WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "It" Script is Almost Finished

Posted: December 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Back in March, Warner Bros announced that it will bring Stephen King's landmark horror novel "It" to the big screen. The novel is set in 1958 and 1985, though the feature version will be set in the present day.

Collider has now caught up with producer Dan Lin, who revealed that the studio is still moving forward with the project and he expected to get his hands on the script within the next few days. "'It' is probably the next script that I'm expecting actually over Christmas," he said, adding: "Dave Kajganich (Invasion) is writing it."

Kajganich previously revealed that the film will be R-rated and that the studio doesn't want any sequels. "[This] means we can really honor the book and engage with the traumas that these characters endure," he said. "I will have to kill a few darlings to make that happen."

The story follows a group of kids called the Losers Club that encounter a creature called It, which preys on children and whose favorite form is that of a sadistic clown called Pennywise. When the creature resurfaces, the kids are called upon to regroup again, this time as adults, even though they have no memory of the first battle.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lawman writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:24:15 PM

I have high hopes for this. The T.V. series was pretty decent for what it was and I think this could be OK! As long as someone can put Kings f*cked up mind onto film. Somehow it never really translates well in that respect! Maybe it was due to the movie biz not being advanced enough for what King writes, or maybe not. We will see!
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:34:17 PM

The tv series was fantastic. I'm looking forward to a remake, but I do hope they take the time to tell the story. IT cannot be filmed in 2 hours.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:40:57 PM

i dont like that idea...just leave it alone..certain books he has done cannot translate well into a box office movie. this is a long ass book, the stand is one of his longest, that was also a good TV Mini Series...i actually dont know where i was goin with that.. lol.
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:43:10 PM

They aren't going to bring back Tim Curry therefore this will be crap.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:44:28 PM

After reading the book, I lost alot of respect for the movie. Pennywise was the best part of the movie. I have very High hopes for this, I hope they do a better job at following the book
CICI99 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:52:14 PM

the great thing about tht book is tht its set in the late 50's. it makes for a much scarier and realistic story. this new version is gonna have the kids textin while being chased by pennywise.
Kid_A writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:56:24 PM

@lawman + rabid: The first adaptation was for TV? Oh, I didn't know it. I have the VHS video cassette of both films (it is a divided-onto-two-films collection of mine) and thought that it was released in theaters. So then this is the first adaptation for the big screen, right?
WV-Films writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:07:59 PM

Nice to know he finished a script for a movie that already came out.
ian_918 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:14:30 PM

This is my favorite classic and hollywood is gonna f*ck it in the ass. This is a film that should NOT be f*cked with. God damn you hollywood when will you ever learn..
tidedsued writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:20:14 PM

Pennywise is one of the reasons people hate clowns, so How you can beat that?
CICI99 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:29:29 PM

WHO THEY GONNA HAVE PLAY IT? f*ckING HUGH JACKMAN. COME ON SON.
Tizzle writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:54:09 PM

I swear there was a movie... with that kid from The Never Ending Story. Was that a TV series only? Weird. This could be good, it's one of Stephen King's best.
makingcircles writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:55:11 PM

Tim Curry was the best part of that TV version. He did a great job and was truly scary. I'm looking forward to the remake. Hey Hollywood...why not cast Curry again? "Hiya Georgie!"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:03:04 PM

If they're really going to honor the book, it'll be a long f*cking movie. Nothing is wrong with that, just unsure the studio is willing to bet in that horse
NatG83 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:26:05 PM

I liked the TV adaptation. I'd be open to seeing this. Tim Curry nailed the role on the small screen. Who would make a good Pennywise for this?
lawman writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:41:48 PM

KID-A>>> As far as I know, it was a mini-series and this will be the first "Silver Screen" adaptation. I was dissapointed with many of Kings books that have been turned into big screen movies. There seems to be something that flows pretty well from kings mind to paper, but not from paper to screen! I dont know what it is? I also noticed that it seems to be a problem that ONLY plagues his HORROR stories! Green mile, Shawshank redemption, the secret window, all were pretty spot on! The horror movies though, outside of The Shining (Nicholson version) and his older movies, anything after 1980's sucked ass! This is not an opionion formed from others. I sat through EVERY piece of sh*t he turned out! Langliers, The mangler, sleepwalkers, cats eye, silver bullet, the list goes on! Be they TV movies or big screen, they f*cking SUCKED! Lets hope this comes out good but it probably wont! The Mist f*cking BLEW. Although the end was real good! But NOT like the storys end, which was great!
lawman writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:45:28 PM

NatG83>>>> I would like to see someone like Peter Stormare (Satan in Constantine) or Javier Bardem!
lawman writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:47:56 PM

I think the BEST pick would be Daniel Day-Lewis. He MASTERS any role he is in and would f*ckING rule this movie, but, I have a better chance of seeing one of the many GAYLORDS on this site (VIN, AR, CARPEN7ER, Spooky) start dating women!
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 6:02:42 PM

Bill Murray for Pennywise
dbreuning writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 6:11:10 PM

Was just about to say "hey wasn't there alread a film about this?" but that was the tv-series...Anyway that sh*t was f*cking freaky man. Saw it when I was a little kid and was freaked out. I hate clowns LOL.
RandyTheRam writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:43:52 PM

I'm just happy that they decided to stick to the source material. If it is made correctly it will be a very hard 'R' and will scare the living sh*t out of us. Well, coming from the guy who wrote 'The Invasion' we will see if he f*cks this up horribly. I hope it is as gripping as the book was. Meh, I hope it works out.
RandyTheRam writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:46:04 PM

btw I just saw the apology from Balloon Boy's dad, what a f*cking p*ssy. Sniveling like a bitch on CNN
Jabba_RT writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 9:12:16 PM

This is my favorite King book. I liked the mini-series and they did the best they could considering the restrictions inherant with TV. An R-rated version, done correctly, would allow the filmmaker the license for violence they need to really flesh this story out. I'm really looking forward to this one.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 9:19:50 PM

"They alllll float!"
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 9:47:38 PM

yeah I saw that *sshole! His wife gets 20 days in jail, he gets 30 days in jail with community service and 4 years probation, and he's not allowed to make any profit off his story.
Guess that media whore learned a good lesson.
barley_cat writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 10:05:30 PM

The previous film was a TV series? huh, didn't realise that, i've got it on DVD all together so i assumed it was already a movie!! I liked the first version :( remakes suck
DoucheNozzle writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 10:26:15 PM

I think your suggestion of Bill Murray was tongue-in-cheek, but that could possibly be incredible if he took the role seriously. Either him or Robin Williams in WGD/Insomnia/OHP form, as he can be extremely creepy if he allows himself to sink into a character. Speaking of OHP, Mark Romanek would be a good choice to direct this, if Williams got attached, as he has an incredible gift for producing chilling/beautiful images. It would never happen, but I would see it.
NatG83 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 12:18:27 PM

@Lawman

Wow...Excellent call with Peter Stormare. Man, I bet he'd nail it.

Javier Bardem is great, but somehow I see his "No Country" role mixing with this. "What's the most you ever lost to a clown"

@Douche Nozzle
Robin Williams would be great playing this dark.
pomme writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 3:01:26 PM

yes! yes! i loved the book and i still loves the TV movie
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 6:58:26 PM

I was completely serious about Bill Murray, but Robin Williams is brilliant casting. I could totally see it.
Jamall316 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 7:48:18 PM

Can't top the t.v series, that show made me hate clowns till i was 15. A two hour movie? Not to sure about it.
LastActionHero writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 4:14:54 PM

It will definitly be better than the made for tv movie. Especially since Tim Curry won't be in it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved