WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Helped Free Guillermo Del Toro's Kidnapped Father

Posted: December 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Helped Free Guillermo Del ToroSubmit Comment
We previously heard that a few years after director Guillermo Del Toro moved to the United States, his father was kidnapped in Mexico (in 1998). Del Toro and his two brothers participated in negotiations, and following the payment of ransom money, the father was released.

Now, in an interview with Rebecca Keegan, a Time magazine journalist and the author of a James Cameron biography called "The Futurist," we find out that there is a bit more to that story.

"One of the people I interviewed about the book was Guillermo del Toro, who told me about when he first moved to the United States, he was broke," she explained. "This was the early '90s. 'T2' had just come out. Cameron met him at a Fourth of July party. And Guillermo del Toro ended up living in Cameron's guest house for long stretches of time. When Guillermo del Toro's father was kidnapped in Mexico, Cameron helped him find the right hostage negotiators. He helped put up the money for it."

Source: AMC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:21:26 PM

Cause Cameron's the f*cking man... duh! Well lets be honest, he had the money to burn lol.
vwkombi writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:22:54 PM

Good ol' James Cameron.
Tommy D writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:34:37 PM

wow that's really surprising...everything I've heard about him makes him seem like the biggest d*ck...this is great to hear :)
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:35:15 PM

The deal was he would give the kidnappers a role in one of his movies! Got them the role as the terroists in True Lies!
AshTrey writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:36:46 PM

HA IF HE DIDN'T, HE WOULD BE THE BIGGEST JERK OFF EVER. SO BASICALLY DEL TORO OWES HIM FOR LIFE.
johnny_boy writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:07:41 PM

I'll bet the negotiation included a promise for no sequels to titanic
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:21:23 PM

is it me or is james cameron the awesome uncle of hollywood
Peter Parker writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:51:35 PM

Is WP getting any money to keep pitching Cameron news to the readers?
f*cking hell, I'm sick of hearing about the dude!

WE DON'T f*ckING MAKE f*ckING DEALS WITH f*ckING TERRORISTS!!!

And oh, about him helping del Toro with the money, being Mexican terrorists, the ransom couldn't have been more that a thousand bucks and a couple of DVD players.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:52:29 PM

Could Cameron possibly make guys feel any more inadequate? I mean, he makes great movies, often the costliest movies of their time. He's had a film get 11 Oscars. He has been married five times, four to women he has worked with (often very powerful ones). He taught Schwarzenegger how to act, reduced Ed Harris to tears, made the one film in the Alien series that NOBODY has been able to top, made the best Terminator films, has changed filmmaking overall as a whole and he's still f*cking going! I mean, I love the guy but damn!
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 9:22:13 PM

Now if he had only chosen to share his compassion and kindness with his wives.

But good for him despite his marital woes.

Of course, in the film world, Cameron would have sent Arnie into Mexico, Commando style.

Maaaaaaatrix!

Let off some steam, Bennett!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:15:23 PM

"Is WP getting any money to keep pitching Cameron news to the readers?"
I was just about to type this.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:30:46 PM

whats the next headline, Alex? "James Cameron is confirmed to be second coming of Christ"?
nope.com writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:00:29 PM

wow wp sucking a lot of Jimmy Cameron c*ck these days
johnny_boy writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 12:45:32 AM

At Peter Parker.... I'm Mexican and I gotta tell you. That comment you made about the mexican terrorist was hilarious. You made me wanna kick myself for not being the one to write something like that.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:01:06 AM

@ johnny_boy:

LOL! You're also a good sport, bud.
minkowski writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:26:37 AM

"I'll bet the negotiation included a promise for no sequels to titanic"

Trailer for Titanic 2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vD4OnHCRd_4
johnny_boy writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:35:35 AM

Guess his father better watch out then for not making good on that promise
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 2:34:15 AM

The cameron news is getting pretty f*cking old. Let it go until the 18th.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 5:51:51 AM

Is that Dennis Hopper and Harry Potter?

Doc_Brown writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:30:45 AM

Interesting Timing for this story to surface....opening weekend of what's been hailed as a flop movie.....Bets its balls!
prowler writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:12:16 AM

so he's not that cheap :D:D
scarface85 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 11:56:55 AM

wow this is really good 2 hear
warlord writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 1:11:25 PM

that should teach you never to go to mexico EVER its a sh*t hole
Marty McQueen writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 2:41:31 PM

I just saw a private screening of AVATAR in Los Angeles and it was amazing! Cameron has created an fantastic world, and he doesn't over do it with the 3-D. You feel like you are a part of the jungle with a vine hanging over your shoulder. I took my father who hates this crap and he loved it. Everyone attending, mostly press, were very excited at what they saw. I will see it again with my wife. The studio quite obviously made a mistake with the trailer since the trailer is not in 3-D. They should have done something that just said, "It's Coming," or, "You waited 10 years and now it's here." Something that made people excited, not something that made their film look like an animated video game, which it is not. I loved it.
thedudeman69 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 9:19:41 PM

what's with all the Cameron stories?
the_tortel writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:19:53 AM

Really? What can Jim C. do about all the Aids kids in africa?? I think he could really help there too!!
rocketman writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 3:17:44 AM

King of teh World AND the new Princess Di,i bet the fukker can transform into a race car too.
Doc_Brown writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 6:56:39 AM

Marty mcQueen, don't lie, we all know you don't have a wife.
rabid writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 1:24:25 PM

I don't know about AIDS but James Cameron has always been a big donor to children's charity funds.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 8:52:25 AM

No more GAYMERON histories and SAM W. sucks!
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 11:37:17 AM

You really have a hardon for Sam Worthington. Think about him alot, do you?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved