WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Zombieland" Writers Hired for "Deadpool" Spin-Off

Posted: January 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Zombieland" Writers Hired for "Deadpool" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
Ryan Reynolds has been meeting with writers to hear ideas about the upcoming "Deadpool" spin-off for months. Now it turns out that 20th Century Fox has hired "Zombieland" scribes Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick to work on the screenplay.

Reynolds will reprise his role as the wisecracking mercenary he portrayed in last year's "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," but there is currently no timetable in place.

Reynolds would be able to squeeze in the film after wrapping "Green Lantern" this summer. He has been bulking up to play the DC Comics' character, so it would be a smooth transition to jump into "Deadpool."

In addition to "Zombieland," Reese and Wernick have previously written a draft for the "Venom" spin-off, which is another Marvel property. They have also been working on the "Zombieland" sequel.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 3:07:31 AM

At least we don't have to worry about the humor of Deadpool. LOL Woody Harrelson seems like an old, western version of Deadpool. Well, from what I've heard about the character anyway. And can anyone tell me a good place to start in the comics to read him. I wanted to find some good stories to read to get familiar with this character who everyone describes as bad-ass.
Bigcheese writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 3:33:55 AM

Try "The Circle Chase & Sins of the Past" and "Suicide Kings". Both are great, and give a you a idea what to expect from the movie.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:14:02 AM

AGREED with prettty much both of you guys
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:52:26 AM

@Bigcheese
Thanks man. I look forward to reading them.
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:02:40 AM

or if you want to jump on a more recent one try "Merc with a Mouth" !
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:12:05 AM

''He has been bulking up''

Would you like some steroids with your morning coffee Mr Reynolds?
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:14:17 AM

Bulking up? The dude is already f*cking shredded.
Lordchristo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:46:01 AM

Sleuth, if you go to any comic shop worth it's salt, they should be carrying 'Deadpool Classics', the trade paperback collection which includes his first appearance, The Circle Chase, something else and the first issue of his ongoing series from 1997 on, which is hilarious. Really sets the tone for the character. You can also pick up Deadpool #900, which is fairly new.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:34:55 AM

great news!

I'll just hope they are aware of Deadpool's comics :P And with Reynolds I'm pretty optimistic about this movie, from the interviews I've seen with him the guy knows what he's doing
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:02:34 AM

I am actually looking forward to this movie.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:03:08 AM

Deadpool will be on quest for twinkies.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:53:13 AM

Thanks guys. This is one character I didn't realize was so cool. You are all helping me to redeem myself. Seriously, all I hear about Deadpool is how bad-ass he is.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:19:38 PM

good choice, zombieland is the sh*t.
ksplatt writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:38:59 PM

@scrooge - There is a difference between "bulk" and "shredded." The dude wants to become bigger all around hahah. So basically, we will see a 250lb 'roided out deadpool, like in the comics? Sweet.
Blank x2 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:22:54 PM

I hope they do the character justice. They have a great base and and a great actor, so I just hope they don't find some way to f*ck this movie up. Hopefully it'll be awesome.

And no, Trueman, Sam W. is not in this movie. Just figured I'd save you some time.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:23:04 PM

Is this sh*ty movie for real OMG, i want my fuking cigarette!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:39:53 PM

he should also be spiderman.
FBO writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:21:58 PM

Zombieland=Best comedy last year

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved