WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fifteen Films Competing for Visual Effects Oscar

Posted: December 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fifteen Films Competing for Visual Effects OscarSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the fifteen films that have been selected for Achievement in Visual Effects for the 82nd Academy Awards. In January, committee members will narrow the list down to seven. They will then select three films to compete for the VFX Oscar.

The final nominations for the Academy Awards will be announced on Tuesday, February 2nd, 2010 at 5:30am PT. The actual awards for outstanding film achievements of 2009 will be presented on Sunday, March 7th, 2010 and will be televised live by ABC.

The fifteen films competing for the VFX award (in alphabetical order):

* Angels and Demons
* Avatar
* Coraline
* A Christmas Carol
* District 9
* G-Force
* GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra
* Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
* Sherlock Holmes
* Star Trek
* Terminator Salvation
* Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
* 2012
* Watchmen
* Where the Wild Things Are

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:00:35 AM

WTF! GI Joe and Angels and Demons? Where were the Oscar-worthy effects? They can't mean Ray Park's SM-suit and the only explosion in A&D where McGregor falls from the sky?
Kid_A writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:12:23 AM

Only one of them so far as I can't call a complete movie is "2012"; it's just a 3 hours of video clip of world ending and a few people trying to run away from the mess. Some may complain about "Transformers 2" also, but I can't say a quite thing for it.
Aingx writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:58:00 AM

Personally I'd say Terminator 4, Star Trek and D9 are tops on that list but I think Avatar will somehow win it. Damn Cameron, that ego-maniacal bastard......
gummijoker writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 7:10:06 AM

Avatar
Christmas Carol
District 9
Star Trek
2012 will be nominated
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 8:13:18 AM

id personally go with either D9, Star Trek, or Where the Wild Things Are... and perhaps Watchmen...haven't seen Salvation so I'm iffy about. Also, how the hell is G-Force nominated? You can see the sh*tty gerbil special effect from those annoying ass commercials!
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 8:14:32 AM

sh*t somehow I forgot Avatar... which will most likely win cause of Cameron's name drop alone.
Eben1277 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 8:47:28 AM

TF 2 visual effects were phenomenal. Coraline looked pretty incredible too.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 9:14:41 AM

Yeah, I hope Coraline at least get a nomination, but Cameron has already sealed the deal, more or less
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 9:58:19 AM

I think D9 should win, I mean the budget:outcome ratio is insane!

Avatar deserves f*ck all, it cost $500 million for something zemeckis could've done.
Lodead writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 10:32:10 AM

Watchmen
Avater (winner)
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
2012
Star Trek

why the hell is sherlock holmes there?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 11:09:35 AM

pretty easy decision...

This rumble goes down between District 9 and most plasuibly Avatar...

My bets are on D9, ain't looking to fond of blue jar jar binks
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 11:13:08 AM

Avatar is going to sweep the technical awards. Coraline might get a nom or a win. None of the other films offer anything novel or groundbreaking. D9s effects are pedestrian. Transformers? Same as the first film. Sherlock Holmes? Yeah, whatever. Harry Potter? Nothing really new there. Salvation will get snubbed.

No competition here. Avatar is going to clean house.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 11:23:15 AM

"D9s effects are pedestrian."

For $30 million? Are you f*cking insane?
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 11:38:08 AM

Yes. There's nothing groundbreaking. There's nothing that I haven't seen elsewhere. Much of the shots looked like what Dylan Cole or Feng Zhu would do on a rainy Sunday. And that's pedestrian. And yeah, Avatar has goofy looking blue aliens, but that's the superficial aspect of the technology. You have too look under the hood and appreciate what's going on. Laughing at a Na'vi is like laughing at a pink Lexus LS 600h.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 12:29:36 PM

thats true, speaking of which, are you seeing avatar in theaters? i'm torrenting it.
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 12:43:01 PM

Not a chance.
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 12:43:39 PM

My brother will go see it, I'm sure and want to drag me along. Not happening.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:54:31 PM

Everyone's else ain't showing cause they know Cameron's got this in the bag LOL.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:56:34 PM

Mink just go! I got to hear what you think of it. You and I seem to be on the same page about it generally (story blows but tech its amazing).

I might end up seeing it twice, the Mrs wants to see it too.
rabid writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 2:24:52 PM

Coraline for the win.
vaodsi writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 2:32:28 PM

avatar hands down
georgecostanza writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 2:35:58 PM

G-Force? Really?
triggax writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 2:55:31 PM

Avatar deserves f*ck all, it cost $500 million for something zemeckis could've done.

It cost 200 million and Zemeckis could have done it for 200 million but it would have flopped like the rest of his sh*tty motion capture films, and the eyes would have looked ghastly...

Zemeckis is/was a good live action director.. some of his films are f*cking fanasterific... He needs to step off this motion capture sh*t he's slowly ruining his career.. I mean it would be a different story if they made even their budget back but for f*ck sakes...

And damn straight, D9 looked pretty good for a 30 mil movie, but it was gritty and dark.. You really can't get a good sense of just how fantastic the effects were because when somethings dirty or covered in grease or looks like it would stink, people just naturally associate realism with it.. but Minks right deep down the effects in D9 weren't all that spectacular.. The ship looked retarded... Like a hazy cardboard cutout floating in fog...

Not dissing D9... Loved it.. awesome sci fi... just not on the same page, not even in the same book as avatar... there's no comparison there...

Until I see Avatar next week Im gonna say that Where the wild things are, has my vote for best fx... that will undoubtedly change once avatar hits theaters... Star Trek, I thought, for a movie that cost 200 mil, could have looked a f*ck of a lot better in the fx department.. but the only film I think that would be a running mate of Avatar would be Star Trek..
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 3:23:57 PM

Yeah, ST did look pretty sweet, and you got your bang for the buck. Not a good ST film, but a very good 'fun' shoot em up scif fi flick. As far as Star trek goes, though, I don't include it in the canon, and never ever will.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 3:27:17 PM

District 9, Avatar, and Where The Wild Things Are will get the nominations, my guess
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 3:53:22 PM

I was just thinking about how corrupt the oscars are.

Thats probably why I don't watch them anymore...

I mean, after Slumdog wins, like, jesus, thats f*cking sad.
avaela writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 4:13:02 PM

Avatar will win, all the movie snobs are creaming their pants over the visuals. Watchmen is my favourite for runner up.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 4:28:47 PM

Avatar
District 9
Transformers
2012
Where the Wild Things Are

Avatar will win it. Simple.
Jedimax writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 4:40:58 PM

Watchmen, Avatar, and Where the Wild Things Are will be nominated. And Avatar will obviously win. I think Star Trek may get in instead of Where The Wild Things Are.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:20:59 PM

Avatar
Star Trek
2012

Sorry Bay. But you lost points for switching the widescreen ratio every 3 seconds during the forest and pyramid battles in TF: ROTF. I mean, Jesus dude. If all that IMAX requires is shooting in 1:85, then WHY NOT SHOOT THE WHOLE MOVIE THAT WAY, YOU RETARD!!??!?!?!?!?!???? Yah have done a movie in 1:85 before, and it was a little film called Bad Boys. You know, back when you had something resembling budgetary restriction and a tight schedule and had to pay for some sh*t yourself?
jetdog writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 7:05:35 PM

district 9
star trek
avatar or christmas carol
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 7:39:25 PM

"Jesus dude. If all that IMAX requires is shooting in 1:85, then WHY NOT SHOOT THE WHOLE MOVIE THAT WAY, YOU RETARD!!??!?!?!?!?!????"

IMAX is a resolution, not necessarily a screen ratio. Widescreen is a ratio, and not a resolution. It is expensive to shoot in IMAX, but it's cheaper to shoot in widescreen, and it's REALLY inexpensive to shoot in 35mm. So I think you're confusing a few things.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 10:01:06 PM

It's a shame that they have to narrow it down to 3. Because there are a few more that will be deserving that will not make the cut.

But if I had to pick just 3 they would be:

Avatar
Terminator Salvation
Watchmen

That unfortunately would leave out District 9 and Star Trek which also are very deserving.

Unfortunately I have this dreadful feeling that 2012 will end up getting nominated when it's special effects are overrated. Transformers 2 will also likely get a nod and it's actually not totally undeserving. Optimus Prime's fight with the bad transformers in the woods outside of Philly was an especially EPIC scene!
BlahblahIV writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:38:32 AM

I have such mixed feelings on this one. On one hand I consider the Best Visual Effects oscar to be purely technical, in which case I would have to put it down to TF2, Avatar, and I guess Coraline, leaving out D9.

On the other hand I just found the effects in D9 to be so much more compelling than anything else in the running, besides Avatar, which I will hold final judgement on until I see it in IMAX 3D. And while I partially agree with Mink that D9 may not have the most technically outstanding effects, I think they are the best overall, again, excluding Avatar until I see it.

Hard to explain really, but just all the effects of D9, in my opinion went so well together, and just really sold me on the whole idea of an alien species struggling in a south African slum. It has been a while since Ive seen it, but the entire sequence involving Wikus' escape in the alien Power Armor just did so much more for me than the whiz-bang giant robot fighting in TF2. Respectfully, I'm going to have to disagree with Mink. I personally think that D9 is most deserving of the award, compared to the others nominated, barring Avatar until I see it.

Again, if this category is based purely on technical profeciency, then I'm going to have to leave D9 out. But if we're talking all-round effects, and how "good" the end result is in the movie, I'd give it to D9 for now. But, as we all know, these things tend to be nothing more than a glorified popularity contest, so regardless of whether I end up liking the effects of Avatar more than D9, I think it's quite obviously going to go to Avatar/Cameron.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:12:18 AM

Of all those films, I think it should be kept in mind that the artists behind Coraline were bleeding their fingers and spitting in the face of arthritis building those tiny sets for the animation. While the effects for all these other films were created digitally, nearly everything in Coraline was handmade, handstitched, sculpted and glued. They made stop-motion as smooth and stunning as any of the other artists could using their computers. They really deserve an award for going above and beyond.
barley_cat writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 9:46:25 AM

Definatley Coralise, Hit it on spot there Rabid, what i wanted to say!
Very fond of Stop-motion animation, it is HARD as hell to produce, a hell of a lot of manhours in production there, hell the voice-over actors had the easy part!!
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 10:33:49 AM

Creating convincing characters in 3D is every bit as difficult, if not more, than srop motion. Yes, Colaline was good, but nothing groundbreakingly special. Only Avatar qualifies, I'm afraid. And I wish people that do not know anything about CG would simply not comment on those aspects. CG is not like hitting a 'make art' button and having the computer do all the work. Convincing computer animation is very, very difficult. Add to that high resolution texture painting, dynamic simulations, fluid simulations, dense geometry construction, et cetera. Making something looking good in CG is a major pain in the ass.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 12:18:10 PM

Yeah like what the f*ck is up with that notion that CGI is easier to do. People seem to believe "oh the computers make it oh so easy" Such a horrible misconception.

Back in my "I want to be a game designer days" I remember dabbling around in Maya trying to make some stuff-- furthest I got was a bouncing ball in a room, with a revolving light source spinning around, lighting the ball at different angles and creating shadows-- and it was a PAIN IN THE ASS. My ball took me 5 days to do (granted I was learning the program as I was going along) but can you imagine something A MILLION TIMES the scope of that and then you have to make it look real.

I think people automatically see Avatar and know its not real (14 foot blue catmans) and they discredit it visually. Look at the nuances in their facial reactions, all the subtle detail, I mean they shine even more in a still shot, it looks like their skin is the same texture as ours its just ridiculous!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved