WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Simon Cowell to Leave "American Idol" After Next Season

Posted: December 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Simon Cowell to Leave "American Idol" After Next SeasonSubmit Comment
Even though "American Idol" made Simon Cowell the highest paid person on television, he has stated several times that he has considered leaving the show. And after lots of talking about it, he may now actually do it.

Cowell's brother, Tony Cowell, said the following on his weekly radio program: "Meanwhile, Simon prepares for a new season of 'Idol,' or should I say his last season of 'Idol' - OK, I will say it, because it is. As I sit here in the sunny Caribbean with my family, a press statement is being prepared which will confirm what everyone expected - Simon will leave 'Idol' at the end of 2010 to concentrate on bringing the American version of 'The X Factor' to US TV in 2011."

This means that the upcoming season will be his last. But this isn't stopping Fox, which has just ordered three more seasons of the hit show, with or without Cowell.

According to a recent study, 58% of "American Idol" viewers said that they will stop watching the program if Cowell leaves. Since "Idol" dominates pretty much everything else on television, losing over half its viewership will still leave the show as one of the most-watched programs.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BurmaShave writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 2:50:06 AM

Isn't The X Factor just a UK American Idol
rocketman writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 3:48:13 AM

X factor is for 'entertainers',dancers sh*t like that.Both are about as gay as Rock Hudson at a Twilight fancy dress party.
The guy only wants more money,hes pulling the same sh*t here in Britain at the mo.
Gates writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 4:09:08 AM

Add this to the pile of "Nobody gives a sh*t"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 4:17:08 AM

So we might see an end on the plague that is American Idol...

And it seems as a douchebag runs in the family. The brother really needed to say he was in the Caribbean, just to piss us off. Smug english focker
vwkombi writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 4:55:08 AM

Hopefully he will leave life next.
CCBlev writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 6:28:32 AM

@Gates
I'm thinking the same damn thing, who gives 2 sh*ts, maybe if he leaves and ratings drop they'll cancel the show, now that would be a blessing. No one good has ever come from the show, Kelly Clarkson, hah, all her songs sound the damn same she's only got one range, maybe her career will flop too, ok I got more important things to do like taking my pre work sh*t and getting to work.
Amrstation writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 6:45:29 AM

What would be a better news?
"American Idol DIES"
heymynameisgriff writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 7:52:28 AM

@rocketman You're thinking about Britain's Got Talent. X Factor is pretty much the same as Pop Idol/American Idol except they allow contestants to participate in Groups.
rocketman writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:50:56 AM

Thats one subject i don't mind being wrong on,lol.
It's still sh*t either way.
Shezza Cole would get it though,twice or ubtill her toes touch her shins.HOT ON TOAST.
Loki writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 8:56:26 AM

Yay! Or boo! I don't know. Or care really. Stupid cowell.
NatG83 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:23:50 AM

As a vocalist, I was interested in the first 2 seasons of the show. But I find Pop idols get boring quickly. The show really is hard to watch. The only thing I ever liked about it was Simon. I caught an episode of the past season, and I was disappointed because Simon just didn't seem to be as cutting and harsh, yet honest, as he used to be.

I think ratings are going to tank soon, and I think Simon is wise to jump ship.
darthraige writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 11:33:25 AM

I'll believe when I see it.
Kill-the-director writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 1:32:33 PM

american idol was created from the UK's pop idol.

xfactor includes groups as well as solo artists
Skywalker121289 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 1:38:32 PM

This is the best Christmas present- EVER!
warlord writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 2:32:09 PM

WHO GIVE'S A sh*t!!!!
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 9:58:04 PM

how is that movie news?
that's barely even tv news.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 25th, 2009 at 2:16:02 AM

Actually Skywalker, Hollywood not raiding childhood cartoons for ideas and turning them into movies would be the best Christmas present ever.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2009 at 3:23:06 PM

Cowell makes $75.mil a year. Even with that money I'd get bored doing that show for that long.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved