WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Worthington Considered for "Flash Gordon"

Posted: December 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Worthington Considered for "Flash Gordon"Submit Comment
The last time we heard about the "Flash Gordon" remake, director Breck Eisner (The Crazies) was stating that he already had a story and that the script would be in his hands around September.

Now comes word that Sam Worthington is being considered to star in the sci-fi comic book film as Steven "Flash" Gordon. "If he gets the role it would be quite a big deal as Flash is an all-American hero," said an insider.

Back in April, Eisner said the following about the project: "The thing about 'Flash' is, you've got to throw away the 80s version of it. For me it's about reinventing 'Flash' - we're still staying true to the adventure origins of it, and the adventurous spirit in that movie, absolutely. It's this man brought to another planet and uniting the disparate groups on Mongo, but there is a gritty, intense, dynamic, active quality to the movie. Very modern. It's not camp."

Eisner's next project was supposed to be the remake of "The Creature From the Black Lagoon," but he ended up dropping out. At this point, "Flash Gordon" looks like could be his next.

Click here to read more about "Flash Gordon."

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:40:49 PM

I would rather plait sh*t than watch that.
Sam =overexposed.
BlueMobius writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:10:20 PM

Saw Avatar last night and Worthington is quite possibly becoming my favorite actor. I don't think he's any more or less overexposed than Johnny Depp and we still largely love that guy. Worthington would make a fun Flash Gordon but I think they'd do better to go with an unknown.
pomme writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:11:56 PM

this guy wants to be in every blockbuster:Terminator,Avatar,Clash of Titans,Mad Max,Captain America and now Flash Gordon!
i only know Sam Worthington since 6 months and i feel i yet am tired of hear his name but he's more correct actor than Ryan Reynolds for example!(no romcom)
and he has a sh**ty australian accent in Terminator and Avatar!
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:48:57 PM

I'd rather see Buck Rogers.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:42:10 PM

He can't be more over exposed then Beyounce.

MurphBucket writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:42:19 PM

@pomme, ryan reynolds was being considered for "The Flash", not "Flash Gordon." Plus, Sam Worthington is good in each blockbuster he's been in. Clash of the Titans is going to be amazing. I love the old one, and the new one is going to be even better. I hate to say it, but sorry Sam, you are awesome in everything so far, but a yankee has got to play Cap. If an american doesn't play Captain America, I give up. It's like having an asian woman playing Malcolm X, not the same story. Maybe instead of shooting for Cap you should try to go for a role as a villain.
vaodsi writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 3:03:09 AM

i heard sam worthington is being considered to replace emily blunt in "young victoria 2: Adult Victoria"

he is jsut the new it guy but i think he's gonna stick around.. not like orlando bloom flash in the pan.
and hey.. he's a better actor by far.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 6:26:10 AM

flash.. ahhhh... is a miracle.. the only reason i know who this guy is (the character) is because of blades of glory
rocketman writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 6:34:38 AM

He is that well known now that whatever roll he takes i won't see Flash Gordon,Cap America or Jesus H Christ on screen i'll only see Sam 'crikey f*ck' Worthington.Seriously does everone want all blockbusters to feature this guy?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 8:41:49 AM

f*ck Flash Gordon
warlord writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:26:04 AM

he's been in terminator and avatar in my book two mega-turds
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:53:20 AM

SAm Worthington is getting every part... WHY!?
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:54:32 AM

clash of the titans will be pretty good though, Liam Neeson as ZUES enough said!
ksplatt writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 10:48:44 AM

"Now comes word that Sam Worthington is being considered to star in the sci-fi comic book film as Steven "Flash" Gordon. 'If he gets the role it would be quite a big deal as Flash is an all-American hero,' said an insider."

Umm...last time I checked, Sam W. isn't "American?" Someone correct me if I'm wrong, please. And people wonder why I hate the media, and why I don't like sh*tty movies like Transformers, Spider-man, X-men, GAYvatar, etc.
rabid writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:15:24 PM

Flash Gordon is American.
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:39:52 PM

f*ck that. Where's Ryan Renolds?
Kal-El writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 5:52:50 PM

Sam can't keep an accent straight for an entire movie -- how does he keep getting work?
vaodsi writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 12:22:08 AM

cause australian accents are heck of cooler!
Derp88 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 4:13:42 AM

Just let Sam speak in his Australian accent in movies

FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 2:41:58 PM

I have to be honest I have never seen Worthington in anything. But why do some many people dislike him?
rocketman writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 5:22:27 PM

I don't hate the guy i just don't want every bloody film to have him in it.Plus i don't get the tough guy thing?
rocketman writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 5:23:54 PM

....Guy ain't no Rambo
Ari Gold writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 6:16:53 PM

If all you guys were actors you would be killing to be in his position. The guy is just working his way through Hollywood I don't understand the dislike. Who gives a f*ck if Flash Gordon is American, it's not like Sam is Asian and doesn't look the part.

You guys had an American play an Australian in Tropic Thunder, who gives a sh*t! No one here bitched about that. This is what actors do, they pretend to be something else.
MurphBucket writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:17:31 PM

The name of the superhero is Captain America. I get what an actor does. I think Bale is good as Batman, but Cap just has to be American. Get over it.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 10:40:20 PM

Where in the article does it say 'Captain America'? This is about Flash Gordon. Chill out mate.
Jabba_RT writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 1:55:48 PM

Lol...can't wait to see Trueman's comment on this!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:38:58 AM

And he want a horse, a dildo in his ass, an elf, a good movie, this gay can have all the movies he wants, YES give him all the movies all! f*ck Hollywood soon the world will be sick of Sam W. and them we can live in peace until some new douchebag comes out of the closeth, and them i will be there Telling TruE, that all this Actors of THE MOMENT sucks, America doesn't need them, only the losers love them!
MattC903 writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:47:35 AM

@ TRUEMAN LMFAO... @ ARI GOLD well said, i agree if anyone of us was a hollywood actor and you were asked to be in any one of those films sam w. has been in NONE of you would turn them down.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:51:49 AM

HE is not a badass like some people says, he is a f*cking gay actor, and the actors are weak people and the most coward people in the world they all have bodyguards come on people wake up of that dream i can kick his ass is a normal douchebag, only with money no more he sh*t like us and i hope he will be forgotten!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 11:56:24 AM

MattC903 LMFAO your ass!

i can say what i want! Mother f*cker and you know in botton of your ass that you will like to be f*ck by SAm W. cooksucker lover!
Dre-EL writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:32:21 AM

Sam as Flash, I could see that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved