WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" Assembles Oscar-Winning Crew

Posted: December 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" Assembles Oscar-Winning CrewSubmit Comment
While we're still waiting to find out who will star in the upcoming "Green Lantern" movie, outside of Ryan Reynolds, it seems that director Martin Campbell has been quietly putting together an amazing crew to bring the character to the big screen.

The cinematographer Campbell has brought on is Dian Beebe, who previously won an Oscar for his work on "Memoirs of a Geisha" and was nominated for "Chicago." Joining the team is also production designer Grant Major and costume designer Ngila Dickson, both of whom won Oscars for their work on Peter Jackson's "Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

Finally, art director Francois Audouy is also on board and his resume is no less impressive, having previously provided concept art for "Avatar" and "I Am Legend," and worked as art director for "Watchmen" and the first "Transformers" installment.

Casting news will likely start coming out soon, but in the meanwhile, at least we know that Campbell is getting some amazing talent to make this film happen.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: SuperheroHype


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LeeMaca writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:59:36 PM

This movie will rock
LeeMaca writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:00:00 PM

oh yeah #1
TeemSelami writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:11:03 PM

nice let's just hope green lantern 3 doesn't suck a d*ck
MattC903 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:11:47 PM

best news of my day!!! and thats sayin something...
AshTrey writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:23:43 PM

AT LEAST THEIR TRYING
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:41:15 PM

Well thats cool, too bad the script sucks more d*ck than Dandy.

You can't polish a turd and call it a diamond.
nope.com writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:42:10 PM

impressive crew... now it only leads itself to be great or a bust
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:03:12 PM

Poor dandy, some people says he is the bicht of Sam W. : 0
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:15:20 PM

@spooky

how do you know the script sucks...throw some details my way...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:38:48 PM

Hmm interesting, not a huge Green Lantern fan but he certainly has put together the talent.
NatG83 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 5:53:04 PM

Green Lantern origin:

Ryan Reynolds (as Hal Jordan) makes a clever quip that some find charming, others find to be cliche.

Hal Jordan finds a ring at Kay Jewelers, a domino mask in a discontinued bin at a Halloween store, and a nippled Batman suit on Dandy's E-bay listing. He paints all green and sees a Lantern burning.

A love interest is needlessly cast, and Hal has to balance his new identity with said interest. Somewhere, a guy becomes an super-powered villain.

I like Reynolds, and I like the superhero genre, but I have this odd feeling this movie isn't going to be ground breaking. But that could be premature.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:09:18 PM

I hate to say this, but this is one superhero movie I would love to see in 3D. Considering the limitless abilities they can explore with the ring and the lantern, the 3D could add great depth and scale to its effects. There really is a great story behind GL already, why not go all the way with it.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 9:17:50 PM

If they cast Jackie Earle Haley as Sinestro i think i'll piss my pants.
telur writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 12:07:27 AM

so this news mean Green Lantern will win an Oscar?
WV-Films writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 12:53:23 AM

Dion Beebe also worked on Miami Vice, which looked pretty amazing.
VDODSON writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:39:59 AM

In the famous words of RDJ, ''f*ck DC comics''. How about getting your heads out your ass's and focusing on the greatest super hero you have on your roster, f*cking Superman.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 8:38:41 AM

@ VODSON: So f*ck Batman too? Who's got their head up their ass? GL is one of the longest running comics in the industry (started in 1940). My dad was a big fan of the comic when he was a kid and got me into it very early in life. I, like many others, have always thought there was something cool about a normal guy who was given the most powerful weapon in the universe. It gives him the power to create anything with his mind and "willpower", and as long as he has the heart and the guts to fight he is unbeatable!

There are other unique advantages to the GL comics. The character has changed a few times over the years. Hal Jordan actually isn't the first GL and definitely is not the last. If Reynolds gets tired of playing the part or wants too much money after its huge success, you can easily replace him with John Stewart (black GL from Justice League) or Kyle Rayner (current GL). As the story progresses, rings change hands or are assigned to new Guardians of the Universe, so we're not a slave to one character or one actor playing the part. Someone like Will Smith could easily step in to the role in the sequel and it wouldn't miss a beat.

Don't forget that this is the charcter who creates the Justice League. They are responsible for protecting the Earth while GL is responsible for the section of the universe the Earth resides in. There's been many comics where GL has left Earth to fight along side other lantern guardians on other planets, so the possibilites are endless.

For the Superman fans (myself included) we can still get our wish if they ever follow through with the JL film they've been promising for a long time. The GL will be a major part of the film though since he's basically the leader of the League. Supes is a good character but we've all been there and done that already. Now its time for some new blood from an old favorite to usher in a new era of superhero movie.
VDODSON writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:28:45 AM

Never was a fan of the batman comics, but the last two movies were excellent. The only DC comic I was a fan of was Superman, and is the only one Im looking foward to seeing on the big screen. Nolan created a masterpiece, there is no way he'll be able to top the Dark Knight, and this is coming from someone that is not a fan of the source material.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:41:42 AM

Forget Superman. He already has his own tv show. Green Lantern is the next huge comic project. It's going to be a mighty sleeper hit, the way Iron Man was.
I would love to see this in 3D. It would make so much sense. They are really missing a big opportunity passing on the 3D.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:38:25 AM

go martin go
get it done already
I am getting impatient.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:18:48 PM

@LeeMaca: "oh yeah #1"

Seriously WTF? Grow up nobody gives a sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 2:33:13 PM

@LeeMaca - 'oh yeah #1' --- save that sh*t for Perez's page you loser, f*ck.
BigUnit writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 4:54:12 PM

i never really liked the green lantern but with ryan reynolds it could be alright, it at least will be visually stunning with this all star crew lol
ZeusReit writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 7:37:08 PM

I still think that DC dropped the ball with this one. Ryan Reynolds would make a much better Flash rather than Green Lantern. I just don't get why DC isn't going that route.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:50:06 PM

You're not alone. No one can figure DC out.
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 12:27:42 AM

Neil Patrick Harris is perfect for the Flash. But how do you make an entertaining movie about a guy who runs fast? They can't even make his comic book sell.
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 1:35:53 AM

@rabid - if they put most/all of the best stuff into a movie (maybe 2 tops... well, then there would be the JLA... anywho....), The Flash had a LOT of interesting abilities.

Be 2 places (min.) at the same time.

Vibrate through solid objects.

Run of a beam of light (Police spotlights), on the accelerated particles in the beam...

etc. etc. They could draw you in (as these movies do), and make it... 'believable' IF done right. He's been around for decades... so there's a reason for it.
VDODSON writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 2:20:24 AM

Neil Patrick Harris is gay, hence he cannot play The Flash.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved