WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roger Ebert's List of Best Films of 2009

Posted: December 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roger EbertSubmit Comment
At the end of every year, movie critics start putting together their lists of best films. Roger Ebert has been doing that as well, and today he has released choices for best "mainstream" movies of 2009.

Ebert mentions that he enjoyed more than just ten films from this year, but given the fact that he had a negative reaction to his list of twenty films from 2008, he decided to keep it at just ten this time.

On the list, you'll see several non-mainstream movies, but they are at least ones that you have heard of. No big blockbusters made it, not even "Avatar." But Nicolas Cage's work appears twice. Check out Ebert's choices, listed alphabetically, below.

* Bad Lieutenant

* Crazy Heart

* An Education

* The Hurt Locker

* Inglourious Basterds

* Knowing

* Precious

* A Serious Man

* Up in the Air

* The White Ribbon

Source: SunTimes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:45:52 PM

I can't believe this guy is still alive!
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:46:49 PM

no avatar or star trek....i dont care much for that list
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:48:05 PM

Waiting for that heart attack... he needs one
Jojotocujo writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:51:43 PM

Avatar was his honorable mention (or as he calls it, Special Jury Prize).
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:00:08 PM

I think he was quoted as saying: 'Special j*zzy Guys!' as he left a San Francisco gay bar drunk.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:00:51 PM

I've only seen Inglorious Basterds, Knowing and The Hurt Locker of those movies, but I have to say, Knowing doesn't belong on any "best of lists".
TheShwillham writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:00:55 PM

Knowing?! Seriously, Ebert. Seriously.
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:02:02 PM

Woah wait... he has 2 Nic Cage movies on here? f*ck OFF!!
rocketman writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:03:30 PM

He looks like hes made of plastic?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:07:49 PM

KNOWING?!

wtf.
SeWerin writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:11:40 PM

Bad Lieutenant is so incredibly bad, WTF?!?! Knowing is not bad, but it's simply mediocre, well below mediocrity.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:15:11 PM

This old f*ck is off his can!

Knowing?!?!? Is he kidding us?!?!?!?!

I know we've had our share of Nick bashing on here lately (re: his finances). And I like a lot of his movies actually. Lord of War, Windtalkers, Matchstick Men, etc.

But knowing?! Nick did his usually 'crank it out, nothing spectacular performance' shtick. And 'Knowing' even started out decent. But as I've posted on here before, that movie had one of the DUMBEST second halves to a movie (like the past love interest in Hanc*ck... so much for he being the only of his kind)... it seems like the writers were on a deadline, and cranked out a sh*t 2nd. half to the movie.

Knowing... if you haven't seen it, don't bother. Yes, it DOES suck.
BREALZ writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:16:48 PM

Now I know why Cage is so f*cking broke, he's been paying off Ebert for years!!
Horsemoney5 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:25:32 PM

Precious was dumb....but Hurt Locker was awesome best scene was when he broke down in the cereal aisle
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:32:28 PM

From a Scientologist's point of view, "Knowing" is a wet dream come true.

This is a part of Ebert's review:

"The plot involves the most fundamental of all philosophical debates: Is the universe deterministic or random? Is everything in some way preordained or does it happen by chance? If that questions sounds too abstract, wait until you see this film, which poses it in stark terms: What if we could know in advance when the Earth will end?"

I suspect he was getting his d*ck sucked by some female Scientologist as he wrote that. If that's the case, well, good for him, he's exchanging reviews for sex. Smart man.

Otherwise, he's completely out of his f*cking mind.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:36:03 PM

@PP - if that's his review of he movie, then he watched a different 'Knowing' than I did.

Leave 'Aliens' to Cameron and out of Cage's films.
ValiaVeweth writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:36:31 PM

Knowing?

SERIOUSLY?
Foop writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:37:27 PM

I realize I´m the only one, but I enjoyed the hell out of knowing, and I´m glad to see someone give it credit. While it hardly redeems Nicholas Cage´s last 5 years as an actor (or however long it´s been since lord of war), its a start. I can´t wait to see Bad Lieutenant.
masKritic writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:37:38 PM

I loved Knowing i thought it was a great story. I thought Basterd was good too. I want to see Up in the Air so badly and A Serious Man.
ian_918 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:59:13 PM

Knowing sucked balls. All it did was leave me with questions like "Why did i watch that?" and "Why didnt i notice how retarded that was?" and i also made the following statement at the end.. "highly unlikely..". Well on another note IB was awesome i still want to see THL. And i have heard mixed reviews on Nicks performance in BL. But usually Nicks movies are just for people with down syndrome.. Which it looks like Roger Ebert does have. Jesus christ that mans cheeks are more red than a porn stars ass after a nice butt f*ck.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:02:09 PM

LOL!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:07:07 PM

@ Ranger:

A woman with her mouth on a man's d*ck can make the guy say some very stupid things.

I once had a chick giving me a blowjob and she made me say I loved her. She wouldn't give me the happy end unless I said it.
Talk about some serious emotional blackmail, uh?

I really hope Ebert went through something similar with some c*ck-sucking Scientologist around his d*ck, or else, he may just have lost any credibility he still had left.


BTW: The "I love you girl"? I came on her face and had a talk with her after, explaining why we should remain just friends, because she was to good for me.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:09:16 PM

lol.

I hope by 'friend's' she cut off the sex and only came (and not the good way) around 4-5 days a month for you to become her emotional tampon to listen to her whine like a bitch carpenter?!

Me thinks Ebert's best shot for a hummer is a shop-vac.
ian_918 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:09:29 PM

@peterparker- You should have told her you two need to remain just friends..with beneifts. lol.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:23:49 PM

Or for your convenience, just handcuff her to your furnace and avoid future conversations altogether.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:24:35 PM

Well, she said the L word, so no, she's off my booty call list.

Besides, her cousin would have nothing to do with me, unless I broke things off, so it was like an investment for me letting her go.

She became a toxic asset.
ian_918 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:31:42 PM

The cousin goes into the hole and before you know it your screaming at her saying.. "it puts the lotion on the skin!" lol.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:38:22 PM

@ ian_918:

LOL! Italian chicks, gotta love'em!
ian_918 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:40:44 PM

But i dont think they like lotion that much? hahaha
RandyTheRam writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:47:48 PM

What the f*ck dude, 'Knowing'?!?
Bad Lieutenant was a badass movie though. Especially with all the sh*t Nic Cage has been putting out lately its good to see him get back to his 'Leaving Las Vegas' roots with Lieutenant.
lawman writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:07:49 PM

Why does Ebert look like a ventriloquist’s dummy?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:14:01 PM

I want to see Bad Lieutenant, Crazy Heart, Precious, and Up in the air. Hurt Locker, Inglourious Basterds, and A Serious Man were excellent. Never heart of the white ribbon. No interest in An education. Knowing was god f*cking awful. No district 9 or star trek? he's losing it.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:14:10 PM

@ lawman:

Lol! Good catch.
But dummy is right, since he probably has L. Ron Hubbard's arm up his ass manipulating him.
Tavobore writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:19:10 PM

@ rocketman
"He looks like hes made of plastic"
That's called a Surrogate, He really is 20 years older. Maybe he's disapointed he couldn't see Greta Garbo or Audrey Hepburn in the big screen. Critics should be fired when they're 65 yo because they can't even understand new stories, LOL
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:36:17 PM

No The Road? WTF Ebert, seriously? Inglourious Basterds made it, oy vey! I'm sorry but IB is not working for me. I'm always curious to see Nazis and I'm a WWII nut but that movie man, hard to swallow or take remotely serious in any way.
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:42:42 PM

@Murphyslaw

White Ribbon won the Palm D'or at Cannes this year. I've read the reviews...doesn't really interest me. Seems like an uber-serious art housey movie. Michael Haneke's previous movie, Cache, was excellent, however, so I'll probably check out White Ribbon whenever it becomes available here.

Personally, I'm much more excited about A Prophet, the Grand Prixer at Cannes this year. The director is Jacques Audiard, who brought us the excellent The Beat That My Heart Skipped and Read My Lips, and this one's supposedly his best yet. It's a crime epic set in a prison, and the premise sounds like it's my kinda movie. Who doesn't love a good prison yarn.

An excerpt from IMDB:

"When it comes to hard-bitten crime cinema, Jacques Audiard has few equals in Europe, and his violent, gripping prison drama A Prophet shows him extending his range with unimpeachable command. The story of a gauche young inmate who rises through the criminal ranks to become a formidable player, A Prophet works both as hard-edged, painstaking detailed social realism and as a compelling genre entertainment."
PirateDave128 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:13:04 PM

Knowing........really?
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:23:59 PM

Knowing was utter trash. The film made absolutely no sense, and had zero to do with 'chaos' versus determinism. Those were just poor-used words tossed into a scene meant to give the film a glaze-thin patina of science.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:30:36 PM

But Knowing did gave us an important insight how Cage raises his children. Watch Knowing and every time Cage bad-mouth his child or tries to get rid off him, take a shot. Promise you, by the end, it all makes perfect sense (you just can't remember it the next day)
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:42:08 PM

The guy is a bona-fide idiot. He doesn't think that a person that believes in creationism or 'new age concepts should be allowed to be president, which not only undermines many of the beliefs of this county's ex-presidents, who in fact were often anything but secular humanists, but such a criteria is fascistic and antithetical to the American belief in individual freedom.

And then, on top of that, the dolt signs some Boulder Pledge, which is an agreement to never buy anything offered via junk mail.

Now look, if you need to sign a 'pledge' to not buy sh*t advertised and offered through junk email, you need more than a intervention. You need a f*cking brain.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:51:32 PM

'Why does Ebert look like a ventriloquist’s dummy?' - lol.
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:16:41 PM

I did not see any of thes film's thay all looked lame to me.
tcu21 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:23:40 PM

Knowing f*cking suckkkkkeedddd. Such a cop out, lame ending. And Rose Byrne's overacting made the movie hilarious rather than dramatic. How do you leave off a huge achievement in sci-fi like 'Avatar', but put on trash like 'Knowing'? James Cameron must have pissed him off and Nicolas Cage must have blown him or something.
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:24:37 PM

this is dumb...why wont this guy die
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:35:25 PM

I can't argue most of his choices on his list (because I haven't seen them), but by just having 'Knowing' on his list proves this guy knows f*ck-all about movies (I don't care how long he's been doing this). He probably listed Nick's movie to get Ebert cattle to boost DVD sales to up Nick's royalty checks.

Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:18:34 PM

Because I haven't seen ALL of them (that should have read).
pomme writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:32:17 PM

"knowing"?! is it a joke?
thedotsays writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:58:58 PM

Who f*ckin cares?!?!?! He shoulda been dead years ago!!!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 7:33:49 PM

Knowing? Really? He's lost his f*cking mind.
irvsteroni writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 7:39:09 PM

This from a guy who appears on the drive-thru line displays at Steak and Shake (at least here in Kennesaw, Ga) which quotes him as saying "This is the best burger I've had since I was a kid" and several others. Yeah, a real critic you are Mr. Ebert.
triggax writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 7:59:05 PM

Knowing? f*cking knowing?

You fat sh*t head... There goes every f*cking ounce of your credibility... oh wait... you lost that when you aids infested lover died...
Flav writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:07:25 PM

Christian Mckay (Orson Welles) for best actor.... NOT George Clooney.
Flav writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:08:40 PM

'Sugar' and' Up inthe Air' are my top four of 2009.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:19:12 PM

The guy supports liar Micheal Moore. Nuff said.

Oh, and he's not gay, he just looks that way. Instead, he's married to a fat, black woman.

Can you imagine the two of them having sex?
lost_addict writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:33:23 PM

he gave 'bad lieutenant' 3.5 stars and 'Avatar' 4 stars...wtf is wrong with him?why avatar is out of the list and bad lieutenant in?
Kurskij writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:34:01 PM

An Education, A Serious Man, The White Ribbon, The Hurt Locker. Yeah, mainstream as hell! I mean, come on! No way these movies fit better in the art-house category! Half of the world have seen them!
FBO writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:35:52 PM

THERE WERE TEN GOOD MOVIES THIS YEAR? What the hell, where were they?
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 9:12:13 PM

'Can you imagine the two of them having sex?'

Ummm, no Mink... no until now, but THANK YOU (and... up backs-up dinner!).
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 10:08:27 PM



I'll bet 5 bucks, Ebert strokes before Xmas.

Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 10:09:25 PM


ANY takers have to pay me double if he dies.

I guess I'm just all... KNOWING!

minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 10:13:37 PM

"I'll bet 5 bucks, Ebert strokes before Xmas."

If I was married to his wife, I would've been stroking for years.
feeheelee writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 10:45:38 PM

May I be the 51st person to say KNOWING!?! Knowing? Really? Why not Wolverine? G.I JOE?! Hell while we're at it Transformers 2! What a quack!!
Kill-the-director writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 6:11:02 AM

have never agreed with any of his reviews. just like i have never agreed with any review johnathon ross hass given.


seriously knowing? someone put this guy in a care home!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 7:50:54 AM

Don't know if I've mentioned this before but Knowing actually saved my car from a major hail storm. As a sign of appreciation I've vowed never to say a mean word about it. In fact any film that saves me thousands of dollars in damages makes my Top 10 of 09 list too. In all seriousness, it actually wasn't that bad.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 10:19:17 AM

Aliens SAC... I mean... ALIENS for the 2nd. half?!?! Talk about a: 'Oh-oh... deadline is coming up and we're f*cked for finishing this script!!!' story.
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:07:06 AM

This was just a bad year for film's i cant realy think of anything that i realy liked?

proboly the only movie i liked would be Halloween II & that evin let me down.
Hobo Michael writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:08:08 AM

& that dude look's wired in that pic ? lol
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:17:13 AM

He looks weird in any pic.
rabid writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:19:03 AM

Roger Ebert is a sad old turd.

My favorite film of the year was definitely Avatar, with Inglorious Basterds 2nd, and Hurt Locker 3rd.

Bad Lieutenant and Knowing weren't terrible films at all, but they're certainly not in my top ten.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:38:34 AM

Well Avatar not making the list, and Knowing on it... shows this guy is f*cked-up and done.

'Movie Expert', an oxymoron such as 'Military Intelligence'

SACdaddy writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 4:33:14 PM

@Ranger: Like I said, I'm obligated to not criticize this movie no matter how bad the ending was. Who cares if the director basically screwed up an otherwise decent film by pulling the oldest X-file trick in the book. He did still kill Nic Cage and save my convertible, so my lips are sealed.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 5:56:16 PM

@SAC - completely respect your position.

I'm not even blaming the director... it's the script... the director just followed it.

Just saying this shouldn't be on anyone's (but your's) Top 10 List. The ending (2nd. half of the movie) wasn't a 'Ohhhh... clever twist!'

It was sh*t.

But I hear you and your position.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:18:15 PM

Ebert, you will get a negative reaction to the 10 you listed up there.

And Knowing was a horrid movie that made no sense to me at all.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:20:18 PM

Ranger: I'll take you up on that bet but instead of 5 bucks you have to clean my cat's litter box for a year if you lose.

And since Christmas is less then a week away, I don't think I'll lose. *grin*
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:20:49 AM

No kitty litter... so let's say 10 bucks?!

Tick-tock Mr. Ebert...
Lander writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:36:40 AM

Goddammit, what all those critics find in motrherf*cking Precious? That's the dumbest movie ever f*cking made. I mean, there's this fat n*gger who is raped by her own father. She can't write and read b.t.w.
jetdog writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 4:25:45 PM

i'm no critic... thank God..
CICI99 writes:
on January 4th, 2010 at 10:48:39 AM

Knowing...really? come on son.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved