WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Says He Sold "Terminator" Rights for $1

Posted: December 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Says He Sold "Terminator" Rights for $1Submit Comment
While promoting "Avatar," director James Cameron was asked a lot about his opinion of "Terminator Salvation," the fourth installment in the franchise that he created.

While speaking to the Toronto Sun, he revealed that he didn't find the movie "mind-blowing," adding: "I wish I hadn't sold the rights for one dollar."

We know that Joss Whedon jokingly offered $10,000 for the rights to the "Terminator" franchise, but if Cameron sold the rights for one dollar, that may actually be a good deal. But why did he do it.

Apparently Cameron sold the movie rights for only a buck as part of an agreement that would let him (a struggling filmmaker) direct the first installment, which became his first big hit. "If I had a little time machine and I could only send back something the length of a tweet, it'd be - 'Don't sell'," he added.

Back to Cameron's review of "Salvation": "Yeah I did see it. It probably didn't get a fair day in court because I had to watch it at night when I got home from work, over a period of two or three nights," he told UGO. "I think Sam [Worthington] is remarkable in the film because, well, I think Sam is remarkable in anything he does. Interestingly, I think McG did a good job in the sense... I think he was almost too referential to the mythos of the first and second film. He over-quoted them in a way. It didn't feel to me to be enough of a reinvention. I mean the thing we did with the second film is that we reinvented the first film completely; spun it on its ass and made the Terminator the good guy, and came up with a whole new concept for a villain, it felt fresh. I didn't feel the fourth picture was fresh enough. It also lacked a certain stamp of authenticity because Arnold wasn't in it. I mean, he was in it briefly, digitally, but that's not the same thing."

Click here to read our "Terminator Salvation" review.

Source: Toronto Sun, UGO


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Goober3000 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:51:27 PM

my grandma sold me my first car for a dollar...then I got in a car accident...
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:53:36 PM

@Goober

HAHA that sucks man....
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:00:02 PM

Cameron speaks the truth.

"I think he was almost too referential to the mythos of the first and second film. "

Exactly what I said. McG just tried too hard in all the wrong places.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:10:00 PM

I'd buy that for a dollar!
Ranger writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:11:21 PM

There are a LOT of fans of T2. The first one is still my fav. Arnie never should have been a good guy (as in #2). The first movie (the reason there was every ANY interest in sequels) played him best (and always) as the bad-ass, non-stop, killing juggernaut. They EASILY could have made T2 with (now) popular Arnie being the bad machine again.

Well... let's see what the next installment will bring.
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:32:26 PM

let james cameron's words here be a lesson to any other aspiring directors that wish to take on this franchise
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:34:16 PM

"I mean, he was in it briefly, digitally, but that's not the same thing."

Then build a f*cking time machine, I mean, you suckered fox into giving you 500 million for something that's only grossed 3.5 million on its first day.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:42:53 PM

The 'day' is not over with, moron. It's just now barely FOUR in the afternoon, central. Not even FIVE on the east coast.

And it didn't cost 500 million.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 4:46:57 PM

Good summary by Cameron. T4 was not a bad flim but tried to rely on the magic of the first two films by pointing to them at every turn.

That picture is Cameron and Van Halen I take it.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:05:00 PM

"Van Halen"

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

... ha!
BlahblahIV writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 9:06:00 PM

Spooky, I gotta admit, you're persistent. Everytime I read an article about Avatar, I tell myself, "Guarantee Spooky has one of the first couple comments, and its bashing the film."

My only question is, why do you bash the movie in EVERY article even remotely related to the film itself? We know you don't like it (to put it lightly), we know you have ZERO intention to see it, so why bother coming into every article bashing it?

And don't get me wrong, I'm not being trying to be confrontational, or to start something with you, I'm just confused as to why you do it. I mean, EVERY time man. I guess maybe you're hoping to "convert" somebody, or show them the light?


Anywho, I think Cameron is spot on about T4. I mean, I enjoyed the movie, but it's nothing special. McG definitely tried too hard to throwback to the first two films, using one too many quotes, almost cringe-inducing. Yes, at its base level, its a pretty good action movie, just not a great Terminator movie. McG just seemed to lack his own creative direction, if that makes any sense. I mean, with T4, all he really did is fill a gap between two existing points. It just didn't ADD anything to the franchise/story, in my opinion.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 5:52:22 AM

im pretty confident i mistakenly identified mink as the illogical movie basher, when it was spooky the whole time... woops, sorry minkowski.
Ryanlawson writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 5:56:23 AM

ps, blabla already said what i would have said.
except didnt spooky give avatar a 6/10... lol, for a second i thought he changed his 3 years of preemptive bitching. once again his bitching preemptively about the box office... sigh.... at least he doesn't want to f*ck Sam Worthington like Trueman. haha
warlord writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 1:47:50 PM

dumb ass
popcorn writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 3:01:52 PM

when are they going to make T3?
minkowski writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 10:31:05 PM

"im pretty confident i mistakenly identified mink as the illogical movie basher"

I'm pretty sure 'logic' has zero to do with something so subjective as movie tastes, and in fact, Mr. Lawson, the application of 'logic' to subjective tastes is the height of illogical thinking.

I do believe the word you are looking for is 'irrational'. And yes, that would be Spooky, because much unlike him, I can always offer a very specific REASON, or set of reasons, for not liking something, a film, hence the irrationality behind his mindless Avatar hatred, which seems to have dissipated, leaving him a vacuous shell.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 3:52:43 AM

I think it was a good idea to sell because it cemented him as a director. He made the right decision you can't always have your cake an eat it too.
Irrelevant writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 5:07:50 AM

Unless you happen to be the offspring of Francis Ford Coppolla, everyone in the film business has a story like Jimmy the Truck Driver (now the revered James Cameron).

Even if you're "good" you end up givin it away for a time while you're getting started ... And Jimmy traded merchandising dollars for a really big break. Nothing wagered nothing gained ... And Jimmys doing fine with absolutely nothing to complain about.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 10:42:55 PM

Well T3 sucked and Arnie was in that one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved