WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Thing" Prequel to Begin Filming in March

Posted: January 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Thing" Prequel to Begin Filming in MarchSubmit Comment
Last time we heard about the prequel to John Carpenter's classic thriller "The Thing" was back in March when Ronald Moore ("Battlestar Galactica") revealed that he completed the script.

It seemed like there was no movement on the new film, but Production Weekly has just learned that Universal Pictures and commercials director Matthijs Van Heijningen will begin filming the prequel from March till June in Toronto.

The prequel is supposed to be an earlier story about the mutation that attacks the Norwegian base from Carpenter's movie. STYD has learned that Universal is planning to release the film in theaters, rather than have it go straight to DVD.

Source: Production Weekly, STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
NorCalDre writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 4:30:09 AM

Sounds interesting, The Thing is one of my all time favorites. Hopefully this prequel will do it a little justice.
Carpen7er writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 4:36:55 AM

Another crap full of cgi ?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 4:37:57 AM

Is there any really point in this?
blinkbomber writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 5:24:01 AM

as long as it rated R, i'm good.
pomme writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 5:33:40 AM

it's one of my fav movie!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 5:39:30 AM

Hell yeah! Watch some aliens massacre norwegians sounds awesome
J.A.Ottley writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 5:40:49 AM

I agree with Pomme, its one of my favs too.

But is there any need for a prequel, since we already have some familiarity of what happens to them.
Fabian writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 5:53:26 AM

As a norwegian citizen, i find this offensive, the Thing is an awesome movie, there is no need for a prequel!
BrundleFly writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 6:08:44 AM

The Thing is my favourite horror movie of all time, but this will surely be terrible.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:28:36 AM

Too bad Carpenter's not directing this. I wouldn't have any problem with him making a prequel to his best film. It doesn't sound like they are putting too much effort in this if it was originally supposed to go straight to dvd, so I wont get my hopes up. No big deal, Carpenter's remake was so good that nothing will be able to taint its legacy.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:34:29 AM

I still say that Carpenter's creature effects in The Thing are far better looking than anything CGI has produced over the last 30 years. The Thing really might be the best Sci-fi/horror movie ever made.
VDODSON writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:46:12 AM

Screw this, I would rather have a Swamp Thing remake. I love those movies, especially when he makes her eat a piece of his penis so he can become human long enough to bone her. I still dont konw how they got away with that stuff in the eighties.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:31:02 AM

@Vdodson: It was a simplier time back then.

@Fabian: Go eat some oil
Peter Parker writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 9:20:41 AM

"The Thing" to begin filming in March?
I'm way ahead, I film my thing every day.
I also film some bitches' things.
Filming things is fun.
ksplatt writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:31:11 AM

Hopefully those damn Russians (or whoever they were...Norwegians?) shoot the dog this time...REVENGE!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:33:20 AM

The Thing, it sounds like vindandy's biopic.
Peter Parker writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:54:56 AM

"vindandy's biopic"

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 11:56:37 AM

Norwegians can't shoot any dogs. Their bratwurst-like fingers are too thick to push the trigger.
VDODSON writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 12:19:10 PM

Lol, I have nothing but love for our Norweigian brethren, but those I have come into contact with smelled faintly of vienna sausages. They are a proud people, too proud to use deodorant.
VDODSON writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 12:21:58 PM

And their woman folk sport big bushes due to the radical climate in the area.


HOERSHIOFF VERANDFAULT- Norwegian for penis popper.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 12:41:51 PM

They are just proud cause they have a lot of oil. I lived and worked there for six months and it's just like Sweden, only with more suckage (and not in a good way)
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 1:39:36 PM

oh god.
Fabian writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 2:07:09 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

Wow dude, hitting me where it hurts.. My oil. I guess i'll be crying myself to sleep tonight..

Btw, if you lived in Norway, you should know that the general population never see a cent of that oil-money. But i guess you didn't catch that, being from sweden and all..

And it's "PULL the trigger"..
Tizzle writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 2:31:10 PM

Dumb.
CCBlev writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 3:33:32 PM

@pp
be careful on filming things, you can get into trouble quickly like i did, i swore she was 18 and how her parents got the tape is beyond me
Tebeck writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 4:22:40 PM

A sequel would be a much better idea. But since the thing is the greatest horror movie of all time, i am obligated to see this.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 7:16:44 PM

@fabian: Who said norwegians were "general population"?

And you can pull whatever you want, I'm a pusher
ksplatt writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 9:39:11 PM

@Freudian---hahaha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved