WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Man Who Inspired "Rain Man" Has Died

Posted: December 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Man Who Inspired "Rain Man" Has DiedSubmit Comment
Kim Peek, a gifted "savant" who could memorize a book after reading it once and the man who inspired the Oscar-winning film "Rain Man," starring Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise, has died of a heart attack at the age of 58.

His story prompted Barry Marrow to write the story behind the 1988 film, which won four Academy Awards, including best picture and a best actor for Hoffman.

Savantism is not a formally recognized medical condition but it is often associated with developmental disorders such as autism. Savants tend to have a deep knowledge of a very specific subject such as maths.

Medical tests reportedly determined Peek did not have autism but a rare genetic disorder, which affected his mobility and social skills but gave him an unusually good memory.

"Rain Man" told the story of two brothers, Charlie Babbitt, played by Cruise, and Hoffman's Raymond, a savant with an incredible memory for figures. It was directed by Barry Levinson.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
NatG83 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:36:20 PM

He went to that big K-mart in the sky.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:36:55 PM

82 - 82 - 82...
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:37:20 PM

I'm an excellent driver...
makingcircles writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:38:28 PM

And the good folks at K-Mart rejoice....
el-ray writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:41:47 PM

Brillliant film RIP Kim Peek
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:43:36 PM

It really is a nice, timeless piece to watch.

RIP Mr. Peek!
nope.com writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:48:50 PM

*dead* ringer for Roger Ebert
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:50:12 PM

Except Mr. Peek could pick a f*ck of a lot better movies for his Top 10!
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:51:22 PM

It's Ebert's smarter twin brother!
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:51:47 PM

(@mink - lol... I already thought that).
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 7:09:22 PM

Twisted minds think alike, I guess.
lost_addict writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 8:47:08 PM

i guess he'll never get to see 'rain man 2-going full retard'...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:55:36 PM

"Man Who Inspired "Rain Man" Has Died"

RIP George W. Bush!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:02:42 PM

@ eViL.kEv2: LOL!
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:12:48 PM

I'm petty sure Bush never read a book, much less memorized one.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:19:40 PM

Maybe "Presidency For Dummies"...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:21:23 PM

Dustin Hoffman looks nothing like him!?

I have never seen this film, its always been on my 'one to watch' list.

R.I.P
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:22:46 PM

Burned one, maybe, but never read one..
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:25:45 PM

RIP

And Mink Obama's (aka jackass) bible is presidency for dummies. GW just couldn't read.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:37:00 PM

Jeff, I was a big fan of the Dumbass in Chief. The guy had balls for a while. Shock and awe, liberating nations, putting the military to good use freeing people and killing bad guys. Seemed like the kind of guy we had with Reagan, but without the humor or class. Or intelligence.


And then he just pussied out. His last four years were a joke. The sh*t he did with the budget and Iran just pissed me off. The guy had a chance to irreversible restore American pride and permanently piss off all the handwringers, but he went soft.

And now we have Doctor Doolittle in the White House, the guy that can't pass sh*t but perhaps gas. One year in and he's done nothing. What a loser.
triggax writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:41:58 PM

Wow, since its been deleted, ill say again, that mother f*cker looks a lot like Mink and Rangers drunken one night stand love child... I dont know... He looks like a butt baby to me...

AIDS.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:50:43 PM

Trig, don't hate the players, man; hate the game.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:09:23 PM

Anyone know how you win a nobel peace prize?

Make a bunch of promises you can't keep and apologize to the world.

oh yeah and hate america.

jeffw1978 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:10:15 PM

sorry mink I read PPs comment about the book and for some reason (could be the hangover) typed your name.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:11:04 PM

Everyone knows the Nobel Peace Prize is a joke, jeff. Giving Obama the prize hurt their credibility immensely. And they're too selfish and stupid and disconnected to know or understand.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 12:28:47 AM

for the record, and all jokes of the "retarded" element aside, i caught this PBS special (or whatever the f*ck broadcasting company it is now) that was about him and his father touring the country and wow, this guy could do some amazing things with his brain. my condolences go to his family, and anyone who's ever had the pleasure of meeting him.
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:13:03 AM

I think Peek was (is... I doubt he's really dead) a Romulan Spy!
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:53:59 AM

The Peace Prize is what its always been. World peace means alot more than just the absence of conflict. Sometimes it means resolution for the downtrodden. Its easy for people to forget that Afghanistan was once a nice play to be.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 2:40:53 AM

"Its easy for people to forget that Afghanistan was once a nice play to be."


When? back in the f*cking 30s?? The place has been a nightmare for decades. Only now does it have a future in the modern world. Before 2001, it was a pariah, a backwater place to raise poppy and get your hands sawed off. It was a sh*t hole before the Soviets invaded. Nice place??? Are you kidding me? Yeah, National geographic took some quaint pictures there once. That's about it.

"World peace means alot more than just the absence of conflict."

Yeah, it means a whole lot more than sitting on your hands while singing 'We Are the World' out of a mouth corner.

Bush should've got the f*cking prize. The guy did a hell of a lot more for the world by bringing out of the darkness two godforsaken hell hole despot-runned Mid East and Asian countries.
Kill-the-director writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:38:17 AM

anyone else think roger ebert looks like this guy?
Bigcheese writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 5:57:15 AM

This is kinda pointless but i watched Rain Man for the first time on saturday.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 6:20:22 AM

I keep hearing Soundgarden's 'Spoon Man' song in my head, something like "Rain Man, come together with your plan, feel the rhythm while you can".
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:34:34 AM

All i have to say to this is.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkQrqbBOw34

and

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwE2cFN3QdY&feature=related

that is all, gotta leave the table, watch Wapner!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:48:36 AM

Boo f*cking hoo. I didn't even know the guy existed. We had a savant that used to frequent the bar where I used to work. If you told him your date of birth, he could immediately tell you what day of the week you were born. It was his only trick. I wasn't impressed.
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 8:05:14 AM

Yeah. 1-trick retards should get the sh*t kicked outta them!
Fixxer35 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 10:10:14 AM

SACdaddy, my 'savant' (distant) cousin prefers to spend his knowledge on things like ghosts. While I, too, am not impressed I always have to smile like hell whenever I see him.
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 11:11:07 AM

Try punching him.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 11:17:24 AM

And who are the people that give away the Peace Nobel Price? The norwegians...
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 11:58:27 AM

It's kind of unsettling that you supported the Iraq War, which was completely useless in scope on a nation that never harmed us, yet you don't approve of the war in Afghanistan, which is actually a humanitarian mission against the Taliban with the secondary aim of capturing Al Qaeda.

and yes, Afghan culture used to be completely Buddhist, with religious tolerance and women being treated as equals. We just need to topple the Paki government as well and let China rule the entire territory. Then we'd never have to sweat over Iran again. They'd be someone else's problem and we could stay the f*ck out of there.
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 11:59:56 AM

back to the subject, yes it's very sad the Kim Peek died. I've been reading a book on autistic painters all week, so it's a bit rattling to think about living life that way.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 12:10:28 PM

RIP
Tavobore writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:32:37 PM

Was he Roger Ebert's brother?
"The man who inspired Rain Man"... Maybe that means Rain Man was normal and after he saw this guy started acting autistic.
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 7:43:37 PM

"i guess he'll never get to see 'rain man 2-going full retard'..."

lol


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved