WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" Tops Most Downloaded Films of 2009 List

Posted: December 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" Tops Most Downloaded Films of 2009 ListSubmit Comment
Back in October, Paramount COO Frederick Huntsberry delivered a presentation about how "Star Trek" had become a hot commodity in piracy circles, adding that illegal file-sharing has become more wide-spread and was not for "geeks" any more.

Now, according to TorrentFreak, Huntsberry was absolutely correct, since "Star Trek" took top spot as the most downloaded film of 2009 with 11 million downloads, just beating the studio's other film, "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen."

Check out the list of top ten downloaded films below, which shows that "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" barely made it, even though 20th Century Fox made a huge deal when the movie leaked online early. The other interesting thing is that "RocknRolla" was the third most downloaded, a film that's hardly a blockbuster.

Top ten list:


Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:21:27 PM

I really enjoyed Rocknrolla. I know the plot is similar to Snatch and Lock Stock but I like the idea of seeing it turned into a trilogy. Hopefully Ritchie has already seen these numbers and might re-consider a sequel.
MattC903 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:27:40 PM

im a statistic.
dhkenobi writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:40:43 PM

And yet, look at the box office...why the hell are they complaining? I think downloading is actually HELPING the studios for the most part. How often do we hear of films in recent years "breaking records?" A lot.
ian_918 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:48:11 PM

Hehehe...
takai writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 12:32:57 AM

I'd like to know the percentage of 'Cam' downloads to 'DVDRip' downloads.

There's a huge difference in time between the two, and more often than not, there is no more threat to box office numbers when the DVDRip is available(except maybe to the $3 theaters).

It'd be nice to have the DVD/Blu Ray sales numbers as well.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 12:47:18 AM

Its interesting that two of the films didnt cross the 100 million dollar mark internationally and the two films are State of Play and RocknRolla. Now State of Play was 2nd in the box office its opening weekend with a 14 million dollar bowout and settled for an "ok" 37 million. While RocknRolla, grossed only 20 million more dollars overseas than it grossed in the US total. State of Play was a wide release and it didnt make fantastic box office in any country. RocknRolla was very limited here in the US (I was lucky enough to see it in theaters with my dad) and still grossed only 20 million overseas. Its understandable why RocknRolla would be the 3rd highest downloaded movie of the year being that Americans were deprived of seeing it. But State of Play just didnt catch the paying publics eye. As for the rest...they rest on both this list and the highest grossing list for the box office, interesting. Surprised that Inglourious Basterds didnt make this list...
Parasyte writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:05:28 AM

because Inglorious Basterd was a pile of self indulgent poop with way too much dialogue and trailers cut to make the movie look like something it isn't!
wonderBOY writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:11:42 AM

why not just wait when the dvd comes out then rent it with a coupon thats like $1 then do a full rip it and burn on a dvd. now thats true dvd rip
MattC903 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 9:22:20 AM

hey guys this is a bit random but do any of you know if those alternate endings for TERMINATOR SALVATION were ever "shot" ? i just bought the blu ray version and i thought i read an article sometime back that said both alternate endings will be on the blu ray special features... well i just got done watching it and they dont even have deleted scenes. i need closure!!!
BlueMobius writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 12:33:27 PM

I love how FOX had such a hard-on about Wolverine and it wound up going on to make nearly as much as Star Trek!
bacci40 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 1:53:38 PM

how do they come up with these stats? and do they include streaming?

in any case, except for rocknrola, which was never gonna make money anyway, it seems downloading doesnt hurt bo or sales
wonderBOY writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 6:07:17 PM

@ bacci40
yes it does hurt the box office sales
star trek n transformers could of made another 100 million each
lost_addict writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 10:42:37 PM

and i thought 'i want to buttf*ck your daughter' will win...
BondMcClane007 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 7:47:56 AM

yea bacci40.. read murphyslaw's post b.c. he sums it up pretty well.. some of the movies on the list make sense because they grossed so much.. but other ones like rocknrolla dnt.. movies like those could have made a lot more money if so many people didnt download them illegally
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:37:27 AM

I'm wide awake right now (haven't slept yet) and needed something to do, so I went ahead and compiled the above list but in DVD sales. Now, some of them have just been released, so the numbers aren't there yet, but for the ones that ARE there, it's pretty impressive to see the drastic difference in numbers. From a (roughly) $10 ticket to a $20 or so DVD.


Star Trek - about $60mil in the first two weeks. I didn't bother looking for more current numbers, because we all know it's doing well.

Revenge of the Fallen - about $182mil

RocknRolla - about $6.6mil

The Hangover - just released (basically) and is currently on top of the dvd sales and rental charts

Twilight - about $170mil

District 9 - just released on the 22nd, so the numbers don't even matter yet.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince - Released on the 8th and is at number 3 on the charts. (Under G-Force. hahahaha)

State of Play - about $12mil

X-men Origins:Wolverine - about $68mil

Knowing - about $23mil
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 10:28:24 AM

Avatar where is it? i already see it on CD 640x480 res and looks great on my 32" Monitor
takai writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:50:37 AM

Hahahahahahahahaha.


Oh Trueman. Always good for a laugh.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:03:38 PM

Loved Start Trek, rocknrolla, the hangover and district 9, the rest are meh.

rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:46:29 AM

hahaha I downloaded most of those. RocknRolla and Harry Potter were the only films that didn't impress me. Star Trek and Wolverine were in my top 5 favorites of the year.
and El Superbeasto. I don't know how many times I streamed that before I broke down and bought a copy.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 9:46:29 AM

hahaha I downloaded most of those. RocknRolla and Harry Potter were the only films that didn't impress me. Star Trek and Wolverine were in my top 5 favorites of the year.
and El Superbeasto. I don't know how many times I streamed that before I broke down and bought a copy.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved