WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Robocop" Remake is On Hold

Posted: January 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Robocop" Remake is On HoldSubmit Comment
Even though Darren Aronofsky signed on for the "Robocop" remake a few years ago, there has been almost no movement on the project. It actually seems to me that Aronofsky is not too excited about bringing the character back to the big screen.

Part of the reason why "Robocop" hasn't made any progress is because of MGM's financial problems. And according to Moviehole, it is also because MGM chairperson Mary Parent has been pushing to make the new remake in 3D, especially after the success of "Avatar." Aronofsky is more interested in making the film without any gimmicks.

He has also talked about completely starting the franchise from scratch, ignoring what Paul Verhoeven did with the original film. MGM may also have a problem with that, considering that fans expect certain things from the original to be used.

The site has also confirmed that even though Aronofsky chose to work on "Black Swan" instead of "Robocop," the studio will wait for him instead of hiring another helmer, like they planned back in July.

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:40:35 PM

Please don't remake this! Only remake films that could be improved upon.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:40:51 PM

MGM DIE ALREADY!

GET SOLD ALREADY!

GET BOND AND ROBOCOP GOING ALREADY!

f*ck ME!!!

PS: RoBoBond anybody?

Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:57:10 PM

@gimple - I'm not a fan of remakes either (although 'I am Legend' surprised me, as I did NOT want The Omega Man remade). But if... IF they HAVE TO remake this movie... GET ON WITH IT ALREADY!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:57:59 PM

How about let Aronofsky have his way? The guy obviously knows what he's doing and I believe he would make the trippiest of Robocops.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:09:49 PM

Dead or alive... you're coming with me.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:25:09 PM

I agree with the no gimmicks attitude.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:25:12 PM

I agree with the no gimmicks attitude.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:39:40 PM

this could be good, Darren Aronofsky is the f*cking man.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:58:22 PM

I'll Buy that for a Dollar
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:13:18 PM

@Kirk - I actually have this (as one of several hundred, more personal pics) on my digital frame:

http://blog.laptopmag.com/wpress/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/buyfordollar.jpg
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:58:33 PM

just add a RoBo-d1ck on Murphy and ill buy it
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:16:53 PM

"RoboCop" is my favorite it film of all time. Remaking a sci-fi classic really bugs me. But i don't think Darren Aronofsky is going to remake it. He's probably going to do something different.
lost_addict writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:17:51 PM

start making this film or there will be....trouble.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:23:23 PM

Nice!
CCBlev writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:16:55 PM

Of course this on hold as well, hey MGM, while you putting everything on hold, why don't you come over and hold my f*cking c*ck as well, you seem to be pretty good at that sh*t lately
CCBlev writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:23:45 PM

@ranger
RoBoBond, nice one, maybe in the next bond installment, RoBoBond, can stick his 10 inch steel c*ck up Lohans ass and blow her brains while he's f*cking her from behind, hey a fully loaded c*ck fires as bullet every time he pumps her, thats genius, and maybe do the same to Marc Forster for that sh*tty QOS movie, and if were willing to count our blessings maybe he'll get Lady GaGa in the crossfire, then i'd really believe god exists
SACdaddy writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:41:46 PM

This project is clearly unworthy of Arnofsky's talent and MGM is clearly unworthy of existence. He should go back to banging Rachel Weisz (what a talented and classy piece of ass) and MGM should go back to the choppin block.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:20:26 PM

Robocop was an awesome film, it does not need to be remade at all. hehe, the part when he shoots the guy in the balls through that chicks skirt was awesome.

please, like others have said, leave this movie alone. they already ruined Halloween and others, please not this.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 10:47:39 AM

f*ck REMAKES! NOOO MORE REMAKES!
eddie499 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 12:01:28 PM

Am I the only one that thinks that this project is just a little bit beneath a director like Aronofsky? I love the original, but I just don't associate Aronofsky with 80's era action flicks.
NatG83 writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:14:28 PM

They should let Aronofsky do what he wants. Only a director like Aronofsky, David Cronenberg, or Terry Gilliam can reboot this with the proper dark themes. Verhoeven did an awesome job with the original, but I don't want to see his vision rehashed and sold short.
rayvenge writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 4:31:39 PM

The should re do the blu ray I was let down after payin 20 bucks for something not even close to high definition..
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 7:20:59 PM

@Ranger- great pic hahaha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved