WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Third "Da Vinci Code" Film on the Fast Track

Posted: December 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Third "Da Vinci Code" Film on the Fast TrackSubmit Comment
Dan Brown's follow-up to "The Da Vinci Code," called "The Lost Symbol," was released in stores back in September and once again revolves around the fictional, mystery-solving Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon in a story taking place over a 12-hour period.

Tom Hanks immediately got his hands on a copy, stating that "it's a page-turner. Dan Brown knows how to weave a tale. I was exhausted by the end of it."

He added that if the third installment based on "The Lost Symbol" is greenlit, he would love to reprise his role as Langdon. "I'd love to if they're going to do it," he said. "I'm not going to walk away from that. If they make it again, I hope they ask me."

Now, Cinemablend has learned that even though the second installment, "Angels and Demons," took in only $133 million in the US on a $150 million budget, Columbia Pictures is still planning to fast track "The Lost Symbol" for a 2012 release. The reason is because "Angels" took in a whopping $352 million internationally for a $485 million worldwide gross.

Hanks is clearly on board, but the site says that director Ron Howard is currently unsure if he wants to return. Stay tuned.

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:45:43 PM

Book sucked compared to the other two. Don't expect the movie to be any better.
tcu21 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:50:43 PM

Wouldn't make a good movie, that I will concede to, but I did enjoy the book. They should stop trying to adapt these because it's clearly not working. The Da Vinci Code took in a lot of money but the critics hated it, Angels and Demons did slightly better critically, worse commercially and was insanely unfaithful to the book. Basically I'm sick of Ron Howard trying.
Kid_A writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 3:59:46 PM

@Barney Stinson: Same! I don't understand why an actor from a movie adaptation of a book calls the next, but horrible follow-up book as "great, a page turner" - well, it was a page turner, but didn't end up being great. He could say that "It's good, but not as DVC"... it's celebrities... they always like to lie about each other's product.
Bob82 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:38:33 PM

Hadn't read any of the books. First movie sucked. Second movie was ok. Third movie, according to my math, I'll have to give it a chance.
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:41:57 PM

The movies sucked but it's true, Dan Brown does know how to weave a tale... unfortunately it's pretty much the same tale over and over.
BurmaShave writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:30:05 PM

How is that fast tracking, it's 3 years between films just like the first two
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:57:18 PM

What are you all f*cking stupid, The Lost Symbol was an amazing book...better than DaVinci Code but not as good as Angels and Demons. Also Ron Howard sucks and so does Akiva Goldsman and his sh*tty adaptations...
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 8:41:34 PM

Honestly I don't think the books are bad, I only saw the first movie didn't bother with Angels and Demons. Personally I think they are overrated and Dan Brown is only an ok writer. Nothing special.
tcu21 writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 10:34:09 AM

I hate when people say Dan Brown is an okay or bad writer just because he doesn't write stuff that students have to read in literary classes. They're good stories that make people turn the page quicker than they usually do. And he's basically a millionaire off three books, so criticize his writing all you want, but dude's gettin it done.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 2:48:57 PM

To be honest, there are a lot of other books that i find more entertaining and hold my interest more than people that are hyped up like Dan Brown. It has nothing to do with the fact that apparently kids dont' have to read his books in school. I read all the time and have a wide range of likes and dislikes. If you compare him to other authors I don't think he holds up. It's like Twilight man those books suck but she's rich because it's being crammed down everyone's throat. That in no way means they are great books or that she is a great writer. By your logic then Meyer is a great writer. And we all know that is not true.It all boils down to what someone likes. I actually like one of Dan Brown's books but not the ones like Angels and Demons, Davinci Code, or the newest one, and yes I have read the first two. I'm just saying I don't think that he's all that great like people are hyping him up to be. Or at least these books.I have nothing aganist him or his books, but I don't buy into the hype.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved