WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Tops Biggest Weekend of All Time

Posted: December 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Tops Biggest Weekend of All TimeSubmit Comment
After a battle between "Avatar" and "Sherlock Holmes" during the Christmas weekend, "Avatar" ended up coming on top by grossing an estimated $75 million in its second week, bringing its total domestic take to $212 million and a worldwide total to a whopping $617 million.

But Warner Bros wasn't too upset with the fact that "Sherlock" came in second, since the film still grossed $65 million to score the biggest Christmas weekend opening of all time. Previous record-holder was "Meet the Fockers" with $46 million.

20th Century Fox's "Avatar" wasn't the only film that performed well at the box office. The studio's "Alvin and the Chipmunks" sequel ended up taking an estimated $50 million for the weekend, and a total of $77 million million over its five days of release ("Alvin" opened on Wednesday).

The three films led the biggest weekend of all time at the domestic box office, with ticket sales estimated at $285 million. Previous biggest weekend was in July 2008 when "The Dark Knight" hit theaters causing the total ticked sales to skyrocket to $260 million.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
swoooop writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 2:54:17 PM

Who arrown here claimed that avatar wouldt make back its money? Im just saying.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 2:54:30 PM

heck yeah... sadly i wasnt a part of sherlock holmes first weekend... but i will be next weekend! and im glad to hear Avatar is doing well.
MattC903 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 3:03:35 PM

YES!!! so glad to hear this!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 3:16:07 PM

how come 'the imaginarium of dr. parnassus' is available in only limited release???...they never said anything about that, just that it would be released on christmas day...and then they back stab the majority of the audience who would pay big money to watch heath's last film...so does that mean we have to wait even longer and just entirely miss out on watching it on the big screen?
takai writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 3:31:13 PM

Hahahaha. Misleading title WP. Very misleading.

And @swoooop - I was one of those people. I was really hoping for a bomb, because of how d*ck-ish Cameron was being.

To be honest though, that worldwide number is amazing.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 3:52:58 PM

Actually didn't think Avatar would have those legs...
Lowryder writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 4:12:14 PM

i gotta say, i didnt expect the alvin sequel to do so good, well get ready for alvin and the chipmunks: the threequel
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 4:33:17 PM

Damn! Avatar at $617 mil in two weekends? So much for a bomb...
pomme writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:20:08 PM

i never thought the movie on Pocahontas in blue could made some money!?
manichispanic writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:21:34 PM

they still have a ways to go!
Goober3000 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:24:19 PM

just saw avatar today. good movie beautiful world cameron created very creative
swoooop writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:48:40 PM

Money or not, Cameron is an ass. A rich motherf*cking ass.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:59:21 PM

Not surprised at all, maybe all the moaners will just shut the f*ck up and go see it now
tcu21 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 6:08:20 PM

Blockbuster's typically experience a 30-50% drop in their 2nd weekend. Avatar: 3% drop. This movie was amazing and deserves what it earns and then some. I think next weekend will be the real indicator if it can take on Titanic.
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 6:08:25 PM

3rd best movie ive ever seen, loved this so much...wish i was in pandora!
Blank x2 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 7:08:42 PM

Wonder how much Avatar will bring in by the time it's done?
thedotsays writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 7:14:49 PM

Avatar will make money. Just for the simple fact that people want to see for themselves what the hype is all about. The other part of it will be from folks just wanting to be a part of this so-called phenomenom. Funny though how it took Avatar, SH, and Alvin to break a weekend record that TDK did damn near on its own.
carl4prez writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 7:48:32 PM

James Cameron has gotta be going "Ha ha!" right now. I see a billion overall gross in AVATAR's future.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 8:29:19 PM

People are actually seeing this due to GOOD word of mouth, nothing to do with the hype in my opinion, dunno about america and the rest of the world but here in england it doesnt seem to have been pushed much at all
vaodsi writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 8:30:14 PM

... called it. Avatar has legs and is running.
i'll be seeing sherlock next week but i think it will drop a lot in the next couple of weeks.
avatar should stay strong for a while
DeathMaster writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 9:12:35 PM

Previous biggest weekend was in July 2008 when "The Dark Knight" hit theaters causing the total ticked sales to skyrocket to $260 million.

ticked?
buttabean writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 9:18:07 PM

I went to try seeing avatar this weekend and it was sold out...
Nekros22 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 9:38:21 PM

Didn't like the movie. FX were amazing (people in the 3d theatre were reaching out trying to touch the flying lizards) and the battle sequences were really neat. The story was a hodgepodge of the Matrix and Dances with Wolves. Disappointing, but Cameron's got the paycheck, not me.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 10:14:02 PM

I just want it to make more money than that Twilight sh*t.
borat writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 10:28:41 PM

I still don't get why wp gave Sherlock holmes such a bad review
lost_addict writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 10:35:49 PM

the porn version of 'avatar' should be interesting :-)
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 11:37:03 PM

Yeah I saw this coming. Some legs on this movie alright.
telur writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 11:52:15 PM

one word for Avatar's Box Office..... "WOW"
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:05:41 AM

I don't give a rats behind how much Avatar made. I saw it on Christmas day and that was a loooooong as movie. And the plot wasn't much to scream about. I might rent it again when Redbox has it but I damn sure am not going spend another $11.50 to see this movie in theaters.

I enjoyed Sherlock Holmes so much more.
LeeMaca writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:24:24 AM

HATED It SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much
rabid writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:55:00 AM

I tried my best to see Avatar again yesterday. But they were sold out at two theatres for all the daytime shows. Guess I'll try again next day off.
Shogo1307 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 1:58:46 AM

I just saw Avatar tonight and by every means this film is amazing! I will see it again and maybe a 3rd time, the messages within the film touch to the core! Me being of Native American Decent i fell absolutely in love with this story! Straight down to the burning horse scene which was a actual vision by a Native American war chief in signaling the coming of the white man. I ask everyone open your minds and hearts and you will see what this movie is really about
masKritic writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:48:06 AM

haha i love how some of you people on here said that Avatar will drop 50% this past weekednd and it only dropped a little more than 3%. Someone needs to work on predictions...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 4:44:23 AM

Gosh I love being right.
OLK writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 5:05:27 AM

i would have thought the obvious sequel would have the military guys come back as avatars, but maybe of a more advanced race or something.

so it would be tribe vs tribe.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 7:49:34 AM

@DK: me too, although you didn't have to be a genius to call that one. Its still has a ways to go to make that Titanic money, but I wouldn't doubt if it comes close. The expensive ticket prices may be the only thing getting in its way of making history. Although with a strong female audience, money might not get in the way of repeat visits to Avatar. Cameron's a perverted genius! He's got one hand shoved down your girlfriend's pants and the other shoved in your wallet, and he ain't lettin go until he hits the $1billion mark.
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 7:58:30 AM

For the record, as of yesterday, Avatar's dropped 20% domestically. The International box office saved Cameron's ass BIG time.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:01:28 AM

BTW, if Mink's out there, I finally saw Felon and Killshot over the Xmas holiday. While Killshot didn't really live up to the hype, I cant say the same for Felon. That was an amazing film!!! It's easily one of the best prison films I've ever seen and Stephen Dorf and Harold Perrineau (Michael from LOST) should have been up for Oscars for their eerily realistic performances. I was completely impressed :)
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 10:05:11 AM

Agree with the porn movie that will be interesting, could be like a doc*mentary like the ones of the discovery channel
Stuntastic writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:25:24 PM

I just want to know who is Sam Worthington's agent? This dude seems to be in every major motion picture coming out with Clash of the Titans coming out next year too
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:14:13 PM

If I lived on pandora I would commit suicide, you think since cameron and fox made so much money they'll give me my $12 and the time I wasted watching that movie back?
AYT BALL writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:37:45 PM

@SACdaddy If you like a good prison movie get hold of UN PROFIT, french movie but awesome!!! its up for download in all the usual places, well worth watching.
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 5:57:37 PM

@AYT BALL

Yeah A Prophet is awesome. I've been trying to hype that up and get word out on that movie in various movie forums for a while now. Glad to see someone share the love. My favorite movie of the year is between that and Hurt Locker. Still undecided.

@SACdaddy and Darknight
Yeah I remember you two being two of the people that agreed with me in that Avatar was going to have legs and make big $$$. Not a Nostradamus moment or anything, but there were plenty of people predicting the typical 40-50% drop offs. To that I say, in your faces bitches. Haha. Just messing.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 7:47:15 PM

@AYT: thx for the suggestion. Will look it up soon.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:13:14 AM

Message from Cameron "Avatar haters can go f*ck themselves, I am king of the world,WOOOOHOOO".

Its Cameron baby.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 4:10:28 PM

Guess we can stop doubting Cameron a little bit now. King Of The World? Um, no. But no matter what the man makes profitable movies. And for the most part classic ones. And I bet he's extremely relieved by the box office since his career likely would have been over if the film hadn't done as well as it has.
leezy84 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 5:37:14 PM

Guess spookycupcakes is no where to be seen ... saying it wouldnt make sh*t lol....i went to see this film last night on imax 3d and it was f*cking amazing, the story was ok not amazing but my god the visuals cgi everything it was my 1st 3d film and i enjoyed every single minute of the 3 hours are somthing it was on (ps i could of used jake sulleys wheelchair when i left the cinema)
Eben1277 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 6:01:30 PM

Avatar got legs like stacey kiebler... like tina turner... like ZZ Top... like a sack full of spiders... ok I'll stop now
TemporalFlux writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 8:14:12 PM

All this 3D sh*t on every sh*tty move HAS become tiresome,

BUT here is a movie that it actually makes sense in.

I can only imagine that those poor people that saw Avatar in 2D, never got the sheer excitment of being on Pandora. Hell it started even before that, when they were coming out of statsis on that big long ship, I thought I was looking through a window, not at a screen.

I have to say, I never doubted Cameron, not for a minute. If you saw it in 2D, your opinion doesn't count. See it in 3D, then you can start moaning.
barley_cat writes:
on December 30th, 2009 at 10:14:34 AM

Still need to see this movie!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved