WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

US Congress Provides $30 Million to Fight Film Piracy

Posted: December 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
US Congress Provides $30 Million to Fight Film PiracySubmit Comment
The US Congress has agreed to provide $30 million to fund the battle against piracy after learning that the US economy loses nearly 375,000 jobs and over $25 billion - either directly or indirectly - related to the copyright industry.

"Congress took a major step forward by providing $30 million in funding for new FBI agents, federal prosecutors, and local and state law enforcement grants to protect American jobs and creativity by cracking down on the theft of movies and other intellectual property," MPAA chairman and CEO Dan Glickman said.

This news comes as authorities are celebrating their success with a recently year-end piracy crackdown code-named Operation Holiday Hoax. The crackdown, involving US Immigration and Customs Enforcement, targeted illegal vendors in big US cities and led to seven arrests and the seizure of 79,796 counterfeit CDs and 79,610 DVDs, they announced.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:20:59 AM

Here's an idea. How bout stop charging ridiculous prices for movie tickets so people won't have the need to purchase pirated movies. Now how bout we use that $30 million for something more useful.
BigUnit writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:27:33 AM

yeah pretty sure its going to be like 20 bucks to see a movie, it sounds redic but its going to happen in our lifetime, which is sad... f*ck its already $14.00 to see a 3D movie. i hate how prices in this economy just keep going up for everything and yet wages stay the same? how does that make sense.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 8:00:29 AM

$14 for a 3D ticket!? That's awesome!! A standard movie ticket in Australia for an adult is $15.

I find it amusing that they say it's worth $25 billion but are only willingly to spend $30 million to fight it.. What are they going to do? Arrest people for torrenting movies and albums? Get f*cked..
Peter Parker writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 9:23:58 AM

Aaaaah... The Congress... Where a group of corrupt politicians gather to pass laws favoring their own private and political agendas, while doing some favors to groups of interest and large corporations...
The beauty of it never ceases to amaze me.

2007 and 2008 were the most profitable years in the movies industry. 2009 is shaping up to be up there as well, and these hypocrite bastards want to spend money fighting piracy? What a f*cking joke!

johnny_boy said it best, "stop charging ridiculous prices for movie tickets so people won't have the need to purchase pirated movies".
People wouldn't buy piracy and probably they wouldn't download it at home as much either.
I want studios to make money, so that they keep on making movies. But this is a false question.

If a lot of that material wasn't available on the Internet, home pirates wouldn't go to a movie theater or buy the DVDs anyway. Several recent studies have proved that.

At best, film piracy is only extending the audience, because a good part of the consumers would know nothing about the films, actors, directors and studios if they didn't have access to those products via P2P programs.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 9:39:43 AM

I know I wouldn't have picked up Felon on DVD if I hadn't bothered to download it first.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 9:45:05 AM

"Here's an idea. How bout stop charging ridiculous prices for movie ticketsso people won't have the need to purchase pirated movies. Now how bout we use that $30 million for something more useful."

Johnny Boy nails it!
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:40:21 AM

Most of all movies pirated are not currently playing theatrical films. With Bluray burners gaining ground, this could be a problem.

And as far things go, you can see a theatrical film for about 8 bucks, a 'DVD' of some sh*tty cam will set you back about 5.

And theaters don't set the prices themselves, but through the price they pay to get the films. It's like gasoline and theaters are like gas stations. Hollywood/OPEC sets the price, the gas stations/theaters try to make money mostly off of peripheral revenue like snacks and drinks. That's how they stay in business.

So I wouldn't blame the theaters. They don't operate in a vacuum.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:49:18 AM

How about congress doesn't spend taxpayers money on this sh*t. If hollywood can spend 300 million dollars to make a f*cking smurf looking cat people movie (AVATAR) then I am sure they studios can fun anti-piracy themselves, with out using our tax money.

CONGRESS YOU SUCK DANDY d*ck!
Lordchristo writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:52:22 PM

Another reason I stopped paying taxes. Thanks, liberals!
freshfromthedeli writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:24:19 PM

It really doesn't matter what they do, they'll never stop people from illegally obtaining movies and music. What a waste of money.
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:25:05 PM

They're wasting a fortune on protecting an out-of-date business model. Theatre companies need to come up with something better. They aren't going to stop pirating or file-sharing, so they need to find a way to make money off of it.
For one thing films are too expensive to see at the theatre. And I rarely pay for something I can get for free.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:35:12 PM

Mink where the f*ck do you live that movies cost 8 bucks? ANd if so what's land cost around there cause I'm packing my sh*t and moving. In 2004 I paid 7.50 to see Spiderman 2, in 2007 I was paying 10.50 to see Bourne Ultimatum, fast forward to 2008... Dark Knight 12.50 standard, 18.50 IMAX. Like WHAT THE f*ck!
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:09:41 PM

They're still 8 bucks where I live. Its the concession stand that's really raping you.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:59:44 PM

... not to mention what they charge for popcorn!!
wonderBOY writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 3:37:12 PM

99.3% of mininova torrents have been deleted cuz their copyrighted
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:32:14 PM

Damn! Alex is on delete-mode today. Two of my posts deleted and none of them contained any naughty words.
So just to be on the safe side: Boooh for the congress! 30 million, oh no.

(Good enough for ya'?)
aphid regress writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:51:35 PM

I download the movies I don't feel like owning on Blu-ray. I don't need to see The Hangover in HD. If they disagree with this, they can get f*cked for all I care. BTW, isohunt.com is your friend.
dhkenobi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:11:55 PM

I think pirating is actually helping the studios. Like someone else said, these last three years have seen money for the studios.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:39:06 PM

The darkknight; Texas. I live in texas. And they have a theater that does first run films for about 5. During the day, weekdays only, it's half price :)
vwkombi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:25:50 PM

It's abotu $13 for a regular movie ticket where i live. Which isn't that bad. Especially since i don't usually bother with popcorn.

But what studios fail to see about piracy, is that most people buy movies they downloaded anyway. If i download a movie that turns out to be awesome, then i will go and buy it. Take Iron Man, i saw it twice in theatres, had a downloaded version that i watched while waited for the DVD release, then brought it for real-reals.

You want to make money of films? Make good ones that people will pay to see.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 9:10:37 PM

holy sh*t you guys have it bad. I split my time between Houston and San Antonio and the average ticket is $7. Lots of theaters here also offer $5 tickets if the showing is before noon.
bacci40 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 10:14:12 PM

what i dont get is why people pay for pirate dvds, when one can either stream or download the same movies free

and with the advent of the net....you cant really stop piracy

and forget the cost of movies...the whole experience is now totally sh*te

pnkntndr writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 11:16:21 AM

I'm in the northeast burbs of Chicago and Matinee shows are under just 5 in a great theater. At night it's 8.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 1:57:29 PM

operation holiday hoax was a huge success we grabbed 7 mexican dudes with a back pack full of dvd's. Deputy Director of Tactical and Operation Logistics for the Federal Bureau of Investigations , Heb Gort, was quoted as saying "with the new congressional allotment we hope next year to nab 8 beans"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved