WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith on "Cop Out" Title Change

Posted: December 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith on "Cop Out" Title ChangeSubmit Comment
Kevin Smith's new buddy cop movie "Cop Out" was previously called "A Couple of Dicks," but after Warner Bros got in touch with several of the major TV networks, it became obvious that it would not be able to promote the film before 9pm.

"I'm like, 'Well what about Inglourious Basterds?' And I guess, because of the spelling, they got away with it," said Smith. "So we were like, 'Can we call it A Couple of D.I.C.s?' Because that's the proper acronym for detectives, Detective In Charge. And [the networks] kicked that back as well."

He continued: "So my feeling was like, it's an R-rated movie, so who the f*ck are we talking to anyway before 9 o'clock? Warner Bros' feeling was like, 'Hey man, we have to advertise to the sports audience on Saturday and Sunday and all those sporting events usually take place before 9 p.m. in the evening.' At which point, I was like, 'Oh wow, you guys are way smarter than me.'"

Smith added that Warner Bros tried really hard to keep the title, but if the film was to get the best marketing campaign, the title had to be changed. Smith understood the situation, but he was not about to accept the studio's choice of title, which was "A Couple of Cops."

Since Warners was planning to run the trailer for the new film in front of "Sherlock Holmes" on Christmas, Smith began coming up with a title that could satisfy him and the studio. "I was like, 'God that title is going to feel like such a f*cking cop out'," he said of the "Couple of Cops" title. "And [the producer] goes, 'We should just call the movie that'."

"I liked it because it sounds like exactly what we set out to be: An '80s buddy cop movie, without sounding like 'Loaded Weapon,' or some such sh*t," he continued. "But more importantly, to me, the title tells the story of what happened to our other title. I think itís kind of ironic. Itís win-win."

Click here to read more about "Cop Out."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:17:54 PM

i like "Cop Out"
masKritic writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:19:05 PM

and i like his reasoning.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:31:58 PM

police cops should of been the title or black cop white cop for 30 rock fans
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:50:31 PM

shoulda called it "d*cks Out"
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:09:46 PM

Over at Yahoo movies they are still calling it A Couple of d*cks.

Why are networks so f*cking sensitive about this? Because of the parents? Parents don't mind their kids playing to most violent video games or watching violent movies but a movie title with the nick name for penis is wrong?

This is why I'm glad I only have cats. I don't have to protect them from anything on tv.
jdl107 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:13:58 PM

I'm almost certain that HorrorJunky4Life is Dandy. They both talk pretty queer.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:31:11 AM

And this trailer is weak so I'm not interested. Zack and Miri was a let down to me, there might be three funny scenes in that entire film.
lost_addict writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 3:33:45 AM

now all that is left is to change the movie...
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 4:47:33 AM

Shoulda been called "a case of the floppy"
kyearby writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 10:53:55 AM

limp d*cks
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:41:17 PM

This film looks bad no matter what the title.
vwkombi writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 5:50:53 PM

@ HorrorJunky4Life

You don't have to protect kids from anything on T.V anymore either. You just bitch and complain and the studios make it go away. No parenting required!
rabid writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 1:43:26 PM

what are they trying to protect kids from anyway? from learning that "d*ck" is an acceptable abbreviation for the word "detective"?
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 2:53:05 PM

I think it's stupid they had to change the title. I mean come on with all the other sh*t that is on TV that kids are hearing it's dumb. Even these sporting events I'm pretty sure most people can lip read and tell they're saying f*ck. And they're worried about a movie with a title like Couple of d*cks?
Hazzah1007 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 5:33:59 PM

So, if a commercial comes on for "A Couple of d*cks" during the late NFL game- A poor little kid can't ask Daddy "What does a couple of d*cks mean?"

Idiotic
TeemSelami writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 2:07:56 AM

saw the trailer in front of sherlock holmes and i think this title fits the movie better. it's easier to forget save "a couple of d*cks" title for a good movie
LastActionHero writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 12:24:09 PM

I hate that they changed it. But hearing that the studio worked to try and keep the title makes me feel better.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved