WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Walken Steals Clothes from Movie Sets

Posted: December 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Walken Steals Clothes from Movie SetsSubmit Comment
Christopher Walken told Zeit newspaper that he has never bought clothes, since he raids the costume department of whichever movie he is working on.

"I'll tell you something... I never buy clothes," he said. "Whenever I'm making a movie I take the clothes from there back home. My complete wardrobe is from movie sets. Usually it's real nice stuff."

Walken added that even though he tries to take as much as possible, it's not always easy to do. "Nobody wants to give something away," he said. "For example 'Batman,' when I was shooting it I got very interesting clothes and accessories. On my last day of shooting I had already thought a long time about what I would like to take with me. I had so beautiful cuff links. When I had finished my last scene and went back to my dressing room everything was already gone. Everything!"

Source: Zeit


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:36:25 PM

I don't blame him. In some of the movies I wished I had been in (Star Trek, Xmen, Ghost World) I would definantly be a klepto.

Not that I'm an actress but there are some movies I wish I could brag that I was in.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:39:39 PM

I joke with friends all the time when we're watching movies, the clothes and props I'd rip off.

Hey... an actor could fall onto hard times. These items are nice memories during life, but could pay the rent (via eBay) later on.
makingcircles writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:41:26 PM

He steals every scene too.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:50:29 PM

What a loser. He has all that money, but he still steals. I guess he believes in Walken out the door with OPP.
duff4444 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:54:34 PM

minkowski with a ZINGER!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:54:44 PM

Good comment Mink. But you do know that many stars who are rich actually believe they should receive goods and services for free, right? It's all that damn swag that they get. Once they start getting that at film festivals and the like, they start thinking that this should be for everything.
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:58:47 PM

I gotta fever... an the cure is more clothes!
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 7:19:12 PM

Don't they have enough stuff, enough money? I've heard of greed, but this is ridiculous. And I like things too, but if I had Walken's cash, I wouldn't even think of stealing anything.

Anyway, I hear and agree with you HorrorJunkie. I think what gets me is that he admits it so casually, like he's proud.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 7:32:46 PM

Read the last sentence. Looks like the people on the Batman set figured out his game and took all their sh*t back before he could take it home.

And considering some of the movies he has been in (like Click) I wouldn't want to admit to wearing some of that stuff outside of a movie set.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 7:38:50 PM

"Looks like the people on the Batman set figured out his game and took all their sh*t back before he could take it home."

I bet taht was a dark night for him.
Jabba_RT writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:00:14 PM

Wonder if he stole the cowbell too.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:13:52 PM

Christopher Walken can do whatever he wants, he's Christopher f*cking Walken, goddamnit!
CCBlev writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:20:00 PM

@pp
Amen to that, Walken is da man
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:29:26 PM

CW in:

Biloxi Blues,
The Continental and More Cowbell - both SNL.

All priceless.

Mink, I don't think he's stealing the stuff for the $'s. Sure I think it's 'self entitlement' - it may just be for nostalgic reasons. Shatner I've heard is the opposite. Has none of the original Star Trek stuff. Imagine having an original communicator, tri-corder or green slave girl (besides Dandy in Trig's closet) around.
rabid writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:33:12 PM

If I was in a movie, I'd want to own the clothes I wore.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:37:11 PM

I heard way back that Eddie Murphy actually had it in one of his Beverly Hills Cop (I think the first one) whereby he could grab all he wanted.

Lohan nowadays just shows up at parties offering celebs swag. She downs a coke (a-cola), has a smoke (most likely rolled up of lesbo' vag. pubes), then hits the road.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:44:44 PM

Stealing is stealing, Ranger, whether for money or not.

'If I was in a movie, I'd want to own the clothes I wore."

Then you should offer to pay for them, rather than steal them...
Flav writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:45:05 PM

I'd steal more than that. Walken is da man! Hollywood makes enough cash as it is.... Why not?
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:51:21 PM

@mink - no argument here. Whatever they take should be contractual.

This 'entitlement' these 'celebs' have are like some of the teenagers parents are sending out into the world these days.

Everyone hear Lance Armstrong yelling at the Starbuck's employee that his coffee should be free because of who he is?!

I would have replied: 'I know who you are. You're the washed-up Uni-Baller grasping onto what little spotlight still shines on you when it's pointed towards real celebrities.'
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:54:55 PM

How about this? Just go up to the director and ask if you can have whatever you want from whatever movie you are in? If I were Kate Winslet, I would have asked Cameron if I could keep the blue sapphire gem from the movie. If he said no I'd ask if I could buy it. If the answer were still no...then my more devilish nature might think about stealing it.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:59:28 PM

Walken could buy whatever he wants. People would probably give him most of what he wants because he's Walken, a legend, but he steals it instead and then....brags. That's just lame and f*cked up. And he's no klepto, he just thinks he's above the obeying the law, like a politician.

And some of you are defending that sh*t? I wonder...do you steal from your friends?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:59:59 PM

I would have replied: 'I know who you are. You're the washed-up Uni-Baller grasping onto what little spotlight still shines on you when it's pointed towards real celebrities.'


Brillant reply Ranger. I would have said something similar but there would be a whole lot more cursing involved. I'm just mouthy like that.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:17:49 PM

So am I (pottie-mouthed).

Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:22:47 PM

If I was in a movie with Megan Fox... I'd steal her soiled thong right off that ass!

Legal charges be damned!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:24:32 PM

Mink: If you happen to have Trent Reznor tied up and naked at your house, then yes, I will steal from you if we were friends.

Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:30:43 PM

Or if you have Megan Fox lying around...
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:32:32 PM

No Reznor here, but I do have the nine inch nail.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:35:53 PM

Hahahaha! Walked right into that one, didn't I?
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:38:09 PM

@ mink:

"And some of you are defending that sh*t? I wonder...do you steal from your friends?"

- No. But I hardly think that's a fair comparison.

I can't speak for the others, but when I say Walken can do whatever he wants, that's meant to be taken as a (semi-funny) joke.
C'mon, man, you should know better by now!

The headline is misleading, though. I don't think he's stealing. Like he said it himself "Nobody wants to give something away", so I'm assuming the stuff he usually takes home were things he was given, or else he would have taken those things, with or without the studio's permission.
As I'm sure you know, the Props and Wardrobe teams also keep strict control over all items that are important to the movie.

I've also learned it's fairly common for that to happen. There are numerous accounts of actors that possess all sorts of items used in movies they participated in.

I'm pretty sure that, in case the studio wants to keep their property, they make sure they do, like in that "Batman" case Walken makes reference to.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:43:16 PM

Oh, and mink, thanks a lot for making me sound serious and honest... I hate that sh*t!
I don't want to be remembered here for being serious, goddamnit!

I hope Alex deletes my last post and keeps only my dandy jokes and the trash talking.

I'm gonna watch some porn now to try and shake the seriousness off of me...
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:44:11 PM

"- No. But I hardly think that's a fair comparison."

You're right, PP. Stealing from the company that hired you and trusts you is even worse.

"Hahahaha! Walked right into that one, didn't I?"

I think you're more clever than you'd like for us to know....
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:49:55 PM

"You're right, PP. Stealing from the company that hired you and trusts you is even worse."

- Aaaaaaaaaaaaargh!!! Stop making me feel serious, you... you... SERIOUS PERSON!!!!!

But, like I said, I don't think he was stealing and believe that headline is misleading.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:52:49 PM

Not in a joking mood. Too much hot cocoa.

But show knows, maybe Walken just likes to pilfer. Maybe he's a Viking descendant. Who knows? Give him a battle ax and a horned helmet and he's ready to plunder.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:09:31 PM

Im just talking out of my ass tonight...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:10:28 PM

Coco Mink? I kinda took you for a gin and tonic kinda guy.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:26:11 PM

He also stole a pocket watch and stuck it up his arse.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:30:38 PM

I'm sure how to take that one, HorrorJunkie.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:31:29 PM

"He also stole a pocket watch and stuck it up his arse."

I rectum his colon wanted to know the time.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:37:56 PM

just a (weak) joke Mink. Just ignore the alky make it.

*refils glass with rum and coke*
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:39:24 PM

Well, I think you were calling me gay! Now, I have to get back to polishing my nails, thank you very much.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:40:50 PM

NOT sure, NOT sure, omg, do I not know how to type? Referring to the post above where I omitted the word 'not'.

f*ck. Someone, pass me a Quaalude and coke.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:09:35 PM

I guess that makes both of us because I meant to type "Just ignore the alky who made it". The joke I mean.

I was only implying that you seemed like the kind of guy who likes a little booze now and again.

I know that Coco isn't just for kids and little old ladies. And just ignore that I tend to put Baileys in mine but then again,I don't have to drive anywhere.

(Don't drink and drive kids! Cursing like a drunken sailor when you're 6 is ok but no D&D)
Aaron writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:28:40 PM

Mink - "Stealing is stealing"
Mink (on avatar) - "I'll probably download it (so I can better catch everything) as well as see it in theaters"

Where is the line exactly Mink?
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:43:25 PM

I was wondering when an ape would mention that, and right on cue, almost, there you are. Can you believe that while I've been working here, I've asked myself, just where's the jackass to bring up piracy, some inflated dipsh*t that thinks he has me in a catch. And here you are.

Piracy isn't stealing. Period. To steal, two conditions MUST be met:

1. Someone must get something for free without it being given to him.

2. Someone must LOSE the same something at the same time that the first person is getting something.

Basic sh*t. Laws of conservation of matter nad energy. Because I was never, ever, in a million years, going to go see Avatar (the film in question, I believe), so much that I even turned down free tickets from people in 'real life', there is no loss to anyone.

When I take your tv, your car, your wallet, you lose something tangible. Something you must work to replace. You must trade part of your life for a replacement.

To call piracy 'stealing' is to admit that technology has far outstripped the vernacular of morality. And for the most part, when you're caught pirating, the law doesn't call your crime theft or stealing, it's called COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT. So obviously the law understands piracy is not necessarily theft.

On the other hand, and I've elaborated on the logic here many times, if I ran a business using pirated software, actually the main concern of anti-piracy organizations, then I am in fact stealing because I am taking profit from other companies to generate my own profit.

Likewise if I was using pirated software from home to make money. Downloading a sh*tty cam to judge the structure of a film, a film I will end up getting on DVD regardless and without question at some point, is not stealing.

Nevermind all the films I have on DVD that were first brought to my attention my a download. I couldn't begin to list he movies I've got on DVD just because of an isohunt download.

So let me guess, Aaron. You think it's ok to steal clothes and other people's property because it's no different than an mp3 download. right? Do you download anything illegal? Anything at all? Do you own the rights to all the songs you've burned, or that's on your Ipod? If not, then may I come take your car and television? I mean, since it's all the same to you, right?
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:48:19 PM

And let me ask you again, this hypothetical question: if someone invented a little machine that duplicated matter, using batteries or another powered source provided by the box's owner, a little box that can scan any object and reproduce an exact replica, a matter equivalent to digital software, and I used this to make a copy of you car, would you then claim I stole your car? That I stole from the dealerships? From the car manufacturer? Because if you say 'yes', without any qualification, to all those questions, then you're a bigger idiot than I thought.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:51:41 PM

Well? Any thoughts, wise guy? I'm waiting.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 12:25:19 AM

i think walken's an idiot for doing something stupid...

like talking about when he stole clothes.

you never commit a crime then brag, that's how those lil f*ckers on myspace and youtube get arrested for taking pictures on themselves smoking weed or posting a video of them beating some poor kid up.

i'll never talk about all the times i--- i mean, i've never done anything illegal. (see, THAT"S how you do it)

and yeah, i agree with mink... piracy is not stealing. he's got the differences laid out pretty clear for ya.
Aaron writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 12:31:55 AM

Err...
I asked you to elaborate on your views of theft, I didn't murder your children. Calm down.

"Basic sh*t. Laws of conservation of matter nad energy. Because I was never, ever, in a million years, going to go see Avatar (the film in question, I believe), so much that I even turned down free tickets from people in 'real life', there is no loss to anyone."

I don't know what happens to film props (wardrobe in particular) when a film wraps. Are they sold to recuperate production costs? Do they go into a little box in a big warehouse and are never seen again? I don't even know who owns them when they are purchased or made - production companies? Investors? I don't know. I imagine that it varies with the production. I imagine the scale of the production has a lot to do with it too. (Walken is a good example, as he pretty much runs the gamut of various budgeted films)
If the wardrobe is simply thrown away, or put into a closet in a warehouse never to be seen again - Your above quoted argument applies to him as well. If they are sold to recuperate production costs - I suppose you have a point. If they are given to homeless shelters and third world countries - than I understand your hostility.

As far as piracy goes - It's complicated and I don't really have an opinion. I see both sides - but, from what I've seen of your posts, you're intelligent enough to see that the argument against piracy is in regards to lost and potential profits, not material objects.

As far as my own practices - I learned on pirated copies of Photoshop, now I use Gimp. I learned on Pirated copies of Logic Audio - Now I use Krystal, or Ardour, or Reaper. I've bought hundreds of CD's in my life, and I've downloaded dozens. I make no claims of sanctity.

You'll notice in my initial post above that I didn't accuse you of anything... in fact I made it a point to quote you in context. (you said you would go see Avatar AS WELL as download it, and that you'd only download it to give it the proper attention to judge it.) I just asked a question.

You called me an ape.
I'm not an ape.
jwhite writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 12:54:34 AM

Actually, actors don't make as much money as you think they do. A lot of that has to go to paying their taxes. So, that is why they love swag and will take costumes from sets if they can. I mean, if someone allowed you to have nice clothes for free, why would you pay for them?
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:04:12 AM

"I mean, if someone allowed you to have nice clothes for free, why would you pay for them?"

Fundamental question here, no? Did he TAKE them or did were they given to him.

Look, if he wants to steal, fine by me, I guess, but he has the money to buy the stuff he wants. He doesn't have to steal. That makes it worse to me. It's not like he's some starving guy stealing a hamburger. What he's doing, if his claims are honest, makes me sick.

Then again, this is WP, so who knows? Someone may have made this story up.
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:45:13 AM

Jeez, if he really had stolen something, he wouldn't open his mouth about it. It's much more likely that he just convinces the wardrobe guys to hand them over, because who's going to deny Christopher Walken. Who knows he might even bribe them to get the clothes. It's not like the guy can just jet down to the mall without causing a scene.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:36:30 AM

Chris Walken is da Man !
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 6:12:55 AM

Hey the way i see it, the movie world owes this man a lot. Least they can do is let him flog some clothing!
n/a writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:36:38 AM

OPP is other peoples p*ssy...not property
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:28 AM

@Mink: I wish he were a viking descendant, then I would have something to be proud of
Tizzle writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 2:10:34 PM

@Ranger - Congrats. I've never seen anyone with "the balls" to make fun of Armstrong.

@PP - Yes, Chris Walken can do whatever he wants.
Tizzle writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:00:58 PM

"What he's doing, if his claims are honest, makes me sick."

Geez Mink, really? He's a goofy old man, who has given us nothing but great performances. That's what he does. I think we can give him some clothes, I'd say the studios are basically his retirement home.

Anybody remember the Three Amigos, when they were fired from the studio and lost everything they owned including the clothes they were wearing? Well, whenever Walken gets too old to do this anymore, they'll probably take everything he has. So let him have this. Please Mink. Let him have it.
telur writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 12:08:36 AM

"For example 'Batman,' when I was shooting it I got very interesting clothes and accessories. On my last day of shooting I had already thought a long time about what I would like to take with me. I had so beautiful cuff links. When I had finished my last scene and went back to my dressing room everything was already gone. Everything!"

---> they know you will steal it, Chris
vaodsi writes:
on December 24th, 2009 at 4:58:24 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!
SantiagoLady writes:
on January 1st, 2012 at 10:23:41 PM

Interesting topic. But it seems to me that the alleged misdemeanor has not even been proved.
First, in a lifetime of interviews, sometimes Mr. Walken's answers seem intended for entertainment more than information.
Second, if Mr. Walken steals all his clothes, we all should be able to notice that, unless he is storing everything in his basement. Apart of a black jacket alike to "King of New York"'s one, and his eternal blue scarf that could come from "Dogs of War", he seems to wear always the same plain clothing. Anything coming from one of his movies would be worth-looking (Heaven's Gate, The Prophecy, Excess Baggage), noticeable (Click, Hairspray, Envy), or outrageous (Julius Caesar, Sleepy Hollow, Balls of Fire!).
Can anyone of you identify something he has worn in the last 10-20 years as coming from some specific movie?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved