WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Worthington Wants to be "Captain America"

Posted: December 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Worthington Wants to be "Captain America"Submit Comment
Sam Worthington was recently spotted wearing "The Avengers" t-shirt during one of the "Avatar" events, sparking rumors that he may be involved with the new movie, possibly taking on the role of Captain America.

To find out what's going on, Syfy caught up with Worthington. "I'm a fan, man. I'm a big fan," he said. "And I've always said, if you're going to wear a shirt on a blog or the TV, wear something you're interested in. I'm not a billboard, so I'm going to wear something that I'm intrigued by. I'm a big Captain America fan."

Worthington added that he nobody from the studio has approached him about the role, this is just his way of expressing interest. And while he goes to explain that he already knows how to hold a shield, due to his role in "Clash of the Titans" remake, he's afraid that fans wouldn't accept him as Captain America.

"And according to all the bloggers, you know, 'Damn him, he's Australian, how dare he? Who does he think he is?'" Worthington said. "I read it all. But you know, It's just as I said, I'm just a fan."

Source: Syfy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 77 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:01:16 PM

(Shhhh Sam.... stick to the Neil Fifer (aka: Travolta (lol... mink) vote for CA).
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:11:25 PM

NO!!!....I am sick of this guy....he isn't that great.....why does everyone love this guy? I mean he isn't terrible and doesn't get on my nerves, but everyone thinks he is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Aingx writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:11:32 PM

Well, who else could play the part? I really can't think of anyone....
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:20:19 PM

ill do it
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:22:31 PM

ill do it as long as he doesnt do it
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:23:24 PM

Annnnddd... if you guys aren't up for it, I'll play CA.
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:28:57 PM

YES we got a movie let's do it!
triggax writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:29:37 PM

I would appreciate the Character being portrayed by an American.. Its too bad Chris Hemsworth is playing Thor he would have been f*cking perfect...
pomme writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:32:49 PM

he wants to be lead in every hollywood blockbuster or what?
TheCount writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:33:34 PM

Ahh Sliced Bread, now there was an actor!
wonderBOY writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:33:35 PM

why are most people in the superhero movie genre Australian theres too much of them. not racist im from australia
nicole kidman - batman forever
heath ledger - dark knight
chris hemsworth - thor
and so on and so fourth
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:36:54 PM

Jackman - Wolverine.

Well... all but a couple of the original X-Men were foreigners.
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:37:28 PM

i agree Cap needs to be an american actor. its just how its gotta be
Peter Parker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:38:09 PM

Somewhere, an infuriated Chuck Norris is reading this.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:47:22 PM

Although i think Worthingtonw ould make a good Cap, i agree with him when he says it is an American thing, and that many won't take it lightley to see a foreginer play such an iconic American hero.

People will like the film more, if an american plays CA. Just like how the british will get pissed off if an american plays Bond

But i do liek WOrthington though, he listens to what 'we' say, not critics, jsut the fans and haters.
gummijoker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:47:54 PM

i hope Matt Damon lands the Role
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:55:56 PM

matt damons cap america helmet will be made out of foam
synthetic1985 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:07:04 PM

this is my solution to finding the right actor for captain america: find actors to suggest for the role...then cast votes for those actors...it's better than studios randomly picking an actor and forcing audiences to deal with it...so here are my suggestions...bradley cooper, justin bartha (from 'the hangover'), seann william scott, paul walker, or there's always the alternative (introduce a new actor, as long as the actor portrays him well)...anyone else have any suggestions?
AshTrey writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:11:55 PM

THAT DUDE FROM MAD MEN SHOULD BE CAP. f*ck U SAM, THIS IS AMERICA!!! PLAY AN AUSTRALAIN HERO, THE CROC HUNTER
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:14:54 PM

LOL!!!
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:16:09 PM

or Captain Crikey
vwkombi writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:19:51 PM

I say he plays Captain Australia. Who stands by Australian values such as doing the grog run, throwing sickies, lying to his mates wife about where his mate was the other day, covering for his drunken friend in front of the cops, etc.
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:20:35 PM

i smell a comedy central skit
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:28:53 PM

"Sam Worthington Wants to be "Captain America""

And I want to bang Paris Hilton. Neither is going to happen, though.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:31:07 PM

Trig, Chris Hemsworth is Australian too.
triggax writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:38:54 PM

Hahaha foot in mouth...

Yeah I read that... too bad.. he would have made a much better australian version of captain america than Worthington...

Yeah okay.. i say go with Vince Vaughn... :D
Mighte Migit writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:43:08 PM

i think he could pull it off
Derp88 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:52:31 PM

wonderBOY writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:33:35 PM
why are most people in the superhero movie genre Australian


Because Australians are superior to all human beings

johnny_boy writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:34:28 PM

At evilkev.... It doesn't matter if Thor is being played by an australian. Hell, christain bale is Brit but plays batman. Captain America actor has to be American especially with america in the title
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:36:21 PM

"Captain America f*ck yea! He's gonna save the motha f*ckin day yea!"
johnny_boy writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:40:37 PM

I say the best actor to play CA is Chris pine. He is a good actor, has the right looks to portray Steve Rodgers and just as important, he is American.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:45:14 PM

@ Derp88
no were not
Ari Gold writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:16:56 PM

@vwkombi - f*ck yeah! I'd watch that!! Get him to fight drop bears and lads!


I'd be heaps keen to see this if Sam Worthington got this role! But, he looks too Aussie. He looks like my mate Macca. Everone gets worked up over this guys casting, just cast Ryan Reynolds and be done with it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:29:35 PM

awww come on it wasnt that bad....how about jensin ackles?? he could do it maybe?
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:36:32 PM

it could be worse we could still be hearing "Matthew McConaughey in talks for lead in The First Avenger: Captin America"
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:46:27 PM

@vwkombi

I like your idea man, it will be a huge hit in Australia and possibley the US. From my understanding, the US thinks every australian likes to play knifey spoony
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:47:27 PM

@Ari

hahaha

When in doubt, hire Ryan Reynolds!
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 11:24:10 PM

"the US thinks every australian likes to play knifey spoony"

That's funny Simpsons reference, back when the Simpsons was actually humorous. And I'd hope most Americans know more about Australia than that, but I doubt it.
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:07:13 AM

Don't even sweat it people. The Captain America film will be starting production very soon and it's probably Marvel's most important property. I'm sure they secretly cast someone long ago for the role, and I guaran-damn-tee you they will be an American.
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:14:11 AM

@rabid - I too already think they have made their pick for the actor to play CA.

Ryan Reynolds... when in doubt... lol. Sure, but that throws out the 'CA must be played by an American' rule.
skatemaster62 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:22:48 AM

yea i agree i bet they have allready picked and talked to the actor playing Captin America and is just keeping tight lipped about it
Derp88 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:41:39 AM

Isn't this cute,the queer little Americans want a American to play the queer Captain America,so heart-warming.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:48:21 AM

he is allready in over-exposure mode.....
he should chill out.. take on some drama.. maybe a romantic comedy.. oh wait.. he is... that makes it lamer.
i like him... in a straight way....
He won't fall till he tries to executive produce something and it flops.
But i don't think he will. Get used to him.. he is shaping up to be a permanent star in the hollywood galaxy. you can disagree with me all you want and ask me what i'm smoking (i won't tell... by the way;) but that's my prediction. sammy is here to say... and hey... i'm cool with that.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

he is allready in over-exposure mode.....
he should chill out.. take on some drama.. maybe a romantic comedy.. oh wait.. he is... that makes it lamer.
i like him... in a straight way....
He won't fall till he tries to executive produce something and it flops.
But i don't think he will. Get used to him.. he is shaping up to be a permanent star in the hollywood galaxy. you can disagree with me all you want and ask me what i'm smoking (i won't tell... by the way;) but that's my prediction. sammy is here to say... and hey... i'm cool with that.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:49:51 AM

You're a bore, Twerp88. Maybe we'll make you the new dandy. But I'd bet you'd like that way too much.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:49:57 AM

what the heck!? i didn't even push it twice!!!! (that's what she said)
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:50:45 AM

@derp
lol
VDODSON writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:18:06 AM

Hell no sir, I like the guy but this spot is reserved for an American. It would only be befitting for the greatest super hero to have ever lived played by a citizen of the greatest nation to have existed. Besides Rome of course.
biniwoo writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:25:34 AM

I think Josh Lucas would be awesome. He's a bit old for the rol but he could do it
Jensama writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:30:21 AM

Oh, for the love of cheese! Stop being so narrowminded!

My respect and liking of Sam Worthington grows every day. He seems like a very cool, nerdy and lovely dude.
minkowski writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:36:21 AM

Coming from a chick with a 'no sex causes bad eyes' 'avatar', it doesn't surprise me you're willing to suck Worthington's d*ck, even though the guy really hasn't done sh*t to prove himself.

"Oh, for the love of cheese! Stop being so narrowminded!"

Narrow minds versus spread legs.
rocketman writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 3:51:31 AM

f*cking greedy bugger this bloke
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:41:15 AM

I'm just saying: make Captain America a woman. Feel free to play with that thought.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 4:46:32 AM

Will Smith to play CA...isnīt it all about the black thing ?...no Australians to play CA, but Catwoman can be black...
Ari Gold writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:05:14 AM

Brad Pitt!? I use to think he wouldn't do a comic movie but if he shows interest in a video game movie why not?
LastActionHero writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 7:33:27 AM

f*cking Australians! I hate that country, continent, whatever it is....Don't we do nuclear testing down there?
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 8:11:03 AM

@Cd_Smith0

You are not alone my friend i hate that douchebag too! and he is not american, Captain America should be American no? SAM W. can SUUUUCKS my 8===============================D
(no real size of my d*ck)
KatManDu writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 10:02:12 AM

Is it just me or did marvel just sandwich a DC. At least its Dark Knight thats the cream filling.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:43:45 PM

I want Matthew McConaughey but he could work out too. Still Matthew is Captain America. Get on it Marvel!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 12:52:25 PM

I think it's funny that Captain America, a fictional Character no less, has to be played by an American "actor". That's funny. It's called acting people. Plus he seems to hide his Aussie accent damn well.

What really pisses me off these days is how fanboys go nuts over dumb sh*t but never come out in packs to praise things like Watchmen, which, not perfect, but was a damn fine job.

99.9% of Fanboys = forever bitching out of mommy's house regardless if due or not. I know studios for the most part could give a f*ck about a beloved IP past having paid for it if successful. I know this, but where were the fanboys when Wanted & Hellboy for examples got f*cked by their creators? Obvious f*ck ups like X3, Superman 3, Catwoman, DareDevil, The Punisher, Wolverine Origins, Batman Forever or Superman Returns are way too easy to hate on because they are insulting & obviously done poorly but to cry about an actor's nationality over looks & acting ability? To me that's odd.
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:28:38 PM

You went on for a bit about fanboys trashing movies, but then you just trashed a few movies that I enjoyed... X3, Wolverine, Daredevil.

Just wanted to point that out. Opinions vary.
LastActionHero writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:53:17 PM

McConaughey?? That's a worse idea than Will Smith. Let that homo-hillbilly stick to his stupid chick flicks.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 5:35:51 PM

Johny neat... SO TRUE!
rabid... yes... some people's opinions suck! but that's ok. it's a free country. you are entitled to like crap and i am entitled to not take you seriously.
i mean dude.. wolverine? that movie was so boring. And when the WHOLE movie is driven by explosions and a naked hugh jackman and a man vs. helicopter scene.... yeah that movie was unbelievable.
but matthew as captain america. i agree johnny. it's not a popular opinion and might even suck but i like the idea. i can totally see that. Give it a clive cussler feel. THAT i would watch


vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 5:38:07 PM

i mean matt was awesome as a bald southern bastard in reign of fire (a very silly movie) and he was awesome in sahara (another silly movie that i had a hell of a lot of fun watching)
but right now he is stuck in chick flick mode making terible films. sad. he was good in amistad too
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 5:54:04 PM

@LastActionHero - well said.
Flav writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:01:25 PM

F***!! Terminator, Avatar and now Captain America?? No thank you.
Flav writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 6:02:07 PM

Two Words: Jon Hamm
Carpen7er writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 4:13:46 AM

Whatīs a real American ?
Eben1277 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 6:42:17 AM

I scrolled down this whole thread looking for it... and I knew Trueman when come through!!!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 8:50:18 AM

@Carpen7er

all that are not Sam W. are American, Sam W. represent the worst type of actor in Hollywood, soldierīs look crap, dumbass, bad accent, gayness, all action guy actor my god this gay is not Daniel Day Lewis, look the review of Avatar all the people are saying that he f*ck the film with his bad acting!
UnNameable_One writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 12:21:38 PM

Are u people serious?? At the end of the day, nobody really gives a f*** what country he's from. We're talking about a MOVIE here. As long as the movie has a good script, and a decent actor playing the part, who really gives a sh*t?? "Johnny Neat" is right, it's just ACTING...it's just a MOVIE, and movies aren't REAL. I mean, who really gives a sh*t about the actors as long as they play the part right?
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 12:31:11 PM

Wrong. Captain America is a cultural icon. Marvel wouldn't dare cast anyone but an American in the role for fear of ridicule.
WeThePeople writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 1:43:19 PM

^Claus von Stauffenberg may be a cultural icon, but they gave Tome Cruise the role.
Cbr writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 4:59:13 AM

Really does not matter if Captain America is not played by a American. Americans are made up from people from all over the world. Whats the difference? And Americans are not xenophobes.
Kal-El writes:
on December 18th, 2009 at 10:57:05 PM

Sick of him too. Haven't seen him yet in a movie where he managed to keep his accent straight.
Jensama writes:
on December 21st, 2009 at 6:16:45 PM

@ Mink
Mmm yes, Mink. How did you know? Was it the - oh! -wait! Was it my really my, hohoho, avatar that made you get that message? You're cute hun, but not that cute. And yes, I would definately go for Mr. W. Atleast use him up.

But yes, I can see your point. When I think about it, he hasn't really proven himself for real yet - his parts have been fairly easy and he does seem to be acting a little bit "I am so modest" ish. Ok. Agreed.

Now, as for my very clear message in my image:
It's true.

And if not, you're more than welcome to come on over here and give me better sight, big mouth.

"Narrow minds versus spread legs"
Yes.. Do you know what else is narrow, Mr iq? Suck on that for a while, mamas boy - or let me know when you've grown a little sizewise. ;)
silverANGEL writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:45:12 PM

you know who i think should play captain america?? Leonardo Dicaprio...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved