WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony Destroys Sam Rockwell's Chances to Win an Oscar for "Moon"

Posted: December 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony Destroys Sam RockwellSubmit Comment
Even though "Moon," directed by Duncan Jones and starring Sam Rockwell, made it on many critics' favorite films of 2009, Sony Pictures Classics decided not to include it for Oscar consideration and thus will not be sending out screeners.

Jones is devastated and has been pleading with the studio to reconsider. "We have more than asked.. we've knocked heads. Ihey have chosen the films they are backing and we are not in their plans," he said via his Twitter account. "They say it costs too much for our little film as they would need to be water-marked copies as our DVD isn't out yet in the US."

Hollywood heavyweights like Neil Gaiman and Jon Favreau have expressed their disappointment with Sony over the decision and have offered to help any way that they could. There's also a petition circulating to get Rockwell and Oscar nomination for his performance.

Taking a look at Sony Pictures Classics' films from 2009 and I only see "An Education" and "Moon" as possible contenders, since both got great reviews. So I'm not sure what's really going on. How much does it really cost to send out a water-marked screener?

Click here to read our "Moon" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KalVicious writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:45:27 AM

Good luck. :D
ilovebatman writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:58:54 AM

a-motherf*cking-gain!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 3:22:27 AM

The Academy wouldn't give it to him anyway, so it doesn't really matter. However, he still deserves some recognition, because it was an awesome performance. Just proves what a bunch of douches Sony is.
vaodsi writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 3:23:37 AM

ARGH!
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 3:33:07 AM

I'm so pissed... Rockwell so deserves this nomination! he was so good in Moon... definitely recommend it to ANYONE who hasn't seen it.
Brody writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 3:52:49 AM

It will be a CRIME if Sam is not nominated. He and Jeremy Renner should be battling it out for the win, but because of all this plugging bullsh*t neither may be nominated. Shame on you academy if you neglect two brilliant performances and films.
Brody writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 3:58:25 AM

Why can't academy members go out there and watch the films for themselves. After all they are in the business... cheap bas***ds!!!!

Should filmmakers really be campaigning to get nominated? Academy, what little credibility you have is dying more and more every year.
Ranger writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 4:07:18 AM

@Brody - 'Should filmmakers really be campaigning to get nominated?' --- If you knew just how many parties Forest Whitaker had to attend whoring himself to work towards his well-deserved Oscar... it would make you cringe.

This is the 'business' end of 'show business' and I think it sucks sh*t!
Brody writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 4:19:58 AM

@Ranger - agreed bro
rabid writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 6:16:39 AM

Rockwell deserves some sort of award for his performance. Moon was one of my favorite films this year. I could tell it was an instant classic.
SeWerin writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 7:22:12 AM

Rockwell deserves nomination, he was all alone in that movie, and when you can carry whole movie for more then a 90 minutes, well that means something. Hell, he should win!
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 7:26:50 AM

Kids Choice or MTV movie award it is eh?
rocketman writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 7:57:03 AM

Oscar or whoever is in charge should just pick his faves and put it to a council of five regardless of who is in it/made it etc.T studios should be in the dark untill they get an invite then lesser mortals like me would actually give a sh*t about awards.
Bob82 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 9:29:40 AM

I really liked "Moon", it was a pleasant surprise. It deserves Best Actor and Best Original Screenplay nominations (I don't think Kevin Spacey counts as a performance, but he was lovely).
thedotsays writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 10:24:12 AM

@Ranger, wow I thought I was one of the few up on that Forrest bullsh*t. A friend of mine in the biz was telling me about it and it definitely did make me cringe.

As for Moon and Rockwell, I haven't seen it yet but will once it's out but from what I've heard from friends who did see it, he is deserving of some type of recognition. Maybe the lack of recognition will be the actual recognition and push other studios to snatch him up and back him.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 10:36:50 AM

If I were Duncan Jones, this would be the last business that Sony and I ever do...
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 10:54:23 AM

@Iblowbatman - "a-motherf*cking-gain!"


bwahahahahahahahahahahahahahah - douche
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 11:24:34 AM

Wow the people on this over at Sony Pictures Classic are f*cking moronic. Why did they even green light this movie to then try and f*ck it every chance they got? This movie was competent and pretty damn good considering. I think he should be nominated, but winning I don't know about that.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 12:16:29 PM

Sam Rockwell wasn't THAT good in Moon... come on people.

His clone was way better.

I vote for Sam Rockwell's clone.
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 12:32:35 PM

I actually went to see this in theaters. He's getting screwed over.
pomme writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 1:04:39 PM

too sad ,one of my fav performances this year!
he litteraly wears the movie on his shoulder
AYT BALL writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:00:43 PM

Dumb sony! let us all down
Ranger writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:33:16 PM

@jeff - LOL!!!

@brody - thx.

@thedot - something like 55 or 60 parties Forest had to haul his ass around to, to 'work' for his Oscar.

The Oscar's are such a f*cking joke anyway. I've rarely watched over the past 10 years, and when/if I have... it's to scope all the tasty celeb. biachs on the red carpet (meaning, I'd like to f*ck them whilst they're straddling the gauze!).
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:40:40 PM

one of the top 5 films of '09, it deserves multiple Oscar nominations
ironhide-autobot writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:45:03 PM

wat bout district 9
OneTime writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:54:44 PM

what a shame..that was a great movie
FBO writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 5:26:29 PM

All because Sam didn't give the sony excs. head
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 6:13:50 PM

What was so amazing about his performance? It wasn't bad or mediocre or anything but like it wasn't mind blowing and begging for oscars seems very pathetic, let people do your begging for you, its more effective. But the Oscars are bullsh*t anyway, unless Rockwell really needs a pay grade bump.
nirvo25 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 10:40:11 PM

GREAT film. might be my favorite of the year
Eben1277 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 11:32:39 PM

I haven't watched the Oscars since Titanic won Best Picture. Cameron deserved director without question, but no way in f*cking Heaven, Hell or anywhere else was it better than LA Confidential
nzfilmmaker writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 5:40:43 PM

Im signing the petition. Sure it won't do any good - but need to put my 2 cents in somehow. Sam's performance deserves to at least be considered.
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 6:26:04 PM

goood....goood....let the hate flow....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved