WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Talks "Avatar" Sequels and "Battle Angel"

Posted: December 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Talks "Avatar" Sequels and "Battle Angel"Submit Comment
During the press conference before the London premiere of "Avatar," director James Cameron talked about some of his upcoming projects, including "Battle Angel" and an "Avatar" sequel.

He said that when he pitched "Avatar" to 20th Century Fox many years ago, he wanted them to understand that he's pitching a franchise, since most of the work and money will go into developing the first installment, making it easier to pump out sequels.

"It really makes sense to think of it as the potential start of a franchise or a saga that plays out over several acts, each movie being an act of that saga," he said. "And I have it mapped out, but I haven't written the scripts yet. And it all depends on whether we do well with the first film. But that was certainly the intention from the beginning - to create a foundation for a persistent world."

So while everyone is aiming to make several "Avatar" sequels, Fox has yet to greenlight the second installment. Box office results of the first film will dictate the future of "Avatar" and what Cameron will work on next.

When asked if he would do "Avatar 2" after "Battle Angel," Cameron replied: "Not necessarily, that's part of the decision making process."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:44:40 PM

I'm getting sick of this sci-fi sh*t.
takai writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:56:37 PM

Now it makes sense. Cameron is wanting to make Avatar the new Star Wars.

I really hope Avatar doesn't do good enough to warrant a sequel. Then again, maybe the sequel will be forced to have a less generic storyline.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:10:46 PM

How isn't this film gonna make back it's $500 million budget? This week all I've been hearing about is this avatar film, and even more,James Cameron
Vin12 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:26:22 PM

all the reviews i read said the story is the weakest part, including all the good ones
Salvador writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:35:43 PM

Mmmhh...

No matter if Cameron wants to make Avatar a sci-fi saga like Star Wars, I'm pretty sure he will success, the MAN is a genius...

I have Faith in Cameron!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:44:15 PM

"all the reviews i read said the story is the weakest part, including all the good ones"

- No sh*t, Sherlock!!! Those millions he spent went all for FX, not for a good script.

"When asked if he would do "Avatar 2" after "Battle Angel," Cameron replied: 'Not necessarily, that's part of the decision making process.'"

- And by that he meant: "Avatar 2 will happen, only if the first one ends up making some money."

And that actually makes sense, because if he makes a sequel, all the money involved in developing the technology for the first won't be needed anymore, he supposedly should already have all the tools he needs at his disposal to make a 2nd movie.

The thing his, that 3D technology will be old news by then, so he'll have to pull a new rabbit out of ass.
Salvador writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:52:48 PM

@Peter Parker

I agree with you.

We have to wait a few days to know the truth.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 9:00:14 PM

@ Salvador:

Yup. I remain skeptical, but I'll give it it's fair day in court.
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 9:14:17 PM

"The thing his, that 3D technology will be old news by then, so he'll have to pull a new rabbit out of ass."

It'll be a few years yet before Avatar tech becomes the baseline norm in CG, I'm afraid. Cameron has not only put his neck out for this tech, but he's invested essentially hundreds of millions in what amounts to top-tier r and d.
Vin12 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:56:53 PM

ap says 2.5 out of four
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:03:43 AM

pete go f*ck ur mother she told me ur good at that. dunno y she was with me guess u must've done something to piss her off so she kicked u outta bed.
oh well, one cokehead's loss is another ones gain
manichispanic writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:44:34 AM

i still don't want to see avatar.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:08:12 AM

@ Vindy:

You crave attention so badly that you're willing to be that pathetic?

Ok, I'll give some attention. You can't even write properly, let alone f*ck any woman whatsoever.

Just shut the f*ck up and save yourself any further embarrassment, you unoriginal gay black hole.
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:18:29 AM

pete
Stop starting sh*t then asswipe I write well when necessary. 14 year olds like urself r too young to understand good writing u flaming turd. there was no reason to curse in the first place but u just HAD to get a word in to make yourself feel good
tcu21 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:22:52 AM

After hearing nothing but positive things about this movie and the technology that goes with it, I am officially pumped to see it. I really think that word of mouth will carry this film a long way.
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:26:19 AM

@Ari
ya dont want more scifi dude?
@takai
totally agree but in all seriousness landau dropped a hint of what the next one might be about. He basically said it may explore things 'inside' the planet instead of the surface
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 2:32:47 AM

Hey Vin is trying to grow a pair of balls this ought to be interesting. Now where is that faggot outofclosets or shadows what ever dandythehomo is calling itself these days?
rabid writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 4:31:32 AM

I'm really interested in how he's going to film Battle Angel Alita. Now that's one concept that really would work well in 3D animation.
rabid writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 4:34:26 AM

What do you bet he leases out all this new tech to whomever is filming Fantastic Voyage? He's going to make back all the money he spent on Avatar development, plus some.
Mighte Migit writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 4:56:29 AM

an avatar sequel would be cool cuz avatar looks awesome but thats just my opinion
Mighte Migit writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 4:58:20 AM

o and vindy the p*ssy stfu ur a giant flaming homo
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 5:32:20 AM

"pete go f*ck ur mother she told me ur good at that."
If you're going to make insults, you really shouldn't acknowledge their skills in the art of f*cking.

"dunno y she was with me guess u must've done something to piss her off so she kicked u outta bed."
Nobody will ever know why anyone will ever be with you. If all the chickens, you keep insisting on f*cking could talk, you would hear all them say "No, not the tiny fag again"

"oh well, one cokehead's loss is another ones gain"
So you're a cokehead?

"I write well when necessary."
So while attempting to clear your name from being a retard, you don't think writing is necessary?

"14 year olds like urself r too young to understand good writing u flaming turd."
Well, when you put it like that, I really can't make a pun. It pretty much says it all by itself

"there was no reason to curse in the first place but u just HAD to get a word in to make yourself feel good"
Yeah, you don't feel as good as you should, until you unleashes a couple of cursewords



Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 10:36:11 AM

sorry the f*ckin guy pisses me off. Anyway,i wonder if cameron will make a lot of battle angel movies too
rabid writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:04:56 PM

He's said from the start that he's filming it as a trilogy.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 3:26:06 PM

@ vindy:

"sorry the f*ckin guy pisses me off"

- Yeah, I have that effect on retarded faggoty idiots.

"u just HAD to get a word in to make yourself feel good"

- That doesn't even make sense! You still can't write.
But you sure know all about getting things in to "make yourself feel good"... like getting d*cks in your ass, d*cks in your mouth...

Listen, you cowardly f*ck, just drop the Vin12 username already and log on as dandythep*ssy, you're not fooling anybody here.
That also means your pathetic little attempts at picking up boyfriends on this website don't have much potential for success.
Most people around here don't like lying sissies... or any type of sissies, for that matter!

Rethink your life, you shemale putz.
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:38:04 PM

u dont even know me u retarded prick u think im some supposed gay dude with the barbara avatar whatever people can be whatever they want on the internet. I eat sh*ts like u for breakfast *sshole. u think ur such a good writer stop bullsh*tin and go write sh*t like me. r u my teacher or someone i respect f*ck no so why should i waste my time makin this sh*t look good?
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:43:32 PM

@rabid
Oh yeah,I know that, but it seems he at least thinking about things for Avatar besides a trilogy, so I'm wondering if he'll do the same for Battle Angel.
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:46:42 PM

Rabid
He's
sorry bout that bro.Thanks for bein'cool btw
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:49:00 PM

@freudian
Unless I'm emailing a boss or a teacher, I usually do emails and comments like i would an im
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:19:20 PM

so he wants Fox to fund the sequels even if the movie bombs?
Vin12 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:21:49 PM

gotta be honest, doesn't really look likeit'll bomb at this point
Ranger writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 12:26:00 AM

@VinDandy - do you only c*m on here when your wrists get tired (jackin' in watching you Mom in the shower earning the rent on your trailer)?

Seriously... f*ck off little, frustrated boy.

PS: is that you getting your colon punctured by that horse in the video?!
Vin12 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:00:58 PM

is that the best u got. i hope cameron doesnt take 12 years to make another one
Peter Parker writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 2:32:11 PM

@ vindy:

"is that the best u got" - YOU STILL CAN'T WRITE! You're such an ignorant c*nt.

But you sure can scream out "is that the best u got", when you're getting ass-fisted by your boyfriend.

And oh, it was of no surprise to me to learn that you eat sh*t for breakfast.
Surely enough, you have vomit for lunch. And we all know you stuff yourself with d*ck for dinner.
Vin12 writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 10:23:01 PM

first of all, you guys asren't worth a good insult. Second of all, did u read my post above to freudian. Thirdly, do u really still come to this article to insult me?
Pretty sad.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:47:57 AM

@VIN12
you write worst tham me, hahaha, and you are crazy about "GAYvatar" sequels that's not going to happen douchebag!
Vin12 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:46:59 PM

now that u got that off your chest. do u feel better now, trueman?
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 1:48:28 PM

Yes thank you very much!
Peter Parker writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 2:53:29 PM

@ Vindy:

And in case you're wondering, Trueman also writes better than you in Spanish!
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 3:51:46 PM

Here are some Reviews from the critics of FSR

The only problems I found with Avatar were small. First, some of the voice-over work for Sam Worthington’s Jake feels faux-poetic, as if he’s trying to be poignant, when in fact they are just obvious. Jake is a grunt, a soldier and as the movie tells us more than a few times, NOT A SMART MAN. So for him to wax poetic in voice-over feels out of place.

I said to them that the film goes to sucks because of SAM W. that f*ckin *sshole can´t act!
Vin12 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 5:52:47 PM

no one asked U, parker, you f*ckin prick
Vin12 writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 5:54:08 PM

@trueman
i wouldnt say he cant act,he's nothin special though

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved