WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man 4" is Having Villain Problems

Posted: December 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man 4" is Having Villain ProblemsSubmit Comment
During the making of "Spider-Man 3," director Sam Raimi did not want Venom to be the villain in the movie, but Sony convinced him otherwise. The result, a big mess. And now that "Spider-Man 4" is ready to head into production in March, the studio is once again getting in Raimi's way.

IESB has learned that the new installment, being called "Spider-M4N" by Sony, has been put on hold while Raimi and executives figure out which villains will appear in the film.

Raimi is pushing for Vulture (possibly played by John Malkovich), a character who can fly through the air and brandish his sharp wings to attack our hero. But Sony believes that there are plenty of other more popular villains that he can use. The studio doesn't have any characters in mind, but will take whichever one is selling the most comic books right now. And it's not the Vulture.

Because of this disagreement, the fourth film has come to halt, leaving the script unfinished and in need of villain. Only time will tell whether the March start date will be pushed back. Stay tuned.

The Vulture seems to be a favorite for Raimi, since he was pushing for the villain to appear in "Spider-Man 3" instead of Venom. Vulture and Flint Marko would have been cellmates who escaped together, with Vulture pressuring Marko into committing crimes.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 102 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SondrMan writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:41:09 AM

"
The Vulture seems to be a favorite for Raimi, since he was pushing for the villain to appear in "Spider-Man 3" instead of Venom. Vulture and Flint Marko would have been cellmates who escaped together, with Vulture pressuring Marko into committing crimes." - Wow.. you know what? That would've actually make sense.. maybe the third woulde've been a good movie if Raimi was the boss..
georgecostanza writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:41:28 AM

Just do The Lizard damn it!
rocketman writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:41:57 AM

Surprised? anyone? no?
Bigcheese writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:43:22 AM

Vulture would Kick Ass.
VDODSON writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:43:25 AM

The Lizard looks like a fool, prowling the city in a f*cking labcoat.
Lodead writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:44:13 AM

@georgecostanza: your right!

They should bring Carange!
his is really scary, which is perfect for Raimi.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:47:16 AM

Seriously, the Lizard is a great villain and has been built up over the last 2 films. Go ahead and use him. Nothing against Raimi's preferences, but The Vulture is kind of idiotic. An old, bald guy in a green bird suit with razor-sharp wings? I'd rather see another hour of Topher Grace as Venom while Tobey the Spider Queer cries like a baby in the background.
VDODSON writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:54:02 AM

If they would leave Raimi the f*ck alone, he could make this his masterpiece. After the giant turd Spiderman 3, people are hesitant about another one. If its not fantastic, the public will not watch it. Or I should say, they will not see it at the theatre, but instead on their monitors within the confines of their homes.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:56:41 AM

I think the boat is sinking for this sh*t stop making crappy spider man films rebot the series!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:07:40 AM

@Rocketman

Nah mate, not suprised at all!

Seriously, just get the f*cking Lizard, it aint that f*cking hard!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:18:25 AM

I have respect for Raimi, but the Vulture seems like a lame-ass villain. An old dude who can fly? That's no match.

"Look up! It's the Vulture! He will crap on your cars and mess up your haircut! Beware!"
pnkntndr writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:23:38 AM

Well Lodead if they didn't rape Venom in the bum, Carnage would be amazing but... They did and forgot the lube
Peter Parker writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:25:08 AM

"Spider-Man 4" is Having Villain Problems"

- Nonsense! How could they have problems? They have THE f*ckING EXECUTIVES trying to figure out what villains should be in the movie.

THE f*ckING EXECUTIVES!!!!

Executives running the creative process. That's a bulletproof plan right there.

What could possibly go wrong?
Derp88 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:37:52 AM

Sounds like a bunch of monkey spunk
WV-Films writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:49:15 AM

The plot should be a movie is being made in NYC that MJ is staring in, Mysterio is the villain, and then fine-you can add Vulture or Lizard for subplot purposes.
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:59:01 AM

Exactly what about the Lizard has been built up in the last two films, other than we know who the character is. We've only seen him interact with Peter Parker. There hasn't been any indiciation in the films that he has a longing to 'grow' back his arm.

I could see utalizing the character if such was the case, but it would be pretty awkward to me if the 4th film just starts out with Dr. Connors doing some crazy experiments.

Just my take on it.
MontoyaWA writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:59:38 AM

Errrrrrr!! three films...
barley_cat writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:01:21 AM

vulture...i agree with that!
clevelandsteamer writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:18:45 AM

Yeah Raimi had his 3rd movie ruined by not being able to choose the villain! Had nothing to do with spiderman dancing up and down the street and clubbing. THE WHOLE MOVIE WAS A COMBINATION OF CRAP!
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:00:09 AM

If Vulture were to appear in the fourth entry, I would like to see another second-rate villain join the mix. Vulture's not badass enough to lead a movie as the main and only villain. It seems like the majority of the people who saw SPIDER-MAN 3 thought of it as a letdown. I agree. So wouldn't it make sense to add a well-established and fan-favorite villain to the fourth movie to get the fans excited again and to restore their hope? My vote is for the Lizard. Very interesting background story and Dylan Baker's a great actor whose role in the last two Spider-Man films has been expanding. However, Lizard has always been my second favorite villain. Scorpion is my number one favorite. Some incarnations of him have been pretty lame, while others were pretty awesome. Although, it makes more sense for his storyline to appear later in the series. On a side-note, it would be ultimately great if the writers found some way to bring back Dr. Octopus to the series. He was the best supervillain on screen.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:07:33 AM

lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard lizard! how many times must we plea for the f*ckin lizard to be the main villain? we just need one to leave room for peter parker to fix all hes done in sm3 like fix his relationship with mary jane or possibly bone gwen stacey til he c*ms web.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:08:48 AM

Makes sense for them to figure it out now, instead of changing the villain after filming begins like they did last time.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:24:47 AM

the only problem spiderman has is Raimi.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:25:30 AM

...and Kirsten Dunst teeth
barley_cat writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:27:48 AM

kirsten dunst teeth lol, dont tell me you wouldnt want to screw her?!
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:31:19 AM

@MontoyaWA - how do we know that Connors (during the first 3 movies) hasn't been conducting experiments to grow his arm back?

As for The Vulture. A 'bird'... right? So Spidey shoots his webbing on him from afar and he falls to the ground. Wow... fade to black and roll the credits. The Vulture doesn't have the speed or strength to match Spidey.

Just bring in The Lizard already. He could be what Venom wasn't. 9-10ft. tall, weight half a ton+ and can kick some ass. Don't forget the updated Lizard would be something of a Velociraptor.

I really wish these 'executives' would leave the creative process to the artists and just butt-out and count beans.

I feel sorry for Raimi and the politics he's fighting (same politics with the exec's that killed Roddenberry whilst making Star Trek TNG - and the exec's promised him no interference were he to come back... ummm, right).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:37:46 AM

@Trueman - I'm sorry but how dare you say to reboot the series. The 3rd one sucked only because of the stupid studio. The first two were glorious and, in my opinion, the second one is the best superhero movie ever made, regardless of what some people wpuld say, because Dark Knight was good for about the first 2 hours and then they drew it on AGAIN for another 30 minutes. Raimi needs to be given a chance to go back to the way he did the first two with a good story and we have to trust him on the Vulture story. I mean there were probably a lot of people who thought the first one would never make it and look what happened. Let Raimi do his film and, for all we know to satisfy Lizard fans, this could all be a ploy to keep us from trying to figure out the whole plot years before the movie even comes out. I mean Raimi said early on that if he did a fourth one the Lizard or Morbius were at the top of his list. Suddenly, what he changes his mind after like two years of saying he wanted either of those two. Coincidence? I think not!
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:38:44 AM

Raimi is the only man who can direct Spider-Man. His comedic direction matches the books perfectly. It would be nice if he had free reign over it all. But at the end of the day, that's someone else's money he's spending, so they are always going to add their two cents worth.
victor arroyo writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:46:54 AM

@barley_cat:

I would f*ck her, but for the love of God, check this out:

http://www.clevelandleader.com/files/kirstenteeth.JPG
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:51:11 AM

I'd still throw a high-hard-on into Kiki Drunkst.

Bragging rights around the Pub table with the Buds.

Little bit 'o angry 'revenge sex'! Lube?! THIS is for being a BITCH to Peter... BITCH!!!!
NatG83 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:52:01 AM

@MontoyaWA

Doesn't Dr. Connors have part of the symbiote that was the black suit/Venom? That might be a window into the transformation.

However, I don't think that the Lizard alone can carry the movie as the enemy
victor arroyo writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:53:36 AM

@ranger:

hahahah lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:01:07 PM

I wouldn't Kirsten Dunst, but I wouldn't mind getting jiggy with her teeth. They're one rub-a-dub from getting one shade whiter.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:04:58 PM

Boning Kirsten dunst? For me, Maybe after a blunt and a 40.
nope.com writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:10:04 PM

Lizard, Shocker, Rhino, Mysterio, or the Shocker

... NOTHING else is acceptable

and don't bring up "what about Carnage?"

Symbiotes shouldn't be on film unless they get the designs right for movement, after the disastrous effect in '3'
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:10:19 PM

Or better (batter) yet... Gwen Stacy... mmmmm...

Bryce Dallas Howard - only prob. is she's now affiliated with Twilight (yeah, I just threw up a little too!). But taggin' her whilst Kiki stars on from a corner chair (half empty bottle of JD between her damp thigh), with her grips... 'What about me guys... what about me?! I'm a Hollywood Star damn-it... f*ck me!'
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:10:56 PM

stars = stares.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:11:41 PM

NatG83, you're right, he does. I bet that ties into the Venom movie somehow. That might even be why the studios would not want Connors to make the big change just yet.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:15:52 PM

I'm starting to think the studio won't give in to raimi's demands and he might just drop out. Dam, then what?
Jergyn writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:16:23 PM

f*ck THAT NAME...I MEAN "SPIDER-M4N" COME ON
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:22:14 PM

@johnny - I think they have Raimi by the wallet. But should he leave. I hope they would let this franchise die at #3. That's the best way to end it. With the black eye that is #3, so all the studio exec's with their prying can look at that dried up piece of sh*t (no, not you Chiefone... this time) forever.
BigUnit writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:24:13 PM

wish they woulda did the third film Raimi's way... that sounds alot better then how sh** three turned out.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:25:06 PM

Gotta agree with ya ranger.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:45:41 PM

I can see what the problem is.

Who would want a toy of John Malkovich?
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 1:29:15 PM

His parents?
realgirl76 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:12:23 PM

I think a John Malkocich Vulture toy is on Dandy's Xmas list, right next to the astroglide
realgirl76 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:12:47 PM

Malkovich, sorry...
Peter Parker writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:20:24 PM

"astroglide" LOOL!

If it's less than fist-size, dandy should be able to take it dry... and STILL have room left.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:31:50 PM

@realgirl - I said EXACTLY that (although lube as opposed to AstroGlide), and my post got yanked... sniffle...

lol.
NatG83 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:38:00 PM

It would suck if Raimi walks from this project. We all know the studio will sign Michael Bay for the replacement. At that point, every posted will be hemorrhaging from how many negative criticisms can be made.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:41:23 PM

I can't really picture Malkovich polaying the Vulture. I think that's probably just a bad rumor.
They had it right the first time round when Ben Kingsley was lined up for the role.
ThePhilosopher writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:59:32 PM

Just get scorpion already............ please??????
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:15:52 PM

@rabid. Really?

ConAir.
In the Line of Fire.

You have a problem seeing JM playing a nut-job?
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:17:36 PM

I'd like to see Scorpion and Rhino done in the same storyline. They couldn't use Justin Hammer because Favreau's using him, but there could be a storyline where Connors mutagenic dna injections could be used on several villains at once. I eventually want to see Kraven, and Kraven doesn't make much sense without some decent game to hunt.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:18:29 PM

I know he can play a nutjob, but the Vulture- unlike Spidey's other villains- is not a nutjob.
Mighte Migit writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:33:45 PM

just do lizard for f*ck sakes
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:53:01 PM

@rabid: Agree. It's an old man with wings. Completely different
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 4:02:34 PM

Vulture isn't a mad scientist, an imbecile, a mutant or an exile from society... He's a brilliant old criminal, completely sane. Spider-Man hasn't fought one of those types yet.
Not that Malkovich couldn't play him, but there's other actors better suited for the role. Malkovich doesn't even look like him that much.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 4:16:27 PM

After you been fighting a dude that consist of a mountain of sand and a meaner version of yourself, fighting an old dude who can fly doesn't seem fair.
And what do you mean by "John Malkovich doesn't look like the Vulture"? It isn't a "look a like"-contest. And if the picture in the article is anywhere near how the Vulture really looks like, I would say Malk fits the bill quite well. Just slap on some thick white eyebrows (we can shave off dandy's mom's pubes) on him and we got us a vulture.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 4:46:21 PM

Spider-M4N thats just bad when is croc getting his turn far out
Tyrkae writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 5:12:49 PM

Unless you got the sinster 6 stick with a single villan maybe introduce another one like Rhino and Scorpian (robbing a bank together) just not have the plot revolve around 2 villains uless Sinister 6
LegacyAR writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 5:24:02 PM

Come on Marvel/Disney, buy the rights back from Sony! I know its going to be expensive as hell because Spider-Man is Sony's cashcow but just do it.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 5:28:21 PM

Someone told me that Larry David was once in talks to play the Vulture. Now that I could see!
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 5:28:47 PM

As Spidey can pick up a city bus... he too would web-up The Vulture and paddle-ball that poor, old bald f*cker up against a brick wall. There... that's 10 minutes of the movie done. How about another 80 mins. of MJ guilting, and sh*tting on (and not in the good way) Peter, why low self-esteem/self-worth Parker is too gay to throw it into Gwen and the Landlord's daughter at the same time.

Make the Lizard a half-ton, 9 foot hell-lizard. Something out of Jurassic Park on steroids. Exec's stay out and for f*ck yourselves. And get this sh*t done before Tobey has his 50th f*cking birthday!
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 5:31:22 PM

Even Doc Ock shouldn't have been able to take ONE punch to the head from Spidey... his neck would break. He blocked a few punches with his tentacles (no Chiefone... NOT testicles, you crazy mad for men horn dog you!), but his body wouldn't have been able to take the building climbing etc. + the beating Spidey laid on him. The Lizard could actually stand up to Spidey.
Jabba_RT writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 6:47:46 PM

"Kraven doesn't make much sense without some decent game to hunt."

I agree with you, Rabid. Kraven would be great. Why couldn't Raimi just have Conners turn into the Lizard, have Kraven hear about all the mayhem, he comes to capture the beast and Spider-man tries to stop him because he is trying to protect Connors. Just like in the books. Classic.

johnny_boy writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 7:59:23 PM

You would think with how far we've come with technology that both sides would be begging for the lizard. We better not be screwed over because they wanna argue.
Eben1277 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:02:59 PM

The Vulture is one of the worst villains of all time.

And even realgirl is taking potshots at dandy now... that is just better than awesome.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:42:25 PM

"You would think with how far we've come with technology that both sides would be begging for the lizard"

Considering that one of the coolest non-CGI films to come out in the 90s was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, basically a bunch of guys in rubber suits, you'd think by THIS point, with Avatar set to evolutionize Cg character development in films, a f*cking Lizard bad guy in a comic book movie would be entirely within the realm of possibility. Instead, though, some would rather prefer to put Malkovich into a vulture suit with lots of screen green.

At this point, I think Raimi may have lost his nut.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 8:43:01 PM

green screen
disturbed01 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:51:48 PM

f*ckin sony
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:55:54 PM

The best route for them to go would be Lizard & Carnage in my opinion and bring in Kraven in as a sub villain.

I know they seem like a lot but these are the perfect villains for the next installment.

If you cant see the plot then your truly lost
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:59:51 PM

@RABID
I agree with you Rabid on the vulture casting decision.
Another 2 good contenders would be Tobin Bell or Frank Langhella
Eben1277 writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:01:02 PM

OH and I forgot to mention, Spiderman 2 was the worst of the three. At least 3 had Peter Parker trying act cool and actually looking like a bigger dork, and then treating his bitch like sh*t.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:09:10 PM

There's no reason the film can't have both Lizard and the Vulture. When Vulture shows up in the comics, its usually as a background character.
I liked all 3 Spider-Man movies. I didn't like the quickie treatment they gave Venom (can't even be bothered to show him come from space??), but I don't think any of them have been bad films.
BrandoFresh writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:18:02 PM

Oh come on Sony, just let Raimi do what he wants. He's already proven that he can make a great film out of Spidey.
Personally, I don't care for Vulture at all, I want Lizard, Morbius, Mysterio, Rhino or even the Shocker's secondary ass. As long as Raimi is doing what he feels is right, they should just sit back and wait for the money to roll in.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 10:24:18 PM

"There's no reason the film can't have both Lizard and the Vulture."

Character bloat is one reason.
CAPTIAN CRITICAL writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 12:47:50 AM

PLEASE LISTEN SAM : this is how to knock the ball out of the park.
begin the film with a bond like 10-15 min pre credit adventure w/ the scorpion ..have it be a knock down drag out fight with spidey victorious in the end.
THEN THE OPENING CREDITS
then begin a totally unrelated story with the MAIN villians being electro and the rhino..wow...spidey agianst a hulk sized rhino!!
PLEASE...NO LIZARD!..been there done that..we've all seen jurrassic park..the lizard is nothing more than a velociraptor in a lab jacket.
GET A NEW MARY JANE...dunst aint even hot enough to fight over anymore.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 2:01:48 AM

What's a little bloat in the Marvel Universe? The comic pages are exploding with characters.

Look at how many interesting villains are in a Star Wars or X-Men film. Nolan's Batman films each had 3 villains.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 2:49:15 AM

Nolan's Batman films each had one main bad guy, as any clean film should. TDK only had a second 'bad' guy in the third act. Batman Begins only had Ra's al Ghul, primarily.

Daredevil had primarily Bullseye.

X-Men: The Last Stand's primary villain was Magneto.

Spiderman: Green Goblin.

Spiderman 2: Doc Ock.

Spiderman 3....ugh. Like three and to no advantage. What a mess. Three villains and none of them fleshed out well. Harry was the only one with any real humanity.

Now, I just don't see Malkovich playing the Vulture as second fiddle to some other villain, so already we have two bad guys vying for screen space. Throw in Parker's moody Spiderman, Dunst's weeping willow of a woman, and probably a sh*t load of other characters and the story simply loses cohesion.

As Occam's Razor goes: entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

or

Entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity.
Ranger writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:19:04 AM

Tell that to the bacteria in Lohan's vag.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:53:21 AM

Batman Begins featured Scarecrow, Ra's al Ghul, and Zsasz. Dark Knight featured Scarecrow, Joker, and Calculator.

And those films were masterpieces in my eyes. Multiple villains can work. Look at how Curt Connors has existed through all of the Spidey films as just a background character. It doesn't have to be in your face... And there's been no confirmation about John Malkovitch being in this film, so the villain could be someone else entirely.
scarface85 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 10:45:28 AM

why dont they let raimi do his work? that why they pay him
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 12:11:27 PM

Speaking of character bloat, what about Iron Man 2? We have Iron Man and War Machine vs Hammer, Whiplash, Black Widow, Iron Maiden, a squad of Crimson Dynamos, Nick Fury and possibly Hawkeye, Madam Masque and Mandarin.
And we all know how fun that film is going to be!
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 1:51:06 PM

Care Crow wasn't a John Malkovich. That's just Celian Murphy. And he played the roll of the pawn, really a minor villain. As far TDK, yeah, the'r was more than one bad guy, but the point you are missing is that you cannot have two large villains chewing up the scenery. If they case Malkovich as the Vulture, I have a hard time believing that he'll just have a few scenes or play some sort of subordinate role, so then you toss in another major villain, and the two must compete. It's just a mess.

Sure, you can have one main villain, and then dress up the film with secondary and even tertiary villains. No problem. Happens all the time.

But again, by including Malkovich, a star that simply does not choose minor roles, especially not in big budget films, and then chucking in another MAJOR villain, you have issues with story focus.

It would be like having John Malkovich playing Black Mask and Liam Neeson playing Ra's al Ghul in a Batman film, with the two of them competing.

One top star for one primary villain. That's part of the formula, I think. Going beyond that just begs for a sh*tty film.

And let's not forget that stories have functioned fine for centuries on the practice of one main good guy and one main villain.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 2:11:49 PM

Are you really that certain that Malkovich is going to be in Spider-Man 4? The only rumors I saw mentioned him and Anne Hathaway, and her agent already denied her part in the movie, to which I assumed the Malkovich rumor was suspect as well.
It's a Raimi project. He's proven time and again that he doesn't need top billing to make a film fun.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 2:25:05 PM

Even with big star power it can work. Robert Downey Jr. squaring off against Mickey Rourke, Sam Rockwell, Don Cheadle and Scarlet Johansson. Do you mean that all of these actors are going to overwhelm the film and each other?
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 2:25:05 PM

Even with big star power it can work. Robert Downey Jr. squaring off against Mickey Rourke, Sam Rockwell, Don Cheadle and Scarlet Johansson. Do you mean that all of these actors are going to overwhelm the film and each other?
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:02:24 PM

Yes, but Cheadle, Johansson and Rockwell are supporting characters. They're not the main villain. They're there to fill out the roster and give the film some meat, and Cheadle isn't even a bad guy, so I'm not sure why he was included. We haven't even seen Rockwell yet, so I assume he's a fairly minor character in the film.

There should only be one main villain, and my contention is that if they are looking at Malkovich for the Vulture, then he's going to be a major villain. Malkovich is not going to take on the role of some subordinate underling.

And that's enough. No more. Add in some other guys to play off The Vulture, don't toss in a another competing major character like the Lizard or Mysterio. Only one of the characters, will suffer.

And we haven't even seen Iron Man 2 yet, so I think we should wait before we call it an unbridled success.

I also recall that Blade 3 suffered from massive competition between Snipes and Reynolds.That's what I am recalling here, not to mention the two Transformer abortions that suffered from character bloat, so much that so very little, almost none in fact, of the time was involved in developing them as proper characters.

I'm also recalling the Schumacher batman films. The first two Keaton movies were clean. Joker in one, the Penquin another. Sure, you had Catwoman, but she wasn't a main villain.

Then you got into Schumacher's films and you had Poison Ivy, Bane, Robin, Mr Freeze, the Riddler Two face, Dr. Chase, Bat girl...what f*cking circus! And that's why Spiderman 3 failed with fans and critics. Well, one good reason. character bloat. Keep it simple!
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:03:19 PM

....ONE of the characters, will suffer...trash the 'only'.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:04:28 PM

..Penguin...trash the 'q'
KirkLazerus writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 3:52:46 PM

Dude Cyrus the virus playign Vulture would be bad ass, John Malkovich would be bad ass
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:26:39 PM

i'd say go with the lizard...at least while dylan baker can play him...to me, it's a mistake to use a villain that fans could care less about...i know raimi is a fan of the older comics...but the 90s cartoon isn't THAT old...if we can't have carnage, at least set him up so he'll appear in future spidey films and be better than venom...and bring in more action/fight scenes, just not too many like transformers 2 did
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 5:45:33 PM

I kind of agree fairly with both of you MINK & RABID.

But you should have a primary antagonist, and then the secondary antagonist, which should have a motive or story arc partially linked to the primary antagonist or he should have a motive to destroy the antagonist.

Its why TDK worked so well, Joker made Dent what he was and this caused him to become the character he was because he lost everything that he held dear to him (Rachel), so he took it out on whom he see's who he believes is at fault, which was Joker, but in Two-Face/Dent's perspective it was Gordan.

J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 9:49:31 PM

Antagonist at end of first paragraph meant to be PROTAGONIST*
Makidian writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 2:04:51 AM

I think Raimi is awesome but wanting to use the Vulture seems retarded, he is bottom of the barrel villainy. He is f*cking D-list like Kathy Griffon. However, if anyone could make the Vulture cool it would be Raimi but that would be really tough. They alos need to take the 4 out of SPIDERM4N because, really does it need to be explained. I would be down with Carnage or Lizard and with the apparent visual masterpiece that is Avatar technology, I find it hard to believe they couldn't make it believable to transition between Connors and his Lizard form and it would be f*cking awesome.
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 12:50:37 PM

So many news stories for a movie that has had zero official announcements.
That_Genius writes:
on December 19th, 2009 at 7:33:53 PM

the movie didn't suck because of the villians...it sucked cause they got scrawny ass Topher Grace to play body builder...they didn't make his voice sound all bad ass...and it was just generally corny...and WTF @ killing off Venom...I mean Vulture is a cool character but Venom going to rykers and meeting Cassidy and turning him into carnage would have been so cool...I hate it when they stray to far from the source material...
rabid writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 2:07:30 AM

um... Eddie Brock wasn't a body builder. He was a photographer.

By the way, this story turned out to be false. The only reason the movie is on hold is because they're all getting two weeks off for the holidays.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 20th, 2009 at 12:00:44 PM

No way would that be an awesome story arc...That_Genius.

Cassidy has to break out of prison, i kind of did a set up to Spiderman 4 & 5.

In which the 5th installment introduced the Sinister Six breakout of Ryker Prison, but only Carnage is the baddie, the Sinsiter six come in the next installment.

If anything we should see Cletus Cassidy get taken down, and i'd like to see him escape out of Ryker Prison along side, Roderick Kingsley...


BTW has any one read the first treatment to SM 4 by Abataire...Its FEATURES.....only Lizard & Roderick Kingsley
fsport81 writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 5:33:54 PM

i say bring on shocker and maybe electro
Hazzah1007 writes:
on December 26th, 2009 at 5:41:43 PM

I have no clue about the whole history of the Spider-man comics...but all I hear or read about is people wishing for "Lizard." Not to mention the character is right there thru all the movies...so why not?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved