WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Lord of the Rings" Trilogy on Blu-ray on April 6th

Posted: December 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Lord of the Rings" Trilogy on Blu-ray on April 6thSubmit Comment
While promoting "The Lovely Bones," Peter Jackson was constantly asked about the Blu-ray version of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy. He seemed clueless about it, but now comes word directly from Warner Bros about when the discs will hit stores and what they will contain.

The nine-disc Blu-ray set will become available for purchase on April 6th (order date March 2nd) for $99.98 (Amazon has it for $69.99) and will be called "The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy." The release will precede Warners' "The Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest" video game launch, which will be in the spring.

The set will contain only the theatrical versions, but the studio is already planning an extended versions release for a later date.

List of special features:

"Fellowship of the Ring" will contain: Trailers (Trailer One, Trailer Two, Final Trailer, "The Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest" Game Trailer), Welcome to Middle-earth: Houghton Mifflin In-Store Special, Quest for the Ring: FOX TV Special, A Passage to Middle-earth: SCI-FI Channel Special, Featurettes (Finding Hobbiton, Hobbiton Comes Alive, Believing the World of Bree, Ringwraiths: The Fallen Kings, Rivendell: The Elven Refuge, Languages of Middle-earth, Two Wizards, Music of Middle-earth, Elijah Wood, Viggo Mortensen, Orlando Bloom, Cate Blanchett, Liv Tyler, Ian McKellen, Weathertop: The Windy Hill), TV Spots (MTV, Fellowship, Top Ten/AFI, Phenomenon), Academy Nomination, Epic Oscar, Enya "May It Be" Music Video, Special Extended DVD Edition Preview, Behind the Scenes Preview of "The Two Towers."

"The Two Towers" will contain: Trailers (Teaser, Theatrical Trailer, "The Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest" Game Trailer), On the Set "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers," Starz Encore Special:Return to Middle-earth: WB Special, "The Long and Short of It" A Short Film Directed by Sean Astin, The Making of "The Long and Short of It," Featurettes (Forces of Darkness, Designing the Sounds of Middle-earth, Edoras: The Rohan Capital, Creatures of Middle-earth, Gandalf the White, Arms and Armor, The Battle of Helm's Deep, Bringing Gollum to Life, TV Spots, New Power, Another, Event, Dream, Darkness, Return, Strike, Countdown, One World Review, The Wait is Over, Review B/Golden Globes, Gollum, Supreme Review, Review A/Globe, Good Top 10, Top 10 Review), Emiliana Torrini "Gollum's Song" Music Video, Special Extended DVD Edition Preview, Behind the Scenes Preview of "The Return of the King"

"The Return of the King" will contain: Trailers (Trailer One, Trailer Two, "The Lord of the Rings" Trilogy Supertrailer, Special Extended DVD Edition Preview, "The Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest" Game Trailer), The Quest Fulfilled: A Director's Vision, A Filmmaker's Journey: Making "The Return of the King," National Geographic Special "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King," Featurettes (Aragorn's Destiny, Minas Tirith: Capital of Gondor, The Battle of Pelennor Fields, Samwise the Brave, Eowyn: White Lady of Rohan, Digital Horse Doubles, Heart/Frodo, Every Path, Test, Aragorn, Time, Every Step, Sword, Decided, Time Review, Decided Review, Step Golden Globes, Globe Nominations, New Epic Globe), TV Spots

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:03:41 PM

I surely don't give a flying j*zz.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:31:26 PM

Wow. WP is shilling for Amazon now.

Sorry, that sounds really negative, but I mean, this isn't movie news. As much as I love this place, I can see that it is quite ok to go a day or so without some new story, so no need to just drop in anything.

Anyway, I'll be quite glad to stick to my simple single-disc DVDs of the films.
Bob82 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:35:10 PM

The extended versions are the definitive versions. If I had Blu-ray, I'd wait for those to come out.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 11:22:02 PM

Wait, you spend 100 bucks, yet you don't even get the definitive versions??
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:15:41 AM

These are the only Peter Jackson films I don't own and don't want to.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:21:09 AM

No sh*t. Frighteners? Hell yes. Why can't the man make movies like that anymore? Just doesn't seem right.
VDODSON writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:20:20 AM

Who gives a f*ck, cant stand watching those movies. Kevin Smith was right, all they did was walk for nine hours on film.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:37:16 AM

lol
aphid regress writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:27:29 PM

I will respectfully decline and wait for the extended editions.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 5:53:37 PM

the movies are revolutionary but i can only take so many special features.. i mean seriously.. when am i ever going to have time to just sit down and watch like 72 hours of bonus footage for a 9 hour film. now they are just marketting the crap out of it.... i've got the original dvds that i never watch (even though i loved the films) and until i get blue ray i don't really care. cause why would i get blu ray? i can barely afford dvds
aphid regress writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:09:46 PM

LOL, Blu-rays aren't that expensive. The average price of a new Blu-ray is 20 bucks now. (not at Best Buy, but definitely on amazon.com) and you can get a new Blu-ray player for around 100 bucks. The gripes can cease now, FFS.
Onetinsoldier623 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 12:34:54 AM

the extended blu-ray is going to be outstanding
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 1:59:01 PM

Wow I'm surprised theres actually Lord of the Rings haters out there, I had no idea. Sorry, Kevin Smith, they couldn't just hop on the next flight out the shire to parachute down into Mount Doom, sometimes people actually walk from place to place, and when you walk across a continent its gonna take up some screen time. Though, Ill admit, they probably coulda cut like an hour out of the Two Towers. No f*cking way I'm dropping $100 unless its for the extended edition though. Actually, I don't even know why they release the theatrical one alone anymore.
Newbs writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 2:51:37 PM

It's a double dip, plain and simple. Warner Bros is preying on our impatience. I for one plan to hold out as long as I can... precious.... even though this bluray set calls to me, I will resist!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved