WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"300" Prequel Story and Title Revealed

Posted: December 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"300" Prequel Story and Title RevealedSubmit Comment
Zack Snyder has states numerous times that the only way he would make a "300" follow-up is if Frank Miller put together another graphic novel for him to adapt. Well... Miller has just revealed to LA Times that he has already finished the plot for the prequel and is about to get started on the artwork.

He went on to say that the graphic novel is now titled "Xerxes" and will begin about ten years before the events of "300." "It's the battle of Marathon through my lens," said Miler.

The Battle of Marathon was fought about 26 miles from Athens by an Athenian army against a Persian force led by the Emperor Darius I, in 490 BC. The Greeks numbers around 10,000 and the Persians anywhere from twice to ten times that.

The Athenians beat the Persians back - but not before sending a runner 150 miles to Sparta to ask for help. The Spartans turned up a day or two later, after Athenians turned out victorious. Darius' son Xerxes (pictured) then seeks revenge in 480BC that leads to the battle in "300."

Later accounts confused the 150 mile run to Sparta to ask for help with a run to Athens to announce the victory. The runner is said to have died from the strain, inspiring the modern marathon.

Source: LA Times, Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:16:54 AM

I like it so far. I think this film and graphic novel has some potential. Just hope no awful parody film come out to ruin it, example "meet the spartans"
atn5022 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:21:09 AM

you know there will by johnny_boy
johnny_boy writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:33:21 AM

I know, Atn5022. I just wanted that brief moment where I could think that studios won't stoop that low. (sigh)
Ari Gold writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:33:58 AM

I honestly couldn't picture how they could do another movie without it being exactly the same. But I reckon this story could work. I like the idea of having the focus off the Spartans and having the story told by the Athenians.

I'd definately like to see Gerard Butler reprise his role, even only for a few scenes.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:52:41 AM

Sounds good. The Greek must have had the most bad-ass army in history of time. Tiwce they defeated armies far superior than their own. Cojones, thy name is Greece.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 8:57:45 AM

Seems like they've put together a credible plot. Links perfectly with "300" and all but... They're gonna call it "Xerxes"???
That sounds like an antidepressant!

I suggest a new title, and I'll gladly contribute with some ideas:

- The Persians Don't Learn
- The Persians Get Their Asses Kicked
- We Stop Fists With Our Hands
- You're Starting To Piss Us Off
- Stop Or We'll Cry
- We Can Do Rugs, We Just Can't Fight
- Prince Of Who?
- Damn, That Hurts
- Are There Any Other Armies In The World That Want To Kick Our Asses?
- That's Not Fair, There Was Only 10 Of Us For Each Of You!
- This Is Embaaaarrassing! (kick to the stomach)
- If Only We Had Guns
- If Only We Had Nukes
- Somebody Grab That Runner Before He Reaches Sparta!
- Our King Is Gay
- How Could We Win With A Transvestite King?
- Please, Stop
- There's No Quitting In Us, Just Bruises
- Meet The Losers

There, Snyder, take your pick.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 10:17:54 AM

"Xerxes", really? Whatever, they should call it "We want to live here soooo bad"
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 10:37:16 AM

Why the f*ck are they going to call it Xerxes he wasn't even involved in the battle near athens. It was his dad.
AshTrey writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:12:33 AM

VERY INTERESTING IDEA. DEF COULD WORK. I HOPE THATS A WORKING TITLE. I WONDER IF THE RUNNER IS GONNA DROP THE "NIKE" LINE AFTER TEH RUN. THAT MIGHT BE A SPOILER!
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:30:19 PM

I am dubious but will keep an open mind.
Joker1282 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:53:15 PM

Xerxes!! i think that guy is flucking gay . like seriously he wants it so bad !! didnt you guys notice how he talked to King Leonidas in 300 !! i thought he was going to kiss him for a min there ! faggggg
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 5:59:13 PM

lol.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:22:16 PM

Where do all these Persians come from? They are breeding like rabbits.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:44:51 PM

YES!! The Battle of Marathon is f*cking epic
vwkombi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:15:39 PM

Why bother writing a story? The first one made so much money and recieved critical acclaim when all it contained was speeches about FREEDOM!!!!!!
takai writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:03:58 PM

My family is Greek through and through, so I'm pretty glad that Miller's not going so far to say that Spartans fought every battle in Greece. Hahaha.

I am pretty curious as to how the Athenians are going to look. Their battle attire was not the same as the Spartans, but I'm sure Miller (and then Snyder) will make them look just as badass.

And @Freudian Nightmare, I don't mean to sound prideful, but your statement is pretty accurate. :P

There are amazing accounts of battles like this (and 300's basis) all through history, even during World War II.

Yes, when Mussolini tried to invade, the Greek army got naked and charged them with shields and spears. Whooped some ASS.
takai writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:04:56 PM

Plus, you know that in the film, the 150 mile run is going to be stretched over half the movie and completely in slow motion.

It's gonna be awesome.
telur writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 11:06:22 PM

so are there any words say "WE ARE SPARTAANNNNNNN"?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 5:52:41 AM

Hopefully the Athenians are not shown as bad ass as the spartans. Where the Spartans were rasied as warriors, the Athenian army was made up of villagers and farmers etc, basically any many who could pick up a shield, spear and fight in phalanx formation! they were basically reserve soldiers. Hopefully we see them in armour and sh*t, and not a leather undies with sandles!!

Marathon was an epic battle, read it up on wikipedia or if you have a chance read 'Herodotus's the Histories' he has a good account in that, even though the numbers are greatly exaggerated.
TeemSelami writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 11:57:27 AM

Jerk Me Xerxes
WeThePeople writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 1:43:48 PM

Now this is interesting.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved