WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sex Doesn't Sell Movies, a Study Found

Posted: December 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sex DoesnSubmit Comment
We have always heard that sex sells, but according to a recent study, nudity and explicit sex scenes do not translate to success for major feature films.

The study examined more than nine hundred films released between 2001 and 2005, learning that sex and nudity failed to positively affect a movie's popularity among viewers or critics and did not guarantee big box office receipts.

One of the study's co-authors, Dean Keith Simonton, said theirs was the largest sample of its kind used for film research. The results surprised him.

"Sex did not sell, whether in the domestic or international box office, and even after controlling for MPAA rating," said Simonton, who is a professor of psychology at the University of California, Davis. "In other words, even among R movies, less graphic sex is better."

Source: CNN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:53:49 AM

Well.... Sex and nudity has my money.
LeeMaca writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:56:06 AM

Monsters Ball anybody?
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:59:00 AM

I'm naked under my clothes.

Sex may not make boffo box-office... but it's the stuff,

Monster's Ball and 9 1/2 Weeks is remembered for.

Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:07:17 AM

Sex doesn't sell movies???????? Really??????
Tell it to the people in the porn industry!
I'm sure people buy those movies for their special effects, the magnificent screenplays, the inspiring stories...
shamusot00le writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:12:06 AM

Let's be honest, if the story's good enough, people go see the movie. If producers think it's only so-so, they try put some nudity in it to get people to see it. That's the reason for their findings - crap movies using nudity as alast ditch effort to get ppl to come see.
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:28:19 AM

If I want to see sex, I'll log onto j*zzHUT.COM. Direct streaming, and crystal clear quality.
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:28:34 AM

YOUj*zz.COM is pretty good too.
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:29:22 AM

Forgot to mention Uporn.com. The quality is so so, but the sheer number of videos available for streaming is gigantic.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:40:21 AM

@ VDOD:

Good job with the links! I'll bookmark those and I'll contribute with some of my favorites:

http://www.bigtits.com/
http://xhamster.com/
http://www.moviesand.com/
http://www.empflix.com/
http://www.shufuni.com/
http://www.timtube.com/
http://www.spankwire.com/
http://www.tube8.com/
http://www.badjojo.com/
http://www.koostube.com/
http://www.keezmovies.com/
http://www.j*zzhut.com/
http://www.xnxx.com/
http://tube5000.com/newest

Happy browsing, ya'll...
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:56:38 AM

Pete- Im a breast man as well, thanks for the first link. Check out some videos of Maria Moore when you have a chance.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:13:24 AM

A great visionary once said:

"Breast men of the world... Unite!"

Maria Moore is a plumper goddess!
Can't get enough of that woman... and she has plenty to give!
Zubostl writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:48:33 AM

Most people simply don't sit through two hours of a boring film, just to see Jessica Biel nude for half a minute, when you can just watch that thirty seconds of Jessica Biel nude online.....for two hours.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 4:05:41 AM

Monsters ball! Aw why was I reminded. Now I gotta go get that film. Maybe even powder blue while I'm at it
Flav writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 4:24:05 AM

True, Megan Fox is the sexiest woman of the year, yet she cannot translate that into box office success.... I watch films solely on talent and story.
TIENN writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 4:26:13 AM

xhamster FTW!
Derp88 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:38:46 AM

I like sex
Derp88 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 5:39:01 AM

I have herpes
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 6:10:43 AM

Big Naggs = Big Bucks!
telur writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 6:24:00 AM

it's true, look jennifer body and
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 7:18:29 AM

@PP: What you talking about? There are plenty of inspirational stories in porn:
The nerdy guy who finally gets his cheerleader and her friend
The bored housewife who finally breaks free
The ugly pizza dude find some love
A smalltown girl who tries to become something her parents can be proud off.

There's ton of inspirational stories.
Brody writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 8:01:11 AM

i want to break my d*ck in halle berry's ass
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 8:07:22 AM

disagree, Sex sells movies, look what happen to AVATAR, the Netiry tits hellooo
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 8:25:41 AM

hey any one knows a good web site to see Jeniffer's body unrated??
Brody writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 9:01:06 AM

sex does sell, i'm always buying it
barley_cat writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:08:01 AM

This is silly posting this on a male-dominated website!
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:28:11 AM

I call bullsh*t on this one, sex sells in a major way.

@PP I hope they don't take your comment down before I get home from work, I need to take a look at those links.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:28:25 AM

@ Flav:

Not true. You know how I can tell? Imagine how well a movie would do if it had a steamy sex scene like Halle Barry's in "Monsters Ball". We can only guess, but I'm pretty sure it would get a lot more people interested, just because of Fox's boob/ass action.

@ Freudian:

As always, you make a very good point! I guess porn is, in fact, a true source of inspiration.
Come to think of it, the naughty secretary story always inspired me to try different things at the office.
"Ms. Penny, c*m into my office, please. I need you to take a look at these figures..."
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:30:51 AM

@ Jeff:

Not a problem, bud. In case they do, just let me know and I'll post the links again!
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:46:55 AM

Pretty sure one of the reasons I went to see Swordfish in theaters, was because Ms. Berry was gonna flash her tits.
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:09:24 AM

This just in... Taco Bell doesn't give you gas, a study found.
Also, marijuana doesn't make you hungry.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:20:48 AM

No, sex doesn't sell movies, but according to the logic of the current movie going public, superawesumgraphicks and 40 minutes worth of over preachy plot is what sell movies

(E.G. Transformers and Avatar)
Joker1282 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:21:04 AM

LOL @ rabid !!
yes it does sells movies!! as soon as we start waching a movie the first thing we look for the nudity part and repeat it one more time and again and again and again ...
and a few months later we show this movie to a friend and we go straight for the XXX scene lol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:21:31 AM

but the preachy plot thing really only applies to avatar.
Jedimax writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:39:20 AM

Yeah but I mean taking into account indie movies with sex scenes does not really mean anything towards what this study was going for.

I mean I want to know how many movies show sex, or seduction scenes in the trailer and how that correlates to box office money, I saw Heartbreakers simply based on the trailer.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:01:45 PM

No one listed Ziporn.com. Lots of naughty movies to sample and its free.
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:47:45 PM

not anymore, Porn is free now
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:19:38 PM

Case and point: Megan Fox in "Jennifer's Body"
vaodsi writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:39:24 PM

dark knight..... no sex.....
watchman.... sex.....
duh
but of course you have to look at ratings. R rated films on average make much less than pg13 becasue it limits the audience... AND I HATE IT when parents bring there kids to R rated films. There was this four yearold girl SOBBING crying throughout district 9 and her parents were telling her to shut up. i wanted to yell "HIRE A BABY SITTER!" but didn't... cause.. i dont' know... i should have.
vaodsi writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:40:44 PM

Kirklazerus

SOOOOO TRUUUUE
Goober3000 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:08:08 PM

but haley barreys tits do
Goober3000 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:08:57 PM

never finished monsters ball
LastActionHero writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:14:32 PM

Halle Berry = MOST OVERRATED CHICK EVER

Her little fried egg boobs were not hot.
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:32:48 PM

They're hot(ter) if you grab her by the nipples and spin her around the room.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:35:29 PM

LOL @ Ranger
pomme writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 3:50:37 PM

the guy doesn't know porn movies! sex sells!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 4:15:06 PM

@PP: I know. And don't forget about the teachers. Oh, the nights I spend thinking and waiting for miss Svensson to call in me in after class to give me a special aural exam. Sweet memories.

@Barley Cat: I'm aren't exactly overly thrilled about the sausage-fest that is WP (although it is a nice atmosphere going on here) and I think I speak for everyone here (well, except Vindandy and his gang of spunkbuckets) that more XX-carriers are welcome.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 6:02:04 PM

mmmmmmm Halle Berry....what are we talking about??
rabid writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 6:24:52 AM

Monster's Ball, Swordfish... the only reason to watch either of those films is to see Halle's awesome breasts.
MAGIC619 writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 1:53:35 PM

SEX DEFINENTLY SELLS!!! Most people are looking some films only to see one little sex scene!!!

BUT, movies with sex scenes are always "Rated R", so its sure that they have no chance to get more money then family movies,... !!!
FBO writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 5:40:09 PM

Sex sells, Nudity doesn't
barley_cat writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 7:45:14 AM

@ Freud, What may be an XX carier? A female? lol.

@ Spooky, this isn't an Avatar thread, go bitch about it on a relevent topic

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved