WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Millar Reveals Dream Cast for "Superman" Reboot

Posted: January 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Millar Reveals Dream Cast for "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Comic book writer Mark Millar (Kick-Ass, Wanted) has been talking to Warner Bros about rebooting the Superman franchise for quite a while. He even got "Kick-Ass" director Matthew Vaughn to agree to helm if it ever happens. Vaughn was actually offered to direct "Thor" at one point, but turned it down.

Warners doesn't have any currently plans to bring Superman back to the big screen, but has stated that after all the lawsuits with the heirs of the character's creators are over with, it might work out a deal with them to give Superman another shot. And Millar wants to be the man to make it happen.

He recently updated his site with the following: "Matthew [Vaughn] and I talk all the time about the notion of revamping Superman for a new generation (and YES, 30 somethings, that DOES mean an origin to explain where the Hell he came from to my daughter and her pals). Obviously, there's some legal sh*t to sort out but anyone who thinks Superman is gone is just plum crazy. Should we pursue this aggressively, especially given the buzz on Kick-Ass is just astronomical and Matthew is being offered pretty much anything he wants to do?"

He continued: "We had so much fun casting around on all this, just idle chats in the pub as we scribbled our notes. Imagine Daniel Craig as Lex Luthor, Clint Eastwood as Pa Kent, Daniel Day-Lewis and Julianne Moore as Jor-El and Lara. And the idea one of our production team had for Jimmy Olsen is just GENIUS! But let's not get ahead of ourselves."

Millar's idea for the "Superman" reboot is to make a trilogy. "I want to start on Krypton, a thousand years ago, and end with Superman alone on Planet Earth, the last being left on the planet, as the yellow sun turns red and starts to supernova, and he loses his powers," he previously stated.

Source: MillarWorld


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:41:45 PM

I WANT WORLD PEACE, A BILLIONDOLLARS, AND A NEVER ENDING SUPPLY OF p*ssy... MY DREAMS ARE CLOSER TO COMING TRUE THAN THIS CRAP
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:55:28 PM

Supes would leave Earth LONG BEFORE our sun went red. Not like he'd allow himself to get trapped here being a whining bitch that all his friends are dead.

Get a grip Millar!

I LOVE the End of the Earth Trilogy story out there proposed (sans Supes origin again... talk about beating a dead dog!). Too much legal sh*t is right (as per AshTrey)... why bother catering to those that own the rights to his origin... WE HAVE SEEN IT ALREADY!!!!!
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:20:47 PM

Millar has got my vote. Let him make his Trilogy WB!! He already has great casting in mind. Let's do this sh*t already!!
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:39:44 PM

And nothing wrong with tweaking the ending so Supes is seen (teary-eyed if need be) fleeing Earth as the Sun turns red behind him. But for he to allow himself to strand himself here... he'd be a p*ssy Terran and not longer the tough Kryptonian (which... may be way the want to explore that and go that way).

Then they could name the movie:

Kal-El - Last p*ssy Son of Earth!
Kutten writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:43:56 PM

@ makingcircles

What the hell is your avatar supposed to be?!
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:55:39 PM

@Kutten - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Maxx

@Ranger- lol... you always ruffle my feathers when there's a Superman post.

Alex...may I just stop to point out that today has been an awesome day for posting with articles I actually give a sh*t about. So good job...keep it up! The last couple of weeks have been dreary...
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:57:22 PM

@Kutten - Here's a better one
http://www.mtv.com/shows/the_maxx/series.jhtml
thedotsays writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:01:57 PM

Well the way Supes cares for us humans leads me to beleive he would go out with the earth. Still a puss move but dude has a career of puss moves. Sorry boy scout but I'd be f*cking Wonder Woman on the regular and not even give Lois Lame a second look.
But g'head and give me hell, but I'm not feeling this "dream cast"
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:11:43 PM

@thedot - I agree... that's the only reason he'd stay here to die... because he's a p*ssy.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:12:05 PM

Supes should go to Pandora and get himself some blue box.
rzmsauce writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:20:33 PM

Superman is one of the gayest charactors out there this storyline of Miller's is the best thing that could happen to the franchise, Sadly will get some kid friendly reboot to sell toys and lunchboxes.
billofill writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:21:20 PM

CAN YOU NEWS SITES STOP GIVING THIS UNTALLENTED c*ntFACE ATTENTION? Unless there is an actual product that he has.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:40:51 PM

Just let Bryan Singer direct a sequel! Dude could easily make a great film. Anyone remember a certain film called "X2"? Singer made an origin story just to introduce the X-Men to the cinema and then went full throttle with his amazing sequel. Superman wasn't in theaters for 20 years and the last two films tarnished the Christopher Reeve legacy a bit. Singer had to reintroduce him like how he was in the original classics without starting completely over. The last one was not an origin story and was a great, rather unique way of following off the second film from 1980, the last good one. Let Singer take the reigns and I know we'll get a spectacle. This could be Superman's "X2" to Superman Returns.
Duffman writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:46:03 PM

Hell if you're gonna use daniel day lewis just give him every role and make sure there is a milkshake

@ ranger-- they'd prob just try to kick him out of pandora for being a sky people...literally and yes only reason he would stay is because he is a p*ssy.

What I wanna know is who the hell is his dream cast for superman?

Duffman writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:47:30 PM

@ makingcircles-- been a long time since I have heard of The Maxx I remember watching that when it was on show was badass
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:48:08 PM

nicolas cage would have made a great superman,he has the sexy voice, he pulls soo many facial expressions, its crazy. he never misfiled, he speaks the language known only as COOL!_! hes points all sexy-like, oh and i hear hes totally horsed*ck 8L.. if thats not superman what is ?_?
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:48:27 PM

"We had so much fun casting around on all this, just idle chats in the pub as we scribbled our notes.
Imagine Daniel Craig as Lex Luthor,...No Clint Eastwood as Pa Kent,....to much self respect and dignity to lose
Daniel Day-Lewis and Julianne Moore as Jor-El and Lara........you got to be out your damn mind
And the idea one of our production team had for Jimmy Olsen is just GENIUS!.....not have him in it.

But let's not get ahead of ourselves."

I agree with you Mr. Millar Cause you would have a better chance at just letting this go. How about you just stay at home watch smallville and get your ideas better yet your cast from them but the show has fallen off a little and i might get burn for saying this so if i was wrong to say these thing i apologize.
Kutten writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:11:53 PM

@ makingcircles

Thanks. I thought it was some kind of weird bird :-D
lost_addict writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:14:49 PM

how about just making the f*cking movie alrady?
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:22:54 PM

@Sleuth - I agree completely. But (from what I've read on here... unless others haven't expressed themselves yet on the topic), you and I are 2 of the few fans of Singer's Supes. I liked it.

No, I didn't like that Supes had a bastard child.
No, I didn't like Kal-el/Kent were still wet-spotting for Lois the bitch.
No, I didn't like that Supes and Kent show up that same time after 5 years and no one puts it together.

The rest was pretty damn decent though. I like the nostalgic lifting of the Mustang over his head. The landing the jet was spectacular. The mini-gun the bank robbers used on him, the shot to the eye... all fab! And there still doesn't seem to be many Singer/Supes fans on here.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:28:53 PM

@Ranger
It does suck we are part of a very small club of Singer, and yeah there were a lot of plot holes. In Singer's defense, Clark is like a ghost anyway so no one gives a crap about Supes alter-ego so no one would probably notice. The child plot I was sort of all for because it adds to Supes relation to humans. You have to understand, I actually want to be a filmmaker so I look for every detail of a story and if it fits I give it props. I do agree that the pining for Lois is overdone and had already reached its peak in Superman II when they are together and all. Personally, to fix that, Lois should have remembered at the end of Superman Returns of her time with Superman in Superman II and realizes Clark is Superman. Then, you have a good continuation and conflict for the second one. Add in Braniac showing up as things are getting better for Superman and you have a sequel. What do think?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:32:09 PM

Oh yeah, and say a sequel does ever happen (I know, doubtful), I have a couple suggestions for a title: "Superman Legacy" or simply "Man of Steel". It's like "Dark Knight". The title alone separated itself from it's predecessor and maybe, from the title, the next Superman film separates itself from the Superman Returns and turns up the heat. Anyone else got some cool movie titles.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:33:33 PM

And I'm sooooooo sorry for writing so much. I have a real problem with over detailing my arguments.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:39:12 PM

you said everything you wanted to man and you have no argument from me.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:45:16 PM

@Sleuth - no apology req. for expressing yourself.
FBO writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:19:51 PM

If Singer was allowed to continue with his treatment of the story it would be called Man of Steel, and his idea was to finally let Sups beat the sh!t out of some aliens, to show people the full extent of Sups' powers in combat.

I say, Let Singer do it
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:28:33 PM

@Duffman - Yeah The Maxx was pretty sweet. They were once going to make a live-action movie but it never materialized. I still have hopes that someday they will. Here's a cool site with casting suggetions...I think Rourke is perfect.
http://celluloidandcigaretteburns.blogspot.com/2008/11/films-that-should-be-made-maxx.html
WV-Films writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:47:06 PM

I bet it's Shia Labeouf as Olsen.
Vin12 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:01:13 PM

only in 3d
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:27:52 PM

I am soooo pumped to hear about the origin. Soooo pumped! Man, everybody was bashing on an origin story, and I think for a fresh start, duh, they need one. Awesome news.
Vin12 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:00:11 PM

slightly off-topic- does anybody know when superman eath one graphic novel is coming out. i know this year but if anybody has a release date id appreciate it
telur writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:00:37 AM

mark millar has a stupid idea that never happen.....ever
BrandoFresh writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:24:46 AM

I say Millar can go f*%# himself. He has some good ideas but I just dont agree with his vision.
Vin12 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:57:31 AM

i like it as an idea for a comic book miniseries or even a limited series elseworlds type of thing but other than that no way
tolgaboy writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 3:30:36 AM

stop the kryptonite sh*t and f*ck lex luthor thats where it gows wrong with SUPERMAN
LastActionHero writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 6:51:32 AM

The best part is the idea of Superman dying at the end.
Jensama writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:36:57 AM

Marvelous idea. Thumbs up.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:56:49 AM

@Kutten:

you don't know sh*t

@makingcircles:

cool avatar


Jimmy Olsen?!?!?! WTF?!?!?!
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:41:58 AM

You know what, as much as Millar has been rubbing me the wrong way lately, ok since Wanted was a sh*t bag excuse to pay his rent, this sounds too good to be true. I would love to see this.

@Ranger depends on his mindset. He might just stay and die with his adoptive planet. Mind you, in the films it's as if Superman is the only super being and their is no trace of aliens. So why he would leave earth to go where exactly is beyond anyone in the film universe. I mean he would die in space, in the movies.
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:26:29 AM

i'd rather see Clint Eastwood as old bruce wayne than pa kent.
Matiax writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:53:34 AM

"(and YES, 30 somethings, that DOES mean an origin to explain where the Hell he came from to my daughter and her pals)"

To Hell with that! He's a goddamn alien! Get her a Smallville DVD.
And a movie with superman ALONE in red sun Earth, sounds deadly boring.

And, he didn't cast the main character!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved