WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mel Gibson to Direct Leonardo DiCaprio in Viking Film

Posted: December 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mel Gibson to Direct Leonardo DiCaprio in Viking FilmSubmit Comment
Mel Gibson (Braveheart, Passion of the Christ, Apocalypto) is set to direct an untitled period drama about Viking culture. Leonardo DiCaprio will star in the new film, while William Monahan (The Departed) is writing the script.

"This will be an awe-inspiring story, created with some of the industry's finest cinematic talent, and I am just over the moon to be making this film with Mel, Leo and Bill," producer Graham King said in a statement.

Shooting is expected to begin in fall 2010, meaning that if everything falls into place, it would be the next directing effort for Gibson. There is no distributor at the moment, but Gibson is known for making his films on his own before securing a distributor.

DiCaprio has just completed the Christopher Nolan-director "Inception," but will likely sign on for another project before Gibson's Viking film begins filming.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blinkbomber writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:29:49 AM

Damn, this is already too good to be true.
Carpen7er writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 7:58:34 AM

Gibson is a great director. Im looking forward for this one...
Cbr writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:26:55 AM

Most Viking movies suck. Hope they don`t use does stuppid wings/horns on the helmets the Vikings never used. And pls let them speak english.

Only movie that finaly shows Vikings realisticly is "King Arthur", thnks to Skarsgaard (swedish).
gummijoker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:53:52 AM

This movie will suck, i mean Leo in a viking movie thats just lame
Peter Parker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:09:07 AM

William Monahan is an interesting screenwriter.
This project has potential.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:10:13 AM

Mel Gibson should write in a cameo for himself, I would love to see this movie.
barley_cat writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:19:16 AM

this could be good--- shame dicaprio is past it, he no longer makes me tingle
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:31:58 AM

@cbr
They were anglo saxons(English) not Vikings.
Do love the Vikings though,tough bastards.(untill the battle of stamford bridge ;P )
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:33:03 AM

Not to sure about Leo though.
barley_cat writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:41:56 AM

I like the little dwarf viking on Lord of the Rings, he makes mee giggle. Wow how irrelevent i am?
johnny_boy writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:51:31 AM

Way to go Mel. Trying to stop the gay vampire fad by putting in something more manly. Vikings are tough I guess and this whole faggy vampire fad is only contributing to the pussifiaction of men, with dandy as the poster child of course.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:55:15 AM

"Wow how irrelevent i am?"

Very.
pomme writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:13:49 AM

i don't see Dicaprio in vicking but the movies directed by Gibson kick ass usually
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:37:14 AM

Leo is to star as the vikings bitch.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:39:09 AM

DiCaprio has his moments. Mel is a great director of period pieces. I want to know more about the plot. Mel likes revelatory films, so I wouldn't be shocked if he does a movie about vikings in canada.
triggax writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 11:12:50 AM

"Most Viking movies suck. Hope they don`t use does stuppid wings/horns on the helmets the Vikings never used. And pls let them speak english.

Only movie that finaly shows Vikings realisticly is "King Arthur", thnks to Skarsgaard (swedish)."

WTF!!! You've obviously never seen Erik The Viking...

And King Arthur was a piece of sh*t... A HUGE PIECE OF DOG sh*t.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 11:44:02 AM

@Cbr: Yeah, those guys weren't vikings, so that movie didn't portray them realisticly. And why should they speak english? Is subtitles a little too difficult?

@Barley: Not irrelevent, only off topic. So where's that post-deleter when you need him?


This can be good. Mel is, well, a crazy motherf*cker, but also a very good director, so I have faith. And although I respect DiCaprio, I can't see him as a viking. He's too neat

Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:07:11 PM

Did the Vikings hate Jews too?


OK... will, Mel is crazy like a fox genius. I'll watch anything he makes. And Leo... still a powerhouse in my eyes. This should be good.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:15:27 PM

The Vikings didn't hate anyone. However, they did love to pillage, rape and go berzerk, when the time was appropriate of course. We weren't heathen after all.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:17:45 PM

I don't know if Mel is really an anti-semite. I think he was just trying his best to piss off the arresting officer, who happened to be jewish.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:22:41 PM

How people act when they're drunk is a good indication of what they are thinking when they're sober.
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:26:59 PM

@mink - exactly.

@Freudian - '...they did love to pillage, rape and go berserk...' ---- who doesn't?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:30:20 PM

Vikings were not a group of people, they were Anglo-Saxons (Norse).

The word 'viking' was originally meant to denote what these people did (explore, trade, sail), not distinctly who they were. It was only after German Romanticism (a period of irrationality and emotion and a strong disdain for the Enlightenment) that 'viking' came to denote a group of people rather than the the original verb meaning, and during this time (up till even now) were often idealized, romanticized and generally whitewashed.

And it was only after the German Romanticism period that vikings were transformed, without reason, into 'noble savages'.

what do you want to bet this film is far less than historically accurate?
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:31:08 PM

^..bet. what do you want to bet...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:32:27 PM

@Mink: I hope that isn't true. Last I was drunk I tried to make love with my couch.

@Ranger: Dandy. He loves being pillaged, raped and have gerbils go berzerk in his rectum.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:41:59 PM

Well, it means you were uninhibited. Horny. It doesn't mean that you sanely wanted to f*ck the furniture. And there are levels of drunkenness. Mel was merely buzzed, not knock down drunk with alcoholic shock.

I could walk into traffic, get hit and killed, because I was absolutely stupefied with Jack Daniels. A little less and I would've been merely hitting on the overweight goth chick with the yellow foundation and the heavy mascara.

Then again, both scenarios sound somewhat similar.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:46:53 PM

That's a relief. Cause, me and the chair has really been hitting it on lately, and I don't want ruin everything.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:54:06 PM

As long as you don't turn to the family pets, I see no problems there.
Joker1282 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:55:09 PM

doesn`t Viking stand for tall strong muscle man!!! there is none of that in leonardo lol
maybe he is the wife of a gay viking..
ill wach this movie tho gibsons will make it work ...
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:10:27 PM

Yeah, I don't see him as a Viking either. He's too short for the stereotypical Viking. So perhaps Gibson is making this more of a historical film, and less the fanciful type. I could see DiCaprio in a full beard, so that might work.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:16:44 PM

Vikings weren't tall by today's standards. Judging by skeletons, the average viking was 5'6". Leonardo is 5'11".
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:26:07 PM

Height won't matter. They make the actor (and surround actors) fit the environment.

Shoot upward and Stallone looked tall as Rocky.

Get 'em all the same size if you're filming Hobbits.

Jackman is a foot taller than Wolvie in the comics.

Lohan is a slag.

It all works out in the end.


minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:27:45 PM

That's why I said 'stereotypical', and why I said that perhaps Gibson is looking to make a more historically accurate film. It was only during the Romantic period that 'Vikings' were made into Norse gods themselves. See Wagner.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:32:13 PM

That's what I mean. DiCaprio is too neat to bee a viking, even if he grows a beard. He must ugly up as hell before he can be a viking. Is Danny DeVito free?
Powderedtoastman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:36:54 PM

In my opinion, Leo's acting skills are only second to Daniel Day Lewis. And, though I don't agree with Mel Gibson's personal life choices and speeches, he is an amazing director. They are both great at what they do. This movie definitely has great potential.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:40:32 PM

"In my opinion, Leo's acting skills are only second to Daniel Day Lewis"

- You sound like a man who really enjoyed "Gangs of New York".

Daniel Day Lewis is definitely an outstanding actor.
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:47:09 PM

Daniel Day Lewis can probably act circles around Gary Coleman AND Lindsay Lohan.

- VinDandy - attendee: 'Conference of Stupid Statements.' Newark, NJ. 2009.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:56:20 PM

There will be Blood. Nuff said.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:57:32 PM

Sorry, Freudian, I was talking to rabid, who wasn't didn't read the comment right above him.
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:10:57 PM

@mink
not haveing a go :)
But Anglo saxons were not Vikings,Anglo Saxons were made up of two tribes from Sourthen Denmark/Northen Germany called Angles and Saxons who migrated to Briton when the Romans(boo)left.Viking were from Scandanavia.But the Vikings did hevaly populate Northen Europe including a good portion of Britain later on untill their defeat by the now English at Stamford Bridge,thats what i was taught at school anyway.All were crazy northen monkeys though.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:11:18 PM

I was did read your comment. You'll just argue with pretty much anything I write, I've learned. You hate to be corrected.
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:14:49 PM

I feel like a petty pedant now,like that fat c*nt on the Simpsons ,comic book guy.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:16:23 PM

Nah yer right, rocketman. Vikings were the Scandinavians. I think the Anglos and Saxons came from Europe and overbred them, if my world history serves me correct.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:17:09 PM

I meant eastern europe mainland, overbreeding the Scandis in Briton.
Powderedtoastman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:20:03 PM

RE comments that DiCaprio is only a pretty boy:
I agree he can never be Gimli grungy or Viggo Mortensen from the Road, he definitely can look pretty grungy. Watch the end of Aviator, Blood Diamond, Gangs of New York, and The Departed for proof. He has an ability to mix pretty boy with grungy.

@theranger: Yes I love Gangs. An amazing movie.

"THAT'S A WOUND!"
Joker1282 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:18:38 PM

gangs of NY was and is a great movie , whats on question here is if he is the right guy for this movie or not ?... now if we were talking about a guy like "Gerard Butler" now there is a viking !!! let leonardo do the titanic II or something
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:55:25 PM

"You hate to be corrected."

I'm still waiting for you to do the correcting, Rabid. You haven't yet, that's for sure.

As for whether they, the Vikings, were Anglo-Saxon's or not, I did not know and at the time, and in all honesty I did not care. That really wasn't my point as it wasn't germane to my comment, but I could've have consulted Wiki for clarification. What I did know was that someone would eventually clarify.

I'll try not to be so lazy next time.
Rich k writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:57:28 PM

Sounds interesting, i like the films mel directs. I also like the idea its a viking film, kind of mels style if you think about it, also with leo, high hopes
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:59:52 PM

"Vikings weren't tall by today's standards. Judging by skeletons, the average viking was 5'6". Leonardo is 5'11"."

Your comment was posted right after I said:

"Yeah, I don't see him as a Viking either. He's too short for the stereotypical Viking. So perhaps Gibson is making this more of a historical film, and less the fanciful type. I could see DiCaprio in a full beard, so that might work."

You'll notice where I say 'stereotypical', versus 'historical'? Yeah, it's pretty clear, right? And then you post exactly, in essence, what I posted before you. Makes no sense, huh?

Now, I don't mind correction. We all know different things and we can all run to Wiki, Google, whatever, but please, little monkey, do not take credit for what is not yours.

Rocketman gets the credit, not you.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 4:12:42 PM

I think Mel will be able to make a very good Viking movie, He is a great director/actor, im looking forward to this
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 4:43:35 PM

My spelling sucks,this site needs an edit function(see EMPIRE for eg)
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 4:51:48 PM

No sh*t, Rocketman. No sh*t at all.
MoH writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 5:59:30 PM

thats alot of teeth mel.
TheHundreds writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 6:26:19 PM

Never saw Passion, but Apocalypto and Braveheart (duh) are two of the most badass movies made. I have faith in Mel + rest of people working on this
whoever writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:21:00 PM

Vikings are tough guys raping and pilling, what they hell is DiCaprio going to do in this other than get raped?
whoever writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:25:42 PM

@cbr "And pls let them speak english."

Your the kind of person who thought a remake of Let The Right One In was a good idea? I know reading subtitles are more difficult but if you go back to school you might learn something about the world!
Derp88 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 1:43:34 AM

Mel Gibson is God
Eben1277 writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 2:44:42 PM

Actually, the Vikings came to rule over the Anglo-Saxons after the Anglo-Saxons gained control of England, by way of the Norman invasion. The Normans being a group of Vikings that settled in Normandy and pissed of the French for a while.

Triggax... how could you hate King Arthur so much?! My only real problem with that movie was that the real Celts fought completely naked, not all leathered up like some heathen bikers. I could watch that movie a million times, I never get tired of it. That movie and 13th Warrior.

Speaking of 13th Warrior, maybe Leo has an outsider role like Antonio's in that movie.

Actually, he could play a Viking, Scandinavians are known for there good looks, and if you saw Kingdom of Heaven you know a gayed up actor like Orlando Bloom can muscle up for a role, Leo probably could too.
Rich k writes:
on December 15th, 2009 at 3:24:45 PM

they should get kirk douglas in this movie, that would be awesome.
Eben1277 writes:
on December 16th, 2009 at 6:38:55 AM

Awesome reference Rich K, I liked Vikings.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved