WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brittany Murphy's DVD Removed from Stores

Posted: December 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brittany MurphySubmit Comment
When Heath Ledger passed away, some groups wanted Warner Bros to remove a scene from "The Dark Knight" that shows the actor hiding in a body bag. Director Christopher Nolan kept the scene, leaving lots of people offended.

Now that Brittany Murphy has passed away, stores are scrambling to avoid anything that could be misinterpreted, like displaying the DVD for her "Deadline" horror film, which features the actress lying lifeless in a bath on the cover (view covers below).

The DVD hit stores on December 1st, obviously not expecting for Murphy to tragically die three weeks later. Redbox has stated that it will completely remove the DVD from its outlets by January 1st.

Do you think stores are doing the right thing, or are they making it worse by not letting people watch one of Murphy's last films?

DVD Covers: (click to enlarge)


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vwkombi writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:34:24 PM

What a great way to remember her, by removing all of her hard work that she lived to do.
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:49:31 PM

that's what happens when people are bitches
polardeficit writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:57:53 PM

our society is so pathetic and f*cked up im surprised we arent offended by ketchup since it could remind us of blood and the tragedy of death
BlueMobius writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:08:40 PM

This is ridiculous! What a shame. Leave the movie in stores and let her work be recognized.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:35:06 PM

Um who was offended by the Heath Ledger scene again? Like seriously no one was, it was barely even a headline.
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:55:34 PM

who cares?
it's not like anyone was going to rent that movie anyway.
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:56:46 PM

^that photo of her looks like Jerry Orbach^
BondMcClane007 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:07:25 PM

well lets see.. if Brittany Murphy was alive.. would sheee want the DVDs removed? One could only guess.. but an educated guess would be... no. But thats just a guess
HOCK writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:12:26 PM

This is really stupid. It's not disrespectful, and Nolan knew that. It would be one thing if they changed the cover.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:04:09 PM

'Do you think stores are doing the right thing, or are they making it worse by not letting people watch one of Murphy's last films?'....allow me to answer that question with another question....would her family want to see this film since this picture only reminds them of where they found her dead?...because that's kind of creepy
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:07:12 PM

I got this on dvd, its an actual very bloody brilliant film, one of her best, i recommend getting it while its still on the shelves.
Loki writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:24:24 PM

He was in a trash bag not a body bag. Ga! Media dousches!
takai writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:36:20 PM

@polardeficit - I couldn't agree more.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:38:38 PM

how does the media still get away with making money off of any news they exaggerate?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:49:09 AM

No one was offended by that scene fromt eh Dark knight. And vWkombie, you make one great point!!
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 1:08:29 AM

I think they should leave the ones that are in the store as they are. Maybe if there is a big cardboard photo of the cover take it down. But leave the current DVDs the same just reprint the new covers, if you think it could be offensive.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 8:44:00 AM

That's some good irony. Always knew God had a sense of humour
warlord writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:24:29 AM

thats OBAMA-CARE!
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:42:07 AM

it sucks that your last few films were like low budg sci fi films....
Cleveland Shaquisition writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:07:44 PM

Hey, Paul Newman is dead. Let's remove all of his movies in which his character dies. Come to think of it, Marlon Brando is dead too. He dies at the end of The Godfather doesn't he? Let's get rid of that one too. People are soo f*cking retarded.
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:41:11 PM

Taking away her DVD just because she has a picture or scene in it in which she dies or looks dead is pointless. We can't bring her back but we can remember her properly by watching her work. I mean it was only her career to be an actress.
NatG83 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 12:57:34 PM

I think it was a good cover. It is, in my opinion, more disrespectful to censor the star's work (as vwkombi said).

Jamall316 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 1:18:03 PM

Let remove everything that she ever did. People are such pussies. They should die so we can forget them.

BigTate writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 1:25:20 PM

They're making it worse. Streisand Effect. That DK thing is also ridiculous. Just because somebody died doesn't mean their work has to be altered or hidden. It's the same thing with all of the WTC images removed from pictures and videos.
rabid writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 1:35:39 PM

Nah, it's probably just viral marketing to get people to pay attention to a movie they otherwise would not.
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:39:30 PM

HUR DUR WE ARE SO SORRY WE OFFENDED YOU WITH A DEAD BODY IN A BATHTUB!

It's a horror film for f*ck sake.
Fixxer35 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:58:17 PM

Underneath the title of the film it should say "December 20th."
THE MAD HATTER writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 5:14:14 PM

How said is that sh*t .I mean she was great but removing .Deadline from stores wont do a dame thing .
ian_918 writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 7:30:07 PM

Movie sucked anyways.
Ronald Regan writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 9:57:14 PM

They didn't remove all the great things I did when I died....
havokx13x writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 11:23:28 PM

I think this is ridiculous! I saw this movie. Sure it wasn't her best but her work should still be accessible so we can remember everything she did!
darkraven28 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 11:31:44 AM

Society f*cks up again. Why are we even surprised?
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 2:36:45 PM

I think that they didn't do it because it could offend people. I think they may have done it more, because it could be hard for her family and friends to see that right now. Out of respect to them. I don't think they should pull the whole DVD but the cover needing to be changed I can see that.I could see how it could be hard for someone you cared about to die and then see something like that. Imagine how you might feel. A few years from now maybe not so hard but right now I think it would be. Changing the cover would seem like something people would be okay with, not pulling the whole DVD. It's like when they removed the scene in Spiderman with the twin towers, it was out of respect.
warlord writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 2:21:28 PM

what what! thare pulling her dvds?? but they could not get eniff of michael jacksons crap out so a good actoress gets her movies pulld and a pedafile get more of his crap put out on the street thats f*ckd up!
StrongR3tard writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 3:36:37 PM

you said it warlord. lets honour her memory by trying to get people to forget her work
Goober3000 writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 5:45:03 PM

bummer....
carl4prez writes:
on December 27th, 2009 at 7:51:48 PM

Can you say overracting? Why not leave the hard work shes done be and for those whining about political correctness can go to hell. I mean, (not that these to films should be compared) how would the dark knight been if they removed the body bag scene? People just need to shut up.
n/a writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 8:41:35 AM

its crazy cuz didnt she die in the bath....
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 5:15:20 PM

Well People are a bunch of crybaby f*cks, OMG she dies so a MOVIE she acted in shows her dead OH MY GOD lets take it off the shelf, Its a Movie for Christ sake, this is what she loved to do, Act, so taking the movie down is offending her
Dre-EL writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 10:17:04 AM

Removing her work material simply cause she died is a gross over reaction.
nuff said.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 3:58:21 PM

Wow, who makes these stupid f*cking decisions!!!???...RIDICULOUS.
JKline writes:
on January 25th, 2010 at 8:52:08 PM

art imitates life... I do not think it is disrespectful to let the movie remain

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved