WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Should Actors Star as Young CG Versions of Themselves?

Posted: January 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Should Actors Star as Young CG Versions of Themselves?Submit Comment
When James Cameron was promoting "Avatar," he spoke about his technology with Entertainment Weekly, stating that it is now very easy to take convert an actor to a CG alien creature. He added that his motion-capture tools can also be used to create human characters.

"If we had put the same energy into creating a human as we put into creating the Na'vi, it would have been 100 percent indistinguishable from reality," said Cameron. "The question is, why the hell would you do that? Why not just photograph an actor? Well let's say Clint Eastwood really wanted to do one last Dirty Harry movie, looking the way he did in 1975. He could absolutely do it now. And that would be cool."

We got a little glimpse of this in "Terminator Salvation," in which audiences got to see a younger, bulkier version of the Arnold Schwarzenegger we saw in the original "Terminator" film. But it wasn't Arnold behind the movements, and it wasn't as perfect looking as with Cameron's technology.

Question: Would you want to see Clint Eastwood star as a younger CG version of himself by doing his performance in a motion capture suit? What about Arnold in a new "Terminator" film, or Mel Gibson in "Mad Max 4"?

How about a Clint Eastwood film, with another actor providing the movements for the young Eastwood?

Source: WorstPreviews.com, Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:00:49 PM

How long before we see this technology bringing back the dead?

Imagine all the gigabyte needed to create a CGI Chris Farley.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:08:19 PM

If they use the technology for a few scenes, or flash backs. Example the T-800 from Terminator Salvation or Ian Mckellan and Patrick Stewart in X-Men 3, then that is cool. But having an entire film with that technology over one actor. it looks really really chezzy. Look at the Age tech used on Patrick Stewart in X Men: Wolverine!

I remember reading an artical about this going back 9 years ago now, they discussed they could use CGI to recreate dead actors like John Wayne and James Dean for new films. Personally i don't see the point!
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:09:08 PM

i dont think i could see it. seeing a young clint eastwood now would be just too weird.
TheStig writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:36:42 PM

I'd take a CGI'd Eastwood over the large majority of the talentless sh*ts that call themselves actors today....
za316653 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:37:09 PM

Ricky thats was f*ckin funny. Congrats on that joke, my hats off. But it would be definetly intresting to see that happen.
pomme writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:37:59 PM

nothing is better than real actors!
Preditorian writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:41:04 PM

Hmmmm

I Heath Ledger in another Batman movie.
Preditorian writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:41:40 PM

Err I See him in another Batman Movie.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:44:04 PM

YES! I'll take Clint Eastwood doing Dirty Harry again, but he's upgraded, no more .44, now he's got the S&W 500.
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:53:55 PM


BRING BACK RITA HAYWORTH!!!

The woman gives me a boner even a cat couldn't scratch!

KirkLazerus writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:00:01 PM

didn't Al Pacino do that in the movie Simone
Lowryder writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:06:57 PM

mel gibson is doing mad max 4...?
NatG83 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:27:17 PM

I think it would be best if they hired new actors. It's a bit creepy that we could just replace people.

However, the porn industry needs to pick up this 3D technology and score us some renders of the more timid celebrities.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:31:53 PM

I don't know about this. Just think about all the lame-ass "I see dead people"-jokes we have NOW. The world would witness it's first comedial meltdown
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:28:45 PM

Interesting idea but I would only think itd be worth it for like cameos by aging actors or flashbacks. All the best examples have been said already, but I think for those instances it culd definitely work effectively, but definitely not for entire films. And recreating dead actors with CGI is just stupid and in bad taste, like why would you wanna see a CGI Chris Farley, or John Candy, or Paul Newman, or James Dean, or Heath Ledger? Who's gonna voice them? The performances aren't going to be realistic. What if (hypothetically of course) the role got an Oscar, who accepts that sh*t? Just wrong in my opinion.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:42:36 PM

if it's mocap won't dirty harry still hobble around like 80 yr old man
CCBlev writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 9:17:46 PM

@ranger as long as your willing to share, ey ill take sloppy seconds with that ass lol

as for bringing back the dead i remember them talking doing this with bruce lee about a year ago, they were fully able to cgi render him and make it look purely authentic, could be interesitng if they posess that kinda technology now to do it
FFantasy1984 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:10:23 PM

Like some other's have said for smaller parts and flashbacks it could be cool. But for a whole movie I don't think so.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:52:52 PM

"let's say Clint Eastwood really wanted to do one last Dirty Harry movie, looking the way he did in 1975. He could absolutely do it now. And that would be cool."

no not cool. extremely gay.




Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:55:57 PM

@CC - I still think Rita was the best looking woman in Hollywood to this day. But there were a LOT of classy women in the Biz back in those days. Now we have Rosie (lick a canoe) O'Donnell... JESUS!

As for rendering dead actors...

You remember reading such 'fiction' decades ago, or watch stuff professing this day would come (I'm sure The Twilight Zone must have covered this very topic)... then time goes by and you forget this fantasy, sci-fi, futuristic stuff covered in books, magazines, movies and discussions. Then when it's really here finally... it's a shocker, isn't it?!
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:57:21 PM

@TeemSelami - if you're going to continue making old Clint jokes... you best advise your friends not to stand so close to you for fear of lightning strikes my friend.
warriors187 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:16:04 PM

I was just talking w/ my mother about this the other day! lol
Its already happening, I am just very interested to see how far they're gonna take this...
Will we see new movies starring "the likeness" of James Dean in about 10 years? And if so, who will be paid for that? His closest relatives?
I sense law suits....
This is crazy
warriors187 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:17:45 PM

@murphyslaw
lol sorry, I read your post after I posted mine.
Were on the same page :)
warriors187 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:18:55 PM

@Teamsalami
Shut your f*cking face!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:21:24 PM

First one to project Elvis on stage in concert in a 3D hologram will become a billionaire!
telur writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:23:06 PM

nolan cloud bring heath ledger back alive in batman 3
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:24:47 PM

Happy New Year telur.

I love your contributions on this site, but I have to ask...

Did your avatar come with a free HIV Test?!
TeemSelami writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:27:32 PM

damn. i love clint just saying he's double the age. no where did i question his toughness.
popcorn writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:28:49 PM

im all for this, if a porn star from the 50's wants to come back and make a new porno why should she get to look like she did back then
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:38:27 PM

@Teem - just yankin' yer chain Bro.
CCBlev writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:45:39 PM

@ranger the thought of her naked,i wont be able to sleep now tonight or ever again thanks lol
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:50:24 PM

I hear ya.

I got a bag of frozen peas on my crotch whilst I type!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:15:11 AM

that would be f*cking awesome, I'm down with it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:16:54 AM

Nope. Wouldn't care for it.
tcu21 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:26:01 AM

@Ranger: Even though it might be a crime to have this discussion without @PP around, I'm going to have to nominate Jayne Mansfield as the dead actress I bring back with new tech. Although even James Cameron may not even be able to recreate that body, but if he did he'd use it like a 3-D blow up doll haha.
tcu21 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:32:20 AM

And on the topic of using this CGI to make people look younger: I've noticed that no one commented on Zemeckis's gay ass motion capture even thought they gave Ray Winestone a freakin six pack in Beowulf. I think this just has to looked at on a case by case basis. It would be cool in some cases, but really stupid in others.
NorCalDre writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:33:12 AM

I agree that it would be cool for small scences like flashbacks, but not to replace a character for a whole movie. That being said though, I would love to see a movie that is completely CGI that looks 100% real, just to see them do it. Kind of like Final Fantasy x100. Avatar actually came pretty close to doing this already.
tcu21 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:33:26 AM

plenty of typos there, but i'm tired, my team just blew chunks, and you get the gist.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:45:58 AM

@tcu - no argument here. Mansfield was stunning. As were the Hepburns (back when), Monroe, etc.

Did you know the Co-Star of Law & Order was Mansfield's daughter?

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0002127/

Bit 'o Trivia there for you, if you didn't already know (well, I guess if you already knew, it's still trivia... ahh.. because, oh f*ck... you know what I mean!!!).
NorCalDre writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:52:45 AM

@tcu21 - I just got to work and haven't had my morning coffee yet. My typing abilities increase by the cup.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:54:04 AM

Ironically, so does my bladder.
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:54:30 AM

I guess that should have been 'coincidentally.'
telur writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:21:04 AM

@ranger

My avatar is for a joke to everyone especially you

and yes free HIV Test on a label, but i don't know about bugs bunny :)



NB: Happy New Year 2
Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:26:19 AM

@telur - you're a good sport.

BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:36:47 AM

No. that'll put new actors out of business. you live and die for a reason.

ps
no new dirty harry. he was basically him in gran torino!

and also, the patrick stewart thing in wolverine. GOD! that was horrible.

Old people (lucas, cameron, spielberg, jackson) try to be hip and cutting edge by using "new" technology to show they're still "with it" but what they dont realize is they've lost the ability to make films anymore. You're making a feature length video game cut scene. They need to knock this sh*t off.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 7:58:54 AM

Wow, with this technology advertisers can have Billy Mays slinging quirky products for the rest of eternity :)

I hope Demi Moore doesn't get wind of this new tech. She's been trying to airbrush her way back into Hollywood ever since she had some ribs removed for Charlie's Angels. I dont know, maybe it wont be so bad if they can bring back Striptease Demi with the DDs and the thunder thighs.
tcu21 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:39:42 AM

@NorCalDre: Haha I was worried you would think i was referring to your post, I was talking about the post I made right before yours.

@Ranger: Actually I had heard that, it's nice that she passed on the "hot" gene to Hargitay haha.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:11:20 AM

Wasn't there a movie where a star that was created in a computer and projected onto a movie becomes an acutal star only no one but the person who created her knows this?

I think it stared Pacino.

My point is that with this technology you could "create" stars like you create animated characters and project them on screen in a similar way. The only thing you'd need is a voice and you could mix that in a sound studio.

In effect, you have the perfect "star". One that never ages, cost a whole lot less then a living one and does't embarass you like real human stars.

I don't think we are far away from that technology now.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:48:29 AM

no, its creepy
Horsemoney5 writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:14:45 AM

This would open up pandora's box because you could get actors for free like heath ledger than all the living actors would be pissed because james dean and heath ledger are getting all the work lol kinda creepy to think about...
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:17:21 PM

i think you could use it if you were doing a biographical movie on someones life. but other wise no. i dont like the idea
Peter Parker writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 2:56:16 PM

@ tcu21:

Aaaah shucks! I missed a good discussion!
I told the chick I was with it would have to be a quickie. The bitch wouldn't leave my bed after. I had to pay her double just to get rid of her.
Gave her a $10 and threw her out.

But I appreciate your words!

On topic:

I'd bring back Anna Nicole Smith, just because I love crazy hot bitches with gigantic tits.
In her golden years, she was a phenomenon.
Here are a few examples:

http://www.weblo.com/asset_images/large/Anna_Nicole_Smith_4611b33b4ad6b.jpg

http://www.noticiaspopulares.info/populares/downloads/arquivos/AnnaNicole.jpg

http://www.celebrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/02/anna-nicole-smith-autopsy-2-9-07.jpg

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved