WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jerry Seinfeld to Replace Conan O'Brien on "The Tonight Show"?

Posted: December 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jerry Seinfeld to Replace Conan OSubmit Comment
It seemed like a good idea to hire Conan O'Brien to host "The Tonight Show" as Jay Leno's replacement. But O'Brien's huge ratings didn't follow him to his new home, and now, PopEater is reporting that NBC executives are already having conversations about replacing him.

The site says that these are just conversations and nobody has been approached. But the one name that keeps coming up as a potential new host is... Jerry Seinfeld.

"NBC just can't carry on like this," said a network insider. "'The Tonight Show' has lost 52 percent of its viewership in just one year. The November ratings will be the show's lowest in 15 years. They would be idiots to not be having the replacement conversation."

The idea to bring in Seinfeld stems from the fact that he had a successful relationship with NBC in the '90s and has previously agreed to be the first guest when NBC moved Leno to 10pm. But even with a bit of history, getting Seinfeld will likely be a long shot.

Meanwhile, NBC is denying everything. "Completely false," said a network spokesperson. "There are no conversations happening. Conan is the host of the 'Tonight Show.'"

Source: PopEater


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:43:53 PM

NOOOOOO! O'brien is f*ckin funny. Dont replace him
Feanor224 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:49:50 PM

HORSE sh*t!!! This story is full of crap. Conan O'Brian has been ratings gold at his previous time slot. Leno's show has had awful ratings, but there is no way they would replace a Household name like Conan this soon after he started the show. This is a wild rumor/speculation.
Rich k writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:51:06 PM

They wont replace conan.
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:52:30 PM

i love jerry but come on seriously... there is no replacing conan!
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:02:37 PM

If they replace O'brien I'll stop watching NBC I only watch it for the office on Conan. They get treat scrubs like sh*t and can't develop a good comedy or drama there is nothing great about NBC anymore. Conan is the man
Ranger writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:05:03 PM

I KNOW Conan has a BIG following. Sorry fans, I've never found him funny... he tries to hard.

Who sucks worse? Jimmy Fallon AND Seinfeld (and yes... I know ofthe HUGE success of The Seinfeld Show).

Who currently my fav? Craig Ferguson.

These figures aren't that far off (if I'm the typical John Q viewing public). I watch The Tonight Show about 97% less now since Conan (sorry folks... I'm old school. Loved Carson, and Leno was like warming up to Picard on TNG Star Trek... it took a while... but I warmed up to him. Leno is no Carson though). I'll watch now if I like his guest(s) for that show... not out of habit.

Wow... getting punted from a talk show. That's gotta suck!

As for Fallon... I wouldn't piss in his ear if his brain was on fire. A generous host (Letterman) makes jokes at his own expense. Twats like Fallon make fun OF their guests, over-talk (interrupt) them, and try to 'out-funny' their guests... which Fallon fails miserable at.

NO offense to Conan fans. But I see some truth in the above numbers.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:15:26 PM

I don't give a sh*t I don't watch late night talk shows anymore they all suck as of late, but I hate jerry seinfeld evenmore (someone please kill this f*cker so I don't have to f*cking hear him ever again, kill dandy while you are at it). Once again could care less (kill seinfeld) since they all really do suck. (kill seinfeld) Thats all.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:15:51 PM

Kill seinfeld
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:25:50 PM

just reading the headline makes me appreciate conan more...whether if it's true or not
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:48:00 PM

Amen, someone kill that unfunny nasally prick. Take him and the racist and the short fat retard and flush them all down the toilet. Save Elaine for me, though. I have my uses..
Jabba_RT writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:50:56 PM

@ Ranger:

I totally agree. Craig Ferguson is the sh*t! I like Conan on occasion.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:09:46 PM

@Dylan McKay:

most of your comments about movies or t.v. are negative, who rapped you? what's wrong with you dude?
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:21:07 PM

It could be because most television and films are sh*t. But I guess Luke Perry can speak for himself. f*cking idiot.

Oh, and I think the word is 'raped', not 'rapped'. Pretty sure Luke Perry is neither the topic of a rap song or a Christmas present, except perhaps in your fantasies.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:30:08 PM

ARE YOU f*ckING KIDDING ME?

No offense to Seinfeld but Conan IS f*ckING HILARIOUS AND AWESOME! Either give him his own show or DON'T REPLACE HIM! If they do replace him give him his own show like Leno!
victor arroyo writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:45:57 PM

@Dylan McKay:


"Pretty sure Luke Perry is neither the topic of a rap song or a Christmas present"

hahahaha LMAO! that was funny, the rest was 'meh' not funny.

"It could be because most television and films are sh*t."

Perception dude perception; you are to young to be that angry son.

@Ranma-Irias:

damn straight.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:55:52 PM

kill seinfeld.....seriously kill him.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:56:18 PM

did I mention kill seinfeld?
timmer writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 6:51:00 PM

kimmel is the best late night talk show host. he is consistently funny and deserves some props. conan is next best, do not replace him. ferguson is a great interviewer. fallon is terrible, how do the roots put up with that guy? dave is alright, but i watch him very often.
Ranger writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 6:55:37 PM

@timmer - I forgot to mention Kimmel. I like him because he's modest. Funny... I thought he was less funny than his co-host Adam Carolla on The Man Show, yet it's Kimmel that got a career out of it. Same as Ferrell on A Night at the Roxbury... I thought Katan was funnier... yet Will got the career.

Clearly it's whomever sucks the best dandy that gets the career.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 6:59:32 PM

"Perception dude perception; you are to young to be that angry son."

Reality, dude, reality. You are too old to be that stupid.
bacci40 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 7:57:19 PM

fire conan and leno and hire....HOWARD STERN

LESBIANS EVERY NIGHT

LESBIANS EQUAL RATINGS

and conan has never been funny

you bitches
lost_addict writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 8:16:24 PM

i like conan more on his old show,he could be more himself and do silly things like masturbating bear etc.
BlahblahIV writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 8:47:53 PM

This sounds crazy, but I've always thought Kevin Spacey would be a great host. Every time he came on Leno he would do a great Carson impression. That alone, meaningless, but I've always thought he'd do a good job.

He just gives off the right vibe, at least he does for me lol. He just seems like he would have a good time telling jokes and interviewing guests.

Obviously never gonna happen, but just a random thought haha.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 9:12:01 PM

if this does happen lets hope conan goes back to simpsons and saves that show
masKritic writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:10:02 AM

I hate Kimmel. I hate letterman. I like Ferguson. I like Fallon, Jay Leno is ok his humor is kind of corny to me. Conan is my all time fave he is better than everyone else he carries his monologues so much better than anyone else and he connects the best with the audiences. I've see every episode since he took over for Jay Leno. The only reason Conan's viewers arent watching is because Jay Leno's sh*tty new show. Its lame and people switch over to watch something else. The Tonight Show just needs a stronger lead-in. If you don't like Conan then you're probably too old to take his humor and definitely too old for Fallon. I love em both.
warriors187 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:28:29 AM

Come on fellas. Conan is the man. I do wish he would of stayed at Late NIght though, but he's not doing bad and I'll take him over Jimmy Fallon or David Letterman. I am a huge Conan fan, not gonna lie...
AND how the hell can you not like Seinfeld? Have you seen him of late on Curb? Genius lol
warriors187 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:36:16 AM

@Ranger
You ever listen to Adam Carrolla's radio show? lol It gets me to work in the morning
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:04:51 AM

seriously?? keep letting Conan do his thing *ssholes!
Makidian writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:56:57 AM

Maybe it's because they decided to put Jay on five nights a week at ten instead of just letting him retire. His show is draggin the ratings down of every other show that's on through the week. At least Conan is actually funny.
Ranger writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 5:18:17 AM

@warriors - no... haven't heard Adam's show. But from what I saw on The Man Show... I'll bet it's a pretty funny listen.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 5:46:13 AM

f*ck all of them, especially lettermen that unfunny f*ck. Repeating a joke doesn't make it any funnier.
Colbert is the man.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:09:05 PM

that would be the best jerry, the best!
Ranger writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:19:51 PM

@Ryan - agree with you there. I didn't consider Colbert (as his show is more of a parody, news format over a talk show, as per this article). But Steven Colbert is an AMAZING performer!
BlueMobius writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:33:49 PM

NBC dug O'Brien's grave, sadly, by putting Leno at 10:30pm. What were they even thinking? One, Leno's show sucks and two, people just go to bed a little earlier because they already got their late night fix. Conan was never even given a chance to win over Leno's fans. Serious shame.
Vlahka writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 12:05:32 AM

Conan definitely got screwed with how things turned out. He doesnt even have the freedom of his previous show. But if ever he were to be replaced, and I think he really should leave and make his own show with his own rules, I'd want Will Ferrell only.
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 12:41:23 AM

First of all. Conan is f*cking funny as hell. I can't believe that the ratings are falling. Before him I would usually watch Letterman, and now I usually watch Conan. If anything, the only drag on the show is Andy Richter. If they would get rid of Andy the show would be just about perfect
Irrelevant writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 4:55:31 AM

I'll also weigh in with my 2c ...
I like Craig Ferguson and pretty much don't care for anyone else on late night.

Whatever happened to that guy who used to host the Daily Show ... Before John Stewart ... Wasn't it another Craig ? He might be a decent Everyman type for The Tonight Show if Conan's not working out.
hsb52070 writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 8:42:35 AM

I could go either way with this story. If it's just rumor and wild speculation it wouldn't surprise me. However, if there's truth to it, that wouldn't surprise me given NBC's other programming choices in the past few years. Honestly, the majority of their programming sucks.

If Conan's ratings are dropping there are three reasons why:

1) Most of Leno's fan base were older, in the 50+ range. An age group Conan has never appealed too. However, that's okay since the buying power has always been in the 18-49 age range and the age group advertisers want. However, they're far less of this age group than the 50+. You're gonna have drop.
2) Conan has been muzzled. While the show is still edgier than Leno's version (whose version was even less edgier than Carson's to be honest), it still doesn't have the edge Conan did on his previous show. So less of a following/transition from his previous show.
3) Finally, whose brilliant idea was it to put Leno on as lead in? Very few people are going to tune into 2 or even 3 (3 if you count Fallon) late night shows. Further, the 18-49 age group DON'T watch Leno. So they don't tune in at 10:30 and don't bother to tune in after EITHER.

Whoever did the programming for late night on NBC this season is an idiot. Prove is in the ratings.
dispute writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 9:13:12 AM

Say it isn't so! Steinfield is so boring and whinny when he speaks... too bad you can not persuade Jay to return. Tonight Show was a classy show when Johnny Carson was there. You knew you hit the big time when you were on his show. Let's bring the Tonight Show forward not backwards. This is a bad choice.
warriors187 writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 11:44:58 AM

He doesnt even have the freedom of his previous show. But if ever he were to be replaced, and I think he really should leave and make his own show with his own rules, I'd want Will Ferrell only."

Will Ferrell??? LOL I agreed with you 100 percent until that last line, man.
Seinfeld would be awesome as the host, but like I said b4, I'm a really loyal Conan fan, and I think the guy is doing an amazing job

timmer writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 1:02:44 PM

@Irrelevant
you're thinking of craig kilbourn. he had the late late show before ferguson and who cares what he's doing now.
gotsghostrider writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 12:35:27 AM

i like conan but im not a fan but i definatly kno there is no replacing him with his ratings and fan base
Hazzah1007 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 5:24:18 PM

The first couple of years of Late Night w/Conan, the critics were harsher than harsh and the ratings weren't much better.

Leno left and took the fogies with him. But eventually, Conan's sense of humor, his restrictions, his fans will all find a happy medium.

Besides, I doubt Seinfeld would commit to something like the Tonight Show. He doesn't seem like the type. Besides with his nonchalant way of being 'uncaring' for lack of a better term, he's certainly not wholesome.
m5dmb28 writes:
on January 2nd, 2010 at 3:52:48 AM

@BlahblahIV
i agree with you actually, i think spacey would be a pretty good talk show host! conan ain't going anywhere though, as he shouldn't because he's awesome. this story is complete media-driven bullsh*t trying to spin the rumor mill.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved