WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's Favorite Films of 2009

Posted: January 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Author Stephen King sat down with Entertainment Weekly to share his top ten list of favorite movies of 2009. He gave the entire year a "B" rating and called Leonardo DiCaprio's "Revolutionary Road" the biggest disappointment.

King explained: "It's true that I found only nine straight-A's when I looked back through my movie notebook (No. 10 on this list was an A), but there wasn't a single F, and that's a first in my years as an EW columnist."

His list shows some bizarre choices, but King offers a brief explanation. Check it out below.

10. 2012: "Throwback to the great disaster movies of the '70s."

9. FANTASTIC MR. FOX: "Both the kids and the grown-ups in my audience screamed with delighted laughter."

8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame."

7. LAW ABIDING CITIZEN: "Script is wound tight and clever enough to draw blood."

6. DISTRICT 9: "If 2012 is good cheese, then District 9 is a fine wine."

5. THE READER: "Kate Winslet's Hanna Schmitz was the best performance I saw all year."

4. DISGRACE: "The scenery is gorgeous, and the story is hypnotic."

3. THE ROAD: "It's often painful to watch, but Viggo Mortensen's performance as the dedicated father is Oscar bait."

2. THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT: "Easily the most brilliant remake of the decade. This film is on par with The Silence of the Lambs."

1. THE HURT LOCKER: "Perfectly honed drama that speaks to the addictive attractions of risk and violence."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:25 AM

well now we know why he's only a writer
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:32:48 AM

i'd have to agree with everything he said except for 2012, and Last House. i mean i enjoyed them, but something about having the Last House remake and the word "brilliant" in the same sentence bugs me.

also i didnt see Disgrace, but i'm defintely going to know. thanks Steve!
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:38:38 AM

the last house on the left... seriously? hahahaha yeah... NO!
blinkbomber writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:41:06 AM

holy crap i just read that sh*t he said on Rev. Road. screw you, Queen! that movie kicked half of your lists' ass!

okay... i'm done.
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:54:45 AM

Stephen King is a soft d*ck *sshole. Why doesnt he go back to Dairy, and jerk off over some gravestones.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:24:48 AM

Finally someone gives The Road the credit it deserves! Its easily the best performance of the year by a leading man that nobody saw.

Its also good to know that I'm not the only sick f*cker out there that liked Last House on the Left. Thats one of the grittiest films I've seen since The Hills Have Eyes remake and I loved it! The 10 minute rape scene was ridiculously hard to watch, but what a catalyst for all the action that follows. The film had BALLS, and you dont get enough of that anymore from Hwood.

All in all, this ain't a bad list. Yo VODSON, why so much hate for King? Are you the guy that ran him over while he was jogging?
VDODSON writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:34:55 AM

Ever since I read the IT, i've harbored some hate against the man. He had little kids playing with each others d*cks, and had all the boys in the story have sex with the girl. What age were they in the story, like 11 or something. Everytime I see his picture, I see him having sex with a corpse, or perhaps a chicken. Chicken f*cker! Last House on the Left is in my top ten flicks of the year, thats what you call revenge.
WV-Films writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:11:37 AM

Wow, this guys an idiot.
eddie499 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:41:26 AM

The Last House on the Left? Seriously? I can't believe the supposed "Master of Horror" like that piece of dreck. I seriously hope he is having an episode and mixing it up with the original. That was a horror film with some serious teeth.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:42:15 AM

Last House on the Left remake the 2nd best movie of 2009?? ON PAR WITH SILENCE OF THE LAMB?! King is senile
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:47:48 AM

f*cking morron
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:53:43 AM

Vdodson: I hated "Gerald's Game". After reading that book, I swore that I would never buy a King novel full price again.

Why is King even asked for his opinion about movies? His holds no more weight then anyone elses. Wasn't he suppose to retire?
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:08:57 AM

I agree with hurt locker as number 1
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:09:57 AM

His list sucks!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:50:52 AM

2012 and Law Abiding Citizen do not belong on any top 10 list at all. Well, maybe if it's worst but certainly not best.

Actually, Law Abiding Citizen wasn't THAT bad but it's not very good either.
LastActionHero writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:01 AM

With this lamed*ck list, he must spend too much time watching the movie adaptations of his books.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:57:12 AM

King is one of the sickest minds to ever reach mainstream recognition, and for that he deserves some praise.
ksplatt writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:18:18 PM

If a monkey and Greg Kinnear had a baby, it would look like the picture above.
Tyrkae writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:30:12 PM

Well 2012 was a great disaster movie best disaster movie in the last 3 or 4 years it shouldnt be on the list (unless its disaster movies) next would be The last house on the left WOW really its a ok movie but maybe he should have gave it props as the best remake and NOT have it on 2 on his list but maybe he and maybe this list would make more scence if its the only 10 movies of 2009 that he seen
SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:29:58 PM

Stopped reading when i saw this:

"8. THE TAKING OF PELHAM 1 2 3: "This makes Public Enemies look pretty tame.""



SeWerin writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:31:22 PM

Not because of Public Enemies (i didn't like the movie), but because TTOP123 is god awful
ironhide-autobot writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 4:00:44 PM

only the last house on the left and penhalam 123 are the only odd ones
encoreyourface writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:03:52 PM

he picked several good films:

2012 and district 9 where great (actually District 9 was fantastic) and from what i've heard the road and the hurt locker are great as well.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 6th, 2010 at 11:31:30 AM

So, King and I agree on Pelham and Last House? I think Stephen King just became one of my new personal heroes. And those of you who didn't like those two remakes, you can suck it. Cuz that one did make Public Enemies look pretty tame (although I liked P.E. a little, to be fair).

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved