WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's Favorite Films of 2009

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Author Stephen King sat down with Entertainment Weekly to share his top ten list of favorite movies of 2009. He gave the entire year a "B" rating and called Leonardo DiCaprio's "Revolutionary Road" the biggest disappointment.

King explained: "It's true that I found only nine straight-A's when I looked back through my movie notebook (No. 10 on this list was an A), but there wasn't a single F, and that's a first in my years as an EW columnist."

His list shows some bizarre choices, but King offers a brief explanation. Check it out below.

10. 2012: "Throwback to the great disaster movies of the '70s."

9. FANTASTIC MR. FOX: "Both the kids and the grown-ups in my audience screamed with delighted laughter."

8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame."

7. LAW ABIDING CITIZEN: "Script is wound tight and clever enough to draw blood."

6. DISTRICT 9: "If 2012 is good cheese, then District 9 is a fine wine."

5. THE READER: "Kate Winslet's Hanna Schmitz was the best performance I saw all year."

4. DISGRACE: "The scenery is gorgeous, and the story is hypnotic."

3. THE ROAD: "It's often painful to watch, but Viggo Mortensen's performance as the dedicated father is Oscar bait."

2. THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT: "Easily the most brilliant remake of the decade. This film is on par with The Silence of the Lambs."

1. THE HURT LOCKER: "Perfectly honed drama that speaks to the addictive attractions of risk and violence."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:25 AM

well now we know why he's only a writer
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:48 AM

i'd have to agree with everything he said except for 2012, and Last House. i mean i enjoyed them, but something about having the Last House remake and the word "brilliant" in the same sentence bugs me.

also i didnt see Disgrace, but i'm defintely going to know. thanks Steve!
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:38:38 AM

the last house on the left... seriously? hahahaha yeah... NO!
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:41:06 AM

holy crap i just read that sh*t he said on Rev. Road. screw you, Queen! that movie kicked half of your lists' ass!

okay... i'm done.
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:54:45 AM

Stephen King is a soft d*ck *sshole. Why doesnt he go back to Dairy, and jerk off over some gravestones.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:24:48 AM

Finally someone gives The Road the credit it deserves! Its easily the best performance of the year by a leading man that nobody saw.

Its also good to know that I'm not the only sick f*cker out there that liked Last House on the Left. Thats one of the grittiest films I've seen since The Hills Have Eyes remake and I loved it! The 10 minute rape scene was ridiculously hard to watch, but what a catalyst for all the action that follows. The film had BALLS, and you dont get enough of that anymore from Hwood.

All in all, this ain't a bad list. Yo VODSON, why so much hate for King? Are you the guy that ran him over while he was jogging?
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:34:55 AM

Ever since I read the IT, i've harbored some hate against the man. He had little kids playing with each others d*cks, and had all the boys in the story have sex with the girl. What age were they in the story, like 11 or something. Everytime I see his picture, I see him having sex with a corpse, or perhaps a chicken. Chicken f*cker! Last House on the Left is in my top ten flicks of the year, thats what you call revenge.
WV-Films writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:11:37 AM

Wow, this guys an idiot.
eddie499 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:41:26 AM

The Last House on the Left? Seriously? I can't believe the supposed "Master of Horror" like that piece of dreck. I seriously hope he is having an episode and mixing it up with the original. That was a horror film with some serious teeth.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:42:15 AM

Last House on the Left remake the 2nd best movie of 2009?? ON PAR WITH SILENCE OF THE LAMB?! King is senile
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:47:48 AM

f*cking morron
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:53:43 AM

Vdodson: I hated "Gerald's Game". After reading that book, I swore that I would never buy a King novel full price again.

Why is King even asked for his opinion about movies? His holds no more weight then anyone elses. Wasn't he suppose to retire?
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:08:57 AM

I agree with hurt locker as number 1
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:09:57 AM

His list sucks!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:50:52 AM

2012 and Law Abiding Citizen do not belong on any top 10 list at all. Well, maybe if it's worst but certainly not best.

Actually, Law Abiding Citizen wasn't THAT bad but it's not very good either.
LastActionHero writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

With this lamed*ck list, he must spend too much time watching the movie adaptations of his books.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:12 AM

King is one of the sickest minds to ever reach mainstream recognition, and for that he deserves some praise.
ksplatt writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:18:18 PM

If a monkey and Greg Kinnear had a baby, it would look like the picture above.
Tyrkae writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:30:12 PM

Well 2012 was a great disaster movie best disaster movie in the last 3 or 4 years it shouldnt be on the list (unless its disaster movies) next would be The last house on the left WOW really its a ok movie but maybe he should have gave it props as the best remake and NOT have it on 2 on his list but maybe he and maybe this list would make more scence if its the only 10 movies of 2009 that he seen
SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:29:58 PM

Stopped reading when i saw this:

"8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame.""



SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:31:22 PM

Not because of Public Enemies (i didn't like the movie), but because TTOP123 is god awful
ironhide-autobot writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:00:44 PM

only the last house on the left and penhalam 123 are the only odd ones
encoreyourface writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:03:52 PM

he picked several good films:

2012 and district 9 where great (actually District 9 was fantastic) and from what i've heard the road and the hurt locker are great as well.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:31:30 AM

So, King and I agree on Pelham and Last House? I think Stephen King just became one of my new personal heroes. And those of you who didn't like those two remakes, you can suck it. Cuz that one did make Public Enemies look pretty tame (although I liked P.E. a little, to be fair).

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved