WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Most Popular Trailers of 2009

Posted: December 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Most Popular Trailers of 2009Submit Comment
Around this time every year, Yahoo unveils its list of the most popular movie trailers of the year. "The Dark Knight" took the first spot in 2008, and this year's honor ended up going to "The Twilight Saga: New Moon."

The trailers for both "New Moon" and "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," which took second place, were watched over 20 million times each. Quite impressive numbers, but not incredibly surprising since the films were huge blockbusters.

In fact, every movie on the list was a blockbuster, except for one. Called "Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus," the straight-to-DVD film was developed by the Asylum company, which has previously released such nonsense as "Transmorphers" and "Snakes on a Train." Their "Mega Shark" trailer was so bizarre that word quickly spread and skyrocketed it to eighth spot on Yahoo's list.

Check out the full list below.

1. The Twilight Saga: New Moon

2. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

3. 2012

4. Terminator Salvation

5. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

6. G.I. Joe

7. Star Trek

8. Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus

9. Avatar

10. Up

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 1:29:39 AM

Surprised GI Joe made it so far
RajMahal writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:00:59 AM

I loved Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus.

...i was really high when i watched it, but i remember it being somewhat enjoyable...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:06:01 AM

Terminator Salvation had a pretty sick trailer, too bad the film didn't live up to the hype!
Lowryder writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:10:45 AM

what about toy story 3, or IRON MAN 2?!?!?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:14:44 AM

Mega Shark strikes again!!!!
BrundleFly writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:17:00 AM

Wow, Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus beat Avatar. Awesome.
lost_addict writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 3:28:07 AM

star trek was the best trailer this year and one of the best ever...too bad the movie was not as good...
wonderBOY writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 3:53:20 AM

@ lost_addict
star trek was like one of the best movies this year and greatest remake of all time
vaodsi writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 4:31:21 AM

toy story 3 and iron man two just came out with trailers.. they haven't had enough time
BondMcClane007 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 5:54:50 AM

yea.. I loved every aspect of the star trek trailers.. i even have the music from it on my ipod...
MattC903 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 6:21:47 AM

wow this list is f*ckin garbage.
MattC903 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 6:22:38 AM

WHERE THE f*ck IS IRON MAN 2!?!
Sonic writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 6:57:43 AM

STAR TREK.
Sonic writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 6:58:46 AM

Was Awesome!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 7:12:42 AM

Im sure someone else pointed out but Ironman 2 and even Avatar have not had all year to get their trailers viewed like the films on the list.

I loved how the extended Terminator Salvation trailer pretty much was the film in 10mins. And even though I did not like Star Trek too much, I cant help but admire how well it was done and it set a benchmark as to how to reboot a franchise.
Bigcheese writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 8:04:49 AM

If Clash of The Titans trailer came out earlier, i reckon it would be in the top 3
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:51:06 AM

Too bad the Karate Kid-trailer was released so late
Joker1282 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:07:04 AM

im actually looking forward on waching 2012 eventhou some said is garbage!ON DVD lol
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:49:12 AM

You all realize that the only reason why Twilight was number one was because Dandy view it over a billion times, right?

And that boys and girls is my last Dandy joke of the year.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 11:02:31 AM

2012 wasn't garbage Joker. It was big-budgeted utter destruction of everything and everyone on Earth. How can that not be at least worth one veiwing?
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 12:18:26 PM

I really enjoyed Star Trek, the trailers were awesome and I think the movie was great. I love Star Trek, always have, I like the fact that instead of trying to do a remake they kinda restarted the series.
ian_918 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 12:26:24 PM

Where the hell is Clash Of The Titans?? That trailer was f*ckING AMAZING. If you haven't seen it yet watch that sh*t.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 1:40:02 PM

The deal with Iron Man 2 and Clash of the Titans was they have only been released this past what month, so there has not been enough time for them to make this list. Unfortunately the twilight garbage had a trailer out forever, which made dandy happy by watch it a thousand times, and wishing edward would put it in his bum.

And that folks probably won't be my last dandy joke for the year.
takai writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:06:17 PM

People are freaking stupid. It's Yahoo!'s list of trailers that have been watched the most this year, not the best.

"OMGZ!!!! WEAR IS IRN M4N 2 AND AVETUR?!!?!?!!"

Wow. Way to read the damn article you're commenting on.
The_Joker writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:26:28 PM

this list sucks so much balls,but not as much as dandy and his dad in a gay porno....fckin son-of-a-bitch

That might as well be the last joke about dandy this year....unless they come up with an article about how gay dandy is...oops...that was my last joke;P
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:39:46 PM

Has anyone seen 'Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus' for sale (yet) on DVD?! I can't seem to find it anywhere that I've looked thus far.

Oh... and Happy Holidays to most on here. To the dregs... french my goods!
BigUnit writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 4:45:53 PM

AVATARS the best.
leezy84 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 5:47:07 PM

lol Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus was on sale in hmv over here in the uk lol 7 99 are something, total garbage but i had to pick it up and read the back lol
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 5:52:27 PM

@leezy - thx. (HMV lead). Clearly it's total garbage... but the best thing about that movie is they have never tried to pass it off as anything serious (or good). Garbage or not... I'm going to snag a copy of that for my collection!
telur writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:04:14 AM

data is not valid, is trailer which movie release in 2009? Or the trailer itself out at 2009, because there are 2010 movies too
Peter Parker writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:31:08 AM

The producers of "Brickhouse Butts - The Movie" will be very sad for not making this list.
The trailer for that little work of art was very... exciting!

The countless repeated clicks "New Moon" got from pre-teen girls shouldn't have the same weight as individual clicks other movies had when it comes to measuring the popularity of a trailer.
This list is total bullsh*t and reveals practically nothing. The guys from Yahoo! should know better.

"Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus" being on the list isn't too surprising, actually. It's a similar phenomenon to people slowing down to watch a car crash. Disasters have a way of fascinating people. And "Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus" was one heck of a disaster!
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 11:12:50 AM

The only one of thes movie's i liked was. G.I. Joe. This was a bad year for movie's :/

Let's hope 2010 is better.
UZZIEMAN writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 12:55:48 AM

WHAT THE HECK!!!!!! WAT ABOUT DISTRICT 9!!!!
ironhide-autobot writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:29:53 PM

wat about district 9
Dekead writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 3:18:34 PM

Wooo! I'm from the future!! Twilight still sucks a big one!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved