WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Topher Grace Will NOT Star in "Venom" Spin-Off?

Posted: December 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Topher Grace Will NOT Star in "Venom" Spin-Off?Submit Comment
Even though fans did not respond positively to Venom in "Spider-Man 3," Columbia Pictures is still pushing forward with giving the villainous character his own spin-off movie. And right now the question on everyone's minds is whether Topher Grace ("That '70s Show") will be brought back.

During a set visit to the "Predators" reboot, MovieWeb had the chance to ask Grace if he would be interested in returning to the role. "Um, I don't know. I guess," he replied reluctantly, adding: "I haven't heard anything."

To clarify, the site followed-up by asking if at this time he has any plans to appear in the film. "No, I don't think so," answered Grace.

The studio already has two drafts of the "Venom" script from "Zombieland" writers Paul Wernick and Rhett Reese. And just recently hired Gary Ross (Seabiscuit) to do a re-write and possible direct.

If Columbia Pictures has yet to approach Grace, there is a good chance that it is planning to replace the actor. At the same time, it doesn't seem that Grace is all that interested in reprising the role anyway. Maybe we will finally see Venom done properly, even if the plan is to have the character be an anti-hero, rather than a killer or villain.

Source: MovieWeb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:45:54 PM

Thank God!!! But then again... will Venom be attached to Eddie Brock?
rabid writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:56:18 PM

This article is completely misleading. I read the interview and Topher does not say he's not coming back.
They ask him first if he's heard anything new, and he says no. Then they ask...
"So no talk?" --interviewer
"No, I don't think so." -- Grace

I'd count on him being back.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:08:26 PM

After all the bashing Spiderman 3 recieved, and Grace especially, I don't think the studios dare to but him in the lead. And even if I do think he got more blame than he deserved, I can't see him as a leading man, even less as an anti-hero.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:09:12 PM

Cool, he's gonna be as far away from production as far as I'm gonna stay away from the movie when it comes out!
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:10:40 PM

Dammit.... Damn WP for lifting my spirits and then crushing them
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 1:17:39 PM

lol.
makingcircles writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 2:07:26 PM

Good. Get Sam Worthington to play Eddie Brock (cue Trueman j*zzing his pants). Kidding...anyway I'm wondering how they are even going to get this movie off the ground.
MattC903 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 3:40:46 PM

note the ? before reading fellas and gals.
fsport81 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:09:35 PM

donna said she would'nt give eric any play if he did venom again lol
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:20:45 PM

Venom. Box office poison.
warlord writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:37:23 PM

sence he died at the end of spiderman 3
BlahblahIV writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 4:43:03 PM

I'll catch flak for this for sure, but I really liked Topher Grace as Eddie Brock Jr. (please note the Jr.)

Yes, the original incarnation of Venom/Brock was a muscle-bound hulking behemoth of ass-kickery, but since 3 went with the "Ultimate" universe version of him, or at least based their venom on him, I think Grace was a good fit.

Now, I'm not going to say that Venom was well executed in the film, because that'd be a gross over-exaggeration. Had Grace and the character of Brock/Venom had an entire installment to themselves, I think he would've done a fantastic job as that character.

As far as a Venom-specific spin-off, Mink's got it right, poison. It would take something of a miracle to make this movie work, which is a shame since Venom is a very cool character.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:20:41 PM

Whats going on with this fagget, he is and always be Eric F. from That 70 show, and he is in Predator? OMG just put, on that sh*t Sam W. and Ryan R. and you will have "Brokeback Mountain 2 the Anal party has begun"

And no more movies of spiderman with Sam R. they all sucks!
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:57:03 PM

Yes spiderman three did suck, but honestly I don't think Topher did a bad job as Eddie Brock..If anything that movie has just god aweful directing
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:36:10 PM

Kindlegolas: No the directing did not suck, the script sucked.

If u have seen "The Surrogates" Then u know when to spot bad directing.
guillotine117 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:53:20 PM

he better f*ckin not
lost_addict writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:02:48 PM

Topher Grace can suck my d*ck
Flav writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:11:50 PM

What a name!! Topher sounds like a Gopher, anyway.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:15:20 PM

Gopher Trace...
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:25:30 PM

Gopher Face.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:28:58 PM

You can call him and the Sandman, in Spiderman 3, the Twofer Waste.
TheGrittyNitty writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 8:32:01 PM

Haha, Trueman cracks me up with every post he makes. Is that a real person, or is it just some guy playing a character? Cuz it's effing hilarious.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 9:58:21 PM

Is that a yellow walking bear that's getting ready to f*ck Grace in the ear?
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 11:03:09 PM

Im very real my friend, i just speak whats is my mind with no regret of the consequences, and tapher grace sucks! Worst villian ever! Sorry he wasn't even a villian he was more like a gay harasser in SPM3
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 11:07:16 PM

Trueman, you rock!!!
You're the pride of Spain, bud. Keep it up.
triggax writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 11:11:03 PM

You're all gay for Gopher Face...

LOL BITCHES! EL. OH. EL.....
Peter Parker writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 11:14:41 PM

... that yellow bear sure means business!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 11:45:11 PM

Thank you my friend, i am just doing my work you know what im saying? No more Remades no more crappy movies we want good dialogues and good histories and no more crappy actors! Like ...
pjmbdm writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 12:11:32 AM

Mink I'm really glad you like 24. Had to post this here (the area of your most recent post) out of fear you may not revisit the Bond thread. haha. You sir, have good taste in tv.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 12:24:46 AM

Thank you sir. 24 is very awesome, and I eagerly await season 8, though I do think this will be the last season, before perhaps the movie. What a shame...
triggax writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 12:35:24 AM

24 is the only network cable television show that I will ever watch... Bauers the man... Love the sutherland... dope show..

Mink, did you watch the straight to DVD movie they did for 24? It was really f*ckin' good..
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 12:54:34 AM

Redemption? Yes sir I did, and it led straight into Season 7. Both rocked. I like how Jack went to Africa after Audrey's mental destruction, so that he could find himself, get some peace, do some good to atone I think for all the hard decisions he had to make in the years previous. Like 'wacking' Ryan Chappelle. You know that one has to tear at him.

They really do torture the hell out of the character. It's like Christ's trudge up to Golgotha.
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 1:17:31 AM

I f*cking love 24. I also think that this might be the last season, but you never know with TV shows.

I'm gonna both hate and love 2010, when it comes to TV shows that is. One of my favorite shows,Lost is ending, and two of my other favorites ,24 & Supernatural, might also be ending. Some shows that have gotten considerably better than their previous seasons might be ending - Heroes (a very good chance this is the last season, shame b/c the show is pretty good again) and Smallville (has a fair chance of getting axed, although the ratings are good for CW).

It's f*cking sh*t that "reality" shows and sh*t like American Idol & Dancing with the Stars continues to thrive these days.

Well I'm way off topic, but I don't think a Venom would be a hit anyway. Topher Grace was okay in SP3 and to be honest I didn't hate Spiderman 3 like everyone else.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 1:30:50 AM

I don;t hate SM3 either, but you have to admit it's character mess. It's tries to do way, way too much in the time it has.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 5:23:40 AM

@ mink....i think they had plenty of time. it was a two and a half hour film. they just put much unnescessary sh*t in it and left out significant elements of SM. i believe it was producers who kept pushing raimi to add this and do that that just f*cked with the film. least this time raimis balls dropped down and is demanding full control.
Joker1282 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:05:20 AM

as usual i always late to the party!! but anyways Topher Grace as venon ummm i think he was good at it and if a sequel is in question
in my opinion they should go for it def.!!
rabid writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:04:55 AM

I really enjoyed Spider-Man 3 and thought it was possibly the most well directed of the three movies. It could have been much better had the writers explained where the suit came from. People unfamiliar with the character must have been scratching their heads.
Topher Grace did a great job in his role, so I'm looking forward to seeing him reprise the role in a solo movie.
pnkntndr writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 11:45:55 AM

I was quite happy to see that rusty c*nt topher burst into flames. He wasn't bad as a Brock jr I suppose but I think they need to get Howie Long and his flat top in the movie as Brock.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 2:35:03 PM

Meh. Don't care but if they do go through with filming, please put in the effort to make it worth my while to watch it. I wouldn't give a rats ass if it stared a Jonas brother as long as the plot and FX were good.
The Dini writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 9:12:27 PM

Sucks for him. Guess the doushe bag will have to wait for the "that 70's show" motion picture
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 1:49:10 AM

I really doubt they'd cast someone different in the role, especially if they ever want him to return in the spidey franchise.
The above article is a misquote. He never said that he doubted he'd be in the film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved