WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Mendes in Talks to Direct "James Bond 23"

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Mendes in Talks to Direct "James Bond 23"Submit Comment
We just heard from producers Michael Wilson and Barbara Broccoli that "James Bond 23" is on hold until MGM gets sold and the new owners announce their strategy.

Now comes word via The Hollywood Reported that production is being fast-tracked, despite MGM's financial problems. Filming could begin as early as June, with the goal of releasing the new film in 2011.

Neal Purvis, Robert Wade, and Peter Morgan are on board to write the script, and the site has just learned that Oscar winner Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Road to Perdition) is in negotiations to direct.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:28:04 PM

Still not caring
DoucheNozzle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:34:44 PM

So an overly pretentious, Oscar-bait Bond film? Just kiddin', this is actually pretty sweet news, as Mendes just made the two best films of his career as of late (Away We Go and Revolutionary Road). He's a great director, so I'm excited.
AshTrey writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:46:51 PM

HOW IS THIS GONNA WORK?? AN ACTION MOVIE LIKE BOND IS FAR FROM AMERICAN BEAUTY OR EVEN ROAD TO PREDITION. THIS IS LIKE MICHAEL BAY MAKING ROMEO AND JULIET... JUST DOESNT WORK
dwight writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:51:59 PM

Dwight is back! lang time. Any way just saw Slum dog millionare. and other than totally frigging up the ending, it was a damn good movie. Why am I saying this ....... oh yeah because I wouldn't mind seeing Boyle direct the next Bond like they said they might choose. (sorry a de ya bunnin it down)- D out.
gimple writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:05:00 PM

Cool that he is gonna make another movie with Craig
pomme writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:22:34 PM

wow! it could be very interesting!
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:37:40 PM

I like him and it could be interesting, but I think he's too boring for a Bond movie; my pick would be Len Wiseman.
jdDiedforyou writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:40:48 PM

i can live with this. sam mendes and daniel made road to perdition together an that was a great film. so i think him as a bond director, bond 23 will be a great movie.
johndillinger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:56:06 PM

well ashtray being that michael bay never made a romeo and juliet movie, and you have seen no footage, pictures or anything from this movie.. tell me... how the f*ck do you know this won't work?
Post_Man_87 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:59:34 PM

I thought he was suppose to direct Preacher next. Damn it. Looks like another delay. Will that movie ever get made?
Movieman188 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:05:58 PM

Holy sh*te! Mendez would rock the sh*t outta James Bond!!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:26:46 PM

Go away, having a guy named Elvis trying to raise water taxes in bolivia ruined bond movies forever
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:08:32 PM

Filming of Bond 23 to begin...
Wait! MGM is bankrupt.
Craig - uncertain.
WAIT! We got ourselves a Director!

Rinse and repeat.
nope.com writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:23:44 PM

Good writers, a good director, and the main cast

... looking forward to this more so than QoS
za316653 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:36:12 PM

absolutley badass news. Just watched Road to Perdition again yesterday for the tenth time. f*ckin love that movie. Mendes could do even better that Martin Campbells version -
gummijoker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 9:29:39 PM

The movie will start that 007 will be masturbathing in the shower and calls it "the highlight of his day" then he seeīs the Bond girl and she tells every body thatīs she outf*cked the he invites her to his room and the as they are about to start she brakes the ice and says "itīs my first time" ..... What a twist!!!
Vin12 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 9:58:16 PM

james bond 23 is 3d and reald cinemas everywhere lol
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:06:11 PM

awesome choice, Mendes is a great director
lost_addict writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:11:04 PM

great...lets make bond even more gay...
Jabba_RT writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:58:00 PM

10 to 1 odds that Kate Winslet is the new Bond girl... I'm just saying.

Jabba_RT writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:00:12 PM

Gummi... What the f*ck are you talkin about?!?
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:47:03 PM

...wait... but... Sam Mendes.... James Bond... no.... just.. NO....
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:48:05 PM

LOL Vin12
Peter Parker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:54:29 PM

With MGM close to bankruptcy, the title for the could be something like:

James Bond 23 - Dr. No Money
James Bond 23 - From Russia With Debt
James Bond 23 - Thunderbill
James Bond 23 - You Only Go Bankrupt Twice
James Bond 23 - On Her Majesty's Impound Service
James Bond 23 - Repo Men Are Forever
James Bond 23 - Loan and Let Die
James Bond 23 - The Man with the Pawned Golden Gun
James Bond 23 - The Creditor Who Loved Me
James Bond 23 - For Your Pockets Only
James Bond 23 - License to Kill The Bank
James Bond 23 - GoldenEye Auctioned
James Bond 23 - The IRS Never Dies...
James Bond 23 - The Portfolio Is Not Enough
James Bond 23 - Pay Another Day
James Bond 23 - Casino Royale Took My Money
James Bond 23 - Quantum of Insolvency

tcu21 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:02:32 AM

Although Sam Mendes directing would be cool I'm more excited to see Peter Morgan's script. Seeing as he usually turns mundane events into very watchable films, I'm excited to see what he does with Bond material.
tcu21 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:12:50 AM

And as long as we're shooting for an All-Star cast and crew I nominate either Michael Emerson or Michael Sheen as the Bond bad guy and I'm gonna go with an Inglourious Basterds recast and say either Diane Kruger or Melanie Laurent as the Bond girl, either one would be great but I'd like to see Laurent become more popular.
telur writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:26:31 AM

@ peter paker

that's creative dude, you do that alone?
thedudeman69 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:38:35 AM

I hope he watches some action films or at least the other bond movies before he goes to direct.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:40:36 AM

@PP - 'Loan and Let Die!' --- lol.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:42:01 AM

PP wins this one.
finger41 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:47:59 AM

cool, this is gonna be interesting, sam mendes is a good director,lets hope they have a good plot line, not the old bad guy taking over the world thing
blinkbomber writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 4:12:11 AM

Sam Mendes hasnt let me down yet!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:05:48 AM

PLEASE GOD NOOOOOOO

Sorry BOND 23 sounds like its going really downhill or just attempting to run for an OSCAR or ACADEMY AWARD.
SAM MENDES directing BOND 23, ok Mendes is good for drama, but this is the guy wanted to direct and write PREACHER and had no blooming clue what the heck PREACHER was about...?

His a...OK for drama, but action aint up his alley, give it to someone better off in actions directional terms of codes and conventionalisation.

AND PLZ PLZ DO NOT EMPHASIZE ON THIS DO NOT BRING IN MONEY PENNY.....
I WANT THAT TO BE MY JOB :)
RobertHolik writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:15:02 AM

And here's an actual bit from the script:

As we see James Bond run through the streets of Madrid a plastic bag gets in his way, the camera then focuses on the plastic bag for 14 minutes.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 5:26:25 AM

Nah, its actually gonna be more spyish apparently and more political.
You know Bond going in the office, given a mission, does the mission, comes back for another mission and then mission somehow goes badly wrong blah blah blah.

According to a friend of mine at the BFI, he saying that Peter Morgan is aiming BOND 23 to be more political
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:27:46 AM

Mendes is a gifted storyteller and I really excited for this one. I hope that he remembers first and foremost that Bond is an action hero then a person worth exploring. Best wishes, Sam...We are watching you.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:55:58 AM

@JA Ottley: He did some action in Road to Perdition, which I found quite good. I know a James Bond-movie is going to a whole different pace than Perdition, but I'll give him a shot.

As far as Preacher goes, I would love to see it on the big screen. But it has to be done by a film-maker with a real knowledge and a genuine interest of the novel, otherwise it'll be crap
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:36:53 PM

I agree Freudian.

I met Sam Mendes at a Q & A to Away We Go, it was a satellite one though, i told him i had the perfect vision for PREACHER, he stated he would get me in touch with the producing studio and took down my email address and number over the Q & A.
Still waiting for that to come though.

Road to perdition was a beautiful film and brilliantly adapted from its source, but its a Gangster Drama, not an action film although it has action elements to it.
Bond & RTP as you stated are 2 complete different paces.

And well Mendes is more Drama, its like asking Wes Craven to make a popcorn action flick suited to the codes and directional conventions of Michael Bay
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:30:47 PM

finger41 give me my baby back, that golum is mine, is my precius, and f*ck bond the 2 last ones sucks like sh*t, and DAniel Craig is the same sh*t of = S....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:42:40 PM

@JA Ottley: What are your visions for Preacher?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:16:12 PM

Well the aim is to adapt the actual source very much in the same sense that Synder does, frame by frame visualisation, as he calls it.

and either aim to write a trilogy (3 volumes per installment) or double bill (4 volume per film).
Since one is solely about the background of various sub characters, like Arseface, etc

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 3:28:43 PM

I'm thinking aiming to make a trilogy would be the best. Although I would love to see a frame-by-frame approach and give each album a film of their own, no studio would go with that. So, like you said, making a trilogy with 3 albums a film, but still making it very close to the original source, could be something
SACdaddy writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 9:29:32 PM

Come on people! Sam Mendes and big budget action films go together about as good as oil and water. What's next, Jason Rietman directs next Rambo film?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved