WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Sequel to Leave Pandora?

Posted: December 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Sequel to Leave Pandora?Submit Comment
James Cameron has been talking about making an "Avatar" sequel way before the first film hit theaters. Now that "Avatar" has become a great success, there is no doubt that 20th Century Fox would want to proceed with a second installment.

But since "Avatar" did not leave a door open for a follow-up, one has to wonder how Cameron could continue the story. Up until this point, he has declined to comment on the topic, but recently told LA Times that the sequel might leave the planet of Pandora.

Since Pandora is a moon and in the movie you can clearly see other moons, LA Times asked if the follow-up will focus on the other moons and maybe the planet that they're orbiting.

Cameron explained: "The planet in Pandora's sky is called Polyphemus and its a primary for a system of moons just like in our solar system. We have some story ideas about how to branch out into other moons of Polyphemus and the Alpha Centauri A (ACA) solar system."

Obviously this raises lots of questions. Will the humans travel to the other moons? Or will it somehow be Jake and his new alien pals?

Source: LA Times

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:45:37 AM

the sequel is call AVATAR: LEGEND of AANG July 2010

first post, oh yeah baby

nope.com writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:49:56 AM

Avatar 2: Wewriteanysh*tbutmakegreateffectssoyou'llforkoverthe

... that's a sequel
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:07:04 AM

sounds gay 8==3
kmccarney88 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:37:03 AM

Hell yes! Even though there were a few minor things in Avatar that I thought were weak, I still loved the hell out it! Seeing it in 3D was one of the best and most memorable movie experiences I've had this decade and I can't wait for a sequel.

I also find it funny that all you haters and whiners have shut the hell up now that Avatar is putting out record breaking numbers!

@Yourfriendwiththebigd*ck - "sounds gay"

You're one to talk, just look at your name and picture! What a fag!
By the way, the people who try to brag about their d*cks are always the ones with the tiny ones. Sucks to be you.

Snarebeast writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:48:26 AM

They're going to leave Pandora to go battle for their second greatest resource: Macguffinonium
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:07:41 AM

leave the jokes to funny people snarebeast
MattC903 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:42:26 AM

UNFORTUNATELY avatar will have a sequel.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:43:33 AM

nah i say let Avatar go. Just came back from seeing it, pretty impressed! Seeing it in 3d was pretty cool,managed to convince my dad to come with me, he hates CGI, but admitted it worked well with the film!
LeeMaca writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:31:07 AM

Snarebeast writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:56:03 AM

Well someone's a grumpy Avatard today.
lost_addict writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:04:10 AM

f*ck avatar
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:23:04 AM

If Cameron follows the same formula with the sequel, it's sure to be a bomb. Yeah, I thought that about 'Avatar' itself, but by the time he cranks out the sequel, other movies utilizing the tech will be coming out. And with the visuals not so 'ground breaking', the potentially sh*tty story won't be able to carry it far enough.

Then again, people talk sh*t about Transformers 2, and it made almost 900mil. So who knows. More and more people are becoming escapists, which is what happened the LAST recession. It makes sense.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:49:38 AM

They can crank out an Avatar sequel in 3 years and in three years time the tech will just be getting to mainstream. Just because the tools are there doesn't mean people are suddenly talented either. It still takes enormous skill to make that CGI, it was WETA and ILM working on this film, the two best computer imagery effects companies in film history so recreating Avatar quality is no small feat.

Plus the story isn't sh*t the industry has just been saturated with it. Big difference. There's nothing wrong with the story, or how its told, its just been done to death. Major difference from what you're preaching. Bad dialog I'm with you. Cameron doesn't have anymore dusty Avatar scripts lying around in drawers to take out and make, so he's got to craft something brand spanking new.
vaodsi writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 5:36:56 AM

We've only seen one corner of pandora..... i'm cool with staying on that moon
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 7:41:12 AM

@Dark Knight - Jackass 3D is using the same tech, and it comes out next year. Yes, I know it won't be near the animation quality, but still, the tech is being used already.

"There's nothing wrong with the story, or how its told, its just been done to death."

I think that's a big thing that's wrong with it. Yeah, he wrote it back when it wasn't used up, but he could have tweaked it in the 15 years of build up.

Anyways, I said that he'd be in trouble IF he stayed with the same formula, and that in doing that, the story could POTENTIALLY be sh*tty. I'm not preaching that it for sure will.

I've learned my lesson about using absolutes. hahaha

Personally, I think the hype should be even BIGGER for Avatar's sequel, because like you said, Cameron's going to have to bring something brand new.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:10:19 AM

I can't wait for this sh*t, nooooot
tcu21 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 9:25:10 AM

I wish people would shut up about the damn plot. Who the f*ck cares? The movie still kicked ass, get the f*ck over it.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 9:30:19 AM


You are right man if you like crap keep eating your sh*t, no one care if you die of diarrhoea!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 9:35:48 AM


I can promise you that the type of 3-D used for Avatar and Jackass 3-D are NOT the same...
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 10:04:53 AM

Hey, I'm just quoting what the dude said. If it turns out different, that's fine, but everywhere is listing it as the same tech.

Also, I really don't care about the plot that much.I recommend plenty of Asian action films, that have terrible plots, but glorious action scenes and choreography. It's the same situation.

Sure, I give a lot of crap, but it's to bring out the hypocrite in most of you. Transformers has great CG mixed seamlessly into the live action, but so many people on here give it sh*t because the acting is terrible or the plot is dumb. Well from now on, you can eat a d*ck, because all you do now is explain away/justify 'Avatar's' plot and dialog to save how amazing it looks. (for the record, I'm not saying Transformers is better than Avatar. hahaha. no way.)

On a more positive note, I am truly thankful to Avatar, because it's brought escapism back in full force. People want to go to the movies to GO TO THE MOVIE. That's the way it should be.
warlord writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 10:23:57 AM

if avatar is a hit why is everybody posting hate comments...I KNOW CUZ IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:08:55 AM

most people are hating on avatar because they already have there mind set on that it sucked, even before they seen it(hell some people prolly didnt see it, in that case, sucks for you. for example, im a new york giants fan and even if lets say the cowboys win the superbowl i will still say they suck...back on topic, but i myself thought it wasnt going to be good, but boy was i wrong! i loved this movie...
rabid writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:21:11 AM

I'm sure that won't be the last you see of those pesky earthlings. They'll be back, with bigger bombs and bigger bulldozers.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:26:37 AM

hahahahhahahahahhaha someone has a pictur of Edward Cullen hahahahha!!! LMAO!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:53:02 AM

Sure, most plots have been made over and over again. And more than often will we not complain, cause it's easy escapism. But Avatar was supposed to be more than that.

And, as Takai says, it's quite the hypocrisy to defend Avatar's plot and then slander Transformers.

And we do need to care about plots, if we don't want to see every movie coming out be like Transformers and Twiligt, were plot is secondary to looks. Big budget flicks can have plots too, we've been proven that several times, plots it's not just for smaller films.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:00:16 PM


I enjoyed your comment and the best thing about it is that it isn't negative.

I think a good example of that kind of movie would be Minority Report.

Greetings brother.

billofill writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:14:03 PM

Did the moron who wrote this article think there was no where to go after the first STar Wars? I mean the Rebels blew up the Death Star so obviously the story has no where to go......
Stuntastic writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:19:00 PM

I'll admit that I was talking sh*t about Avatar b4 it came out, but after seeing it, I must say it completely blew me away. I took my wife and I was really surpised to c that she enjoyed more than me. It was visually stunning. I watched it in 3D and I hadn't watched any recent 3D films that came out. I almost found myself swatting at the screen. Plus the idea of having everything in the forest be connected in some kind of way to the people was pretty creative I thought. To be able to essentially plug into any animal in the forest and b one with it shows how technology fuses with nature. This is definitely a must c film and you have to c it in 3D to really experience it.
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:36:12 PM

@ Nightmare - Yeah, it's interesting how people completely ignore the fact that 'Avatar' was going to "Change movies FOREVER!!!!" Well, that sure as hell didn't happen. Maybe it changed Sci Fi forever, but that's about it. (maybe even horror movies)

Was 'Avatar' so mind blowing, that studios are going to include the animation in realistic Detective Thrillers? No, because if they start putting blue people into random movies, I'll stick with anime. [Legit] anime can pull off anything, and still be taken as serious as a live action movie or series, and most [legit] anime writers are about 100x more brilliant than Hollywood garbage.

Anyways, we can only sit and wait to see if Cameron drops the ball on the sequel. Hell, I hope he does Battle Angel first, but with 'Avatar's' success, he'll probably do Avatar 2: Revenge of Pandora, first.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:07:43 PM

The 3D isn't the mind blowing part about Avatar its the motion capture technology, that was what was so expensive. The 3D is really just 3D, so Jackass can go and use it along with the 93 billion other films using 3D next year.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:11:57 PM

@Victor Arroyo: Thank you mate. Tried to be as neutral as possible, I'm a swede after all. Minority Report is a perfect example. And if we just take a look on this year, we have Watchmen, Inglorious Basterds and District 9.

@Takai: I wouldn't even go so far and say it changed sci-fi. It did, however, make a nice contribute to large-scale sci-fi, which is good.

I would prefer if Pandora be left alone, that would really make this film unique (obviously). Cameron can show us some more awesome scenery, but it'll be pretty much the same movie again and then, not even the most hardcore-fans, will be able to defend the unoriginality of the plot.

I say, move on James. Do another box-office juggernaut that will totally eye-f*ck us with some shiny effects. But don't go Bay on us, you too good for that.
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:26:53 PM

Well said, sir.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:28:07 PM

don't you think Transformers had better effects?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:53:11 PM

"I wish people would shut up about the damn plot. Who the f*ck cares? The movie still kicked ass, get the f*ck over it."

Grave_Consequence writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:26:05 PM

It will greatly sadden me if James Cameron adds another "Avatar" movie. It removes the uniqueness of Avatar and delineates the Avatar universe if another 'avatar' universe is to exist where the film incorporates another shuffle of ad-hoc characters with a stint of one well-known actor/ress (a.k.a S.Weaver). By having another 'avatar' film on another planet negates the actual Avatar movie by removing it from popularity because in the future that Avatar takes place in the 22nd century has allowed Humanity to colonialize other distant planets. For an avatar sequel to frutate diminishes the first Avatar planet and the population involved prior. I say no to an Avatar sequel.
KindredMac writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:28:03 PM

I think a set of sequels should revolve around the humans coming back in a greater force and Jake and the Na'vi having to use a blend of tech and biology to keep the home front safe. Imagine them using their hair tails to connect to hybrid computer systems or helicopters to fly by mind control. Plus a nice story line would be Jake losing his new legs and getting them replaced by cybernetic parts... hence a true blend of bio and tech.
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:30:03 PM

Well if Avatar 2 is to Avatar as T2 is to Terminator, then count me in. Plus it makes sense business-wise to make another movie to recoup more dough on the original investment in the technology used in the first. Not to mention they will want to ride on the wave of success as we so often see in Hollywood such as with Transformers 2 and InsertAnySequelToSucessfulMovieHere.

Personally, I'd rather see what he does with Battle Angel Alita. Not too familiar with the work, but the premise looks promising, and I always thought that Japanese anime would make for better movies than lame videogames or even Western (as in, non-Japanese) comic books now that most of the major characters have been done. Let's see an Akira movie. Or Ghost in the Shell. Or take your pick of any number of anime concepts out there. They provide richer, more credible, and more creative stories than you could get out of something like Transformers. I mean, to be honest, I'm surprised that Bay got that premise to actually work to any degree whatsoever. Transforming alien cars? Not familiar with the original cartoon, but the premise just sounds too silly for me no matter how you slice it and dice it. I was hoping that the success of the Matrix or even something like Kill Bill (the first one's basically a live-action anime) would lead to more anime-inspired movies.

Of course, they have to be done right. Take a look at the Dragonball movie for an example of how to do it godawfully. Ridley Scott has it in him to do a good one. I don't know if Blade Runner influenced anime, or if anime influenced Blade Runner, but it definitely has the look and feel. Nolan could pull one off, and Inception definitely looks like it could be something out of a Japanese cartoon. And thank God, Cameron is finally interested in doing something, though I don't know where the talks of the Avatar sequel will place the Battle Angel project in terms of priorities. Point is, let's see more. I'm not so interested in licensing per se, but rather that we see more that are at least influenced by the look and feel, as in the case with The Matrix.
takai writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 12:39:49 AM

Hollywood needs to leave anime alone. They don't have the comprehension of the art to make a decent live action version. Even the Japanese don't touch anime. It's on the same level of seriousness as live action films, but Hollywood and most Americans can't grasp that. Anyone who thinks anime can't be taken seriously, watch 'Grave of the Fireflies'.

As far as I know, Cameron's not making Battle Angel loyal to the manga, that's why I'm kind of for it. Plus, the new tech will be able to pull off visuals you just can't do with live action.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:07:24 AM

The Japanese have a bizarre way of telling a story. Their plot devices are completely different and don't translate to film all that well. Sure there have been great Japanese directors between Kurosawa and Takashi Miike, but even they were aping western cinema techniques.
The Battle Angel comics were very bland, very basic plotlines. There is so much that any director can do with that concept, especially if he's not afraid to stray from the comic script. With most audiences being so unfamiliar with Battle Angel Alita, Cameron is in a fantastic position to use it as he wants to. I hope it uses all the same tech from Avatar. That was the movie of the year for me, so anything the man does from here out is just golden. I have complete trust he can make that obscure boring manga the next giant cinema monster.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:57:37 AM

telur: Please stop that "first" crap. You get no prizes for being the first poster on a board. There are plenty of other websites that have that kind of crap.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 1:31:40 PM

f*ck f*ckity f*cking f*ck.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 1:51:40 PM

Pandorum is actually the planets name
SammyCarlson writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:58:24 PM

Wow ^ JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe, you think your all smart and know all about Alpha Centauri AB, but you are terribly misinformed. We have predicted the existence of terrestrial planets around both Alpha Centauri A and B, and we do not know for sure if there even are planets there and let alone moons orbiting the 'planets'. Though we know that the possibility of gas giants is the greatest. Other models also suggested that formation of gas giant planets similar to Jupiter and Saturn remain unlikely because of the significant gravitational and angular momentum effects of this binary system. So even if there is 'planets' in this system we would have no idea if they had moons. Pandora is a fictional moon orbiting a fictional planet therefore your comment that the real name is Pandorum is irrelevant because it doesn't f*cking exist! Also you called it a planet and if you knew sh*t you would understand that it is a fictional moon. So next time you want to lie to someone on the internet think again before trying to sound cool.
Adamtheflash writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 11:21:47 PM

Just saw this movie.....it's basically a live action PG-13 Fern Gully
Grave_Consequence writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 1:53:36 AM

Yes, in 3-4 years an Avatar 2 will be coming out for sure if you're relating it to a T1-T2 box office sequential hit. Just because Avatar pushed filming on all fronts for the 21st Century, you can damn be sure that there will now be a Starcraft and Warcraft movie coming very fricken soon...
Grave_Consequence writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:05:44 AM

-- another thing that bother's me that Avatar 2 might have, is the political message it wants to send. most of my naive friends hate A1 for it's apparent lobbying message it is sending "stop fighting, start growing, save Earth.". What message will A2 send if it's on planet Druidia? (from Spaceballs)
Grave_Consequence writes:
on December 31st, 2009 at 2:30:33 AM

-- Wait a minute! if the film takes place in 2154, then bygod the human race would have perfected cloaking devices and complete automatization of warfare where complete majority of robots control all warfare. This film and the next one (A2) will be one-hundred years behind mimicking early-21st-century theories on a 22nd-century platform.
ck4short writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 9:49:27 PM

check it out....
okay technically, is jake sully into beastiality?
ck4short writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 9:52:14 PM

also, i may be wrong hear but Grave_Consequence. you may be reading too much into this'
ck4short writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 10:00:03 PM

and check it. clearly the human race being pushed to the brink of exstinction by homocidal robots.... the TERMINATORS!!! we thought, pump the breaks. lets not make robots again to do the fightin' but put gun nut rednecks into machines instead yey! so the tech wouldnt be as advanced as 21st century thoeries on 22nd technology. ORRRRrrrrr.....

Its just a f*cking movie M8!!!
ck4short writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 10:13:27 PM

and sorry im being so harsh Grave_Consequence its just you believe there shouldnt be an avatar 2 and i get what your saying.. but good films should be milked the sh*t out of, its just what i beleive.... or whatever

lastly hands up who thought the blue chick was hot?
bugmenot writes:
on January 3rd, 2010 at 2:01:50 AM

The author is mistaken, it's clearly written for a follow-up. The mineral is still there in the ground. The humans are still alive, and so are the aliens.
Grave_Consequence writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 3:00:33 PM

I heard on another website that Avatar II from one of the Producers said that since Avatar (1) was on the surface of Pandora that Avatar II would be 'inside' the crust of Pandora.
shine2rust writes:
on January 5th, 2010 at 5:40:14 PM

"Avatar II would be 'inside' the crust of Pandora."

Wow... so after Pocahontas in Space we might get Journey to the Centre of Pandora?
Grave_Consequence writes:
on January 8th, 2010 at 10:06:48 PM

I heard Avatar III will be on Earth. Na'vi stole a ship and brought the gates of hell creating doom II with The Rock staring again... `-`... don't be an off topic person. see how you created a spam line?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved