WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sherlock Holmes 2" in Jeopardy for Homosexual Comments

Posted: January 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sherlock Holmes 2" in Jeopardy for Homosexual CommentsSubmit Comment
Two weeks ago, Robert Downey Jr appeared on "Late Show With David Letterman," to promote his new "Sherlock Holmes" movie and in the process talked about the possibility of Sherlock and his sidekick Dr. Watson being homosexual lovers.

The comments did not hurt the film's box office results, but if talks like this continue, Downey can forget about returning for the inevitable sequel.

Andrea Plunket, who holds the US copyright to Arthur Conan Doyle's literary creation, is unhappy with Downey's statements. She said that if director Guy Ritchie and the screenwriters decide to take the character in that direction, she will not allow a follow-up film.

"I hope this is just an example of Mr. Downey's black sense of humour," she said. "It would be drastic, but I would withdraw permission for more films to be made if they feel that is a theme they wish to bring out in the future. I am not hostile to homosexuals, but I am to anyone who is not true to the spirit of the books."

Click here to read our "Sherlock Holmes" review.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:07:40 PM

Watson: "Why Holmes, is that your penis up my ass?"

Holmes: "Elementary, my dear Watson!"
stevepoots writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:25:22 PM

ya, thats why the movie was so similar to the books .. right
TeemSelami writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:26:00 PM

don't worry i just had sex with miss plunket. this whole thing is cleared up. but let's just say it was hard getting traction in even in here intestines.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:26:17 PM

her
gobolog writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:36:07 PM

she is blatantly homophobic
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:36:22 PM

I thought sherlock holmes was a gay joke.
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:52:21 PM

I thought Robert Downey Jr. was a gay joke.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:04:38 PM

Twilight is gay but you dont see the owners of Twilight crying
gimple writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:15:51 PM

Nothing in the movie was true to the books except the character names...
FFantasy1984 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:19:03 PM

I don't mind people being gay that is there choice. However this is a no. Sherlock Holmes is a great literary figure and a classic, to take a turn like that is just wrong.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:22:02 PM

If they're going to stay true to the books, isn't Sherlock supposed to be a drug-addict? I have nothing against drug-addicts, but isn't that even worse than being gay?
NatG83 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:29:37 PM

Good for Plunket. I want to see Sherlock Holmes 2, not Broke Back Mountain 2.
bbrave25 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:47:45 PM

If she doesn't want films to not to be true to the books, then WHY did you give permission to make the first one??????
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:33:52 PM

This is why people need to grow up and develop a sense of humor. Two mistakes with this Plunket woman: first, you took Robert Downey Jr. seriously. Next, you took Robert Downey Jr seriously...on David Letterman. Like the dude is obviously just f*ckin around and playin this sh*t up for laughs. The dude is crazy but thats why he's the man, he makes fun of himself all the time, like when he comes out to present at the Oscars and the Golden Globes and he pokes fun at his terrible drug addiction of two decades ago. It'd be a little different if Jude Law said this sh*t, but RDJ, cmon the dude is rarely serious in public.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:50:42 PM

This totally explains the look Jude is giving in that poster from behind Sherlock.
Kara writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:59:23 PM

I loved Sherlock.... i dont understand why guys cant be mates (on screen)... no-one ever said these kind of commments 20 years ago - the jokes about batman and robin are only recent...
Hopefully Guy Ritchie wont be discouraged...
billofill writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:23:38 PM

And yet they apparently approved the Gay jokes in the Private Life of Sherlock Holmes. Wait isnt Sherlock Public Domain now? WHAT THE HELLLLL.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:50:39 PM

i haven't seen the movie yet (but plan to, looks WAY better then Avatard)and it'll suck if Sherlock and Watson turn out to be closet fudge-packers. it'll ruin the film for me and i would not enjoy it with the thought in the back of my mind that they're giving each other special hugs.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:57:19 PM

Great movie f*cking movie. The only negative thing was Rachel McAdams.

And yes it was probably a joke, so shut up Plunket.

victor arroyo writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:00:48 PM

Great f*cking movie. The only negative thing was Rachel McAdams.

And yes it was probably a joke, so shut up Plunket.




takai writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:15:47 PM

A gay Sherlock Holmes is like a black 007. People trying to shove things down your throat. (figuratively)

Make up your own characters.
telur writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:27:38 PM

she want sex with downey
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:41:55 PM

You'll probably get some from him with that avatar.
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:43:50 PM

Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law in:

He Broke my Back Mountin' Me!

@Freudian - 'I have nothing against drug-addicts, but isn't that even worse than being gay?' --- I almost fell out of my f*cking chair! LOL!

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:04:49 AM

Holmes : " Watson, quit playing with my fiddle. "

Ranger writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:55:21 AM

Which begs to answer the age-old question:

Which came first...

The diddle, or the fiddle?

vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:13:44 AM

talk talk talk talk talk.......
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:19:30 AM

yeah mcadams was terrible.. for one thing she was way to young and her character wasn't interesting. There wasn't any reason for homes to be fascinated by her. she was boring and bland and seemed to say her interesting dialogue with all the enthusiasm of sigourny weaver in an animal planet special. In short.. they really mis cast her. The question is who should they have cast?
I say cate blanchet. She could have brought the right sense of mystery and maturity that the role needed and mcadams failed to deliver.
who do you think should have played her.. after all lots of people here seem to agree that she was the only really bad thing in that movie. apart form her i enjoyed the heck out of it.
takai writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 8:34:31 AM

@vaodsi- Did you pay attention to the movie at all?

It wasn't her 'young age' or stunning beauty that fascinated Holmes, it was the fact that she outsmarted Holmes twice mixed with the typical seductress attitude.

McAdams did fine. Yeah, I definitely think some others would be better for the role, but she wasn't bad at all.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 9:04:52 AM

RDJ made a joke about The Dark Knight last year....he later admmited it was just a joke. Why is she even taking him seriously? The guy is awesome and jokes all the time!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:24:16 AM

Oh for the love of.....


Why not ask RDJ himself whether or not it was a joke? Or Guy Ritchie? Why the f*ck would you even put this statement out?

And why would you anyway? If we can have a movie like "Broke Back Mountain" then a gay Holmes is too far fetched? Methinks the gay community needs to protest Ms. f*ckit and whatever company she works for.
victor arroyo writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 10:59:32 AM

the movie was great and McAdams did a terrible job, it should have been Emily Blunt.
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 12:21:08 PM

ram it home,inch by inch, like gentleman 8ŹD
warlord writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 1:47:52 PM

f*ckin homos
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:11:12 PM

yeah they said she outsmarted him and she did it once on screen (with the bottle) but the problem was mcadams didn't play the character smart or seducing. she was boring. she didn't come across as even remotely intelligent enough to outsmart holms despite the script's insistence. that, in my opinion, is a fail when i can't buy a character within the rules of the film. There was nothing smart or mature or interesting about the way she PLAYED her character. the script afforded her every opportunity and she came across as dumb even while outsmarting holms. epic fail. otherwise i loiked the movie a lot jude law and rdj were awesome.
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:13:12 PM

liked not loiked....
loik just sounds... funny

stop loiking around. Ranger loiked my cat. then efron loiked ranger.
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:13:25 PM

and sherlock loiked watson
vaodsi writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 3:13:52 PM

then ranger loiked them both
japaninmotion writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 11:50:23 PM

you mean that he is not public domain?
cosplay writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:47:16 AM

Watson: "Why Holmes, is that your penis up my ass?"

Holmes: "Elementary, my dear Watson!"

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16291#ixzz0vWUINNgn

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved