WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Has a Pro-Smoking Message?

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Has a Pro-Smoking Message?Submit Comment
While "Avatar" is out there shattering records, Standon Glantz, director of the Center for Tobacco Control Research and Education at the University of California, is protesting against it.

His Smoke Free Movies initiative is putting together an information campaign aimed at the "pro-smoking" message in "Avatar." You might be wondering if there was even any smoking scenes in the movie. Apparently there were a few brief ones, showing Sigourney Weaver with a cigarette as she works to save Pandora.

"This is like someone just put a bunch of plutonium in the water supply," said Glantz, adding that he was forced to give the film a "black lung" label for unacceptable depictions of tobacco.

Director James Cameron responded by saying that Weaver's character was not meant to be "an inspirational role model" for teenagers. "She's rude, she swears, she drinks, she smokes," he said. "Also, from a character perspective, we were showing that Grace doesn't care about her human body, only her avatar body."

He continued: "I don't believe in the dogmatic idea that no one in a movie should smoke. Movies should reflect reality. If it's OK for people to lie, cheat, steal and kill in PG-13 movies, why impose an inconsistent morality when it comes to smoking? I do agree that young role-model characters should not smoke in movies, especially in a way which suggests that it makes them cooler or more accepted by their peers. It is a filthy habit which I don't support, and neither, I believe, does 'Avatar.'"

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Goofy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:18:34 AM

.......
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:21:36 AM

...... wow......
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:22:23 AM

honestly, i think even Cameron's response was a horrible waste of his own time. this isn't even worth discussing, its so stupid.

hell its not even worth posting about, so i just wasted my won time... DAMN!
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:22:58 AM

*own ^^^^ sorry, lol
BondMcClane007 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:31:01 AM

Hey... Standon Glantz.................. shutup
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:45:26 AM

I seen this a thousand times. Twats like Glantz riding the coat tail of a huge movie like this to get his name and pointless point across. How many lesser movies have we seen with major characters pretty much chain-smoking through the whole 90 minutes of it and douche-bag, Mr. Self Righteous was no where to be seen.

Cameron's reply was well said.

Mine would have been: 'Mr. Stand On Glands - go f*ck yourself!'
hugonv writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:20:56 AM

the most stupid thing ive ever heard
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:17:13 AM

What about it's pro-paraplegic message? No one is complaining about that.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:22:06 AM

f*ck that f*cker. Cameron has a point that movies should reflect reality. If there should be any bitching about role models for teens what about stupid people like Paris Hilton, the kardashians, and jersey shore and the hills. They actually are stupid and turning teens stupid? Where the f*ck is the voice of reason now when the role models now a days are stupid.
Nemonian writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:33:01 AM

Funny thing is, while watching the movie I thought 'hey, a cigarette, someone's going to complain about that'. And here it is. Silly.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:16:34 AM

Rude, swears, drinks and smokes? Sounds like my kind of role model.

Hell, that sounds like me on a good day.
Sveppi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:33:21 AM

Sigh.... some people are just...
Jedimax writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:34:27 AM

I loved that Weaver smoked in the film! WHERE IS MY DAM CIGARETTE! is like one of the best lines of the film.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:53:20 AM

"I loved that Weaver smoked in the film! WHERE IS MY DAM CIGARETTE! is like one of the best lines of the film."

It's one of the only lines...
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:54:22 AM

This Glantz guy sounds like another candidate for the assisted suicide awareness program, I am trying to start...I try to make retarded and just generally f*cking stupid people believe they are doing the world a favor by killing themselves. Now if I can just get the video rights and get it past those pesky censors and laws I am golden.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:54:44 AM

lol@Freudian
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:07:19 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare

hahahaha

and f*ck Glantz, I loved cigarettes, but I quit smoking like two years ago.
ksplatt writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:15:19 PM

The most well written sentence I've ever seen Trueman write...hooked on phonics workin' there for ya buddy?
makingcircles writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:15:29 PM

I think Cameron's response was very good and made him seem calm and collected.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:55:00 PM

@johnny - all good points. Yeah, look who people consider as 'heroes' from reality TV (for example)... ugh!

Latest trend... non-celeb-celebs.
pomme writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:56:07 PM

smoke is cool and good for health:every one knows that!
after have seen 232 times Avatar in 3D(yes, the billion box office it's me),i started to smoke because Ripley/diane Fossey smokes!
(big sarcasm)
dbreuning writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:58:13 PM

This Glantz dude just needs to shut the f*ck up and go watch it in IMAX 3D with his kids!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:05:13 PM

I think you guys are being a bit unfair to reality-tv. They make excellent role models. I'm for one, has been taking notes from Spencer Pratt from the Hills and my new doucheness have, like a lamp attracts bugs, attracted tons of girls with low self-esteem.

It have also taught girls that you don't have to have any skills, as long as you are slutty and hot (with the right make-up and lightning).

Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:26:03 PM

lol.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:45:04 PM

i think the movie was pro gay and pro homo... you know why.. because some douchebag is IN the movie!
warlord writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:46:19 PM

yes smoke crack youll need to get through watching avatar........cuz its crap!!!
NatG83 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:49:57 PM

Didn't Cameron say something about a deleted sex seen between the Na'vi?

Where's the Anti-Alien-Sex protest?
KindredMac writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:51:04 PM

Come on guys.... I'm disappointed in all of you... especially you Ranger!
Where are the sex-infused "smoking" comments?!?!?!?
Peter Parker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:00:50 PM

@ KindredMac:

Sex-infused "smoking" comments? Let's see...
Your mother shoves cigarettes up her p*ssy.
How's that?

You're welcome.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:01:02 PM

"Come on guys.... I'm disappointed in all of you... especially you Ranger!
Where are the sex-infused "smoking" comments?!?!?!?"

What like why does glantz smoke pole or he must be a peter puffer?

I personally want to see stupid people die, but thats just me.


Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:10:16 PM

I hear ya my friend.

But this Glantz clown... his ploy is so obvious (riding the tail of a successful movie to get his name out there)... that picking on him would be like giving a misbehaving child a time-out... INSIDE A CEMENT MIXER!




Peter Parker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:11:57 PM

@ Jeff:

Who's puffing me?

I want to f*ck stupid people first, then I can watch them die.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:15:43 PM

Can we give him a time out in a cement micer filled with say killer bees or scorpions, maybe a rattle snake or two?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:16:40 PM

@ peter your only gay if you are the one puffing, your not so it is ok.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:17:59 PM

filled with say killer bees or scorpions, maybe a rattle snake or two? --- lol. And a poster of the Jonas Brothers?
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:19:45 PM

A poster of the Jonas Brothers now that is torture.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:25:22 PM

Shefone loves those posters.

I like to puff on weed while I f*ck stupid people. That doesn't count, right?
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:03:55 PM

nemonian! GREAT AVATAR!
SEX PANTHER!!!!!!!!!
Rich k writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:26:49 PM

i love this news it shows that the only dirt people can get on the movie is the few smoking scenes.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:39:13 PM

Where was this guy when Days of Thunder came out?! All that speeding around a track and all. What kind of an example is THAT to send out to the younger generation?!

And what about Ms. Doubtfire?! A cross-dresser with his tits on fire?! Where was this guy then?!
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:42:17 PM

And don't even get me started on The Flintstones!!!

Clearly the Whites Only town of Bedrock was casting some pretty heavy KKK stones... where was this f*cker then, huh?!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:58:14 PM

"And don't even get me started on The Flintstones!!!

Clearly the Whites Only town of Bedrock was casting some pretty heavy KKK stones... where was this f*cker then, huh?!"

Don't forget about the Jetsons, tell me if you ever saw one asian, mexican or arab on the jetson's those were some racist f*ckers right there...."Hey we have robots to do all of the work now for nothing, guess it is time to get rid of all the low cost employees with operation "close the border"



Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:06:47 PM

Oh, there were Asians, Mexican and Arab's on the Jetsons. There were just in jail so you never saw them.

PS: Verne Troyer is a waste of groceries.
JJones writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:08:52 PM

I thought they used the electronic cigarette in part of it? Not sure if the company paid for it but I thought it was ProSmoke. I think their site is www.ProSmokeStore.com

lol, if not maybe theyll edit e-cigarettes into the DVD. but any publicity is good publicity right? lol
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:27:11 PM

verne troyer is a waste of a midget
dhkenobi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:01:47 PM

Why can't some people just enjoy a movie these days without looking for 'hidden messeges?'
m3talface writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 6:53:20 PM

This is just sad.
vwkombi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:07:20 PM

Every minute we spend not kicking Verne Troyer around a football field is a minute wasted.

Yep, after watching Avatar, the first thing i did was buy 12 year old kids cigarettes while punching a kitten. I've been quitting (with the occasional relapse) and i didn't even think about lighting one up after watching Avatar.
darthraige writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:40:11 PM

Smokers are dumb. You are lighting a fire and inhaling smoke. Must be healthy. Don't complain when your lungs explode.
telur writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:30:41 AM

i still don't believe avatar can beat dark knight in box office,
Shan writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:12:28 AM

Maybe, but since that comment just came from someone with one of the worst avatars on this site, I'm not too inclined to agree.
finger41 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:36:34 AM

lol
next!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:13:25 PM

I was wondering why I wanted a smoke after watching that movie.
barley_cat writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 7:03:26 PM

Because it was so long goober?!
Just got back from watching this film, and i LOVED it! I don't care who insults me for it neither! Ace film, fantastic effects and just an all-round stunning movie. The visuals were amazing, colourful and just great to watch, Cameron has a bloody great imagination when it comes to creating a whole new planet, it had new creatures and wildlife that whilst loosely based on the real thing, were so breath-taking to see.

Story-line wasn't tacky or predictible in most ways, but hell give me a movie that isn't.

Great casting, Weaver rocked.

Loved it!

Oh and this smoking bollocks?! What a crock! ha.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:10:09 PM

@barley_cat
Dude I'm with you all the way. The movie rocked the theater. I saw in the film "Up In The Air", Avatar's only real competitor for Best Picture and it didn't even come close to Avatar's brilliance. I think James Cameron may have another Best Picture on his hand. So be proud of your love for the film dude. It deserves to take the Oscar. Not to mention it is one of the more original blockbusters since a lot of stuff lately has been sequels and remakes. Course Star Trek was pretty brilliant and Transformers was just a fun action movie to watch, but none can reach up with the strength of story, visual effects, and characters.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved