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen deserves, if not is entitled to, the Oscar for Best Visual Effects.
Goober3000 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:11:33 PM

"they have something against blue penis thats why there is no watchmen"

technically avatar is chock full of blue penis


StrongR3tard writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:20:02 PM

i can't believe 2012 is still in the running. that is one of the worst f*ckin movies i have ever seen and the effects were brutal. i say D9 or Avatar
GIST writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:30:06 PM

@barley_cat

Yesss! I was waiting for someone to use my name in context.
Now I'm going to feed my cat some barl...ummm, that didn't work.
napott01 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:07:55 AM

I really think that 2012 and Terminator should be replaced with Watchmen and Where The Wild Things Are.
But I guess it really doesn't matter because James Cameron wins everything...and then yells at people for liking him because he wins things....
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:37:42 AM

why is Watchmen not there but HP?
vaodsi writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 2:42:33 AM

avatar allready has this
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:14:56 AM

Seriously, the other contenders might as well not show up because Avatar had this in the bag in pre production. Like District 9 was fine for 30 million but its nowhere near as massive, detailed, certainly not even photo real, as Avatar. Avatar was all about the tech pretty much.
tcu21 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 5:26:34 PM

You could make the argument for Avatar or District 9

Avatar: It was revolutionary and no one has seen anything like it

District 9: It was extraordinary that Blomkamp did everything in that movie with only 30mil.

But I don't think there's any debate that Avatar will win.
pjmbdm writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:56:09 PM

I think when a movie is like Avatar (almost nothing but CG) it should NOT get nominated. What impresses me is when you mend the two on screen (CG and real life) and it looks flawless. That's just me though. I am also the only person on the planet who has yet to see Avatar so maybe my mind will change. My vote goes to Transformers. I hated that movie but we're just talking about the effects here right?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved