WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Learn the Na'vi Language from "Avatar"

Posted: January 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Learn the NaSubmit Comment
We previously reported that James Cameron created an entirely new language for his "Avatar" film. Those who have seen it, have noticed that the Na'vi used it on several occasions to say such things as "hey listen" and "you like baby."

That language, which was created by USC professor Paul Frommer, has now been placed online (www.LearnNavi.org) for you to look at and possibly learn. It is only around five hundred words at this time, but Frommer is looking to add another five hundred soon.

I'm not sure why anyone would learn this language beside trying to sync with a nine-foot blue create from Pandora. But if you have a few hours to kill and want to impress your nerd friends, then go for it.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: LearnNavi


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
NorCalDre writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 3:39:33 AM

I've just about mastered my Klingon so I'll be sure to get right on this...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 3:45:12 AM

f*ck me i couldn't do Japanese, Latin or Ancient Greek, why should i be able to do this?

But i give it a go anyway!
encoreyourface writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 4:19:58 AM

how stupid. i guess this is how the klingon language learning got started ... man Cameron is just milking this movie! it's not a good idea to force fandom like star-wars and star-trek have it, you have to take time to have the fans take it all in, not ram it down there throats in one sitting. i mean, star-wars and star-trek have been around for over 35+ years, and avatar hasn't even been out a month it's ridiculous!

face it James Cameron, you can't have star-wars fan-base in a month, especially not with THAT movie.
Ranger writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 4:29:52 AM

I wonder how one would ask:

'Hey Blue Chick... ever been DP'd, or received a Cleveland Steamer Terran-Style!?' in Na'vi?

Note - substitutes for the Cleveland Steamer may include: Alabama Hot Pocket, or the every popular Strawberry Shortcake.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 5:03:15 AM

What do you mean? "Nerd friends"? All the cool kids in Sweden are speaking Na'Vi
rocketman writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 6:55:36 AM

Least they don't shoot folk like the cool kids in Finland.
pomme writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 7:41:33 AM

bla bla bla!next Na'vi religion!
Doc_Brown writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 8:04:27 AM

HATED the movie!
MattC903 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 9:06:29 AM

learning
Fixxer35 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:53 AM

Ranger, the Bohemian Snap is also very effective.
gummijoker writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:00 AM

sweet with this i can say any thing i want with hot girls :D
rabid writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:44 AM

hahaha I knew it was only a matter of time.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 10:21:21 AM

dont forget about my all time favorite, the "pink sock," or itll probably be the "blue sock" in this case. this movie still sucked...
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:08:22 PM

"...want to impress your nerd friends."

Don't even lie WP you know youve wanted this site to surface ever since you saw the movie
takai writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:23:38 PM

@encoreyourface - Well said. I couldn't agree more.

Cameron is trying real hard to create 'the new Star Wars'.

What's pathetic about that, is how unoriginal, cliche, and forced his approach is.
c-prime writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:38:00 PM

Don't forget about New Delhi Dot, Ranger. Also, the alligator f*ckhouse is known to cause a few head spins (and broken bones).
Barney Stinson writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:48:27 PM

BTW guys, Avatar just broke the record for quickest to $1 billion. Previous record was Titanic in 51 days, Avatar did it in 17 days.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:48:33 PM

Sure, find another way to distance hot girls from you ...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 1:52:11 PM

What's next? Avatar conventions?
Coasterkid345 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 2:03:03 PM

@HorrorJunky4Life I sure as hell hope not!
Ranger writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 2:31:16 PM

Lol... a total list (to date) for all Avatarts:

Cleveland Steamer
Alabama Hotpocket (also: Hot Pocket)
Alabama Hotpocket 2
Strawberry Shortcake

LOL... I had to look the following suggestions up:
Bohemian Snap (lol... had to look that one up!)
Pink Sock (sounds just dandy!)
New Delhi Dot
Alligator f*ck House

Ahh... love is in the air. Spring must be just around the corner.
Preditorian writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 2:42:30 PM

Nuts!
MisterSteveBravo writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 2:59:00 PM

I'm writing a rap song in Na'vi, lil wayne is gonna be my backup vocals. Whaaat!
Ranger writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 3:01:50 PM

Get Gary Coleman and Mini-Me for the video. I hear they're doing f*ck-all these days.
CCBlev writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 3:22:57 PM

Well when the extended sex scene comes out on dvd, ill be able to understand, "JakeSully make me cry for sticky c*m!" when its spoken in na'vi.
Here's an idea, get some really cheap hookers teach em the language and have a vidoetaped orgy of all of us f*cking and speaking na've sure to be an internet sensation
CCBlev writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 3:24:01 PM

Well when the extended sex scene comes out on dvd, ill be able to understand, "JakeSully make me cry for sticky c*m!" when its spoken in na'vi.
Here's an idea, get some really cheap hookers teach em the language and have a vidoetaped orgy of all of us f*cking and speaking na'vi sure to be an internet sensation, it'll cost me some money, but normally id ask good ole pal nick cage for the money but apparently he's broke nowadays
autiger10 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 4:24:49 PM

damn good movie. dont understand the negative feedback, it came out great. also had a great ending. the wait for final battle after 2 hours was well worth it. would advise 3-D. 9/10
Goober3000 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 4:40:35 PM

Mitchem is a tool
Goober3000 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 4:41:37 PM

just kidding
Dre-EL writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 5:41:03 PM

Talk about nerd extremism.

If you thought learning Klingon and elfwyn was cool then you will want to learn the Navi language and guarntee never to get laid again.
Pick up your copy from Rosetta Stone now.
CCBlev writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 6:46:38 PM

@dre el
thats awesome, does the rosetta stone one come with a demo cd?
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 7:59:23 PM

damnit ranger.... i read Alabama hot pocket and laughed so hard I crapped myself
Ranger writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 8:08:01 PM

LOL! I wish I knew what it was BEFORE someone ELSE educated me on THIS site about it.

NO DOUBT... www.WorstPreviews.com is educational!
Goober3000 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:39 PM

i'll just make up my own language...it'll be faster. ill start now uuuuuuuuuummmmm rasa badoola wookie nipple pinchy
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 11:33:44 PM

I swear I called this like a month or so ago. f*cking fanboys (rabid) have to be going apesh*t (pun intended for rabid) trying to learn this sh*t.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 1:34:35 AM

lol. so cameron made up a whole language to impress the fans? it's just adding insult to injury that is avatard.
BlueMobius writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 2:26:38 AM

As an English teacher, this is pretty cool. As a geek, this is VERY cool. As a grown man, this is incredibly lame. Too many sides to war with here.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 2:46:22 AM

lol
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 8:09:56 AM

I want to say Sam W. sucks! in Na'vi
dddarne writes:
on January 12th, 2010 at 6:39:00 PM

I want to learn how to say suck my c*ck in navi

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved