WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Talks "X-Men: First Class"

Posted: December 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Talks "X-Men: First Class"Submit Comment
Bryan Singer recently confirmed that he will be returning to the "X-Men" franchise by signing with 20th Century Fox to direct "X-Men: First Class." He has now sat down with Variety to talk about what fans can expect.

"This is the formative years of Xavier and Magneto, and the formation of the school and where there relationship took a wrong turn," Singer said. "There is a romantic element, and some of the mutants from 'X-Men' will figure into the plot, though I don't want to say which ones. There will be a lot of new mutants and a great villain."

He also revealed that he has been flirting with the project since last summer, but the deal came only after he handed in his detailed treatment for the film. Fox immediately signed him and has now hired Jamie Moss (Street Kings) to write the script. The project is said to be a top priority.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:54:47 PM

woah wait... the writer of Street Kings? that movie was TERRIBLE... WHY?!
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:02:37 PM

how about x-men 4?...i gave up on prequels a long time ago except for batman begins and a select few others...pretty much says that most prequels are sh*tty
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:12:15 PM

Well, it's Singer, so at least it won't be garbage. Boring, perhaps (probably) but not garbage.

And what sucked about Street Kings was the acting and the direction. Not really the writer's fault.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:33:47 PM

"This is the formative years of Xavier and Magneto, and the formation of the school and where there relationship took a wrong turn,"

What type of relationship?

The scene where Xavier is taking a shower and then Magneto walks in. At that point Xavier reads his thoughts and sees all the taps start to straighten out. Magneto justs smiles and drops some soap.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:01:28 PM

I think Magneto just had too much lead in his pencil when he boned Xavier, and that's why the professor is in a wheelchair.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:47:28 PM

They should just make this a Saved by the Bell spoof instead. Night Crawler can play Screech.
BigUnit writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 6:43:58 PM

street kings was baller
pnkntndr writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 6:44:00 PM

@synthetic

X-men 4? Really? Did you see the third one?
barley_cat writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 7:26:40 PM

Lol yer, the title "Last Stand" gives off a few clues...
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 7:29:19 PM

Should have been X:Men: The Last Chance.
barley_cat writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 7:32:42 PM

Haha mink. Or X-Men: We gave up
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 8:34:12 PM

"i gave up on prequels a long time ago except for batman begins"

What the f*cking f*ck??? It's been over four years since the goddamn movie came out and there are still people that think it was a prequel? Yes, Heath Ledger played a younger version of Jack Nicholson's Joker. Just ask Jack - he was confused about the whole thing too.

minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 9:24:07 PM

Synth is wrong about BB being a prequel, whereas it was more a reboot of Batman in a wholly different style, but he's right about prequels in general. Usually, they do suck.
turnage76 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 9:38:35 PM

Singers fighting scens SUCK.. this is about action and a little drama.. i hope he will not screw this up. he made Logan look like a rookie in both of his movies when it came to fighting.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 10:22:35 PM

Ermmmmm, so were gonna adapt a movie from possibly one of the worst X-men universes ever...

This has about as much chance as Uwe Bullocks, making a successful movie...

Not even Singer can save this.

Can we really just stop the sharades and bring on X-Men 4 & X-Men Origins: Magneto please
BitterPeace910 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 11:08:13 PM

how about Marvel get control of all their franchises so we don't have to see sh*t like this.
Castor Troy writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:07:56 AM

x-men and x-men 2 give me hope for this. superman returns gives me great fear ! could be nice to see one of these flicks that isnt wolverine centric though so will keep an open mind, for now
Makidian writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:53:58 AM

As Minkowski said, at least it's Singer. If they let Ratsh*t Ratner back in for any X-Men film someone needs to get fired or shot.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 8:52:39 AM

X-men 2 was the best comic book-movie until TDK came along. So in Singer I have faith, but that's about it.
WV-Films writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 9:39:38 AM

Actually Batman Begins was a loose prequel with "sequel options." That's why the villains were still ones that hadn't been used before in a batman movie. The studio didn't want to take a complete chance with a publicized reboot, so they made a one-off movie with Batman 1 tie-ins. This is a very arguable debate as there many inconsistencies with BB and Batman1. (Joe Chill, the Bat-signal, etc...) But one line of dialog in particular sets this movie as a prequel rather then a reboot. Bruce Wayne tells Lucius Fox that he's going to need a faster, sleeker car during his birthday party. This line however was removed from the movie after the theatrical run. Chris Nolan has even admitted that the Joker card at the end was there to set up Jack Nicholson, and at the time, no sequel was intended.
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:43:06 PM

There's no reason to make a Magneto solo movie. Just cram it into this one. Make sense.
I enjoyed X-Men 3. I see the problems with it, but you can't really blame those problems on Ratner. He did the best he could coming onto the picture late, and there wasn't really anything he could change at that point.
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:47:28 PM

Batman Begins was not a prequel. They had said from the very start it was a reboot of the character.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:32:16 PM

@ pnkntndr...yes i saw the third one...i didn't like how it turned out...it was great to see returning characters...but since these writers are changing sh*t like always with 'x-men: first class' by adding rogue in when she doesn't appear until later, why not write x-men 4 and make it a big 3 hour long movie sort of based off of the 90s cartoon on apocalypse and mr. sinister?...i mean we saw no jubilee, no bishop, no morph, no archangel, no good phoenix, no cable, can't remember a lot of others that were on the cartoon...things like that only make me appreciate the cartoon more as studios are too cheap to give fans even a fraction of what they want
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:37:59 PM

another thing i hated about x-men movies is the studios being a bunch of idiots...when they made x-men 3, they didn't want to put gambit in the story because they felt his character was too similar to wolverine or cyclops...another p*ssy move by rich ass airheads, which should be up for the fans to decide...so they put him in the prequel and royally screwed up gambit's place in the x-men world...he'd be way too old for rogue by the time she showed up
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:58:15 PM

Just because Rogue appears in First Class hardly means that she will be one of the first students. She's already established as a latecomer, so it's pretty obvious that she'll be narrating it or something from the X-future.
I dont think Wolverine ruined anything about Gambit. Gambit was kept captive and experimented on an as a child by the exact same person who was keeping and experimenting on Cyclops. All the film did was change that from Sinister to Stryker. And it worked pretty well.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 2:00:41 PM

this is a pretty funny thought...how many times do fans have to tell studios to follow the comics/cartoons better until they get it right?...the sad thing is they never even tried that...why else did i like the dark knight so much?...because two-face never looked so close to his cartoon drawings...basically i got what i wanted to see with two-face as a fan...in spider-man, i would've liked venom more if he was played by a better actor, that, and if he looked 3 times bigger than spidey
AshTrey writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 4:59:33 PM

IDK IF THIS WAS SAID ALREADY, CAUSE I'M NOT READING ALL THAT CCRAP... BUT THE FIRST CLASS SHOULD BE THE 5 X-MEN FROM THAT ARACDE VIDEO GAME. I believe it was beast (WHEN HE IS NOT A BLUE HAIR BALL), jean gray, cyclops, dazzler, and colossis. They should also include the teachers like Professor X, Morph, and possibly an introduction of Storm. Dazzler should die at the end, and Beast should start turning blue/hairy towards the end. THERE IT IS HOLLYWOOD.. DO THAT AND I THINK PPL WOULD BE HAPPY.
minkowski writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 7:34:02 PM

There's no f*cking way BB is a prequel to anything but TDK. I don't know where people are getting this crap. If BB is a prequel to the Keaton movies, then why the hell is there two Jokers? Who both die at film's end? Why at the end of BB not know who the hell the Joker was? And again in Batman, he again didn't know anything about the character?

They are two different lines of Batman films, and they have nothing to do with one another save for sharing of some characters. And in fact WB has explicitly labeled BB a reboot, which is exactly what it is.
tcu21 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 10:58:20 PM

I read on MSN that Josh Schwartz ("Chuck" creator) is going to be writing the script. They said they want it to be a darker movie.


http://paralleluniverse.msn.com/features/movies/singer-returns-to-xmen/story/?GT1=28140
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 3:49:47 AM

Am I wrong for not giving a damn about the XMEN Franchise? I mean I thought the first two were incredibly boring and I found the last one to be painfully stupid but at the same time more exciting than the other ones. I mean the other ones drag on and on, and my god do they need a better art director. Everything from the sets, to the suits, and makeup, all of it is just ordinary and dull. Such a shame because the material is extraordinary (in a sense that you know their mutants and its this huge human vs mutant thing happening)
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 5:20:18 AM

"I thought the first two were incredibly boring and I found the last one to be painfully stupid but at the same time more exciting than the other ones."

As much as we vehemently disagree on everything else, you're the FIRST person to ever agree with me on X:Men movies. Everyone else talks about how Singer made such masterpieces, and I am thinking, yeah he did, masterpieces of boredom. And then Last Stand comes along and you have plenty of action, almost non-stop, but the fanboys whine because mutants die or whatever. And the sscript is insipid.

So yeah, LS was stupid in plot, but the f*cker Ratner didn't write the script, he just directed it, and he gets all the sh*t for some odd reason, even though LS was by far more action packed then the first two bore-a-thons. Watching them is liking PBS beg for donations back in the old days (the 80s).
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 9:41:27 AM

I agree with you Dark Knight & Mink

While there was a lot of character development for the first 2 movies, it wasn't balanced fluently with the action, while Last Stand just did the opposite, the action over-glamorised the character development, well the thin strand that was put in it.

I see the first 2 x-men installment as fairly similar to that of Harry Potter & The Half Blood Prince, which had over the top character development and hardly any action and when the action did occur you didn't really give a damn
But the 2nd X-men was the best IMO

They should just follow the source material, i mean its not that hard to stay faithful to it all.


rabid writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 12:51:39 PM

I can't be too harsh on the first couple of X-films. They were really testing the waters with Marvel's heroes in film, and they definitely sacrificed some elements (like costumes) to find a wider audience. It worked though. This decade of superhero film glut mostly stemmed from Singer's first X-Men. Part 3 tried to escape the formula, Wolverine did, and I assume First Class is a really good chance to do clean up the first 3 X-films. Let's hope they do.
I dont really mind them not following the source material. 2 hr films can't evolve the same way as comics written over half a century.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 2:07:21 PM

Whoa whoa let's be respectful, Blade came first, and it was so much better than the first XMEN.
rabid writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 6:18:32 PM

Yeah. but the majority of moviegoers still don't know Blade as a Marvel character. X-Men was really their first costumed hero movie.
telur writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:37:13 AM

gimme X4, f*ck prequel
WV-Films writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:03:58 PM

No that's still wrong. See at the time prequels were "in." With the Star Wars prequels doing so well, it was the obvious marketing strategy to advertise BB as a prequel. It wasn't until after it did well that WB decided to go ahead and officially announce a reboot of the Batman franchise. Here's is some proof.

http://tiny.cc/VajKa

http://tiny.cc/ELbyC

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/8146869/


fsport81 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:35:34 PM

it should be called the "New Class", and should have iceman,rogue,jubilee, shadowcat and colossus
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:39:16 PM

But I guess my question is why even think about X4? Putting the fanboydom aside, they did kill off a few of the main ingredients that are X-Men. Everyone knows that Wolveriene is the favorite, thus the Wolvie movie. What are they going to do? X-Men 4: The New Class? Just like a lame Saved by the Bell spinoff
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:41:06 PM

I really don't know if they can make a Jubilee... Rogue is Jubilee with Rogue's first ability
pnkntndr writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:44:16 PM

@ Ashtrey

Do some research. The arcade game had Cyclops, Colossus, Wolverine, Storm, Nightcrawler and Dazzler.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved