WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man 4" is On Hold Due to Script Problems

Posted: January 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man 4" is On Hold Due to Script ProblemsSubmit Comment
"Spider-Man 4" was supposed to begin filming in March, but a month ago, we learned that Sony might delay the schedule due to script disagreements with director Sam Raimi.

The studio insisted that there were no problems, but has now revealed to Variety that production will have to be put on hold until all the script issues are resolved.

"Spider-Man 3" took about eighteen months to go from the start of production to release. If the fourth installment were to make the announced May 6th, 2011 release date, filming would need to begin as soon as possible.

"I think making May is a real question," a Sony source revealed. "We will not start until we have it right. The feeling is we are not going to rush it to make the date."

According to IESB, the disagreement is regarding the villain. Raimi is pushing for Vulture (possibly played by John Malkovich), a character who can fly through the air and brandish his sharp wings to attack our hero. But Sony believes that there are plenty of other more popular villains that he can use. The studio doesn't have any characters in mind, but will take whichever one is selling the most comic books right now. And it's not the Vulture.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:55:59 AM

I'm about to go kick the butt of every studio executive who gives their two cents. It's because of them we got Spider-crap 3. Let Raimi, an actual fan of the comics who understands to honor the comic, make the film worth while.
c-prime writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:09:16 AM

My sentiments exactly, Sleuth, but I think deep down that Sam Raimi's interest has severely waned since the last movie. I get the sense that all this filibustering with Sony has really aggravated him to his core and that he's on the verge of forsaking his investment in the franchise almost completely (he'd probably just retain a producer's credit or something like that). Methinks Raimi would rather pursue new, less pressured endeavors than helm another hyped-up, haphazard letdown.

And, frankly, I'm not really digging The Vulture. To me, there are a plethora of better enemies to explore in this universe - I don't really think they should pursue him. I think the end result would might come out very poorly and overacted. Yet, at the same time, I trust Raimi's abilities and am also a moderate supporter of the "villains with human faces" contention that's been looming over this and other comic book film productions. (I think the baddies are generally more relatable that way.) We'll see what happens though, I guess. In any case, they're in better shape finalizing a villain than WB is with Batman.
nope.com writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:09:45 AM

They don't have any characters in mind, yet they kick a character to the curb without knowing the transition he can make to the screen

... just f*cking brilliant.. this way at least we know that another Spiderman 3 is upon us the way Sony is running it
wonderBOY writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:43:19 AM

the vulture so doesnt fit in with a movie version it would be stupid even if John horatio malkovich was playing him
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:49:34 AM

@c-prime
I agree Vulture isn't the best choice, but dead again, the Power Ranger-looking Green Goblin in the first one surprised us all. And doesn't this argument between Raimi and the studio show how dedicated he is. I get I'm a bit of a wishful thinker, and an aspiring filmmaker myself, but I believe Raimi's passion wants to prevent another Spider-Man 3 and create one that will erase it from history. I mean he himself has called in like 3 or 4 rewrites to fix the script. I think he still wants it and redemption for what the studio did to what could have been a brilliant conclusion to a great series. Kick ass Raimi!
pomme writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:00:52 AM

it smells bad! too many trouble in preproduction!
is it a futur Terminator Salvation 2?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:27:59 AM

I'm not a comic-book reader, so correct me if I'm wrong, but dr Connors transition to the Lizard aren't final. Isn't more like a Jeckyll/Hyde-thing going on, so he switches between human and lizard? If that's the case, the problem with a human face is solved.
Nemonian writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:30:51 AM

Or how about, just put in that friggin Lizard you've been building up the last 3 movies?

A familiar character transforming into a lizard or an unknown guy putting on a costume with wings? Come on!
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:50:41 AM

The only reason why i HATE "Spider-Man 3" so much was because they f*cked up Venom's character. The real Venom is not a killer and would NEVER team up with another villain just to kill Spider-Man/Peter Parker. Venom was more like a super-bully then an actual villain. He loves to torture Spider-Man not kill him. The only time Venom teamed up with villains was with the Sinister Six. But that's because he tried to make sure they wouldn't kill Spider-Man. Venom would actually fight other villains at times just to keep Spider-Man for himself. I think Sam Raimi would've f*cked up Carnage character aswell since he likes making his villains more human. But there's nothing human about Carnage especially when Cletus Kasady is a psychopathic killer. So possibly without the Venom and Carnage in "Spider-Man 4" it can turn out way better then "Spider-Man 3". But if Sony and Sam Raimi f*ck up like they did before then it probably won't be as good as the first two. And the series will be overshadowed by "Iron Man".
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:58:40 AM

What the hell! the vulture? you serious? i would rather it be Electro, Lizard, or Gargan "Scorpion"...and start it off with spidey beatigng the sh*t out of Bruce campbell as Mysterio..
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:04:13 AM

HAHAHAH, SAM R. f*ck this franchise woth his Venon good work mother f*cker!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:06:12 AM

In general i wouldn't mind Vulture, despite he is quite a lame B-Villain, he can be transitioned superbly on to screen with the right retweaking to his character to a sense of realism.

But I'd just prefer the Lizard, they have been building the anticipation of the character up for the last 3 movies, and well if that doesn't happen now then its gonna seriously piss off what is left of the fan base.

"But Sony believes that there are plenty of other more popular villains that he can use. The studio doesn't have any characters in mind."

Has anyone ever thought here that maybe that is what the studios are hinting out to Sam Raimi...?
For him to scrap Vulture and use Lizard, but being fairly discreet about it...
Just a thought really.


I voulch for Lizard & Kraven (Gerald Butler or Clive Owen) for the role.
Possibly introduce Roderick Kingsley (Cillian Murphy) whom takes over Oscorp.
Also could hint to the intro of Carnage for the next film, since Connors still has the symbiote sample.

eddie499 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:09:22 AM

Keep fighting, Sam! The fans are with you!

To the studio execs (as if they actually read this). Listen to the people here. They know what they're talking about. Venom in Spider-man 3 was tacked on to fill your need for merchandising. The movie would have made just as much (if not more) if you had just left it without Venom and stuck with the Sandman, who is a great character. LET RAIMI DO WHAT HE DOES BEST - MAKE MOVIES!
darthraige writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:55:15 AM

Script problems? You mean someone actually cares that the f*cking next installment shouldn't have a mother f*cking parakeet in it?
TheStig writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:38:18 AM

@ Freud:

Yeah that's how it works...kind of an interesting villain because Peter is friends with the guy he's fighting so he's trying to defend himself but he doesn't want to kill him. He has to figure out ways of getting him to drink the serum that changes him back without causing too much physical harm.

And this whole "can we make him look realistic?" question got answered when a little movie called Avatar revealed its new tech.
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:45:50 AM

Vulture wouldn't be horrible...I always liked the decrepid old man who builds a suit to survive and reek havoc element. I think if they give a badguy a good motive and pick a great actor...then it could happen. I would not pick Malcovich however. Clint Eastwood would be cool though. I think it is time for the Lizard for sure...but if Raimi signed a 3 picture deal then he might want save the Lizard for the last 2 films...just saying. Bruce Campbell as Mysterio, Chameleon or Kraven is okay with me too.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:57:11 AM

Put the Lizard in it and get on with it.
lost_addict writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:58:09 AM

script is solved:peter parker kills mary jane and his granny...
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:08:31 AM

Sony... leave the art of movie-making to the ahh, oh, I don't know... THEM MOVIE MAKER... and you just stick with counting your beans!

And just put The Lizard in it already for f*ck'S SAKE!!!!!!

9-10 ft. Lizard weighing in at about 1200 - 1500 lbs. vs... and old Jean-Luc Picard in a bird suit.

Yeah... that's a toughie alright.

makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:19:49 AM

"9-10 ft. Lizard weighing in at about 1200 - 1500 lbs. vs... and old Jean-Luc Picard in a bird suit."

LOL! Just picturing Patrick Stuart in a bird suit is funny.

Stay with me though Ranger... Clint Eastwood as the Vulture. Old man dying...get's suit built to sustain his life and then give him some motive to kill Spider-man. Could be a good side character and story.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:21:49 AM

Why not Don Rickles?
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:23:38 AM

@Making - Clint for the Vulture or NO Vulture!

As for Don Rickles... Mr. Warmth is Da Man!
makingcircles writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:25:56 AM

@Ranger - AGREED!!
Hobo Michael writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:37:47 AM

FU*KING POOP I WANT TO SEE SOME SPIDY DAME IT!!!

& i liked vemnom
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:39:20 AM

"FU*KING POOP"

really? just let it out come on, just type in f*ckING sh*t.
Lulupendragon writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:43:46 AM

Sonds like Sony has something aginst the Vulture. All you need is Scorpion and Mysterio, and you could almost do a Sinister Six movie.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:56:10 AM

Why don't people just listen to directors more often? Especially after the director, in this case Mr. Raimi, has made them BILLIONS from his efforts with the franchise. Or is what Soderbergh said in Empire Magazine really true. That you have to dumb down your requests in studio meetings and not use words like "elevated" or "smart"? This seems to verify those Soderbergh comments IMHO.
rocketman writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:14:19 PM

REBOOT.
I'm f*cking sck of typing that word,been doing it since i saw that Goblin atrocity bastard child of a Power Ranger.What happened to 3 strikes and you're out?The WHOLE team,Director,Studio bods the lot need replacing.Rami wants the Vulture,God knows what the Bods want,just restart,stick The real Green Goblin(no pointy robotesque plastic mask???) in it,perhaps an opening acton sequence fighting the Rhino to suck you in and game on.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:26:19 PM

NOOOOOOOOOO

Perfect Vulture casts (my opinion though)

Tobin Bell or Frank Langhella
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:29:22 PM

I hate the spiderman movies, I love spiderman, but the movies are f*cking awful,

spiderman 1 was gay and the green goblin looked like a power ranger villain.

spiderman 2 was meh...OK maybe.

spiderman 3 was idiotic and who the f*ck casted Topher Grace as venom WHO!?!?

and I hate kirsten dunst teeth.

@jeffw1978

hahahaha
victor arroyo writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:42:08 PM

@J.A.Ottley

good choices, but how about Ben Kingsley or Mark Strong.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:57:12 PM

Ouchhhhh, they are 2 good strong actors as well for the role.
The way me and my friend envisioned the Vulture, which is as a hardcore mofo scientist, we made him pure bad ass.

I think Mark Strong wins this round lol

Ben Kingsley would be amazing as well, he has the whole Vulture look as does the others, and well Tobin Bell has a brilliant voice since our aim is to have Vulture's voice, when he is vulture to be like Jigsaw.
But i can definately see Ben Kingsley doing Vulture's voice to perfection.

I think Langhella would make a brilliant Doc Ock, but the guy that played him was also awesome
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:58:49 PM

Serves em right for f*ckin up Venom!!
SometimesDeadIsBetter writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:41:28 PM

The vulture? Well it would definitely appeal more to hardcore fans because he's not a very well known character. But hey after Spiderman 3 anything would be an improvement
c-prime writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:49:38 PM

@ Sleuth: Yeah, that sounds like a tenable possibility also.
Tizzle writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 3:13:12 PM

I say we all (including the studios) give Sam Raimi a chance. If you let him do what he wants, he will do it right. I've worshipped this guy since I was 10 and he only puts out a less than amazing product when he's being regulated by the studios. Let the guy direct. Raimi knows about the comics, and I'm sure he's got some interesting new take on the vulture, let it happen.
SaBiBaRe writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:18:43 PM

I don`t wanna believe all that negative news about Spider-Man 4 in the front of the production. After trashing the last part, does Sony realy wanna make the same mistake twice? Maybe now would be the right time to keep in mind who made Spider-Man to an icon, many years before Spider-Man came out as a movie. For that it would be a real good thing to listen, what the fans want. Additional to that, why should Sony spend so many money and waste time, if there already exists a fantastic story on http://www.mehlhart.net with Kraven and the Lizard? And because that real professional story based on a meeting between Tobey Maguire and a fan/the owner of the story (Heiko Mehlhart) it would be fantastic Marketing & Puplicrelation for Sony to show, that the most important thing for them are the fans and nothing else...
Hobo Michael writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:37:24 PM

f*ckING sh*t!!! I said it f*cking sh*t. I feel much better :) lol
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:54:14 PM

^good for you.
Matiax writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:17:15 PM

"The studio doesn't have any characters in mind, but will take whichever one is selling the most comic books right now. And it's not the Vulture."

And what Spider villain is selling more comics right now? They can't uuse Norman Osborne again.

Bring the goddamn Lizard!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:22:44 PM

of couse they are having script problems, every-body and there Aunt May are putting is spewing there ideas around. Black-cat, Carnage, Vulture, Lizard, will Mary Jane be the same person, etc.etc.

no Vulture, always kind of a boring character, to old.

no Black Cat, hasn't the world had enough of that bitch? never liked her, every story-line with her is always the same "come on spidey lets have some fun" every f*cking time.

no lizard. because chances are it'll end up (as another poster on this site put it) a Velociraptor in a lab-coat. if they give him some intelligence and the ability to speak, maybe.

Carnage OH HELL YES!! would look bad-ass on movie-scene, fix Venom's mistakes, all that insane good stuff.

FBO writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:20:33 PM

Sony is turning into Fox
TheStig writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:52:46 PM

encore-

i agree that carnage would be sweet, but it would be a dangerous choice after the venom catastrophe and i dont see sony having the balls to do that. if it was done correctly it would be sick.


can they do what dark knight did with rachel dawes and just switch actresses? i love the character of mary jane in the comics so i wouldn't want her left out completely, but seeing her as kirsten dunst is painful...i dont think anyone would complain if a switch was made....i dunno which actress i would want to replace her though.
OneTime writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 10:57:48 PM

ive been sayin this since day one...electro....now how is spider man suppose to stop him..? any other villian is too easy..
TheStig writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:06:14 PM

youre right...giant lizard with armored skin and super strenth is way too simple...evil symbiote attached to a psychopathic killer would be a walk in the park...man in a scorion suit with giant stinger....no way that any of these guys would pose a threat to spidey...
encoreyourface writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:50:55 AM

@Thestig wrote:

"youre right...giant lizard with armored skin and super strenth is way too simple...evil symbiote attached to a psychopathic killer would be a walk in the park...man in a scorion suit with giant stinger....no way that any of these guys would pose a threat to spidey..."

lol,no kidding. it's not like he got the crap kicked out of him by venom,Green-Goblin 1 and 2,Sand-man, or Doc Ock ... yeah he beat them with one arm tied behind his back.

and to your previous comment about Carnage and MJ, you may be right. Carnage is to risky, and either change the actress on MJ or kill her off. i prefer the ladder.




Matiax writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 11:55:10 AM

@OneTime

Rubber gloves.
OneTime writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 8:47:50 PM

then he cant shoot his web....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved