WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

DirecTV to Launch First 3D Channel

Posted: December 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DirecTV to Launch First 3D ChannelSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about how 3D television sets are ready to go on sale, but their hefty price tags may make them less than attractive considering that there isn't that much 3D content out there. Now, according to HD Guru, that's about to change.

DirecTV intends to launch the first 3D HDTV channel early next year, and will make this announcement at the 2010 Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas on January 7th.

Just two days ago (December 28th), the company blasted a new satellite into orbit, which will give DirecTV the capacity to add a 3D channel and several additional HD channels. The satellite will be fully operational by March.

The plan for the 3D channel is to feature as assortment of movies, sports and programs in 3D. Current DirecTV subscribers will receive a firmware upgrade to their HDTV boxes to allow for 3D programming. Viewers will need a 3D TV and 3D glasses to enjoy DirecTV's new channel.

Source: HD Guru


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:07:56 AM

Why don't they realize that the more 3D that's shoved down people's throat, the less appealing it will become? It's like a slut's worst nightmare: the never-ending blowjob. Suffocation IS an issue.
Vin12 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:10:30 AM

FIRST!!!
'viewers will need a 3d tv and 3d glasses to enjoy directv's new channel'

and therein lies the problem. i just cant see people wanting to sit with the 3d glasses on their face while they watch tv and the fact that they STILL need a whole different tv that costs way too much money for the average person doesn't help either
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:31:47 AM

Shut the f*ck up Dandy, you werent even first.

''A wise man said forgiveness is divine, but never pay full price for late pizza''. Or is it cold?
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:48:59 AM

@VinDandy - LOL... 'FIRST!!!'

Holy f*ck... grow up d*ckhead!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:53:23 AM

And he hasn't even first!!!!!

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

You know what they say, Vindy, second place is the first loser.

Congratulations!!!
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:03:21 AM

I bet people whined the same when the first color tv channel came out. The next generation of televisions is stereoscopic 3D and doesn't require the annoying glasses, so get used to it. Television technology is only going to get more realistic.
davidsask writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:11:21 AM

Who wants the glasses? TV for them will later be obsolete only to be replaced by another,like videogame consoles are!
Flav writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 4:25:28 AM

Friday Night Lights on DTV in 3D?? Sounds good to me
pomme writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:17:49 AM

no,i just bought my plasma TV
Derp88 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:35:02 AM

3D IS SOO GAY
Agent Calavera writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:52:37 AM

@rabid

"ey up chuck, you seen all this colour tv gubbins? waste o' space if you ask me"

why would people of whined when colour tv came out.. it was the logical step.

which reminds me, when i was a child i thought the whole world was in Black and White in them days.. good times
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 6:16:25 AM

Did 3D Technologies balls just drop or something?
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 8:34:22 AM

Hey Dandy this is some 3D for you!

( 0 )
/ /
/ /
/ /
/ /
( )( )
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 8:37:37 AM

f*ck the illustration doesn't come out good, well i hope you al get the point
ifakos writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 9:14:39 AM

The glasses are spoiling it all
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:00:53 AM

3D is f*cking annoying with the glasses. Oh and Vindy stop the first sh*t you weren't even first you loser f*ck....I want you to die a slow AIDS related death ...oh yeah you already are.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:09:23 AM

"I bet people whined the same when the first color tv channel came out. The next generation of televisions is stereoscopic 3D and doesn't require the annoying glasses, so get used to it. Television technology is only going to get more realistic."

You're a f*cking moron.

Idiots like you are going to shell out massive amounts of money to sit with your gob open in front of the tv wearing a stupid pair of glasses.

People, we live in the age of the idiot.
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:14:17 AM

All the current tv manufacturers have 3D tvs in the works that don't require glasses. Mitsubishi already has one. They've been showing it at gizmo expos.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:26:58 AM

"All the current tv manufacturers have 3D tvs in the works that don't require glasses. Mitsubishi already has one. They've been showing it at gizmo expos."

Too bad it's gonna take around 40 years to find a way to stuff 20 projectors into a tv, and by that time people won't give a sh*t about 3-D (moreso than they already do).

How many times do I need to say that 3-D is a gimmick. I don't need to feel like I'm "actually there", I don't need to "immerse myself in the world".

People aren't falling for it. They tried this sh*t in the 50's, then they tried it again in the 80's, and now the new 10's. Every 30 years they try, every 30 years we don't want it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:32:40 AM

also, since when was mitsubishi a TV company, Rabid?
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:45:04 AM

??
my current tv is a Mitsubishi.
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:49:25 AM

and they're hardly the only ones. Sony, Phillips, and others have already announced they have working stereoscopic tvs and plan production in the next couple of years. You can't fight the future of technology, Spooky.
tcu21 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:54:11 PM

I think if it's the same technology as the Avatar 3-D then it wouldn't suck. But it'd probably be something lame and cheap so it will suck.
tcu21 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:54:12 PM

I think if it's the same technology as the Avatar 3-D then it wouldn't suck. But it'd probably be something lame and cheap so it will suck.
bluemeenie writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:29:07 PM

FAIL- people are too lazy to put in a DVD or Blu-ray ...they won't put on glasses to watch a novelity at home.
Lowryder writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:08:16 PM

i have a new lcd samsung flatscreen..does that have 3d in it?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:41:03 PM

" You can't fight the future of technology, Spooky."

I bet there were little sh*ts like you running around arcades in the 80's saying how SUPERAWESUM the 3-d movies were and how it was gonna be the footure of technawlochee.

I bet there were idiots in the 50's that told all their buddies in the diner how 3-d is gonna revolutionize movies forever.

I bet, I just bet.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:40:42 PM

You know what screw 3D that sh*t has been around for ever, where the f*ck is my virtual reality, so when you watch porn the virtual chick is sucking you off instead of just watching her suck some other guy off. Virtual reality only would be awesome for porn by the way because I would hate to be stuck in like a virtual twilight world or some gay sh*t like that.
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:48:39 PM

I could see Spooky watching the Howdy Doody show on a 4 inch black n white telly, complaining about how cable technology will never catch on.
Film technology will always progress towards realism and immersion. You don't have to buy the new stuff though. Some people still play Atari because Xbox hurts their eyes.
MattC903 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 6:26:51 PM

hahahahahahaha this is great.. can someone try and insult me next!?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 9:41:44 PM

Rabid

The future of film isn't towards more realism, the future of film is towards good stories.

Oh wait, that's only in my ideal utopia where highest grossing movies put character and plot in the forefront and effects in the back.

OK, so I'm wrong, but at least I was wrong for the right reasons.
triggax writes:
on January 1st, 2010 at 2:32:08 AM

Spooky so far you've been wrong about pretty much everything, as far as im concerned, YOU'RE the idiot.. You're absolutely retarded and for a teenager almost unbelievable... I mean honestly since you're still in f*cking high school, it being the age of the idiot should be directly related to you and your generation of people, not rabids, nor mine or most of the folks around here.. your generation, it was people like you that said that a combustible engine was completely retarded and would never work.. you're a f*cking idiot man.. its hard not to sugar coat it because i like you... I think you have a lot of good things to say... and you're very poignant and quite funny.. but your ignorrance gets in the way of any of that.. you're a completely retarded d*ck thats been proven wrong on so many f*cking occasions even in the last 2 months that anything you say is no longer credible nor relevant, its just bullsh*t and pointless and nobody cares... we all kind of just think you're f*cking retarded... but whatever man... do what you will think what you want...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved