WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lots of Details on Brad Pitt's "Vlad" Dracula Film

Posted: December 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lots of Details on Brad PittSubmit Comment
Just a few days ago, we reported that Summit Entertainment (Twilight) is developing another vampire movie with Brad Pitt's production company. The new film is called "Vlad" and will focus on Dracula as a young prince.

Entertainment Weekly has now sat down with actor Charlie Hunnam ("Sons of Anarchy"), who wrote the script for "Vlad," to get a few more details about the vampire flick. "My hope when writing it was for the end result to be more 'Braveheart' than '300,' and I think that as it's evolved, we've got a pretty good mixture of both," he said.

Hunnam went on to say that he sees someone like Christian Bale or Colin Farrell, leaning toward Farrell. There will be nothing in the movie about vampires, but will hint at the fact that this man is the origin of vampirism.

If you are interested what this film will be like, Hunnam revealed that entire first act that introduces Vlad as a child and transitioning to him as an adult.

First Act: "Basically what happened was, the Ottoman Empire was expanding at an exponentially fast rate with a father-son duo of sultans, who increased the size of their territory tenfold within 50 years. They conquered Vlad's father, also named Vlad Dracul Vlad the Dragon. In Eastern Orthodox Catholicism, because of the iconography of George slaying the dragon, the dragon and the devil was one in the same. If you add an 'a,' it denotes 'son of,' so Dracula literally translates to 'son of the devil.' So right away, from the moment he was born, before he did anything heinous of his own volition, he had a pretty bad rap because of his name. So the Ottoman said to Vlad's father, 'You can stay in power, rule your country as you wish, allow Catholicism to flourish, but you have to allow my people who will come to live here now equal rights to their faith, Islam.' There were all of these terms, but overall it was a pretty generous deal until the final moment: The Sultan wanted Vlad's two youngest children. He intended to raise the children himself, make them devout Muslims, then put them back on the throne at a later date with the proper bloodline and yet loyalty to the Ottoman. So Vlad and his brother Radu went. Vlad was about 12, and already had a pretty elevated sense of who he was, but Radu was only seven and much, much more malleable. So they ended up, in Vlad's mind, corrupting his brother and converting his brother to Islam. Radu was treated like a prince by the Ottomans, and Vlad was trapped like a slave, like a prisoner. About eight years after they got taken by the Ottoman, his father was murdered, and Vlad decided he was going to escape, avenge his father's murder, take his throne back and oppose the Ottoman. So he escaped from court, went to his brother, and his brother refused to come with him. It started a 17-year war between the brothers, Christian vs. Muslim."

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:34:25 AM

THis guy is pretty dam accurate on the details of Vlad Tepes early life, i am starting to think this will be great. Very happy this aint some cheap vamprie film, and that he is aiming for a Braveheart not a 300.

As for cast, Bale could be good, Vlad is the kidna charcter that needs a actor who can be intimidating with a foul temper!

I also hope they don't hold back on all the brutality and gore and sheer horror that Vlad created during his rain, he made Hitler, Stalin and Pol Pot look like f*cking angles when you compare them to his record!
Ari Gold writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 8:57:13 AM

This sounds promising! I've read a bit about Vlad and how he impaled his enemies heads in his front yard and celebrated by drinking their blood. This could be a great film.

Personally I'd lean towards Farrell, I believe he is capable of great performances. I really liked him in In Bruges, that film was awesome.
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 10:53:37 AM

This sound like fun.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:34:12 AM

When I first heard about this project, I had my doubts. Now I'm starting to lean towards awesomeness. With the right casting and with the brutality intact, me like.
And for Vlad I put my vote on Cillian Murphy
triggax writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:34:15 AM

Hey wasn't that the funny blonde kid from Undeclared..?

I loved that show... Too bad...
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:43:00 AM

Cillian is a nice choice but they might want to steer towrds someone a little more Slavic looking, someone who can affect a decent and proper accent.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:59:02 AM

I think Cillian could pass as a Slavic and give him some voice-coaching and may pull off a decent accent.
ksplatt writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:03:25 PM

I might get slapped for this one, but I could see Hugo Weaving being a Slavic badass.

@skippy--IDK if Bale would be a good choice, he'd just use his "I just smoked three packs of Camel Unfiltereds" voice. And I know 92.3402852% of people are tired of hearing that.

ksplatt writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:04:02 PM

@Freudian--Cillian would be great!
MoH writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 12:30:16 PM

I could of swore they already made this movie with Brad Pitt what am I thinking of?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:28:09 PM

After a second thought, he wouldn't even have to do any accent coaching. Since it'll be an american production, they'll be speaking english. So if you're not going to speak in Vlad's mother tongue (which would be romanian?), then you don't have to do any accents anyway. It would almost be as an insult.
outofshadow writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 1:39:46 PM

there already is a movie exactly like this, but its not that good but its extremely accurate.. if this movie has a better cast and crew and keeps with the historical accuracy then this should be awsome
rabid writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 2:00:27 PM

Sounds great to me! Just make sure it isn't as boring as that Countess Bathory movie that just came out... I still don't understand how you can make a film about a woman who bathes in virgin blood and have it be a total snoozefest... oh yeah, that's right. No nudity.
Kindlegolas writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 3:15:59 PM

Thank God it doesn't sound like another vampire movie!!
Ranger writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 3:52:19 PM

A girl over here the other night called me an 'Impaler' after I was done with her bum (and no... it wasn't dandy).
jeffw1978 writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 4:18:48 PM

Well considering his form of impalement was shoving blunt sticks up an ass till it came out of there mouth, then impaler is a good thing to be called.
Ranger writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 4:25:28 PM

I took it as a compliment... lol.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 5:54:00 PM

IDK i still reckon the beginning of bram stokers dracula is better than this whole movie
OneTime writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 6:39:24 PM

colin farrel...OH FOR f*ck SAKES
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 7:38:13 PM

@ksplatt

The Hugo Weaving thing aint a bad though, the only painting i have seen of Vlad, and he looks a lot like Hugo Weaving! or Hugo Weaving looks a lot like Vlad!

Yeah your kidna right, Bale might go batman again!
lokopr writes:
on December 11th, 2009 at 11:18:06 PM

@ Mink

"Cillian is a nice choice but they might want to steer towrds someone a little more Slavic looking, someone who can affect a decent and proper accent."

so that means your looking forward to this?? sounds interesting, finally a different and original way to portray dracula on the big screen!!!
matternm58 writes:
on December 12th, 2009 at 7:34:00 PM

What do you guys think about Stuart Townsend I think he did awesome as Lestat in QOTD. But then again Vlad needs more of an agressive, impulsive, and muscular actor.
ksplatt writes:
on December 13th, 2009 at 12:21:49 AM

@skippy spartan - thank you, tanks. idk, i just immediately thought of weaving, cuz he's got the facial looks, like you said. i just imagined him w/ the long hair from LOTR but f*cking wrecking sh*t!
Kendo writes:
on December 14th, 2009 at 4:22:55 PM

Just wanted to clarify one thing: Vlad Dracul doesn't have anything to do with slavic languages, slavic culture, slavic looks etc. Romanian language (spoken in Valachia, Moldavia and Transylvania) is of latin origin.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved