WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

William Baldwin Came Very Close to Playing Batman

Posted: December 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
William Baldwin Came Very Close to Playing BatmanSubmit Comment
William Baldwin is now voicing Batman in the animated "Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths" movie, but back in 1995, when he was starring in films like "Backdraft" and "Sliver," he almost ended up playing the character in Joel Schumacher's "Batman Forever."

Speaking to IESB, Baldwin said: "I was one of Joel Schumacher's top choices when Val Kilmer wound up playing Batman. Tim Burton and Michael Keaton had left, so Joel had the luxury of replacing Michael Keaton and he told me that his four choices - which was an eclectic, diverse array - were Daniel Day Lewis, Ralph Feinnes, Val Kilmer and me."

He went on to say that even though Kilmer was eventually chosen, Schumacher was once again interested in casting him in "Batman and Robin." Baldwin explained: "The next time, when George Clooney did it, (Schumacher) said, 'You were on my original short list with those other three actors, but the studio went with Val and this time I'd like to go with you.' And that Friday afternoon, I thought I was playing Batman - and then Monday morning, the headlines in the trades said that George Clooney had gotten the part. So apparently, I did actually come very close."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 6:31:55 PM

*shivers*
LegacyAR writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 6:40:06 PM

That sucks for him. Batman and Robin would have definitely saved his career....(sarcasm)
lawman writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 6:52:26 PM

MINK>>> Shivers indeed. He is a f*cking TRAIN WRECK of an actor! And seriously, he is stupid looking! I know thats not the normal slam, but he really looks like an *sshole! Not an *sshole as in attitude, his face just grates on me! Maybe its the squinting!
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:06:49 PM

Maybe it's the "I'm a Baldwin, so that makes me special even though I have no talents, so let me just make this stupid face" attitude he has going on.

And it's no so much that he looks like an *sshole (he does), I can handle THAT, it's that he has this attitude that he's just better than everybody else, and because of that he doesn't have to pull his weight or do anything worth a damn. Like, "here I am, gimme gimme gimme".
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:21:51 PM

His family (excl. Alec) could have used the $'s.

WAIT?! WTF?! This turd is putting himself in the same company as: DDL, RF and even Kilmer (we joke about Kilmer but the man was trained at Juilliard - he has the chops... just Hollyweird rarely gives him the good stuff to do.

WTF is this Baldwin smoking?!?!

Close only counts in throwing hand grenades you f*cking boob! 2nd. place is first place loser!

d*ckhead!

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:22:17 PM

Man Daniel Day might have been an great Batman/Bruce Wayne (mainly Wayne) based on his skill set. Would have been a more Neal Adams looking Batman though.
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:33:42 PM

DDL would have owned Batman's ass!

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - you know of Neal Adams? I'm impressed my friend.

My fav. cover of Neal's? Why Supes #317 of course (I even believe the original artwork went up for sale in my collecting days).

http://www.nealadams.com/DC/superman/superman.html
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

Better link:

http://www.coverbrowser.com/image/superman/317-1.jpg
Eben1277 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:39:49 PM

The only Baldwin worth a sh*t is Steven (Stephen? oh who gives a f*ck). And even then only because he is in The Usual Suspects and that cop movie with Chris Penn (I think it's called One Good Cop, but I can't f*ckin remember. It was good though)
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:48:42 PM

Alec Baldwin was good in The Aviator. Then again, everyone was good in The Aviator.
RedSmile writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 7:50:14 PM

Who Cares?
Peter Parker writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 8:20:52 PM

So Schumacher ended up picking Clooney over him?
Well, Baldwin should be grateful to Schumacher for the rest of his f*cking life!
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 8:26:54 PM

I really hope this isn't the closest he's ever come to fame...
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 8:50:23 PM

Maybe once or twice on Basinger's leg when she wasn't looking.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 8:54:50 PM

Poor Kim Basinger. Whatever happened to her?
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 9:01:26 PM

She died after William came on her... haven't you been reading?!

Seriously? I wouldn't mind seeing a lot more of her on the big screen (and by 'big screen' I mean riding my Man Ham!)!
barley_cat writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 9:08:12 PM

What a mug-shot! He need's to start taking pages from Johnny Depp's Book, and start taking on the roles with the best make-up oppurtunities!
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 9:47:40 PM

"William Baldwin Came Very Close to Having an Acting Career."

There, another one free of charge.
Vin12 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 9:52:37 PM

and that coment is exactly y ranger should be banned wp. i think it could have worked
Vin12 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 9:54:09 PM

baldwin as batman i mean
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 10:09:48 PM

...no he didnt
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 10:36:01 PM

I'm glad you got the 'message', Vin. Keep that in mind while you post. And before. And after.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 12:56:02 AM

Glad you ain't bitter Baldwin. Too bad they didn't offer Bill Murray the role. He would've been the most bad-ass Batman ever.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 1:24:17 AM

Awwww Vin.

U need a widdle hugsy-wugsy my dear poor girl?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:02:59 AM

Isn't this the Balwin that is a christian?

And I co-sign with the first post in this thread.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:05:07 AM

No, that's bankrupt Stephen. He'll sit across a table from Alec in a restaurant and tell him that everyone in that restaurant is going to hell.

I think Stephen found religion...

God shivered, and kicked his broke ass to the curb.

TeemSelami writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:37:02 AM

woah steven and 30 rock baldwin swallowed eachothers load and molded this perfect pile with their defecates
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:40:13 AM

LOL!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:47:10 AM

Thank you for the correction Ranger. I like Alec and I loved him in Beetlejuice but I can do without watching any of the Balwin brothers.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 2:55:17 AM

@Horror - U bet.

I'm a fan of Alec's. He was amazing/entertaining on 'Inside the Actor's Studio' and have liked him in pretty much anything I've seen him in.

His brothers... ummm, yeah. Clearly from the shallow end of the gene pool there.
c-prime writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 4:31:24 AM

I watched "The Squid and the Whale" two days ago and was very shocked to see William Baldwin's appearance as the hippie tennis coach. I thought it was a very telling indication of what might've been if big brother Alec hadn't went to acting school and gotten clout.
Kill-the-director writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 6:49:32 AM

no kevin conroy voicing batman in new justice league :(
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 3:50:22 PM

Shouldn't this have read: 'William Baldwin came very close when watching Batman!'?
Mudders writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 11:31:23 PM

im the next batman by the way...
BurmaShave writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 11:34:38 PM

Interesting. His brother should have gotten the part in '89. Though then he might have stayed thin and not become a comic legend.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved