WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith and Denzel Washington in "Uptown Saturday Night" Remake?

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith and Denzel Washington in "Uptown Saturday Night" Remake?Submit Comment
Back in 2002, Will Smith bought the remake rights to Sidney Poitier's 1974 comedy "Uptown Saturday Night" with the intent to star in it. No significant progress was made, but now comes word that Denzel Washington may be interested in joining the cast.

The original, which Poitier directed and in which he starred alongside Bill Cosby, followed the misadventures of two friends who sneak out of their homes to visit a legendary - yet illegal - nightclub. But when the place is held up, and their wallets are taken, the pair must recover a winning lottery ticket that was lurking within Cosby's wallet.

During the last eight years Smith had discussions with Eddie Murphy and Martin Lawrence about co-starring. But the combination of Washington and Smith is the boost that the project needed.

Pajiba has learned that Warner Bros has recently started looking for writers to re-write the most recent draft of the script, which was penned by Mark and Robb Cullen (Cop Out).

Source: Empire, Pajiba


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:41:15 AM

This movie can't miss with these 2 in it! I guess they didn't want to be outdone by Cruise pairing up with what's his name... Stillborn.

papajohn4169 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:13:52 AM

ranger that was kind of unnecessary
SACdaddy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:37:39 AM

Big fan of the original, but wouldn't mind seeing it updated with the right actors. Hope this isn't the beginning of Denzel taking comedy roles like all the other old great actors (Gene Hackman, Deniro, Alec Baldwin). They tend to get stuck in these roles and never get back to the drama that made them famous. For once I hope they pass on Denzel (unless they make him the bad guy) and roll with another comedian like Dave Chapelle or (even better) Charlie Murphy to star next to Will. Then again, who turns down Denzel Washington?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:41:43 AM

I'd love the see Denzel in a comedy for once.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:01:44 AM

eh
n/a writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:18:16 PM

papajohn4169... your kinf of unnecessary.

But i like your pizza!
thedotsays writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:51:43 PM

I could definitely see this working, So glad the studio held it up without caving in to greenlighting a pairing with Lawrence or Murphy. Loved the original and the sequel/reboot/remake...Let's Do It Again.
And @SAC, those guys, well minus Baldwin have went back very succesfully to their drama roots after succesful stints in comedy.
And sh*t, Hackman can do whatever he wants. Guy gets an instant lifetime pass.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:55:43 PM

@papajohn - all of my posts are unnecessary.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:00:12 PM

@SAC - Dave Chapelle - excellent call!
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:45:43 PM

f*ck THE REMADeS!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:40:15 PM

I think papajohn might be iblow batman since, you know the whole pizza thing.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:42:15 PM

This will be interesting.

But I have to agree with SACdaddy, Charlie Murphy would be a great choice.
thedotsays writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:28:14 PM

The point of pairing someone else with Smith teaming is good. But to have Denzel in the role of Geechy Dan would be a stretch. Harry Belafonte killed it. And i just don't see Denzel coming off the way Belafonte did. But then again, there are plenty of other roles that were played by some of the greats. There the role of the reverend played then by Flip Wilson. I'm sure I'll get slammed for this but I can so easily picture Cedric The Entertainer playing that role. And the role of Sharp eye Washington played by the great Richard Pryor. I could see Dave Chappelle doing it and doing it justice. My fear is they would try to put a Mike Epps or Kevin Hart in that role or even worse, try to make the universe so-called balanced by giving it to Eddie Murphy (which is why I can't see Charlie getting it)
But Denzel just doesn't seem to fit any other role but the role played by Poitier. Poitier is a class act who played a regular joe. Denzel could pull that off with ease and with good comedy.
I'm looking forward to hearing more about this and hopes it actually comes
Rich k writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:30:02 PM

doesnt sound like it would make a good movie, and when was will smiths last good movie?
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:36:12 PM

@jeff - lol.
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:44:44 PM

@jeff- yea jeff i think you have rangers hand so far up your p*ssy you can't think for yourself. i said rangers comment was unnecessary because it was and he agreed.
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:46:29 PM

@n/a - you like my pizza? yeah put my d*ck in your mouth I promise you it taste better
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:19:12 PM

I could care less what ranger says I just thought you were the same guy because of you know pizza, but if you wish to be a douche that is totally up to you, enjoy sucking shefone's c*ck.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:20:13 PM

also papa's john could I interest you in an assisted suicide program, you would be doing the world a favor.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 9:04:16 PM

@papajohnisinmyass! --- I wasn't agreeing with you as much as stating mine and all other comments on here are unnecessary.

But if you want to be WP's Police Farce... the job is yours. Good luck with it.

Oh, and your mother is a whore.
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:15:47 PM

@jeff - obviously you do care cause when i said something to ranger you had to c*cksuck. I don't think your boyfriend would be happy to know you've been gagging another fag
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:18:55 PM

@walkertexasRANGER - yeah my mother whores on 42nd street with faggy ass grandfather. the headline was about will smith and denzel washington. f*ck did you get tom cruise from.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:48:31 AM

Because Cruise and Stiller are teaming up in another movie, f*cking retard. Do you just read threads about the Bros? Take a walk on the educated side and read the others... moron.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:49:09 AM

PS: your Grandfather gave me crabs... that f*cker!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:51:42 AM

Well, what do ya know?

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16289&count=0
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 12:59:00 AM

@walkertexasRANGER - "BROS"? f*ck are you talking about c*ckmouth. Again do you see tom cruise up there on the headline. "educated side" right you sound smart. tom cruise and cameron diaz are teaming up for a film. does anyone care no you dumbass turtle because it's not part of the conversation.
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:01:22 AM

@walkertexasRANGER - yeah go f*ck your cousin
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:11:00 AM

@walkertexasRANGER - i still don't see tom cruise or ben stiller's name in the headline. Thats because the topic is not about them or the movie their involved in together. It's about will smith and denzel washington. Are you going to start talking about national treasure at a star trek convention. yeah you probably would cause your a dumbass. You still haven't proven a point to me. I'LL argue with you later on in the morning because I have a life. Maybe you'll find a point by then. Then again you don't have one to begin with.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:17:55 AM

You don't have a life.

Clearly you're a failure.

LOL.

Zzzzzzzzz...

I jump around on topics on here. If that confuses you, ask your loser dad (oh... he's dead... lol) to help you connect the dots, retard.

Go make a pizza... loser.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 1:29:28 AM

1. It's Tom Cruise and Ben Still, dipsh*t forgot the caps!

2. Thats should be 'That's' (for that is), stupid!

3. their should be 'they're' (for they are), dumb c*nt!

4. involved in together (is redundant), retard!

5. Will Smith and Denzel Washington (forgot the caps again... or does your rent-to-own computer not have caps on the keyboard?).

6. National Treasure and Star Trek Convention (see previous caps for names or titles, Jeopardy Finalist)!

7. As for what is discussed within each thread, unless you're a Moderator on this site, you'll realize you have NO say (here or in the real world, powerless pinhead)!

8. Yeah (cap the 'Y'), and your should have been 'you're'... did you EVER go to school... stupid?

9. I still haven't proven a point to you? See the 8 points above, dummy!

10. You have a life? Clearly not. Agreed you have a mouth, and a computer... which are both very sad, like you are.

11. Maybe you'll find a point by then. Then again you don't have one to begin with. --- see 'redundant' above.

From now on and for the rest of your life, every time you see your reflection anywhere - be it in a mirror, water, a window etc, your sub-conscience will bring the seed of your stupidity to your conscience mind, until one day you will realize how simple of a person (Jethro-like) you truly are.

Anything else you want to impress me with... Jethro?
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:30:54 PM

@walkertexasRANGER - Ok your a grammer teacher now. I'M discussing something not writing a book report. Ok you capitalized the names but spelled Ben Stiller's name wrong. You spelled it "Ben Still". You have no point because you were talking about Tom Cruise and Ben Stiller in a Will Smith and Denzel Washington discussion. Now thats redundant. Now tell me exactly where do you see Tom cruise or Ben Stiller's name in the headline?
papajohn4169 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 2:33:16 PM

@walkertexasRANGER - No I don't go to school. I go down to the whore house everyday to tea bag your grandmothers mouth in. Man shes a gagger.
Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 3:49:20 PM

Look up the meaning of 'redundant' dunce.

As for misspelling Stiller's name to Stillborn that was the joke itself (just like you see in the mirror every morning before you go to Walmart to greet people... Corky.

Ranger writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 6:00:42 PM

@papajohn - ahh... that's 'grammar' you dope.
Franko85 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 8:50:10 PM

Everybody is so angry! Keep it coming!!! lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved