WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
"Captain America 2" Directors May Take Over "The Avengers" Franchise
Nov 17th, 2014
Oscar-Winning "The Hurt Locker" Writer Hired for "Uncharted" Video Game Film
Nov 17th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million
Nov 16th, 2014
"Battlestar Galactice" and "Knight Rider" Creator Glen A. Larson Dead at 77
Nov 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Nov 16th, 2014
Jude Law is the Villain in Guy Ritchie's "Knights of the Round Table" King Arthur Film
Nov 16th, 2014
Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"
Nov 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's Favorite Films of 2009

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Author Stephen King sat down with Entertainment Weekly to share his top ten list of favorite movies of 2009. He gave the entire year a "B" rating and called Leonardo DiCaprio's "Revolutionary Road" the biggest disappointment.

King explained: "It's true that I found only nine straight-A's when I looked back through my movie notebook (No. 10 on this list was an A), but there wasn't a single F, and that's a first in my years as an EW columnist."

His list shows some bizarre choices, but King offers a brief explanation. Check it out below.

10. 2012: "Throwback to the great disaster movies of the '70s."

9. FANTASTIC MR. FOX: "Both the kids and the grown-ups in my audience screamed with delighted laughter."

8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame."

7. LAW ABIDING CITIZEN: "Script is wound tight and clever enough to draw blood."

6. DISTRICT 9: "If 2012 is good cheese, then District 9 is a fine wine."

5. THE READER: "Kate Winslet's Hanna Schmitz was the best performance I saw all year."

4. DISGRACE: "The scenery is gorgeous, and the story is hypnotic."

3. THE ROAD: "It's often painful to watch, but Viggo Mortensen's performance as the dedicated father is Oscar bait."

2. THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT: "Easily the most brilliant remake of the decade. This film is on par with The Silence of the Lambs."

1. THE HURT LOCKER: "Perfectly honed drama that speaks to the addictive attractions of risk and violence."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:25 AM

well now we know why he's only a writer
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:48 AM

i'd have to agree with everything he said except for 2012, and Last House. i mean i enjoyed them, but something about having the Last House remake and the word "brilliant" in the same sentence bugs me.

also i didnt see Disgrace, but i'm defintely going to know. thanks Steve!
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:38:38 AM

the last house on the left... seriously? hahahaha yeah... NO!
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:41:06 AM

holy crap i just read that sh*t he said on Rev. Road. screw you, Queen! that movie kicked half of your lists' ass!

okay... i'm done.
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:54:45 AM

Stephen King is a soft d*ck *sshole. Why doesnt he go back to Dairy, and jerk off over some gravestones.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:24:48 AM

Finally someone gives The Road the credit it deserves! Its easily the best performance of the year by a leading man that nobody saw.

Its also good to know that I'm not the only sick f*cker out there that liked Last House on the Left. Thats one of the grittiest films I've seen since The Hills Have Eyes remake and I loved it! The 10 minute rape scene was ridiculously hard to watch, but what a catalyst for all the action that follows. The film had BALLS, and you dont get enough of that anymore from Hwood.

All in all, this ain't a bad list. Yo VODSON, why so much hate for King? Are you the guy that ran him over while he was jogging?
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:34:55 AM

Ever since I read the IT, i've harbored some hate against the man. He had little kids playing with each others d*cks, and had all the boys in the story have sex with the girl. What age were they in the story, like 11 or something. Everytime I see his picture, I see him having sex with a corpse, or perhaps a chicken. Chicken f*cker! Last House on the Left is in my top ten flicks of the year, thats what you call revenge.
WV-Films writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:11:37 AM

Wow, this guys an idiot.
eddie499 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:41:26 AM

The Last House on the Left? Seriously? I can't believe the supposed "Master of Horror" like that piece of dreck. I seriously hope he is having an episode and mixing it up with the original. That was a horror film with some serious teeth.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:42:15 AM

Last House on the Left remake the 2nd best movie of 2009?? ON PAR WITH SILENCE OF THE LAMB?! King is senile
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:47:48 AM

f*cking morron
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:53:43 AM

Vdodson: I hated "Gerald's Game". After reading that book, I swore that I would never buy a King novel full price again.

Why is King even asked for his opinion about movies? His holds no more weight then anyone elses. Wasn't he suppose to retire?
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:08:57 AM

I agree with hurt locker as number 1
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:09:57 AM

His list sucks!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:50:52 AM

2012 and Law Abiding Citizen do not belong on any top 10 list at all. Well, maybe if it's worst but certainly not best.

Actually, Law Abiding Citizen wasn't THAT bad but it's not very good either.
LastActionHero writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

With this lamed*ck list, he must spend too much time watching the movie adaptations of his books.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:12 AM

King is one of the sickest minds to ever reach mainstream recognition, and for that he deserves some praise.
ksplatt writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:18:18 PM

If a monkey and Greg Kinnear had a baby, it would look like the picture above.
Tyrkae writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:30:12 PM

Well 2012 was a great disaster movie best disaster movie in the last 3 or 4 years it shouldnt be on the list (unless its disaster movies) next would be The last house on the left WOW really its a ok movie but maybe he should have gave it props as the best remake and NOT have it on 2 on his list but maybe he and maybe this list would make more scence if its the only 10 movies of 2009 that he seen
SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:29:58 PM

Stopped reading when i saw this:

"8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame.""



SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:31:22 PM

Not because of Public Enemies (i didn't like the movie), but because TTOP123 is god awful
ironhide-autobot writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:00:44 PM

only the last house on the left and penhalam 123 are the only odd ones
encoreyourface writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:03:52 PM

he picked several good films:

2012 and district 9 where great (actually District 9 was fantastic) and from what i've heard the road and the hurt locker are great as well.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:31:30 AM

So, King and I agree on Pelham and Last House? I think Stephen King just became one of my new personal heroes. And those of you who didn't like those two remakes, you can suck it. Cuz that one did make Public Enemies look pretty tame (although I liked P.E. a little, to be fair).

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved