WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Alvin and the Chipmunks 2" to Dethrone "Avatar" at the Box Office?

Posted: December 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Alvin and the Chipmunks 2" to Dethrone "Avatar" at the Box Office?Submit Comment
20th Century Fox is having a good Christmas, since "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakuel" took first place at the domestic box office on Wednesday by earning $19 million.

The studio's other film, the James Cameron-directed "Avatar," had to to settle for second place with $16.5 million, making this the third straight $16 million day in a row. "Avatar" has now grossed $126 million in just five days of release.

While we have to wait till Sunday to get the weekend estimates, there is a good chance that "Alvin" could end up taking first place, ahead of "Avatar."

Wednesday was also the first day of wide release for George Clooney's "Up in the Air," which will likely be a contestant for Best Picture at the Academy Awards. The Jason Reitman-directed movie took in $1.7 million and has now brought in $11 million total.

Click here to read our "Alvin and the Chipmunks 2" review.

Source: erc Box Office


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MattC903 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:14:17 PM

yeah................... SIKE!
vwkombi writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:38:11 PM

Wow, that's one way to say "f*ck you fox!"
jetdog writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:37:31 PM

ummm both movies are fox movies so they are winning either way right now. vwkombi what are you talking about?
lost_addict writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:38:47 PM

avatar is no titanic...
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:53:46 PM

riiiight.

I saw Avatar for the second time today. I'll probably see it again Saturday.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:49:42 PM

Avatar is already made about 300 mil so unless there will truely be a Christmas miracle/curse, Alvin and his sh*tty movie will be lucky to make half of that by the middle of January.
jdl107 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:17:51 PM

Damn, Avatar's doing pretty good so far. I'm not afraid to say that it was a pretty good movie either.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:30:50 PM

i didn't rush to theaters for alvin and the chipmunks, not even for the sequel and its overexposed songs that i hate now...they shat all over my childhood memories when they couldn't even get a proper anger tone from dave seville... aaallllvinnn.... siiiimmmmoooonn.... THEODORRRRRREEEE!!!... i mean, is it really that hard to put that simple request in a chipmunks movie?...apparantly so...at least heath ledger's last film comes out tomorrow
tcu21 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:43:03 PM

It won't matter cause it doesn't have the staying power Avatar has. Word of mouth is still spreading for it, I bet it picks up a little next weekend, even against Sherlock Holmes.
takai writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:17:34 AM

Wow, alot of demographic intelligence above me.

Seriously, if The Squeakuel surpasses Avatar, it's not that big a deal. It doesn't mean it was a better movie, it means more 2-10 year old children wanted to see CGI chipmunks over CGI forests. It's the same thing with New Moon beating TDK's opening day record (or whatever record it broke). It's all about the fan base, not the film. Holy crap.

@HorrorJunky - "Avatar is already made about 300 mil so unless there will truely be a Christmas miracle/curse, Alvin and his sh*tty movie will be lucky to make half of that by the middle of January."

I think you missed the key word in the above news story. That word is 'DOMESTIC'. Avatar is only at about $126mil DOMESTICALLY. The International box office is double that of the US. So it is very possible that Alvin could surpass Avatar DOMESTICALLY. Like I said before, that wouldn't mean it was a better film.

@tcu21 - "It won't matter cause it doesn't have the staying power Avatar has. Word of mouth is still spreading for it, I bet it picks up a little next weekend, even against Sherlock Holmes."

You act as if Avatar was some unexpected movie nobody knew about. But if what you say is true, then that says how huge of a fail Fox's marketing department is. Also, Avatar is already slowing down domestically. Not by much, (about -2%) but it's still negative.


Alright, I'm done drying everyone's tears for tonight. Merry Christmas!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:26:22 AM

Um is everyone forgetting Sherlock Holmes is coming out this friday. Avatar could possibly end up even in third place.
vaodsi writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:54:47 AM

Uhm nobody over the age of 12 who isn't a parent (making up a large part of the movie going population) is going to see alvin and the shipmunks. if this was a pixar movie then maybe since those have mass appeal... but no. I don't think alvin will be taking first place this weekend. it has no legs.. avatar on the otherhand DOES. LIKE I SAID LAST WEEK!
vaodsi writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:57:58 AM

i think avatar's only real competition is sherlock holms and a crowded christmas box office
2% is a ridiculously low drop... but we will see this weekend. i can't imagine it being over 20%-30%.
vaodsi writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:58:27 AM

"Avatar is no titanic"

THANK GOD!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 5:35:50 AM

Takai: Do you honestly think that Alvin and the Rats will come close to making what Avatar will make DOMESTICALLY?

Hahahahahaha! We will see.
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:48:11 AM

Lost_Addict- AVATAR is not meant to be anything like titanic. just appritiate the amazing world that james cameron created.
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:48:11 AM

Lost_Addict- AVATAR is not meant to be anything like titanic. just appritiate the amazing world that james cameron created.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 10:35:20 AM

The first Chipmunk-movie grossed 250 mill, with bad word-of-mouth. It'll surpass Avatar in no time. Sadly. Hopefully Sherlock Holmes grab some money from Alvin.
NatG83 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:58:45 PM

I am yet to see Avatar, but I doubt that this Chipmunks movie deserves to yank the number one spot.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:31:06 PM

this is a easy resolution for avatar... from now on when we go to the theatre we buy a ticket for avatar and go see what we wanted to see like sherlock or the chipmunks ect.... this is a win for avatar and for us as well
BitterPeace910 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 8:25:12 PM

I guess Everyone also forgot about Sherlock Holmes coming out .
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:21:50 PM

No way. If Alvin & the Chipmunks reach #1, it'll be like Twilight sweeping the MTV Movie Awards. Heads will roll.
Lowryder writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 12:33:07 AM

Titanic 2 is coming out next year in 3-D and its gonna be directed by Rob Zombie!
Derp88 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 4:10:43 AM

Avatar will beat Chipmucks by like 30 million this weekend at the box office you tards
Derp88 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 4:11:50 AM

Avatar's weekend estimate is 70 million
Chipmucks is 43 million


EPIC FAIL CHIPMUNKS
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 6:34:53 PM

Does alvin and the chipmunks 2 have ANYTHING to offer ANYONE? f*ck that movie. People are idiots for thinking that a chipmunk stringing together catchphrases would be worth seeing, let alone worth paying for.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 10:58:21 AM

LOL HHAHAHA HEHEHEHE HII HOOHOHOHH (laughts of th joker) f*ck AVATAR IS NO A BIG DEAL THE MOVIE SUCKS BEACUSE OF SAM W. EVERYBODY KNOWS THAT!
Dre-EL writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:21:23 AM

Hell no it wont beat Avatar I say it'll come in third after sherlock holmes, Avatar will be first again.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved