WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Did "Iron Man 2" Whiplash Poster Rip-Off "Prince of Persia" Game Cover?

Posted: December 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Did "Iron Man 2" Whiplash Poster Rip-Off "Prince of Persia" Game Cover?Submit Comment
A few days ago, Apple unveiled a brand new poster for the upcoming "Iron Man" sequel, featuring a shot of Mickey Rourke as Whiplash. While movie fans didn't notice anything familiar about the poster, gamers immediately spotted similarities to the cover art for 2004's "Prince of Persia: Warrior Within" game.

Take a look at the images side-by-side (below) and notice that both have characters that are posing shirtless with baggy pants, both have tattoos, both have their hair covering the right side of their faces, both have a round object in the middle of their chests and both have their arms pointing in the same direction.

I guess that there are only so many cool ways that a person could pose for a poster, but this looks like the creative team for "Iron Man" may have become a bit lazy.

Check out the shots for yourself below and let us know if you think that this is just a coincidence.

Images: (click to enlarge)


Source: The Escapist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Arlo11 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:13:10 AM

Coincidence! how else would you have him stand?!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:22:53 AM

it's just a f*cking coincidence!
Fabian writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:25:05 AM

I would have him do a headstand, wearing a red adidas tracksuit..
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:36:29 AM

its uncanny! hahaha nah seriously who gives 2 sh*ts
Derp88 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:52:25 AM

Prince of Persia is gay
wonderBOY writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:26:34 AM

this is what passes for entertainment news these days how people stand... WOW. that is a really common pose its also on assassins creed also by the same creators... coincidence
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:50:00 AM

LOLOLOLOL pathetic.

Gamers pointed this out? Further proof that most Gamers are level 76 virgins.
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 10:44:15 AM

Eh, isn't this just the typical bad ass stance for someone? Look at the way peter stands in last seasons heroes posters, The way that fruit mcguire stands in spider man 3 posters....it's hardly a rip off.
manichispanic writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 11:33:40 AM

NO
borat writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:17:24 PM

no they both ripped off the crow poster
MattC903 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:48:05 PM

coincidence.... c monnnnn mannnnnnnn
rabid writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:55:56 PM

how retarded.
MattC903 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:56:11 PM

the prince looks more evil than whiplash.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:57:28 PM

"Both have their arms pointing in the same direction."

This is obviously more than just a coincidence! When was the last time you saw two people with their arms pointing towards the ground??? Good work WP!!! Keep it up!!!

In a related story, I heard Mickey Rourke was almost cast in the "Prince of Persia" movie!

warlord writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:14:43 PM

yes yes it is
Sonic writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:18:08 PM

Coincidence!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:31:00 PM

..............and? yes this is the first poster we've seen like this. EVER
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:43:40 PM

Oh God! How there they pose in the similar way! Outrageous!

Damn gamer-nerds. I admit, I'm a bit of a nerd myself, but who the f*ck (in their right mind) giva a sh*t about how they stand?
RedSmile writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 2:02:40 PM

Wow, the Escapist are retards. What does this matter?
Ranger writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 2:38:00 PM

Of course they copied that poster!

Both male, have hair, arms at their sides... eyes open.

Those unoriginal bastards!!!!

Oi!
TeemSelami writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 3:28:54 PM

whiplash is cool and anyone thats persian is a fag ... i don't see the similarities
Peter Parker writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 3:32:30 PM

Hey look, "find the differences"! Awesome!

Shouldn't this game be in the "Trivia" section, Alex?
stevethemoviehater writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 3:35:23 PM

you know what, it probly f*cking did... who cares
grizzle writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 3:53:55 PM

maybe the same person designed both posters
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 4:11:21 PM

You know a bigger coincidence, how both of Robert Downey Jr.'s films, Sherlock Holmes and Iron Man 2, both have a collage in the background of some kind with the same tone of blue. Seriously, look at this one of Whiplash and then look at one of the Sherlock Holmes ones.
minkowski writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 5:24:08 PM

Well, The Wrestler, a film involving steroid pumping meat heads, and Iron Man both feature Mickey Rourke. Coincidence? I think not!
vwkombi writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:20:18 PM

Yeah, that's the archetypical mysterious anti-hero stance. It's been around for ages.
Eben1277 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 8:25:35 PM

This has to be the dumbest f*cking thing I've ever heard of
disturbed01 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:02:35 PM

i bet you they are more of movie posters posing like this
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:04:04 PM

@sleuth

I recognized this too, at first I thought Mickey Rourke was in Sherlock Holmes (possibly Moriarty), but then I saw the '2' at the bottom and I said "well... SOMEBODY got lazy".
johnny_boy writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:17:05 PM

both their stance is plain coincidental. the way their heads are are suspicious if anything but still a coincidence. In rourkes defense if i had a jacked up face like that i too would pose my head that way to cover my face with my hair.
darthraige writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:22:33 PM

Then both of them are coping my senior picture from 8 years ago.
tcu21 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:17:37 AM

I'd say it's a pretty standard stance.
But yeah they should've had Rourke do blue steel instead.
the_tortel writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:18:20 AM

I smell a conspiracy!! Or, something entirely retarded and just plain dumb... idk those 2 small a lot alike.
Parasyte writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:47:57 AM

put them head to head and winner takes the pose!
Attos writes:
on December 17th, 2009 at 9:10:44 PM

Holy sh*t, they're both ripping off Infamous and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed!
How dare they!
Oh yeah, because it's a f*cking common pose.
How many ways can you differentiate "badass standing with arms down, weapons in hand, hair in face"?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved